Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Long-time posters. Closed accounts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ive had the cursor over the close account button loads of times but so far i havent clicked. i dont know if i will or not, probably will.
    its just not the same anymore and you feel like you are walking on egg shells in certain forums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I too enjoy saying things were better in the past. Whether it be music, childhood or the humble internet message-board, nostalgia is always welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Big C wrote: »

It's like being in school, mods have favourites, anything goes from them, if u not a fav u get banned for a month. (then u have to log in with ur other account)

Uh-oh spaghetti-oh :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

Once you hit 10,000 you start to get nervous:D

How someone gets to 10,000 without being perma-banned i'll never know.

not that ive been..emm.. nevermind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

You reap what you sow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I've thought about closing my account but everybody would then be too sad to cope so i stay strong for y'all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Its better than it was in a strange way, wouldn't have used boards much a few years ago apart from to get certain info, I think the fact that there's a larger user base means its less of a real life "community" compared to what it probably was in the past.
    Now people may consider that a good thing but for an example of the negative aspect of this is when myself and a friend were doing some light trolling of some one we knew in real life, he walked directly across the hall (in TCD) to the person who modded the forum and got my friend banned where as because he knew I used boards for proper stuff I don't think I even got an infraction :o

I also don;t think the closing of threads all the time helps, politics.ie for all its faults tends not to do that (as an example this may end up being deleted for that reference)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I remember when this was all green fields.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

linking the boards name to the adverts name was a BIG mistake
    i have had numptys saying they are going to come to my location to "get me" becasue of threads - they got my " location " from adverts

not very clever boards - no way to opt out of location an adverts, but can on boards - i dont need the hassle of some stalker threatening to axe murder me becasue he cant argue his case

came close many times to closing my account - might even do it today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

dj jarvis wrote: »

Go on then.

Drama llama :pac:

i said MIGHT , or i MIGHT not - decisions decisions

Ah don't go you're great craic. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Confab wrote: »
    Hmmm, might be time for me too. Way too much info in my posts.

Only way to cure that is to keep posting but pepper it with false information such as I'm a 40 year old female born in Botswana in August of 1953.

That way they'll never figure out who you are :p

Sauve wrote: »
    Ah don't go you're great craic. :p

ah no - you have me all wrong , my boards persona might be a laugh a minute
    but IRL i am a compleate blastrd who skins and salts kittens for a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

i have had numptys saying they are going to come to my location to "get me" becasue of threads - they got my " location " from adverts

not very clever boards - no way to opt out of location an adverts, but can on boards - i dont need the hassle of some stalker threatening to axe murder me becasue he cant argue his case

You can have a separate adverts account and a separate boards account.

This is a classic example of why one should keep one's identity separate on different sites. It happened here recently where another users details from their profile were posted in the thread and though I disagreed with that particular poster all along in the thread (turned out they were trolling), I'm certainly no fan of public humiliation. Two wrongs never made a right though imho either.

Perhaps long time posters remember when people had respect for each other on the internet, and now that there's a generation coming up that largely feel the need to have their opinion validated to the widest audience, and they're over-running boards and forgetting to respect other users. It's become a bit like that xbox live meme that was doing the rounds a couple of years back. And so longtime posters just maybe get sick of the dicks because they're ruining the enjoyment of the forums for others.

Report the posts? I shouldn't have to. I just tend not to take boards so seriously any more.

Only way to cure that is to keep posting but pepper it with false information such as I'm a 40 year old female born in Botswana in August of 1953.

That way they'll never figure out who you are :p

also one with a time machine - intriguing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Its becoming more and more PC.

If you want open ended discussion, absent heavy PC moderation, these are not the forums for you.

If you want no holds barred discussion, go to Something Awefull.

If want to do anything then go to 4chan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Czarcasm wrote: »

Can you? Its news to me as I had always thought of Adverts as an integral part of Boards hence no duplicate accounts allowed.

This is a classic example of why one should keep one's identity separate on different sites. It happened here recently where another users details from their profile were posted in the thread and though I disagreed with that particular poster all along in the thread (turned out they were trolling), I'm certainly no fan of public humiliation. Two wrongs never made a right though imho either.

