Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Fitted a double USB port to the Blackbird earlier today, delighted with it as its now ready for the tour starting Tuesday and we can charge our phones, power banks, and Bluetooth intercoms.

Gonna fit some mini wide angle mirrors to the existing mirrors tomorrow, just to increase rear visibility, and give her a quick wash too. Maybe a polish if I get time.

Where'd you get the double port and where does it get power? Need something similar for the GS

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

ebay for something like: https://www.durite.co.uk/itm/Black-USB-Port-Socket-12V/Black-12V-24V-USB-Port-Socket/060108

Does a GS have a Hella socket? You can get those adaptors too. "hella double usb adapter"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Finally put the 10 Yr old anakee 2s on the silage heap.
    IMG-20200816-113648.jpg

IMG-20200816-115327.jpg
    Wheelmate gets the vote now I've finally clicked with it.
    Tourance take some psi to seat.
    Interestingly these tyres are way lighter, rear alone was over 700g lighter!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

cantdecide wrote: »
    New shifter arrived but the rose joint had a RH thread instead of the factor LH one. I was about to throw it in the bin but realised I could chop a broken extra long screwdriver and die the forward thread into both rose joints...
    523118.jpg
    523119.jpg

Absolutely Class :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,446 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I washed my bike yesterday then started it in the garden with the intention of a spin.

My neighbour came over for a chat so I shut it off with the switch... a while later I went to go out and the battery was flat so booster pack on and started it up but the idle was terrible, not really sure what happened but after a 5 minute spin all was well again. I've put it down to an electrical anomaly but I will be keeping an eye on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Where'd you get the double port and where does it get power? Need something similar for the GS

I opted (heh) for Optimate stuff as it has a sensor that will shut the device down if its left on, or connected, and I have neither the time nor skill to build my own relay for a cheaper USB charger.

I got 3 Optimate cables; one from the battery rings to the SAE, one from SAE to USB, then USB to double USB.
    Optimate stuff isn't cheap cheap, but it's apparently very good and the waterproofing is solid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,137 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I opted (heh) for Optimate stuff as it has a sensor that will shut the device down if its left on, or connected, and I have neither the time nor skill to build my own relay for a cheaper USB charger.

I got 3 Optimate cables; one from the battery rings to the SAE, one from SAE to USB, then USB to double USB.
    Optimate stuff isn't cheap cheap, but it's apparently very good and the waterproofing is solid.

Relays are readily available for not alot of money. Premade.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,792 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Latest purchase is some Renthal G149 grips. About €14 delivered on ebay. Looks like a handy job to fit them too. The old ones are well worn.

s-l1600.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Latest purchase is some Renthal G149 grips. About €14 delivered on ebay. Looks like a handy job to fit them too. The old ones are well worn.

s-l1600.jpg

Can't beat an air compressor to fit grips, just put the nozzle into the grip and it just slides on. If you are using grip glue then apply that to the bar first.
    I use safety wire on mine usually though.

My grips are shabby looking, loads of life left but they have a yellow part that looks manky so ordered oxford heated grips. Hopefully have them this week so I can pop them on. Off work next week woth no plans so plenty of spins :)

Also I normally do all my own work, I'm handy on the tools and have a comprehensive selection of tools. But I've no access to my usual work space at the minute and being off next week I wanted the bike to get a service so dropped it into a garage.

I feel like my backside is going to feel like I've been the new guy in Arbour Hill..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,512 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Got swingarm removal adaptors for my abba stand.
    They bolt into your front foot hanger bracket.
    Very handy to have.
    There's also an arm and strap you can get which allows you have the bike in front wheel or both wheels off the ground positions.
    You can then have both wheels, swingarm and front forks off the bike all at one time.
    Think I'll purchase.

IMG-20200819-173058.jpg

IMG-20200819-173142.jpg

Handy bit of kit there blade. Never bought one as all my bikes have a centre stand (pre requisite I'm afraid, now I'm old) but my piece of shyte front stand must go, hate it with a vengence. Recommend one?

