Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

feedback on rose carbon bikes needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

i prefer my mechanical shifting tbh, hate the idea of having to have a battery charged to go out on the bike, wonder how waterproof the systems are as well? considering we are in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Konkers

route66 wrote: »
    Well done, and well wear !!!

Be sure to come back and tell us how you get on - with loads of pics please!

Absolutely will not forget. Shiny white and went with the ultegra option.
    I'll have to buy a bottle of fairy......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭AtomMcC

i prefer my mechanical shifting tbh, hate the idea of having to have a battery charged to go out on the bike, wonder how waterproof the systems are as well? considering we are in ireland

Mechanical Vs electronic has been thrashed about all over the net. Nobody's gonna win on that one. Even though Bradley Wiggins used Di2 for most of last year's tour he went mechanical on the last stage. Horses for courses and there's nothing wrong with that.
    I never ran out of battery charge in 1,700km last year which is pretty awesome. 35 mins precautionary charge to top it up. Water proofing is great (so far) except if you wash your bike with the battery off. I mistakenly done this and got water in the battery housing. Turns out there are o-ring seals between the battery connections of the mount.
    So the lesson guys: Leave the battery on the bike unless you're charging it. That includes when it's on the bike rack and if hosing the bike down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Rose also have a 5 year warranty for replacement frames: "in case of an accident or a fall, you get a replacement frame for half the price"

And they appear to have changed access to the configurator again! There is something available at http://www.roseversand.com/configurator but it's hard to get it working. If you click on "Start the selection now", you get a German message saying it's being updated. If you click on one of the pictures below this (they actually relate to last year's models I think) it brings the configurator up for this year's model.

Or you could just not bother. I think Rose need to realise that a direct-sales model means their web site must work properly :confused:

That seems like a good service to provide for replacement frames. I read through the small print and it seems straightforward, good to know.

I got the configurator loaded up but couldn't find any way to change the frames to this year's models. Agree that they'd really want to get it sorted out quickly as it's poor form and may turn customers away. I'm not going to buy for a few weeks if I do decide to go ahead, but I'd say they're losing some business while this gets sorted.

AtomMcC wrote: »
    Agreed. Shifting is as fast as you can click the button and I believe it is even faster if you update the firmware for multi-shift option (see link below).
    http://forums.roadbikereview.com/components-wrenching/new-ultegra-di2-firmware-supports-multishift-296590.html
    There may be a video somewhere on youtube also.
    Haven't done it yet coz I can't afford to fork out the money for the PC interface.

Now that is interesting as it addresses the main problem I had with Di2. Assume that's possible with DuraAce Di2 also?

I do like the idea of knowing that you'll have very reliable shifting without much maintenance and I think I can get over the slightly bulky look of Ultegra Di2 and the additional weight. Still, there is the feeling that if you're laying out several grand it'd be nice to have the top-end groupset on it, but DuraAce Di2 seems to be an extra grand or thereabouts, a bridge too far. So for me it'll boil down to Ultegra Di2 vs. DuraAce mechanical. Good news is Rose's email back to me with the quote included the battery in the seatpost so that option isn't just DuraAce.

That said, I'll have a good bit of homework on compatibility to do before I decide to purchase. I may well be overlooking something, but I don't yet see any major advantages of 11 speed over 10 speed, guess I might see it more when racing. But for now, it seems the convenience of being able to use the same cassettes and chains (e.g. I keep a DuraAce chain on hand at home so I don't lose much time if one breaks) that I already have would be very handy. I have a Dura Ace 7950 chainset/cranks with SRM inbuilt and I'd like the option of using that on the Rose bike, so there'll be a bit of toing and froing and checking details like that before I hit the trigger (which will only come when I reach 5kg weight loss myself - thought of the bike is certainly helping motivation!).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

it would seem teh 57 frame in black i bought might have been the last one, it's no longer an option on teh page to order. frank, you may not want to wait too long, it would appear there isn't endless stock there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Paul Kiernan

Quote:
    Originally Posted by FrankGrimes viewpost.gif
    What's the deal with the BB386 bottom bracket on the CW Team - would this be compatible with a chainset currently housed in one of these Shimano Dura Ace Bottom Bracket Cups SM-BB7900 ?

Yes.

I may be wrong on this! Sorry for any inconvenience caused:o.

