Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NXT 2013/14 Thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Rebecca is a great heel but most of her indy act was based around answering back or screaming at the audience. Something that is more or less forbidden by WWE as they Wrestlers solely work the camera. She will have to adapt there. I've never seen her in a match under like 15 minutes either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,672 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

If they're property, how much do you think I could buy one for? :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Want to get signed?

Work out here

Enzo Amore

Cool video with Rebecca Knox working on a headlock at the 46 second mark:

Anyone check out Ashley Flair's debut on NXT this week yet?

Unlike some I don't think she is a massive departure from the Diva look besides her height. To me she comes across more like a Von Erich daughter than a Flair daughter. She has this tall athletic body, with leaping ability and blondish hair instead the skinny upper bodied Reid and David.

t.gif

Otherwise your standard good NXT with good matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭bobby_says_hi

Quite an impressive showing from her. I like that WWE are making sure their developmental Divas don't get to TV before they're ready. Summer Rae has been in the company for three years now and has only just started wrestling. Likewise with Charlotte. Her next match will be against Sasha Banks - that's one I'm looking forward to

I like Bayley's gimmick and all but it just seems strange in the ring. Don't know what it is.

I think she's meant to be a hybrid of Eugene, Heidenreich and GLOW's Tammy Jones. A shy innocent fangirl that wants to hug everyone and be everyone's friend. She's done pretty well with it outside the ring but she really needs to work on translating it to her wrestling in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

That trap leg/German spot in the opener was awesome. I really hate the NXT play by play guy though, can't stand him.

Pinch of salt here but apparently Triple H doesn't like Kassius Ohno's body and his lack of motivation to improve it:
    http://www.wrestlinginc.com/wi/news/2013/0720/564263/plans-for-top-nxt-star-halted-indefinitely/

I wouldn't be surprised if that was true, he looks bad compared to most wrestlers sports entertainers.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    I wouldn't be surprised if that was true, he looks bad compared to most wrestlers sports entertainers.

Court Bauer on his podcast with John Pollock said on Friday and before this story came out that there is a group of NXTers who have been there for ages who have simply given up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

rovert wrote: »
    Court Bauer on his podcast with John Pollock said on Friday and before this story came out that there is a group of NXTers who have been there for ages who have simply given up.

Who else has been there ages?
    Maybe he should ask Mason Ryan for advice on what he does.......

GTR63 wrote: »
    Who else has been there ages?
    Maybe he should ask Mason Ryan for advice on what he does.......

Well Mason is the extreme, maybe ask El Generico

Meltzer on Sunday said that Paige had done herself a disservice but didn't elaborate. Jim Ross also has been cryptically tweeting and blogging that Paige isn't ready for the main roster. Well the issue is that her and Corey Graves had a big old domestic on Facebook.

WWE hates when individuals and couples fight on public basis as they feel it ruins the fantasy/escapism. Too much real life I guess.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

they will probably turn it into a storyline

not sure why cynical, from what I've heard id like to see her make it promoted from NXT to where lazy me might actually see her instead of E's total Divas previews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Jamie OD

There's probably some sort of innuendo involving "Stay Down" to be used in this situation but I can't think of anything.

Emma vs Paige from today's show:

Hype package: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x129qwc_paige-vs-emma-video-package-july-24th-2013_sport
    Match:

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x129rso_paige-vs-emma-nxt-women-s-championship-final-july-24th-2013_sport

Strongly praised online already and at the time by fans in attendance along with Triple and Jim Ross as something special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

I can't tell if i like or hate Tyler Breeze! The male model gimmick they have him doing..........I don't know what to make of it! Great athlete thought clearly - that spinning roundhouse looked incredible!

Tyler Breeze:

tyler-breeze-650x372.png

The former Mike Dalton - a Lance Storm student. He does a model/narcissist gimmick with a modern twist. Instead of looking in a mirror he loves to do "Selfies" on his camera phone. Apparently he gets Emma levels of over (he is a heel mind) on subsequent weeks of NXT.

tumblr_mqhhz3TJhI1qdkrl2o5_250.gif
    iHsE7dIuD02DC.gif

Emma vs Paige from today's show:

Hype package: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x129qwc_paige-vs-emma-video-package-july-24th-2013_sport
    Match:

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x129rso_paige-vs-emma-nxt-women-s-championship-final-july-24th-2013_sport

Strongly praised online already and at the time by fans in attendance along with Triple and Jim Ross as something special.

Nice touch with
    HHH coming out
    Only thing I would've liked after the match was
    acknowledge Emma since all the divas were out and HHH. Thought he'd get her in the ring

After watching the match I just thought that if they're brought up, they'll need to be brought up together so they have someone to fight. Great match

The Sheamus match seemed very choreographed or fake in parts. Like the tilt a whirl sideslam.

Rebecca Knox in yesterday's Fit Mag:
    BQAZSNjCEAERAid.jpg

Wow, fantastic Diva's match. Really enjoyed it. They worked so well together and I don't think they could have done anymore.

Maddox and the Tom (?) really added to it on commentary, sold the quality of the match, in particular Maddox.

