Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v3]

• Registered Users Posts: 8,038 ✭✭✭Hitchens

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Looks like Decco is still after Caoimhe and does Zumo have any friends to socialise with besides his mother?

he is said to have a cyber girlfriend on a well known internet forum :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

You actually watched that tripe.

emmmm I was minding it for a friend..... I mean, emmmm my GF's brothers GF's aunt mentioned it, yeah thats it..... :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Blanchflower

I actually thought Stephen was going to say something tonight when ray went up to the bar.

Did anyone notice how Stephen was chewing on something behind the bar in McCoys tonight reminiscent of the performance of Clint Eastwood in the classic Good, the Bad and the Ugly. :cool: When the Dillon wan disgraced her family in McCoys I was waiting on Stephen to escort her out of the premises the way he evicted Annette Daly in a classic episode. But alas no!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,038 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Did anyone notice how Stephen was chewing on something behind the bar in McCoys tonight
    Stephen is a big fan of Liverpool FC's Luis Suarez :D

• Registered Users Posts: 86,781 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Judy should dump both Dillion brothers and go out get a toyboy for herself

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Speaking of toyboys, could there be something between Niamh and Callum??

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭kieraneen14

dr judy has been asking 4 trouble all along wearing them tight silky blouses and now shes showing a bit of her valley with the protruding babies. she cud pull a lot more class than them 2 spoofers. plus I think she shud get out the wooden spoon and redden that caoimhes rear end quick , and then warn neasa to shut the hell up and get a man herself- show a bita leg inside n the station and they wont b long pullin in. and let dr judy saddle up with whover takes her pls.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Speaking of toyboys, could there be something between Niamh and Callum??

I hope not and Niamh always seemed to like the older dudes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Gibbonw2

Anyone questioning the resentment niamh is showing towards Callum (taking her fertility issues and pauls history out on a young troubled grieving teenager who is doing a rational thing) should put themselves in his shoes. If you found out about your biological father after it been hidden for years, what would you do? Fair enough be a bit upset, feel inadequate, maybe be a bit jealous but take it out on the kid!? Ridiculous. Anyway, forget about that. What irks me most is that this is completely not something that Niamh would normally do. The scriptwriters are altering the dynamics of her personality to suit a bit of drama. She lost both parents as did her stepdaughter lose a parent so she should realise the importance of that relationship and the effects of grief. Oh and she really annoys me wearing a coat everywhere!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

Did anyone notice how Stephen was chewing on something behind the bar in McCoys tonight reminiscent of the performance of Clint Eastwood in the classic Good, the Bad and the Ugly. :cool: When the Dillon wan disgraced her family in McCoys I was waiting on Stephen to escort her out of the premises the way he evicted Annette Daly in a classic episode. But alas no!

I think Stephens interpretation of "p1ssed off barman" was very well acted, from the attitude filled gum chewing scene with Ray, few seconds later he appears pulling a pint, again looking p1ssed off, and the Caoimhe scene where he appeared leaning on the bar beside Esther with a "couldnt give a fcuk" look on his face.. I only hope himself and Svetlana are not having problems... though maybe its cos Orla called him in on his day off (on a promise with Svetlana) so she could stick her nose in the Faheys business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Here Precious2

Why doesn't she take up with Stephen?..that would be quality.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I think Caoimhe will have to ditch the heels if she starts going out with Decco again, he looked about a foot shorter than her in last nights episode.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭Randomiser

Gibbonw2 wrote: »
    Anyone questioning the resentment niamh is showing towards Callum (taking her fertility issues and pauls history out on a young troubled grieving teenager who is doing a rational thing) should put themselves in his shoes. If you found out about your biological father after it been hidden for years, what would you do? Fair enough be a bit upset, feel inadequate, maybe be a bit jealous but take it out on the kid!? Ridiculous. Anyway, forget about that. What irks me most is that this is completely not something that Niamh would normally do. The scriptwriters are altering the dynamics of her personality to suit a bit of drama. She lost both parents as did her stepdaughter lose a parent so she should realise the importance of that relationship and the effects of grief. Oh and she really annoys me wearing a coat everywhere!

I disagree. Niamh is a human being and sometimes we don't always react as nicely and rationally to things as we should. It's far from ridiculous for her to dislike and resent the lad, especially as he looks to be nothing but trouble. I don't think that's altering her personality at all. And I would much rather explore some drama than watch Niamh simply welcome Paul's new kid with open arms - I mean that would be completely boring and also very unrealistic. I say that the story is a good one. The lad has turned Niamh's world upside down and it would take a long time for her to adjust to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

What irks me most is that this is completely not something that Niamh would normally do. !

How? It's not like the guy arriving on the doorstep is the least bit pleasant. He's a thug. How else would any woman react? Truth be known she's a hell of a lot more tolerant than what real life would show.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

walshb wrote: »
    How? It's not like the guy arriving on the doorstep is the least bit pleasant. He's a thug. How else would any woman react? Truth be known she's a hell of a lot more tolerant than what real life would show.

But I bet that within a month she will think he 's the greatest thing that ever came into her life. Even an affair is possible. Remember, this is FC...
    And that carry-on in the pub last night with Judith and her daughter? Wouldn't you think they'd wait till they got home and not be making a show of themselves in public?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Radio5

That final scene was straight from the UK soap template. Emmerdale,Eastenders and Corrie have done it many times.

Big family secret revealed during row in pub with selected residents, including the local gossip ( Esther) in attendance to make sure that the news travels fast. Caoimhe always seems to be reading her lines from an auto cue which kind of hinders any real emotional depth to her performance. To me, her and Decco always made a ridiculous couple and not just the height difference. I hope they don't restart that romance.