I read it as BB86 which takes a standard Shimano 24mm spindle in a 86mm press fit BB. Rose describe their system as a 30mm/86mm system. However, that's what standard BB30 is. Also they specify this BB with cranksets from Shimano, SRAM and Campy so there would appear to be different variants of it. My take would be that if you order a BB386 with a Shimano crankset you can then do a straight swop with another Shimano but if you, say, order one with Campy PT/UT it would be totally incompatible with a Shimano crankset.

If I can get more info on BB386, which appears to be a Rose proprietary standard, I'll post it up later.

Edit: It's actually an FSA standard which uses a 30mm inside diameter BB and a series of adapters for the different types of cranksets - see http://www.fullspeedahead.com/storage/insidetech/items/EN_e656e229-9b7e-4e8a-ac9a-412d8ef8ff75_BB386EVOCompatibility_120504-R1.pdf

got my assembly date. feb 8th, so with any luck should have my new bike by end of feb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

mossym wrote: »
    got my assembly date. feb 8th, so with any luck should have my new bike by end of feb

Good stuff!

In the meantime have a little read here - some details on how Rose deliveries work amongst other things.

Good stuff!

In the meantime have a little read here - some details on how Rose deliveries work amongst other things.

feck it anway, if i had signed up for the rosecard before hand i could have got 2% of the purchase price, or nearly 50 euros credit to spend? that was an oversight.

Sign up anyway - I'm not sure, but I think you may get the credit retrospectively for future purchases.

I may be wrong on this! Sorry for any inconvenience caused:o.

I read it as BB86 which takes a standard Shimano 24mm spindle in a 86mm press fit BB. Rose describe their system as a 30mm/86mm system. However, that's what standard BB30 is. Also they specify this BB with cranksets from Shimano, SRAM and Campy so there would appear to be different variants of it. My take would be that if you order a BB386 with a Shimano crankset you can then do a straight swop with another Shimano but if you, say, order one with Campy PT/UT it would be totally incompatible with a Shimano crankset.

If I can get more info on BB386, which appears to be a Rose proprietary standard, I'll post it up later.

Edit: It's actually an FSA standard which uses a 30mm inside diameter BB and a series of adapters for the different types of cranksets - see http://www.fullspeedahead.com/storage/insidetech/items/EN_e656e229-9b7e-4e8a-ac9a-412d8ef8ff75_BB386EVOCompatibility_120504-R1.pdf

Nice one Paul. Gotta admit, bottom bracket standards/formats confuse the hell outta me more than any other bike component. I've emailed Rose and asked for their view on whether it'll be compatible or if an adaptor would be required, will see how it goes.

It's a big purchase so I won't rush it, I'd rather ensure that what I do buy is right when I get it, and if that means missing out on current stock, that'll have to be fine. As it's the 2013 Xeon CW Team frame I'm interested in, I'd say they'll have plenty of those.

Rose responded to say they are aiming to have the new configurator available end of next week.

Also confirmed the CW Team frame is only available in black. Would've been nice to have a choice, but it is a very nice shiny black so it'll be grand.

They were also confident the DuraAce 7950 chainset/cranks would work on that frame.

Sign up anyway - I'm not sure, but I think you may get the credit retrospectively for future purchases.
    Do indeed sign up for it. I signed up in December and still got credits for all purchases I made in 2012, including the bike I bought in June. Happy days.

Good stuff!

All sounds 100% familiar to me. Fair play route66 for putting the step by step guide together. It should go a long way to helping many people. I'm mad I never got a Rose mug though :-(

Do indeed sign up for it. I signed up in December and still got credits for all purchases I made in 2012, including the bike I bought in June. Happy days.

signed up already, hopefully will get the credit as the points on a 2500 euro purchase will get me something at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Great thread lads - Rose is creeping to the top of my short list now

It's the top of my list too. Just need a bit over €2k to make it happen ;-)

Konkers wrote: »
    Absolutely will not forget. Shiny white and went with the ultegra option.
    I'll have to buy a bottle of fairy......:pac:
    Best of luck with the new bike when you get it.
    I'm not sure about the shiny white colour but the matt white I got is very tricky to keep clean. Any oil stains wouldn't come off whatsoever and were wrecking my head for the first few weeks. Then I tried Muc-Off bike cleaner from Halfords (the pink stuff). Absolutely magic! Removes all oil, grease & dirt stains. Just said I'd mention it in case you had the same issue.

Best of luck with the new bike when you get it.
    I'm not sure about the shiny white colour but the matt white I got is very tricky to keep clean. Any oil stains wouldn't come off whatsoever and were wrecking my head for the first few weeks. Then I tried Muc-Off bike cleaner from Halfords (the pink stuff). Absolutely magic! Removes all oil, grease & dirt stains. Just said I'd mention it in case you had the same issue.