Any desire to swop the clutch slave for aftermarket?
    I got sick of this craic fast. ..
    rsz-22.jpg
    ... So replaced it with Oberon about 8yrs back. Fluid don't blacken as much and still on the same seal.

Pulled the blue dr wilbers springs, gone right off progressives and they're fuggin harsh in the final third of stroke.
    IMG-20200819-191946.jpg
    Have about 5 sets of oem springs and picked the longest of them and bunged them in. It will be softer for sure but with the intiminators brake dive will be reeled in. Wilbers shock needs a service, rang Paul, 180 bliparoos. Will hold off till winter, which feels about now...:confused:

Despite having immersed the patched tube in water to assure myself.... she was soft yday so spat, cursed and pulled the wheel, bunged in a uhd Mitas tube I bought and balanced her up again.
    I'm pulling the 530 chain and sprocks tomo (conversion I fitted during rebuild) and fitting stock gearing with 520 zfm extreme did chain. Chains got stiff links and was damn heavy in comparison to the red dr's. That and bigs kill chains and they nearly always punch through the case when the let go so not chancing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

listermint wrote: »
    Relays are readily available for not alot of money. Premade.

Good to know for the future. Still happy to pay the extra for the solid waterproofing and easy installation of the Optimate stuff, especially as I needed it sorted ASAP.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Nabidana

Fitted a double USB port to the Blackbird earlier today, delighted with it as its now ready for the tour starting Tuesday and we can charge our phones, power banks, and Bluetooth intercoms.

Gonna fit some mini wide angle mirrors to the existing mirrors tomorrow, just to increase rear visibility, and give her a quick wash too. Maybe a polish if I get time.

Which Bluetooth intercoms do you use?

H_Lime wrote: »
    Handy bit of kit there blade. Never bought one as all my bikes have a centre stand (pre requisite I'm afraid, now I'm old) but my piece of shyte front stand must go, hate it with a vengence. Recommend one?

Any desire to swop the clutch slave for aftermarket?
    I got sick of this craic fast. ..
    rsz-22.jpg
    ... So replaced it with Oberon about 8yrs back. Fluid don't blacken as much and still on the same seal.

Pulled the blue dr wilbers springs, gone right off progressives and they're fuggin harsh in the final third of stroke.
    IMG-20200819-191946.jpg
    Have about 5 sets of oem springs and picked the longest of them and bunged them in. It will be softer for sure but with the intiminators brake dive will be reeled in. Wilbers shock needs a service, rang Paul, 180 bliparoos. Will hold off till winter, which feels about now...:confused:

Despite having immersed the patched tube in water to assure myself.... she was soft yday so spat, cursed and pulled the wheel, bunged in a uhd Mitas tube I bought and balanced her up again.
    I'm pulling the 530 chain and sprocks tomo (conversion I fitted during rebuild) and fitting stock gearing with 520 zfm extreme did chain. Chains got stiff links and was damn heavy in comparison to the red dr's. That and bigs kill chains and they nearly always punch through the case when the let go so not chancing it.

I have two rear stands, and two front stands but they are only cheap and cheerful ones.
    If I have to recommend something, I'd say buy something made by abba.
    Fantastic stuff.
    I have now ordered the front lift arm.

Yeah the slave cylinder will be going.
    Both my other apes got treated to Oberon's when I bought them.
    Just seem to have a constant flow of things to buy at the moment but I'll get there.

Would Paul use öhlins parts if I gave him my front and rear suspension?
    Öhlins seals seem to be a bit softer than others.
    A bit more prone to leaks but kinder to the nitride coating on the forks.

blade1 wrote: »
    I have two rear stands, and two front stands but they are only cheap and cheerful ones.
    If I have to recommend something, I'd say buy something made by abba.
    Fantastic stuff.
    I have now ordered the front lift arm.

