Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Blanchy90

I replaced my bulbs with Osram nightbreakers last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

A bit of handmade titanium porn for you lot.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Thinking of putting a damper on the z1000 too

She seems fine under acceleration, corning etc but she's light with a short wheelbase which causes me concern re wheeling and getting tank slappers when she comes back down.

Just have to decide on a color

432054.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,513 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I've a Touno that comes with a factory fitted Sachs damper.
    An elastic band would nearly do a better job.
    Have u one in particular that u want Mak?

blade1 wrote: »
    I've a Touno that comes with a factory fitted Sachs damper.
    An elastic band would nearly do a better job.
    Have u one in particular that u want Mak?

Well I don't have Stewy's disposable income to throw at my bike, it'll be from 'Fuk Ku ckip kunt' in Hong Kong lol :D

(not a dig at you Stewy, I love your bikes man)

I've been lucky to date with tank slappers, never had a bad one. But you know that feeling coming down off a wheelie and the steering is a little sideways?, well the Zed is coming down at +100kph and it concerns me just enough to stick a cheap unit onto it

But it doesn't concern me enough to throw a whole lot of money at it.

Hey, I can order an Ohlin's sticker from ebay too :D

Btw my old R1100s had an Ohlins unit, when that started to leak it cost or replacement was way out of my budget. A repair was possible with NDM, but I junked it and bought a Chinese damper from Ebay and tbh it was excellent, had 22 settings and gave me the confidence to use one again.

Motorcycle cnc Universal Stabilizer Damper Complete Steering Mounting Bracket For Kawasaki Z1000 Z800 Z750 EX-300 honda Yamaha
    http://s.aliexpress.com/vei2qUzQ
    (from AliExpress Android):eek::eek::eek:

Motorcycle cnc Universal Stabilizer Damper Complete Steering Mounting Bracket For Kawasaki Z1000 Z800 Z750 EX-300 honda Yamaha
    http://s.aliexpress.com/vei2qUzQ
    (from AliExpress Android):eek::eek::eek:

More or less what I put on the old bike.

That price doesn't include the mounting bracket, just the damper.

You'll get the whole unit for €50-€60 delivered, for me its a few quid I can afford should a part turn out to be junk. But so far I've used Chinese discs, exhausts, a steering damper and some smaller bits over the years and tbh I haven't been let down by any of 'em.

I've not racing a bike so I'm not asking something to put up with the stresses of a race.. For me (always on a budget) its a no brainer.

I might try one of those myself.
    I've an ohlins on my Mille but as I said the Sachs one on the Tuono is rubbish.
    Aprilia cost cutting I suppose.
    That V-twin sometimes wants to bite back when pushed.

Lads,I have 3 chinese steering damper kits here,and the quality is good,fitment is bang on too.

All you need to service one is a set of rubber O-Rings and some ATF fluid.Piece of pi55 to service one.

Some of the racers in Mondello use them on their bikes.

I say go for it.:)

Heres a Hyper-Pro damper with a chinese fitting kit.
    For a CBR600rr.

Fitment is bang on too.

I might try one of those myself.

I'll be ordering one shortly, if you want (when I get it) we can hook up for you to check it out before buying.

My advice to buying Chinese is spend what you can afford to write off if its junk.. Now to order an Ohlins sticker too :p

Lads,I have 3 chinese steering damper kits here,and the quality is good,fitment is bang on too.

All you need to service one is a set of rubber O-Rings and some ATF fluid.Piece of pi55 to service one.

Some of the racers in Mondello use them on their bikes.

I say go for it.:)

There'll be a rush to buy Chinese steering dampers now, price will rocket tomorrow :(

2ijkg9.jpg

Mak, if u want,pm me your address and I'll send you on one large and one small öhlins decal.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/oi2vDkymeJZzGsmh2

Mak, if u want,pm me your address and I'll send you on one large and one small öhlins decal.

Cool, I wasn't messing about getting Ohlins stickers :D

If Mak dont want the big stickers,then can I have them please?

They will go well on the track bike fairings

Cool, I wasn't messing about getting Ohlins stickers :D

The large ones are way too big for a damper so if ye want I can send Mak the small öhlins and 2 ninja decals and I can send stewy the 2 large öhlins.
    Battery just to show size.

2ihoz0l.jpg

The reason why I have öhlins decals on me?
    Some previous owner of my Tuono overtightened the pinch bolts for the axle.
    And it doesn't take much to snap these.
    The new one that was put on didn't come with a decal on it.
    An expensive mistake by someone.. a torque wrench would have been a lot cheaper
    21nie7d.jpg

Also,looked into a box just there that came with the Tuono and amongst other stuff was a front sprocket and these bearings and seals.
    It's my lucky day today.. I also won €50 in the local primary school fund raising draw!!:D
    2urnjnd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

You'd be surprised just how good some of the Chinese parts are, I got two sets of adjustable levers for less than 30 delivered, they look identical to the LSL ones but I didn't go for gold and black just titanium colour.
    I can't tell if the alu is the same grade but they are pretty impressive for the price.
    YMMV.

Blade just home from training, I'll text you in a bit. I can hook up with Stewy, we live close by. It'll save you posting twice, if that's ok with Stewy

Im easy Mak,whatever suits Blade the best.

I sent them separately... One each for the 2 bestest boys!:pac:

Seems I'm not alone with my feelings about the Sachs damper.