Ah Feck it,,,, You know I went with the white cost I did not like the look of the "random carbon" finish of the black frame. This was just based on the limited user photos on the web. Is it cos the finish is rough and not dead smooth?
    I think I've only ever cleaned my current bike once or twice. It's dark grey so it can take the dirt. If they had the black without this so called random finish I would ahve gone for it in a heartbeat. I'm sure I could ring them and chnage it. They had fewer white frames. Something to thing about over the weekend........................ Now where's the remote to watch this interview. Kids are in bed and the beers have been chiled:D

quick update. had Friday as an assembly date for my rose bike, which had me thinking it would start assembly on friday, based on Atom's experience i was thinking a week for assembly, week for delivery so was thinking bike in 2 weeks time. just got an email from rose to say my bike shipped this morning, so hopefully have it next week. can't wait..:)

plus i got the credit for the purchase in my rose account, plus the 300 points...so big thumbs up for rose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭xbox gamer

Just to let you all know that my other half (i entered under her name and mine) was lucky to win a Rosebike wishlist competition at Christmas to the value of €2,500. I was always in the belief somebody was taking the piss but i have received proof when i received this on Friday. I hope the photos come up.

8B29AE71D16E4754995224D7FC4E67EE-0000362093-0003157845-00800L-1568DE094FF647B4B9117FECE24C6B40.jpg

BA5110235A884EEAB55FAE8A5FBDD0F9-0000362093-0003157847-00800L-DBAE161BE4CD42F9BE2CA7892E01085E.jpg

Its a Pro RS 3000 and its the aluminium version. Its a huge change from my Carrera TDF, its so light, set up is for a racer, Ultegra is so accurate and its class. I have always drooled over these bikes and now i have one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Remember seeing you post about that ^ :)

Pictures arent working on my end though

Zyzz wrote: »
    Remember seeing you post about that ^ :)

Pictures arent working on my end though

Fixed that :)

Wow. That's a nice surprise/bit of luck. Enjoy.
    Can't imagine the carerra getting much of a look in anymore.

xbox gamer wrote: »

Its a Pro RS 3000 and its the aluminium version. Its a huge change from my Carrera TDF, its so light, set up is for a racer, Ultegra is so accurate and its class. I have always drooled over these bikes and now i have one :D

just out of curiosity, why did you go for the alu over the CF at that price?

lovely looking bike, i'm sure it'll get a lot of use over the summer

Awesome! Fair play. Great to see someone actually win one of these competitions for a change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

2.5k on alu bike ? Am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

shaka wrote: »

Nothing wrong with aluminium. It's often cheaper to replace in a crash and only a couple of hundred grams heavier.

just out of curiosity, why did you go for the alu over the CF at that price?

lovely looking bike, i'm sure it'll get a lot of use over the summer

I chose it cause (i think) its an extra €300+ more you get a 200 gram lighter carbon fibre bike. Not worth it in my eyes and I wouldn't be able to live with the probability of the carbon frame breaking. Just my thought though.

Anyhow i got sorted with tools and a bench with that extra €300+ i saved.

The bike itself was €1750 so the rest went on tools and a bench. Sorted me out. To be honest i entered the competition at about 12 with the thought i'm not going to win so chose alot of pointless other things and at 3 the other half received an email saying she won. Pure chance

got a call from my wife who's home sick, a big brown box with Rose written on it just got delivered

must be the pedals i ordered...:)

mine actually arrived this AM.
    Spoke to An Post yesterday and they said it would be friday next at the earliest..........................:D

Konkers wrote: »
    mine actually arrived this AM.
    Spoke to An Post yesterday and they said it would be friday next at the earliest..........................:D

i'll show you mine if you show me yours..:)

We want pictures, reviews, the lot!

pics i can help with straight away0C4553A6-5854-4383-A76D-7AE526D1094D-5736-0000059C9B53E071_zps6f48632b.jpg

83975054-CCC8-47FA-845A-35EE7A1CCDB3-5736-0000059C8D149AA2_zps707f70ff.jpg

review, well that will have to wait for a dry day, it's not been outside the door yet..:) i still expect to use my felt a lot when conditions don't lend themselves to taking the rose out.

first impressions though..love it. it's soooooo light compared to my felt. and the brief play with di2 already lets me see how immediate and smooth it is.

couple of small things, i knew going with the black version instead of the white i was at the mercy of the carbon manufacturing process, and this being the last frame of it's size (it disappeared as an option after i ordered this one) i expected that the better frames would have been long gone, there is quite a bit of marking on the frame, nothing too bad, but it's there when you look for it.

the other thing is, it was supposed to come with continental GP tyres, and instead it came with mavic own brand tyres, which i don;t know anything about, but reviews are positive. i asked about getting the carbones, it was an option, but decided to stick with the kysriums. hoping the tyres are decent now.

review, well that will have to wait for a dry day, it's not been outside the door yet..:) i still expect to use my felt a lot when conditions don't lend themselves to taking the rose out.

