Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

NI is no duty to ROI, They are effectively in the EU as far as goods are concerned.
    Goods under €22 are no duty from GB for the next 3 mths afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,483 ✭✭✭✭blade1

H_Lime wrote: »
    If that's the case with the North I'd be delighted, I'm a creature of habit and like crossans. Not used caprimoto before as most of the things I get are usually second hand, I sound like a womble.
    Prob have to buy from ebay.de

This is what you want so

https://www.ebay-kleinanzeigen.de/

I've picked up several bike parts that I couldn't find anywhere else from here (and I buy from all over the world if needs be) and postage wasn't too bad.

Next thing Im having a problem is a rebuild kit for front brake caliper of the Mastiff.
    Apparently they are not made anymore.
    Bike is a right pain in the hole to get parts for.
    Anyone wanna swap for a Suzuki bandit or something :pac:

Screenshot-20210107-123811.jpg

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Goods under €22 are no duty from GB for the next 3 mths afaik.

No VAT until the end of June if under €22. It's also no duty under €150.

https://www.revenue.ie/en/customs-traders-and-agents/documents/guide-to-importing-goods-through-the-post.pdf
    11. Consignments of Negligible Value (€22)
    You can import consignments with an intrinsic value of €150 or less from outside the
    EU without payment of Customs Duty. (Intrinsic value is the value of the goods alone
    and does not include insurance and freight). You can import consignments with a total
    customs value of €22 or less without payment of VAT. (Customs value or CIF value is
    the intrinsic value of the goods plus insurance and freight, which includes postage
    costs). However, there is no relief for importations of tobacco, tobacco products,
    alcohol products, perfumes or toilet waters irrespective of their value.
    NOTE: Until 30th June 2021, no import VAT is due to be paid for goods with a customs
    value below €22 imported into Ireland. This exemption is abolished as of 1st July 2021.
    Thus, from 1st July 2021, all goods entering the EU will be subject to VAT irrespective
    of their value.

Currently, if the VAT payable is €6 or less it will not be collected. No similar rule
    applies in the case of Customs Duty or Excise Duty.
    NOTE: This exemption is abolished as of 1st July 2021. Thus, from 1st July 2021, all
    goods entering the EU will be subject to VAT irrespective of the amount due and all
    VAT will be collected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭H_Lime

blade1 wrote: »
    This is what you want so

https://www.ebay-kleinanzeigen.de/

I've picked up several bike parts that I couldn't find anywhere else from here (and I buy from all over the world if needs be) and postage wasn't too bad.

Next thing Im having a problem is a rebuild kit for front brake caliper of the Mastiff.
    Apparently they are not made anymore.
    Bike is a right pain in the hole to get parts for.
    Anyone wanna swap for a Suzuki bandit or something :pac:

Screenshot-20210107-123811.jpg

Thanks for the links, I must have a proper gawk tonight. Have bought from all over the world but the Krauts are always bloody expensive. The eyeties postal system is a joke. The japs take forever and Frenchie eventually gets round to posting. The britz were by far the best imo. Feckin brexit.

Don't flip the mz. So she plays hard to get with you, that makes it all the sweeter lol:) It's a nice yoke.
    If its a grimeca or Brembo I can help you most likely.
    If it is actual unobtanium it's time to to start measuring hole spacing and disc offset to graft something else on.
    The front anchor on the Dr 750's was shyte in 88 and the single best mod to em (bar sorting the grenade between the frame rails) is a caliper swap.
    You should consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭goblin59

Thanks for the links, I must have a proper gawk tonight. Have bought from all over the world but the Krauts are always bloody expensive. The eyeties postal system is a joke. The japs take forever and Frenchie eventually gets round to posting. The britz were by far the best imo. Feckin brexit.

Don't flip the mz. So she plays hard to get with you, that makes it all the sweeter lol:) It's a nice yoke.
    If it is actual unobtanium it's time to to start measuring hole spacing and disc offset to graft something else on.
    The front anchor on the Dr 750's was shyte in 88 and the single best mod to em (bar sorting the grenade between the frame rails) is a caliper swap.
    You should consider it.