They sell öhlins dampers on AliExpress??:pac:
    http://s.aliexpress.com/vaqUN7nq

4 months waiting,but worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,856 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Coors Sh!te and raw chips, mmmm! :p

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

Coors Sh!te and raw chips, mmmm! :p

Only the best for me......:p:pac::D

It was just the 1 bottle too,and with me food,as I still had to drive back to Dub land.

Should've stuck to the water, tastes better!

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

Should've stuck to the water, tastes better!

Nah,its Tango or nothing at all........................:P

Ya could at least stick to something Irish!

(yeah that ad seemed weird at the time, too)

Black and Gold

Nice.

Earlier this evening I did something to my bike - mop beer out of the top box :(

Bought a few bottles on a Friday evening (it's not a crime - yet) and took them less than a km home - one started to spring a leak and I went inside and didn't unload the bike for a while - by the time I realised, half a bottle was gone!

Was briefly tempted to unhook the top box, tilt it up and stick my mouth under it but I ended up tipping it out, hosing it out, wiping it off as best I coud with that big roll of Lidl workshop paper towels, and sighing malcontentedly to myself. At least nothing non-waterproof had got wet. I must have brought beer home hundreds of times and this never happened before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Nice.

Earlier this evening I did something to my bike - mop beer out of the top box :(

Bought a few bottles on a Friday evening (it's not a crime - yet) and took them less than a km home - one started to spring a leak and I went inside and didn't unload the bike for a while - by the time I realised, half a bottle was gone!

Was briefly tempted to unhook the top box, tilt it up and stick my mouth under it but I ended up tipping it out, hosing it out, wiping it off as best I coud with that big roll of Lidl workshop paper towels, and sighing malcontentedly to myself. At least nothing non-waterproof had got wet. I must have brought beer home hundreds of times and this never happened before.

I did this on my Street Glide a couple of weeks ago. A glass 6 pack and the Wicklow Gap don't get on well !! :D

Right I've just ordered the Chinese steering damper. Now just to wait six months for the slow boat delivery from China now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,902 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

anyone have experience with chinesium rearsets?

my gear side arm isn't 100% after the fall and an OEM replacement is pretty spendy and all the second hand ones look in no better shape

This is the very same unit I've just bought, looks pretty nice :D

The guy has a funny way of reviewing something.

This is the very same unit I've just bought, looks pretty nice :D

The guy has a funny way of reviewing something.

Sounds like he's the English equivalent of you Mak! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Sounds like he's the English equivalent of you Mak! :pac:

That man likes his gadgets.....!!

Right I've just ordered the Chinese steering damper. Now just to wait six months for the slow boat delivery from China now :(

Fast boat more like,got my race rad,rearsets and steering damper fitting kits in 8 days from time of ordering.

Couldnt believe it.:eek::D

my gear side arm isn't 100% after the fall and an OEM replacement is pretty spendy and all the second hand ones look in no better shape

Good enough for a fair few racers in Mondello,.:)

Power Ranger transformation well under way now.....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭cadete

I had a set on my sv mate, found them good quality, and would definitely buy again

Blade1 the stickers arrived in this mornings post, mucho gracious :D

Stickers just arrived here too.
    Thanks Mr Blade....you sir are a legend.:)

Stickers just arrived here too.
    Thanks Mr Blade....you sir are a legend.:)

Yup, with my Ohlins sticker my Chinese steering damper has increased in value by €300 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,034 ✭✭✭Wossack

not wanting to piss in anyones cornflakes, but be especially careful with the chinese stuff lads. One lads success story, doesnt green light all the factories in china like.. Theres no QA / branding, so not all levers/dampeners/rearsets are created equal. I reckon it would be better to recommend actual ebay sellers etc and even then, they can switch factories as it suits them

just be extra vigilant about the bits you yourself receive, and if you're not 100% about them (look and feel weak/chintzy), reconsider fitting

Thats a fair and valid point there Wossack.

I will look through my Ebay purchase history and post who I bought my stuff off of,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,034 ✭✭✭Wossack

on re-read, I shoulda stuck some smilies in there to try and take the lecturing tone down a bit lol

Wossack wrote: »
    on re-read, I shoulda stuck some smilies in there to try and take the lecturing tone down a bit lol

::P:P:P:pac::pac::pac::pac::):):):):):D:D:D:

Would lock wiring work for this Q?.

I'll begin by reminding the thread that I recently fitted heated grips to the Zed.

Nearly had a very nasty accident this morning, first off I'll admit to making two silly decisions.

After a night of celebrations last night I shouldn't have rode the bike today, but I did. First silly decision.

Second, acting the sack and overcooked a wheelie ~ I brought the front down fairly hard, and this is when things very nearly ended tits up.. The of the front coming down and me closing the throttle must have broken the grip loose from its adhesive and it slid forward (I hope I'm explaining this clearly).

So when I opened the throttle again I was grabbing a huge amount of throttle and I almost lost it again with a massive uncontrolled and unintended wheelie (a real brown pants moment).

So I've glued the grip again but I want to make sure this can't happen again, so anyone with lock wiring experience ~ would lock wiring the grip ensure against this happening again?.

Oh, the hangover is grand tonight after a curry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Mak, thats what I do, just cut off 2 bits of wire and twist them hard at either end of the throttle grip. the grip won't budge after that.