That's only newitus talking. Understandable, but newitus nevertheless ;-)

Nice bike, by the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Damn what I would do for a Di2 setup :(

Zyzz wrote: »
    Damn what I would do for a Di2 setup :(

constant rain, what i wouldn't get to try a Di2 setup....:mad:

couple of small things, i knew going with the black version instead of the white i was at the mercy of the carbon manufacturing process, and this being the last frame of it's size (it disappeared as an option after i ordered this one)

Love the colour. I was looking at the grey on black frames myself and i think it stands out more than any other bike. Also its easier to keep clean. Wear well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

got a call from my wife who's home sick, a big brown box with Rose written on it just got delivered

must be the pedals i ordered...:)

You think you wife got excited for a while thinking you were going all out Romantic this Valentines?

Hungrycol wrote: »
    You think you wife got excited for a while thinking you were going all out Romantic this Valentines?

nope

she's with me long enough to know better..:D

IMG-20130216-00017.jpg
    Hope the picture works.
    Put it together during the week and its ready to roll (fit wise). But a cold is keeping me in doors (typical....... the one good weekend in ages).

Agree with Mossym its noticably lighter (than my lapierre at any rate).
    First impression is that Mavic hubs are not all they are made out to be. I think I'll be putting my Hope Hoops on this. I think they may even be heavier also.

Reviews to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Very nice!
    Like the all black groupset too. :)

CPL 593H

lovely looking bike, rose seem to be great value at the moment, btw is your stem reversed? seems very high

What is it about Rose Bikes that they don't get used? We have disolving carbon and man flu stuff going on.

Seriously, if ye can't manage it, tell me where you live and I'll take them off your hands! ;-)

Mine got a 90k spin today. Absolutely loved it. Will post more impressions tomorrow.

Bad side, got some knee pain 60k in. was sore rest of ride. Since I got home I can't bend my leg without serious pain. Not blaming the bike at all, but planned ride for tomorrow is off

What is it about Rose Bikes that they don't get used? We have disolving carbon and man flu stuff going on.

Seriously, if ye can't manage it, tell me where you live and I'll take them off your hands! ;-)
    Rose bike being put through its paces at the moment here. 150km tomorrow and open race next week. Might take the guys a few spins to set up. 'tis still February. Plenty of time.

Mine got a 90k spin today. Absolutely loved it. Will post more impressions tomorrow.

Bad side, got some knee pain 60k in. was sore rest of ride. Since I got home I can't bend my leg without serious pain. Not blaming the bike at all, but planned ride for tomorrow is off

Saddle position?

potentially, although i'm thinking more cleat position. changed the cleats on my shoes as well before the ride, as the left knee is sore and the right is fine i'm thinking i have the left cleat out of position, i;d have thought saddle would have hurt both knees.

as for the bike, well i loved it. super stiff, super light. it's a big step up for me, cycling less than a year on the road(mtb'er before that), and my other bike is an aluminum Felt z95, so a much more relaxed fit.

the rose is just so much stiffer, so much more aggressive, it feels like you just point it, and it wants to go in that direction, pedaling just helps to get it there. super smooth, and the Di2 is a dream , instantaneous shifting, just have to think about it and it is done.

the aero blades on the kysriums do catch a lot more crosswind than the wheels on my felt, noticed it a good few times yesterday, but nothing too serious, and something i'll get used to very quickly.

all in all i love it, super light, super fast ,(moved into the top 10 in two Strava sgements yesterday, which doesn't happen for me ).

just need to get this knee pain sorted and i'll be putting a lot of K's up on this bike

are you over/under extending your legs? pain in one knee might just be because most of us have a "good" leg, check to see if you setup is similar to your old bike (saddle position, stem, bars etc.), even with a slightly wonky setup you shouldnt have knackered your knee to the extent that it hurts a lot just trying to bend it, enjoy the bike anyway