I'm considering if i do the big disc swap on the DR650se I'm building,
    maybe when im replacing the front disk i'll do it then

You should consider it.

Here's another site for a bit of a nose.

https://www.jauce.com/

Obviously not worth bothering with for run of the mill stuff but some rare stuff does pop up on it.

Got these in France, I think I was the only bidder.how bad!
    Part of a Tuono Racing kit which only 150 were made in 2003.

I think they were €70ish delivered.
    Never used, in a guys attic since day one and he was having a clear out.
    A reverse gear shifter and aluminium exhaust hanger.

IMG-20210108-182443-01.jpg
    IMG-20210108-182619-01.jpg

No real problems with stuff from anywhere.
    Most of my problems have been when the item arrives in Ireland.
    DPD either losing it or DHL can't find my house even after explaining on the phone and them being here loads of times.

Ah, I wouldn't sell the Mastiff at all.
    Yeah Grimeca caliper.

IMG-20210108-183749.jpg

goblin59 wrote: »
    I'm considering if i do the big disc swap on the DR650se I'm building,
    maybe when im replacing the front disk i'll do it then
    Its worth doing, esp if you're gona be on the black stuff more than not. Great thing about the 650 is its all been done before and there's usually options on a shelf someplace;)
    Been following you're thread on the build, you're flyin it.
    Here's another site for a bit of a nose.

https://www.jauce.com/

Obviously not worth bothering with for run of the mill stuff but some rare stuff does pop up on it.

Got these in France, I think I was the only bidder.how bad!
    Part of a Tuono Racing kit which only 150 were made in 2003.

I think they were €70ish delivered.
    Never used, in a guys attic since day one and he was having a clear out.
    A reverse gear shifter and aluminium exhaust hanger.

IMG-20210108-182443-01.jpg
    IMG-20210108-182619-01.jpg

No real problems with stuff from anywhere.
    Most of my problems have been when the item arrives in Ireland.
    DPD either losing it or DHL can't find my house even after explaining on the phone and them being here loads of times.

Ah, I wouldn't sell the Mastiff at all.
    Yeah Grimeca caliper.

IMG-20210108-183749.jpg

Be surprised if Bob Wight didn't have seals and pistons for that in some fashion or other. He's a gilera specialist and they use grimeca. I've used him for my grafting of the 4 pot caliper off the nordwest onto both my bigs.
    Send him a mail?
    If it's pistons you need remove them and ask itsl in Middleton to make you some in stainless. Seals are the deal breaker I suppose.
    http://www.bobwrightmotorcycles.co.uk/list_of_gilera_models_we_stock_p.htm
    If he's not got specific stuff for the Mastiff then measure the pistons and ask about other models with that od piston.

Dig the bling man! The tuono is sweet, would like to bag one, who doesn't like a comfy Mille! :)

Its worth doing, esp if you're gona be on the black stuff more than not. Great thing about the 650 is its all been done before and there's usually options on a shelf someplace;)

Be surprised if Bob Wight didn't have seals and pistons for that in some fashion or other. He's a gilera specialist and they use grimeca. I've used him for my grafting of the 4 pot caliper off the nordwest onto both my bigs.
    Send him a mail?
    If it's pistons you need remove them and ask itsl in Middleton to make you some in stainless. Seals are the deal breaker I suppose.
    If he's not got specific stuff for the Mastiff then measure the pistons and ask about other models with that od piston.

Dig the bling man! The tuono is sweet, would like to bag one, who doesn't like a comfy Mille! :)

Thanks, I'll give Bob a shout so and take it from there.
    Graham's MZ specialists in UK haven't had them in stock with a good few years now so Bob is last shot at improving the Grimeca.

Have you still the Nord west?
    You've a thing for nords (capo and west).