It was nice that they referred to it as a main event match. I honestly expected them to go the route of "let's throw everything we know out there and make sense of it" but they went with a different tactic and got some emotions involved. I think the last time we saw a Divas' superplex was Beth Phoenix vs Kelly Kelly at Night of Champions. Anyone know the identity of the blonde woman in the black dress afterwards? I presume the other blonde in the black and white was ring announcer Kendall Skye

I thought Mike Dalton showed lots of promise but I'm not sure this gimmick is the one for him. But if it's getting over at shows then I suppose that's the best thing for him

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Quite often when I watch the NXT women wrestle I think maybe they are better off here than being called up to the main roster, on NXT they have proper feuds, decent length matches and have a functioning division..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Excellent stuff from the two of them fair play to them

In this podcast that I posted here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=85730806&postcount=326 amid all the PWG talk Rob Naylor confirmed publicly what myself and others said in the past William Regal and himself desperately tried to recruit Prince Devitt numerous times the past few years but Fergal was having none of it.

There's also a funny story of Rob showing a sincerely repulsive PWG Deathmatch between Sami Callihan vs. Drake Younger to Summer Rae. :pac: The match featured tumbertacks, staple gun and salt was pour on their wounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Concannon7

I'm liking the Tyler Breeze gimmick. Especially the zoom in at the top of the ramp. Just didn't like the fact he needed to take about 20 pics of himself in the ring right before the match started it dragged out a bit. But i'm looking forward to seeing more of him.

So Kassius Ohno has been removed from the NXT show open.

But he is doing a NXT meet and greet Friday.

Guess he has been put on ice until he gets rid of his belly.

wouldnt call what he has a "belly" - but it's not a ripped 6-pack so WWE probably would!

Bit harsh!

wouldnt call what he has a "belly" - but it's not a ripped 6-pack so WWE probably would!

Bit harsh!

More Jelly than Belly. Fact is he looks soft and he needs to look solid. Either pack on some muscle or drop some body fat.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    More Jelly than Belly. Fact is he looks soft and he needs to look solid. Either pack on some muscle or drop some body fat.

Bit of DDP yoga is all he needs!! :pac:

BANG!!!

Unflattering photo time :o

NXT_154_Photo_08-2

Where DDP yoga might get him back to, probably wouldn't take much

819673051_onMBt-M-1.jpg

It must be noted that Ohno is under the wellness policy now and he wasn't in ROH. Just this month Ricardo was suspended for banned substances in a fat burner he bought. Same thing happened to Rey Mysterio last year when he was taking something to battle those love handles.

He turned up in NXT looking a bit jelly like, I think you posted the pics at the time Rovert. He is not on the road and if he wanted to do it he had a great opportunity to lose a few pounds since he got there over time. In reality that is probably all he has to do is tone up, its not like he has 20 kilos to lose.

I should say I am not bothered by what he looks like or trying to make a laugh of him. Just saying if he has to change his appearance it can be done and it wouldn't be a radical change for a guy that is obviously strong (still young) and fit to start with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

It must be noted that Ohno is under the wellness policy now and he wasn't in ROH.

Thats it in a nutshell, he probably went cold turkey & has paid for it. I am not one to point fingers but the same I think happened Tensai who obviously is a bigger man altogether.

He did his big indy goodbye tour then Ohno failed his first set of medicals for WWE. He had something like elevated liver eynemes or something NOT steroids or anything mad like that. Whatever it was he had to get his levels lowered. Same thing happened with Bryan Danielson as detailed on the Wrestling Road Diaries DVD.

Anyway Hero showed back up on the indies during that time. I remember everyone commenting Hero had melted as he was so flabby:

Check out the 1:52 mark

NXT was wuite strange this week. At least the crowd was. Maybe I'm just used to seeing Smackdown with the recorded cheering and all. But at one point during the divas match it was actually silent for a wee while until someone decided to get the crowd going.
    Then during the interview with Tyler Breeze someone shouted "Ziggler's better"
    Also the Wyatt Family got a great reaction. And that's them gone from NXT now.

Has he not had time to do something about his shape by now though, its well over a year since he got there?

(Again just discussion rather than having a go at the man)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭sockmo

Emma V Paige was one of the best matches this year.Aewsome, the superplex was SIIIIIICK

Good performance from Sasha Banks, so-so showing from Charlotte. I was not about to believe that someone of Charlotte's size and build couldn't overpower Banks easily. WWE should really go ahead and make her a heel already. She comes across as an arrogant bully anyway

I agree but Sasha Banks is teeny tiny compared to everyone on the female roster.

I meant Charlotte should be made a heel. She's been working live events as one and she doesn't come across as very likeable to be honest

Charlotte reminds me of Lacey Von Erich in a way

I liked Lacey. Atrocious wrestler but very pretty and had good comic timing

The text to Rebecca "Quin" Knox's Irish Independent piece:
    http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/knock-out-29447342.html

Best quote:
    It's only the start now, and I can only imagine it will involve a lot of hard work and an enduring training schedule," she said. "I absolutely cannot wait for my matches to begin... I feel like the luckiest girl in the world. It is literally a dream come true. I've written journals all my life, and reading back on them and seeing how much I've wanted this for so many years, it is just unbelievable to think I'm getting a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

IWGP Title!?

They mixed her and Devitt's info up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

They mixed her and Devitt's info up
    Then covered it up by calling it the International Women's Grand Prix! Chono wouldn't like that.

I thought she'd pinned Okada in some rare houseshow or something. :pac:

Why did they decide to give Bo the title? Was it given to him with the intention of having him face? Because he's now continuing his heelish act. This week commenting about how Sami and Antonio don't have much experience.