Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gambling problem in Ireland

13»

osarusan wrote: »
    Ane one last thing - it really pissed me off when some people made say a 5euro accumulator bet on say 3 races, and then the bet failed on some part of the accumulator, and after that the guy would say 'that horse cost me 80 euro' (or whatever the potential winnigns were) instead of 'that cost me 5 euro'.

I'd be a person who would often say that, especially when you lose it at the last minute like a team coinciding in injury time to mess up a 5 match accum. To me it feels like the losing team has cost me the price if the winnings.

That is true when it come to the vast majority of sports but not everything gambling related, i have made big money from political gambling, i have a great record on it and have beaten the traders 9/10, just go over to the gambling forum where im well known for political betting and all my bets are on record there if you can dig up my old posts, i can say this the traders in all the big bookies had not got a clue how to price up political markets, maybe they just did not research it but the value bets i have had are unreal, example a 3/1 shot when it should be of been priced at evs if i was doing the market.

Wow, you must be rich so?

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭7 7 12

That is true when it come to the vast majority of sports but not everything gambling related, i have made big money from political gambling, i have a great record on it and have beaten the traders 9/10, just go over to the gambling forum where im well known for political betting and all my bets are on record there if you can dig up my old posts, i can say this the traders in all the big bookies had not got a clue how to price up political markets, maybe they just did not research it but the value bets i have had are unreal, example a 3/1 shot when it should be of been priced at evs if i was doing the market.
    Cool, you have what no other gambler has - a system!!

I keep a spread sheet with every single win or loss, what sport it was and sometimes the exact event. It's been running for 4 years now and I've been up a nice bit and down an nice bit but over all at the moment I'm down less than 100 euro on the 4 years.

It means when I say I won I mean it as I know how much it puts me up or down etc. no good getting overexcited about a good win if it just makes back losses.

I keep a spread sheet with every single win or loss, what sport it was and sometimes the exact event. It's been running for 4 years now and I've been up a nice bit and down an nice bit but over all at the moment I'm down less than 100 euro on the 4 years.

It means when I say I won I mean it as I know how much it puts me up or down etc. no good getting overexcited about a good win if it just makes back losses.

Well, to be nitpicky, you're down 100euro and also the interest had you invested the money in something a little safer.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Caveman1 wrote: »
    Ok so I done a quick search on this and there's threads from 5 years ago so I decided to start another one.

Has anyone noticed how crazy Ireland has gone on gambling?

I gamble on a regular basis (once or twice a week) on football. When I first started gambling I would back horses, dogs, virtuals etc.

I quickly realised how dangerous it was to get caught up in so I stopped gambling on all sports except football, which I wouldn't spend more than 10e a week on.

I know people who gamble all their wages on a regular basis and borrow money just to gamble. Now thats their own business but recently i've noticed a lot of the bookmakers shops that have kids (15+) in them placing bets.

Also you can't walk 100 yards through town without walking past a bookies, arcade or a casino.

My main problem with all this is that its too easy to get caught up in a gambling addiction, especially when people will eventually turn to crime to feed their addiction.

Does anyone else think that Ireland has gone overboard with gambling?
    Ireland always had a lot of gamblers. Even your medium to small sized Irish town had numerous bookies in it going back years and years.

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭yomamma

Ireland always had a lot of gamblers. Even your medium to small sized Irish town had numerous bookies in it going back years and years.

Yes Ireland always had a lot of gamblers but it didnt have as much access to gambling back then. If I had 500 thousand euro in my account I could lose it all in one night on the internet. You would find it hard to lose 500 grand as easily back then.

You can gamble on virtual racing on the internet where you dont have to wait for the time of the race, all you have to do is press play and race starts. Most people wouldnt go near this kind of betting but a COMPULSIVE gambler will. When I have money in my pocket I want nothing else but to gamble. I would not answer my phone to meet up with someone. I wont eat, I wont sleep until Im knocked out or Ive lost every cent. Its madness anything other than gambling interupts my gambling. Now this will sopund strange but when I lose all my money Yes I feel depressed but I am able to function properly in life as in come up to library here now, go for a jog and my head not all over the place. Money is the drug for gambling. When I have money It is like I am on drugs. When I dont have money in my pocket I feel depressed of not been able to by phone credit etc.. but My head is stable.

More people dont have jobs these days and gambling is everywhere. Young people leaving school are not going to college and are not employed so a lot of them are getting in to gambling because it is everywhere. There is no point in comparing it to any other addiction because its something you have to go through to understand but More people would have a greater understanding of drug and alcohol addiction because you can notice easier if someone is addicted to it and the results are clear for everyone to see. Gambling only comes noticeable when **** hits the fan. I

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

The thing is though is that if someone's addicted, putting a cap on stakes won't stop them; it'll only take longer for them to lose it all. The end result will be the same unfortunately.

Too true, and somebody somewhere will always take your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Been a Gambler is worse then been a Alcoholic imo.