BTW, another Cagiva Navigator popped up on donedeal.
    Not as clean as the last one.

Cheers!
    Its very handing have 2 other DR's to look at while doing it.
    3D printed the rubber tank spacers too.
    Doing the switch wiring tomorrow as I was trying to sort out the brake hoses today, dad gave me the wrong measurement, so my rear brake cable is 20cm too long, going to get a new one next week.

Yeah I'll probably do the big disc upgrade, but Aussie bike has it, so once my own is running I'll do a comparison to see if its definitely worth it.
    I think it would be about €200 to do.

I've a choice of going with an original fuel tank, buy a 20L Acerbis or using a 30L safari tank that is currently spare

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Bike is airborne on 2 paddock stands for the winter months. Feels rock solid.

I gave most of it a coating of ACF50 over a few days. Seems to be a quality product. Bike fired up no prob.

I'm going to whip off the wheels and get them powder coated I think. They are by far the ugliest part of the bike.

I also bought a new pair of boots and motorbike pants (with detachable thermal and waterproof linings) on XLmoto. Decent value on there currently.

Bike is airborne on 2 paddock stands for the winter months. Feels rock solid.

I gave most of it a coating of ACF50 over a few days. Seems to be a quality product. Bike fired up no prob.

I'm going to whip off the wheels and get them powder coated I think. They are by far the ugliest part of the bike.

I also bought a new pair of boots and motorbike pants (with detachable thermal and waterproof linings) on XLmoto. Decent value on there currently.

are they spoked or cast wheels?
    I was advised by a local place not to powder coat spoked wheel as it can pull them

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

goblin59 wrote: »
    are they spoked or cast wheels?
    I was advised by a local place not to powder coat spoked wheel as it can pull them

Cast alloy wheels.

I'd still check before doing it, but should be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭flashinthepan

Ha
    Had to put up a shelf yesterday for all the little boxes of nut's n n bolts n washers and sh1t that I keep buying in Lidl/Aldi
    and all the cans of GT85 and wd40 and chain lubricant
    Couldn't get in the door for all the crap everywhere :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

My shed is a mess, need to make wall mounts for the bikes. Four in there now plus motorbike.

Spent the last while buying up bits for the F3

Have got F4i clocks
    Brake pads and caliper rebuild kits
    Complete fairing kit - OEM and same colour but in much better shape, still need to collect this
    Fuel filler cap and ignition, mine weren't great
    Loads of odds and ends.

Have a skip coming to clear the shed and once the bikes are mounted on the walls ill have space to get cracking. Bit too cold down there at the minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

^^^ I would say everyone's shed is a mess, with me, its the condensation and dampness that's a bugger. I dropped my Z7 off at a bike shop before Christmas for work on the front end as the job looked beyond me. I am wondering how that is getting on. Its 20 miles away from where I live.

Dan.

^^^ I would say everyone's shed is a mess, with me, its the condensation and dampness that's a bugger. I dropped my Z7 off at a bike shop before Christmas for work on the front end as the job looked beyond me. I am wondering how that is getting on. Its 20 miles away from where I live.

My shed at the moment is as tidy as it's ever going to be.
    I'm going to really try hard this time to keep like that. :o

IMG-20210111-131947.jpg

IMG-20210111-131958.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭RandomUsername

My shed at the moment is as tidy as it's ever going to be.
    I'm going to really try hard this time to keep like that. :o

Simliar sheds ! mine is normally tidier but a bit of a project has appeared lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭zubair

Right now mine is the cleanest it will ever be...

539121.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Seeing those sheds makes me want to move out of Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

What size are yer sheds guys?

Mine is 7m X 4m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

Mine is 7m X 4m

Steeltech? Shed shopping this year. That looks like a nice size.

ronanc15 wrote: »

No just a fella that makes them himself.
    Cheaper than steeltech.
    But while it's well made, the steeltech ones are superior when it comes to the doors.
    Better quality and more sealed.