Yeah the slave cylinder will be going.
    Both my other apes got treated to Oberon's when I bought them.
    Just seem to have a constant flow of things to buy at the moment but I'll get there.

Would Paul use öhlins parts if I gave him my front and rear suspension?
    Öhlins seals seem to be a bit softer than others.
    A bit more prone to leaks but kinder to the nitride coating on the forks.

Steve in ndm in Dublin is ohlins trained but I'd be surprised if Paul wasn't doing them, give him bell.
    There loads of opinion back n forth bout using non ohlins fork seals. Hard to argue with lads using gixer seals for tens of thousand ks insisting the nitride's fine on theirs, but then again tis the interweb so believe little.
    I know if I had as many bikes with gooooold forks as you I'd be buying the tools (surely it's just the peg spanner for the caps?!) to do the work myself otherwise that sh1ts gona get exp.

Talk to him about those green skf low stiction seals. Was it Galway or CJ here mentioned them and I've been doing a little reading and reports are ++ and Paul was in agreement bout them. Could be an option for you, bout 60 quid a set.

Here's my hitec tool I made for my suzukis:D
    dav.jpg

IMG-20200108-125924.jpg

I've seen loads of nitride coating worn from gsxr seals.
    Wouldn't be putting them on my bikes anyway.
    You make a tool for ohlins and do mine for me! :D

I've seen loads of nitride coating worn from gsxr seals.
    Wouldn't be putting them on my bikes anyway.
    You make a tool for ohlins and do mine for me! :D

A good fitting peg spanner would sort the caps, unsure what the craic is thereafter with any specialist tools. I'd have thought that the usual bracket for an usd fork would see you good but ain't been inside a set so unsure??
    I've no skin in the gixer seals in ohlins forks buzz but considering the ti ni wear on k1 to 4 I'd be going oem or skf green myself.

Powers out so had to do this with a file lol
    IMG-20200820-112019.jpg
    ....so I could drive the link out, wanna keep as spare for emergency.
    IMG-20200820-143543.jpg
    New tyres, c&s (15/48 - 520), fork springs, revalved the intiminators (4 x 0.6mm shims) and she's a lot more supple. The stock 520 set is 786g lighter than the 530 I had on there and what surprising is how that's very obviously felt! Now if this feckin storm fooks off I can get out on er for a proper test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭goblin59

installed fork gators on my F650GS last weekend, ended up being a pain in the arse as two of the bolts holding the mudguard siezed, my neighbor came to the rescue and installed a helicoil for me.

hoping to take this bike to Wacken Open Air and then across the alps next summer, so getting the prep work done this year so I can catch anything that might be an issue well before the trip

goblin59 wrote: »
    installed fork gators on my F650GS last weekend, ended up being a pain in the arse as two of the bolts holding the mudguard siezed, my neighbor came to the rescue and installed a helicoil for me.

hoping to take this bike to Wacken Open Air and then across the alps next summer, so getting the prep work done this year so I can catch anything that might be an issue well before the trip

Love the stand! Pics?
    Had a bolt seize exact same place on a the Dr.
    How's the bike been/behaving now?

Love the stand! Pics?
    Had a bolt seize exact same place on a the Dr.
    How's the bike been/behaving now?

Its really handy for doing the work on, it belongs to my Dad so I've limited access to it, went back home for the good weather 2 weeks ago.

https://www.sealey.co.uk/product/5637191853/single-post-motorcycle-lift-450kg-capacity

So far i think i may have done something to the brakes as the pads were getting excessively hot when riding.
    I gave them a clean during the week but haven't been out for long trips to check them due to ****ty weather.

I have spoke tyres for this bike, but they need to be set up, the plan is get Dunlop trailmax missions onto the spokes for travelling and then I've Dunlop Trailsmarts on the alloys for general usage here.
    Going to do a conversion on the spokes and make them tubeless.