You can only drink so much.

I have seen guys put the keys of the house on one card as their children slept at home.

My Gambling is just on Football, Golf and Boxing.

But you have to be very disciplined.

I backed Milan the other night at around 7/1(mentioned it on SF). I had not backed a football game in 3 months even though I look at odds each week. Of course hindsight is wonderful too, but if you do have discipline then you always have a chance and its worth the wait.

People who back something for the sake of it are going down a dangerous road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

This is the most ignorant thread I've seen in a long time.

Been a Gambler is worse then been a Alcoholic imo.

You can only drink so much.

I have seen guys put the keys of the house on one card as their children slept at home.

I would love to have children but I know I cant because there is no doubt in the world I would do something similar. I dont even look to have a girlfriend cause I dont want to ruin another persons life from my gambling.

yomamma wrote: »

I would love to have children but I know I cant because there is no doubt in the world I would do something similar. I dont even look to have a girlfriend cause I dont want to ruin another persons life from my gambling.

Can you get help it speak to someday about it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

This is the most ignorant thread I've seen in a long time.
    Wanna elaborate?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Never got gambling myself, but if people want to do, let them off. Their money and possessions so if they want to win/lose it, more power to them! know a few friends who do it every day, when they win, they drink the money. When they lose they beg people for money. Constantly stuck in that cycle.

But this is Ireland, no problem here!

Can you get help it speak to someday about it ?

I am only out of treatment and I go to GA meetings but just cant stop it atm. Its a love/hate relationship. They say when ye hit rock bottom you'll stop. Ive tried to end my life 3 times and I have been homeless for three months now. 6 weeks of that sleeping on the streets. I have been gambling for 7 years now. I dont know life outside of gambling and having no money. Im just so used to it by now it doesnt bother me too much. Ill get my welfare next thursday, probably lose it all in two hours or I might win some and then have it it lost later that night. Go six days without money and then do same thing following thursday. I dont know if I will ever stop but its true what they say you have to truly want it for yourself and if you dont want to truly stop then no one can help you.

I just dont want to see people go down this road like I have and I gurantee in 5-10 years gambling will be open more to the public how destructive it is. Its sad that most people wont realise this until more lives are destroyed.

Ha I sound like the lads predicting the end of the world!! Seriously though I go to ga meetings and the older people there are noticing far more younger people attending them.

yomamma wrote: »

I am only out of treatment and I go to GA meetings but just cant stop it atm. Its a love/hate relationship. They say when ye hit rock bottom you'll stop. Ive tried to end my life 3 times and I have been homeless for three months now. 6 weeks of that sleeping on the streets. I have been gambling for 7 years now. I dont know life outside of gambling and having no money. Im just so used to it by now it doesnt bother me too much. Ill get my welfare next thursday, probably lose it all in two hours or I might win some and then have it it lost later that night. Go six days without money and then do same thing following thursday. I dont know if I will ever stop but its true what they say you have to truly want it for yourself and if you dont want to truly stop then no one can help you.

I just dont want to see people go down this road like I have and I gurantee in 5-10 years gambling will be open more to the public how destructive it is. Its sad that most people wont realise this until more lives are destroyed.

Ha I sound like the lads predicting the end of the world!! Seriously though I go to ga meetings and the older people there are noticing far more younger people attending them.

First of all I'm very sorry to hear about this. I had a problem myself 6-7 years I was just lucky that when it started to go pear shaped I had won more then lost.

There is help there for you. I'm glad you are going to GA and I hope this will help.

Even if you want PM me I be only glad to help in some small way. Don't think you are alone in this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I work with three or four guys who bet on sporting events 7 days a week, be it in the bookies or paddy power online. I feel luck that i just dont get any buzz out of it because i have a bit of an addictive personality. All of them hide the extent of their habit from their gfs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

The gaming adverts all have this blokey, jokey, two pints of lager and a packet of crisps vibe same as these Heineken, Coors or Fosters alcohol commercials are full of blokes who look and dress like Caleb Followill accompanied by two or three Jessica Alba lookalikes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDW_Hj2K0wo

The cnuts who own these gaming companies don't gamble and have billions salted away in tax havens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

I'd bet regularly enough too...
    2-3 times a week!

But I do it more for it makes watching games, races more exciting when I have money on them!

Im not addicted or mad to make money or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

The thing that a lot of people don't get about gambling is that it's all about risk and reward. There's a potential risk and a potential reward to virtually everything we do in life

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Well, to be nitpicky, you're down 100euro and also the interest had you invested the money in something a little safer.

I have had the nack though of having a good win when I need it, For instance I've twice had good wins on golf near the end of the month where I was pretty short of cash and its paid my rent. I may have gradually lost it again but I had it when I needed it.

Also you are not taking into account the enjoyment I get out of it . Gambling on Golf, soccer and horses is one of my main pass times. It wouldn't be a weekend if I hadn't a bet running that I was following on something or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Gambling is like any other pastime people enjoy. Some people are good at it, some people are bad. Ys, when it becomes addictive, it can destroy someone, but no more or less than alcohol or drugs.