Viv and Ray have split up without any help from Paddy. Interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

I actually thought Stephen was going to say something tonight when ray went up to the bar.

Very awkward scene :D

And since when is Charlotte allowed back into Rachels Paul didn't bat a eye lid when he seen her??

Radio5 wrote: »
    That final scene was straight from the UK soap template. Emmerdale,Eastenders and Corrie have done it many times.

Big family secret revealed during row in pub with selected residents, including the local gossip ( Esther) in attendance to make sure that the news travels fast.

What??? Even more bizarre comments on here at the moment than usual, lol! I mean is there an Irish soap template? And what is that? Everyone is really reasonable and nice to each other and they all discuss it over a feckin Guinness?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭desbrook

Viv and Ray have split up without any help from Paddy. Interesting.[/quote]

When did Viv and Ray split? Must have missed that !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,011 ✭✭✭eamonnq

walshb wrote: »
    BTW, when are FC gonna' cop on that Rachel is just the worst actor on tv. Get rid.

What ?? Is LEO gone ??:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭chimmy chonga

....... Oh and she really annoys me wearing a coat everywhere!
    Yeah! and it's always BLACK! wtf. After coming into 500k she still wears the same old black and more black (must be smelly) dowdy clothes, come on a bit of realism please writers...:confused:

Randomiser wrote: »
    I disagree. Niamh is a human being and sometimes we don't always react as nicely and rationally to things as we should. It's far from ridiculous for her to dislike and resent the lad, especially as he looks to be nothing but trouble. I don't think that's altering her personality at all. And I would much rather explore some drama than watch Niamh simply welcome Paul's new kid with open arms - I mean that would be completely boring and also very unrealistic. I say that the story is a good one. The lad has turned Niamh's world upside down and it would take a long time for her to adjust to it.

its not about 'welcoming him with open arms'. Its about accepting that she cannot alter the fact that he is Pauls son and act like an adult. Sure it would be too much to expect her not to feel upset and despondent and angry but she started acting this way before giving him a chance. I dont know why fair city have to represent every new teen character as a troubled hothead but thats the way it is. The fact is he is Pauls son and she thinks by telling him to just forget about it amd not bother Paul, he will. When has the (adult) character of Niamh ever acted like such a bitch. So telling me this is a consistent portrayal of Niamh is, whilst your opinion, untrue in my book.

Oh and how has he 'turned her life upside down'. He is an adult, rared and, apart from the usual fair city portrayal of new teen characters as troubled etc, seems mature enough to get on with his life. Its not as if he is asking for any mother figurehood by her (god forbid). Her life hasnt changed in any major way. Maybe she is protective of the money, considering carrigstown has evolved into Scammerstown of late, thats fair but its obvious he is pauls son so she may just accept that.

its not about 'welcoming him with open arms'. Its about accepting that she cannot alter the fact that he is Pauls son and act like an adult. Sure it would be too much to expect her not to feel upset and despondent and angry but she started acting this way before giving him a chance. I dont know why fair city have to represent every new teen character as a troubled hothead but thats the way it is. The fact is he is Pauls son and she thinks by telling him to just forget about it amd not bother Paul, he will. When has the (adult) character of Niamh ever acted like such a bitch. So telling me this is a consistent portrayal of Niamh is, whilst your opinion, untrue in my book.

I think dealing with 4 x 4 different mums is a huge ask. And that lad is certainly not making it easy for her. So maybe she is not handling it as well as she might, but I don't see that as a criticism. As I said earlier, we don't always react in reasonable ways we might normally when confronted with stuff. She is just desperately wishing it would go away, but deep down knows it won't. For me that makes it far more interesting than it otherwise would be, and I think it's been well played.

Who are the other troubled hot heads btw? The only other teen lad I can think of who is around at the moment is Zak and he's not a troubled hot head.

Oh and how has he 'turned her life upside down'. He is an adult, rared and, apart from the usual fair city portrayal of new teen characters as troubled etc, seems mature enough to get on with his life. Its not as if he is asking for any mother figurehood by her (god forbid). Her life hasnt changed in any major way. Maybe she is protective of the money, considering carrigstown has evolved into Scammerstown of late, thats fair but its obvious he is pauls son so she may just accept that.

I am sure she will accept it eventually. She has to. But she is, I think, a woman who cannot have kids herself? So to discover that your husband - seemingly the most virile man in Ireland!! - now also has a grown up son as well as three others by three different women is not something you accept overnight. That's gotta be a difficult thing to deal with, being reminded every where you turn of your own inability to have kids.

And him being a complete bollix won't exactly help matters! ;)

Why is zumo ALWAYS following Mary Harney around like a slug!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Curlysue76

Why is zumo ALWAYS following Mary Harney around like a slug!!

He needs a good storyline to get his teeth into, liking the idea he is gay. That would really shake things up.

Take your coat off ffs niamh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Radio5 wrote: »

My favourite bit was Paddy Bishop , teetering over Viv and Ray on that pretend balcony thing in the Station. You think he was going to jump down any minute. What is that construction about? Trying to pretend there's an upstairs or what? It looks hilarious.

That scene made me piss myself laughing, like what the hell were the set designers thinking putting a tiny balcony above the bar !

He just looked like an eejit standing so high up looking down on everyone.

dave1982 wrote: »
    Very awkward scene :D

And since when is Charlotte allowed back into Rachels Paul didn't bat a eye lid when he seen her??

Yes Charlotte in the Brennan house after all she has done and Paul was even there made no sense :confused:

Anyone else think Greyie Connors might have hit Caomihe at one stage?