Its really handy for doing the work on, it belongs to my Dad so I've limited access to it, went back home for the good weather 2 weeks ago.

https://www.sealey.co.uk/product/5637191853/single-post-motorcycle-lift-450kg-capacity

So far i think i may have done something to the brakes as the pads were getting excessively hot when riding.
    I gave them a clean during the week but haven't been out for long trips to check them due to ****ty weather.

I have spoke tyres for this bike, but they need to be set up, the plan is get Dunlop trailmax missions onto the spokes for travelling and then I've Dunlop Trailsmarts on the alloys for general usage here.
    Going to do a conversion on the spokes and make them tubeless.

Pump the caliper pistons out about 5mm clean em and grease the sliding pins too. If still no good new seals! Beemer sell em even tho brembo.
    Really cool stand goblin, would love it.
    Recently rebuild a set of wheels and am pondering what tyres to fit. Properly scrubbed the new tourance today. Great tyre.

Pump the caliper pistons out about 5mm clean em and grease the sliding pins too. If still no good new seals! Beemer sell em even tho brembo.
    Really cool stand goblin, would love it.
    Recently rebuild a set of wheels and am pondering what tyres to fit. Properly scrubbed the new tourance today. Great tyre.

Yeah i pumped them out and had the cleaner at them and regreased the pins.
    I'm hoping that did it.
    If not yeah its time for new seals, i'm pretty new to bikes (only did the IBT in November)
    But Dad has been on them for just under 45 years, heading home in a few weeks, so might order the kit and rebuild the calipers while im up there, He's done it before on quite a few bikes.

Yeah i pumped them out and had the cleaner at them and regreased the pins.
    I'm hoping that did it.
    If not yeah its time for new seals, i'm pretty new to bikes (only did the IBT in November)
    But Dad has been on them for just under 45 years, heading home in a few weeks, so might order the kit and rebuild the calipers while im up there, He's done it before on quite a few bikes.

Yer laughing so, tis a very satisfying job when you have all the bits and prep done:)
    IMG-20191119-200120.jpg

How do like thew bike, has it been a good first bike? Anything you don't like bout it?

Yer laughing so, tis a very satisfying job when you have all the bits and prep done:)
    IMG-20191119-200120.jpg

How do like thew bike, has it been a good first bike? Anything you don't like bout it?

Great bike, I find the sitting position incredibly comfortable compared to the lean down sports bike style, paid about €3,500 for it
    Insurance wasn't bad on it considering its really a 800cc engine, (€700 for the year for someone with no previous motorcycle riding experience)
    My only complaint would be the side stand, has a huge lean over angle, so i can't put it down in certain areas or i would be having no fun moving it off.
    Have an wide plate on it now that really helps though.

Really easy to get parts for as well, anything that fits the F700 & F800 will fit onto this bike, plenty of aftermarket stuff too.

I wanted a bike that I would hold onto for a while and be able to tour on, so this would do that.
    Plus being a BMW i can get parts in most shops for it in any city, but they might just be expensive :(

Those mudguard nuts and bolts can be an absolute prick. Doesn't matter the bike they catch so much crap in there. I've had to slot them with a grinder and use an impact screwdriver and hammer. With decent success.

Yeah, my neighbor was saying alloy and steel pretty much self welds itself too.
    We had no fun trying to get them out.

Yeah, my neighbor was saying alloy and steel pretty much self welds itself too.
    We had no fun trying to get them out.

That's exactly it. Tbh its probably worth swapping the bolts out for new every year or so. Can get cheap sets of hundreds in eBay

Grease em will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭zubair

Copper grease has saved me from a lot of headaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,257 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Alright so I'm in this shot but feck it, today with the help of a member of the club I was finally able to get the batwing fitting to the bike. It took a lot of fiddling, messing with making new brackets to hold it but it's on and it's perfect.

Next thing is to look into new lights for the bike.

S5alYXYh.jpg

KnJ8XZeh.jpg

5cxmFdDh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Are they tears all over the ground?