If you were looking for a steel shed without laying a concrete floor, a neighbour of mine got one from a local company.
    It has a wooden floor.
    I was well impressed with it.
    I bought a 20ft X 10ft wooden shed not long before him.
    Had I known that they were available I would much prefer one and it was only a couple of hundred more expensive than my wooden one (same size)

IMG-20200730-190314.jpg

Mine is 7m X 4m

Same.
    ronanc15 wrote: »

Went with Shanette Sheds myself. The neighbour got one from them and he only buys the best stuff so I got a handful of quotes to compare and they were all around the same price.

Cheers guys, on the look out for a 3x3 this has given me food for thought

The only I'll say is go as big as possible first time.

I’m limited in space so that’s about as good as I can do. Any recommendations on providers?

If you are laying a concrete floor I suppose anyone near you that does the steeltech ones.

This is the company my neighbour got his steel.one with wooden floor.

http://trihysawmills.ie/

If you are laying a concrete floor I suppose anyone near you that does the steeltech ones.

This is the company my neighbour got his steel.one with wooden floor.

http://trihysawmills.ie/

I'm not too far from a steeltech branch a 3x3 is 1730e and another 5/600 for a concrete base. i'm looking to get a steel shed with the wooden floor and walls if possible. will check those guys out and see what's on offer thanks again

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Fox Mulder

Does anyone have any issues with condensation in their sheds or know of ways of mitigating it? I get very bad condensation in my garage, everything needs to be covered with cloth sheets or I get a thin film of rust everywhere. I might try insulating the garage door but everyone I know who has tried it says it makes no difference.

Cheaper than steeltech.
    But while it's well made, the steeltech ones are superior when it comes to the doors.

If you were looking for a steel shed without laying a concrete floor, a neighbour of mine got one from a local company.
    It has a wooden floor.
    Had I known that they were available I would much prefer one and it was only a couple of hundred more expensive than my wooden one (same size)

IMG-20200730-190314.jpg

Thats interesting, Im not really sure I knew the steel with floor combo was a thing either. Thanks for the heads up. Floor looks solid too considering theres a few bikes on it. Couldnt hack it if there was a bounce with every step. I must do a bit of research on local providers. Easy to jump to the likes of steeltech automatically. What doors have your on your steel one at the moment?

zubair wrote: »
    Same.

Went with Shanette Sheds myself. The neighbour got one from them and he only buys the best stuff so I got a handful of quotes to compare and they were all around the same price.

Thanks, I'm going to do some research on local providers and see whats on offer nearby. Had almost forgotten to check local suppliers vs Steeltech etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Cocoon

Here's a picture of my shed with the old Vmax in it, it's amazing how quickly they fill up. You couldn't swing a cat
    in it now 😁

IMG-20150411-141336.jpg

Always build bigger than you think you can ever use.

IMG-20200128-200055.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Cheaper than steeltech.

It has a wooden floor.

IMG-20200730-190314.jpg

The wood though tends to bow after a few short years especially with the weight and pressure of the bikes.

I'd never recommend them to a motorcycle owner . With the concrete base in the long term

listermint wrote: »
    The wood though tends to bow after a few short years especially with the weight and pressure of the bikes.

I'd never recommend them to a motorcycle owner . With the concrete base in the long term

Plywood over concrete base?

That would work. But you've want to be sure it's completely flat.

Father had one that wasn't completely flat and had a lovely dip right in the middle for the room. Was an absolute ball sack for doing any work on the bike. Unbalanced.

For me i would clean and paint it tbh .

I'd never recommend them to a motorcycle owner .

Of course.
    If it's a recommendation you're looking for, keep your bike in a heated concrete shed.

Of course.
    If it's a recommendation you're looking for, keep your bike in a heated concrete shed.

Under floor heating or electric wall heaters?

That would work. But you've want to be sure it's completely flat.

Father had one that wasn't completely flat and had a lovely dip right in the middle for the room. Was an absolute ball sack for doing any work on the bike. Unbalanced.

