Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A question about excess ingredients.

Options
  • 13-01-2013 3:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭

Hello folks,

This is my first post here so I hope I'm not breaching any rules or anything. :pac:

Anyway, I'm a student and like to Cook decent food instead of pizza/battered chicken etc but I've a few problems with excess ingredients.

Say I buy a type of vegetable for a dish and only use half, I've then got half left and usually this'll go to waste, I don't want a repeat of the dish the next night as I like variation and using it in the next dish wouldn't be possible. Say I have a Chinese style stir-fry one night and then some kind of pan fried fish the next night with mashed potato.

Say I cook this http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=40265 and pick green peppers, celery and cabbage, I then have all these left over and don't really know what to do with them. I've tried recipe sites when you input your ingredients but usually I'll need something else.

Any one have any tips on preserving/using excess ingredients that have a short shelf life?

Also, I mainly shop in large supermarkets where you usually have to purchase a packet instead of loose ingredients.

Thanks!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭LaChatteGitane

I assume you have a fridge ?

Let's say you have green pepper, celery and cabbage left over.
    Leave the cabbage in the fridge for a few days.