Got a used set of Gilles Tooling levers for my MT10 from ebay. A guy in the UK had a lot of genuine Yamaha aftermarket stuff for sale but I was outbid at the last second for most of it :( Happy enough with the levers though. Nicely made and are far nicer than the ugly cheapo stock levers.
    ZWuA88Y.jpg?1
    pf0pjlk.jpg?1
    Whenever I can spare the cash I plan on replacing the handlebars/risers with the Gilles Tooling billet aluminium versions (all black) with Rizoma grips and bar end mirrors. I will probably replace the front brake master cylinder with the R1 version, as the brakes do lack a bit of bite and this mod apparently fixes that issue. Also on the shopping list are the Yamaha rad gaurds/crash protectors etc.
    I might get the wheels powder coated (keeping the original color) as the paint is quite thin and has flaked away a lot around the rims.

zubair wrote: »
    Copper grease has saved me from a lot of headaches.

yeah I'm using copper grease now.
    Made a rookie mistake and used too much at first and the bolts came loose holding the calipers on.
    Thank **** i noticed the rattle and cleaned the excess off and put them back in tightly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,257 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Are they tears all over the ground?

It was a REALLY good ride.

Sonics2k wrote: »
    It was a REALLY good ride.

Thats clearly not tears then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭D3V!L

This week I am mostly getting a new gearbox

524252.jpg

FML :mad:

D3V!L wrote: »

524252.jpg

What happened?

It slipped out of gear on a slow bend and makes a very loud crunch when changing from neutral to first. Only 2200 kilometres on it and I was very careful with the break-in etc.

524252.jpg

ACT FAST!
    https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/gs-500/24994170

That's yours ,isn't it ?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

It slipped out of gear on a slow bend and makes a very loud crunch when changing from neutral to first. Only 2200 kilometres on it and I was very careful with the break-in etc.

That's unreal. Just a lemon.

Get them to do the leaky brake caliper recall when doin the box:eek:

That's unreal. Just a lemon.

It was dodgy since day one but I thought it was just because of the breaking in etc. Just seems to have gotten worse to the point it's not safe to drive.

A new gearbox was waiting for it in the workshop so hats off to Belfast BMW Motorrad. Stellar service as always. I only wish they were closer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭zubair

Joking, I hope BMW don't have a Jonah clause in their warranty?

It was dodgy since day one but I thought it was just because of the breaking in etc. Just seems to have gotten worse to the point it's not safe to drive.

A new gearbox was waiting for it in the workshop so hats off to Belfast BMW Motorrad. Stellar service as always. I only wish they were closer.

Could you ask for your money back and buy something a bit less sh1t? Are you legally entitled to a refund?
    After dropping 20k on a bike I'd be carefully considering my options. At the very least I'd be looking for a replacement bike and would 100% want no more to do with that particular repaired machine for obvious reasons.

Could you ask for your money back and buy something a bit less sh1t? Are you legally entitled to a refund?
    After dropping 20k on a bike I'd be carefully considering my options. At the very least I'd be looking for a replacement bike and would 100% want no more to do with that particular repaired machine for obvious reasons.

I'm going to see what the latest is from them. It would be a pain as I imported it and paid VRT and VAT here already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

I'm going to see what the latest is from them. It would be a pain as I imported it and paid VRT and VAT here already.

Suppose it should be as good as new when repaired, but could be a message from the bike gods telling you it ..
    Serves you right for not buying an African twin 🀣

Tbh I don't understand fully the issues you face there. If its just a ball ache of paperwork then persue it as I would not be any way happy to continue ownership on that repaired machine and I'd be exploring my rights there iiwy.

Consider an @ or super 10. Expensive new bikes shouldn't be shi+ and unreliable.
    I worked on and rode a super tenere and they are a wonderful package that are really well built.
    Or.... Buy the venerable gs500, you know you want it. Or better yet a BMW gs1150!