People have to know when to stop. I gamble, have done for years, and I have a website for gamblers, but I always advocate for people to know their limits, don't bet the house, and if you feel like you may be developing a problem, contact someone for help.

Not everyone who gambles develops addiction, some do it for regularly for fun and enjoy it. Some people get caught and go overboard. By the one thing for that is, there is not enough education in Ireland for people who may be taking those fatal steps into addiction.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Gambling is thankfully a "hobby" that's never really appealed to me - and apart from the very occasional flutter on the horses/dogs, a couple of games of poker and a one-off visit to a casino in Canada I avoid gambling as I know that I have an a somewhat compulsive/addictive personality.

I know that my late grandad had a gambling problem which caused my dad and his family some hardship when they were growing up and my Dad won't even play a game of cards.

I myself have already battled a drink problem so I don't need another one in my life.:cool:

yomamma's story about his gambling addiction is very sad but I know a couple of lads who have allowed gambling take hold of their lives and it's not a pretty sight. One of them has a family to support but as with all addictions the gambling takes priority.:(

I think that with online gambling it's all too easy these days to get hooked. Certainly more education and more awareness of gambling addiction is badly needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Getoffmytrain

Something that hasn't been mentioned yet is Paddy Power, Ladbrokes et al close down accounts of winning punters. They claim to employ experts, traders etc, but any clown can close down a winning account because a punter is better than them.
    Meanwhile they drain problem gamblers for all they can.
    Lovely industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

never understood the attraction of gambling, I know of someone who used to bet his full weeks dole the day he got it, wife and 3 kids at home, it didn't end well... the adverts they have on now are so slick and enticing for online they are giving the property boom a run for its money, also the amount of profits these companies are turning out is sick, and still no tax on betting! PP said they would pull every job out of Ireland if a betting tax was introduced....and they got away with it, lunatics running the asylum..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,460 ✭✭✭Blisterman

P_1 wrote: »
    The thing that a lot of people don't get about gambling is that it's all about risk and reward. There's a potential risk and a potential reward to virtually everything we do in life

Yeah, but we're not talking about people who have an occasional flutter. We're talking about compulsive gambling. There's very little potential reward in that.

JJJJNR wrote: »
    never understood the attraction of gambling, I know of someone who used to bet his full weeks dole the day he got it, wife and 3 kids at home, it didn't end well... the adverts they have on now are so slick and enticing for online they are giving the property boom a run for its money, also the amount of profits these companies are turning out is sick, and still no tax on betting! PP said they would pull every job out of Ireland if a betting tax was introduced....and they got away with it, lunatics running the asylum..

There is a small betting tax which the bookies cover. The bookies also pay tax on their profits just like any other company. What you are suggesting is asking people who bet to pay tax on their bets which is just not on in my opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

I'm working in the gambling industry to pay for my college fees and it is just sickening to see. I'm at it four years now and I can't wait to get out.
    Seeing people rush in on dole day to spend it all, leaving upset all the time. After Christmas all the grannies coming in with money they got off their grandchildren "it might be lucky for me, wee X got me this."
    Having to ban people because their wife/husband comes in in tears telling us there's no money left.

It's a depressing part of society and we would be better off without it in my opinion. The advantages or social liberties of it do not outweigh the negatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Blisterman wrote: »
    Yeah, but we're not talking about people who have an occasional flutter. We're talking about compulsive gambling. There's very little potential reward in that.

Exactly - the ordinary punter has a chance of winning his bet, collecting his money and heading for home (happy out); the compulsive gambler takes a winning bet as an opportunity to raise his stakes for the next bet. It's not enjoyable, it's a compulsion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

I don't understand how there's no tax on gambling, especially in those bookie shops (Paddy Power and the rest). If cigarettes, alcohol and fuel are taxed, why not betting?

On the street where I work (office block), the next five doors are: bookies/pub/bookies/pub/shop (that seems to only sell fags and scratchcards).

Any time I walk past those bookies and look inside, you can smell the failed dreams and smothered ambition of the places. Soul-destroying, but extremely profitable and powerful. It's not likely to change anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,460 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Well if you tax bookies, all that will happen is that the odds will get worse, which may discourage casual gamblers, but for the addicts, all it will mean is they lose their money faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭carly_86

markesmith wrote: »
    I don't understand how there's no tax on gambling, especially in those bookie shops (Paddy Power and the rest). If cigarettes, alcohol and fuel are taxed, why not betting?

On the street where I work (office block), the next five doors are: bookies/pub/bookies/pub/shop (that seems to only sell fags and scratchcards).

Any time I walk past those bookies and look inside, you can smell the failed dreams and smothered ambition of the places. Soul-destroying, but extremely profitable and powerful. It's not likely to change anytime soon.

There is tax on betting the bookie pays it think its 2%