For me i would clean and paint it tbh .

Floor paint?

Cocoon wrote: »
    Here's a picture of my shed with the old Vmax in it, it's amazing how quickly they fill up. You couldn't swing a cat
    in it now 😁

IMG-20150411-141336.jpg

IMG-20200128-200055.jpg

I'd have to agree and ban the lady friend from making inroads with house stuff:pac:
    Some serious looking locks there!
    Nice bird btw;)

Pretty sure there's a metal shed that comes with a concrete base, made up of slabs. Saw one in my search but I was pouring an area much bigger than the shed anyway.

Cocoon wrote: »

Best shed advice you'll ever get.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Japcati2020

25 square meters floor space is the biggest you can build.
    Anything over that requires full planning permission.

Concrete base,get it finished smooth enough.
    Then put on 2 coats of industrial floor paint.
    Makes it easy to keep clean and wipe up any dirt or fluid spills
    Looks nice too.

Send him a mail?

Got onto Bob last week and sent him a picture of the caliper.
    He said he thought it was the same as the one used on some Gilera 600's.
    Asked him about shipping a rebuild kit to Ireland.
    That's the last contact I've had with him.

Last night I took off the caliper and gave it a clean.
    Seals and pistons seem perfect.
    Put it back together and it was still spongy.

Today, I said I'd try and pinpoint the problem a bit better.
    Took brembo off my 08 Tuono and that sorted it.
    Brakes are working perfectly now.
    IMG-20210114-132956.jpg

I'm onto a lad in Germany that has a used one for sale(Master cylinder, reservoir and brake light switch) so hopefully that works out.

Also fitted my new motobatt and an air filter as well

IMG-20210114-133033.jpg

Got onto Bob last week and sent him a picture of the caliper.
    He said he thought it was the same as the one used on some Gilera 600's.
    Asked him about shipping a rebuild kit to Ireland.
    That's the last contact I've had with him.

Last night I took off the caliper and gave it a clean.
    Seals and pistons seem perfect.
    Put it back together and it was still spongy.

Today, I said I'd try and pinpoint the problem a bit better.
    Took brembo off my 08 Tuono and that sorted it.
    Brakes are working perfectly now.
    IMG-20210114-132956.jpg

I'm onto a lad in Germany that has a used one for sale(Master cylinder, reservoir and brake light switch) so hopefully that works out.

Also fitted my new motobatt and an air filter as well

IMG-20210114-133033.jpg
    Sweet.
    Did you ride the bike with the tuono master? What size bore is in the tuono master you've fitted vs the oem one ye pulled off her?

I ask as I've been down this road before with the Dr's where everyone swore blind a bandit master would improve it. It did, at the lever only where you got a nice firm action but hydraulically a 17mm bandit mc (iirc) bore is better suited to pumping two 2 pot sliding calipers. So how were the brakes in use with this larger bore? Terrible, absolutely wooden with no power as they needed around a 13mm bore from my experimentation.

I used a master from one of those newish kwaker 250 ninja yokes which is 13ishmm bore and I have sufficient lever travel and tons of power. Hydraulically a two pot sliding caliper is roughly equivalent to a 4 pot as you are pumping two pistons but also offsetting the sliding element of the caliper too.

Tbh I'd be surprised if the brake has much power with the tuono mc but it will feel great when just pulling it as it'll be well firm. For a lot of the Dr crew that did them as they were so used to shyte brakes lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Chiorino

Treated myself to an upgrade for my 40th. Not going to be everyone's cup of tea I'm sure but I'm delighted with it and it's a hell of lot of bike for the money.

xLZEjFS.jpg

Sh8dZZp.jpg

Can't wait till restrictions ease and I can get some decent miles done.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭robbie_63

Congrats on the new wheels, that's a nice bike, Massive but nice all the same.

That a multistrada ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Chiorino

That a multistrada ?

Benelli TRK502X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,025 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Nice bike. I looked into them before deciding on the Tiger 800.
    Wear well.