Perhaps long time posters remember when people had respect for each other on the internet, and now that there's a generation coming up that largely feel the need to have their opinion validated to the widest audience, and they're over-running boards and forgetting to respect other users. It's become a bit like that xbox live meme that was doing the rounds a couple of years back. And so longtime posters just maybe get sick of the dicks because they're ruining the enjoyment of the forums for others.

Report the posts? I shouldn't have to. I just tend not to take boards so seriously any more.

not if you use the same email account you cant , well mine auto linked ( i think ) , anyway , there should be NO way of them being linked so nutters can TRY intimidate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Amalgam wrote: »
    Depends what you're here for, After Hours isn't the be all and end all of boards. You find yourself branching out to other sites where things can be a bit more relaxed and specialised, DE Shaving forums, in my case, where members from here would know me by name and whom I've met. My interest started here though.

Absolutely, Boards is not just AHs, but allot of personal information, advice, suggestions on a range of subjects. Also AHs is not just for the rubbish, the trollers, the micky takers and abusers, but can actully produce some very good threads, often on subjects that might be found else were on boards, but in a langauage, or in a simplier forum that other forums might not allow or cater for.

None regulars of the forum might not see this, and might just see the forum as a mad house, and a free for all, unfortunatly, that trend might continue, as some of the members who have left, could produce some high qulaity posts and threads, and their absence is noticed and missed sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Even though people try not to disclose a large amount of personal information, I'm sure you build up a profile (that might allow others to recognize you) if you have a long-term account. It's inevitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

not if you use the same email account you cant , well mine auto linked ( i think ) , anyway , there should be NO way of them being linked so nutters can TRY intimidate

You're correct, it does auto-link, which I think is disgraceful too because say for example if I post in AH and somebody goes to my adverts profile and sees that I bought for example a sex swing on adverts, it can be quite embarrassing.

I closed my previous account on boards but it still works for my adverts login, though as you say different e-mail addresses. I also use different e-mail addresses and aliases for each of my social networking profiles because I have no intention of making it easier for posters to glean my personal information from the internet.

I value my privacy and more and more websites are encouraging their users to streamline all their online data so it can be quite easy for someone to piece together a picture of your offline identity. I know of one particular site I no longer use because the only option for login became tying your profile to your facebook account.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I value my privacy and more and more websites are encouraging their users to streamline all their online data so it can be quite easy for someone to piece together a picture of your offline identity. I know of one particular site I no longer use because the only option for login became tying your profile to your facebook account.

Yeah, I don't like the whole "login through Facebook, twitter, yahoo." I get it with Google, as they are services provided by google. But all the other stuff has no relation to each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

of course you have to close your account after so long or how else will you become a 'legend of the boards', you can the re-reg and make comments how you wish you knew this closed account more and that he seemed really cool and then kick back and watch all the nice things being said about you...

so i've heard... not that i did that or anything...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Never knew boardsies ID's were available on adverts.ie :cool:

Revenge will be swift and merciless :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

davet82 wrote: »
    of course you have to close your account after so long or how else will you become a 'legend of the boards', you can the re-reg and make comments how you wish you knew this closed account more and that he seemed really cool and then kick back and watch all the nice things being said about you...

so i've heard... not that i did that or anything...

Who have you been asking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Meh, some of the stuff I posted under this handle I'd have changed my mind about since but that's what happens over a decade of your life: you grow, learn develop.

I think my favourite memory of boards.ie will always be a comment I received at a boards beer back in the day: "but you can't be Sleepy, you're too nice" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Big C wrote: »
    It's like being in school, mods have favourites, anything goes from them, if u not a fav u get banned for a month. (then u have to log in with ur other account)

Mods are like Santa. They have a naughty and nice list, And they only get to empty their sacks once a year:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Mods are like Santa. They have a naughty and nice list, And they only get to empty their sacks once a year:P

...over Pippa Middleton's arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

People get tired and move on I guess.

This. Very much this. Life is so, so short. And there's so much to do. If you're posting regularly on Boards.ie/any website before, em, 2009 (hehe), things are probably not good, unless of course you're getting professional help/advancing your life by getting help through it. Usually it's a waste of time which we all deliberately engage in.

On the other hand, if Mike, the English lad in Waterford who has @ 70,000 posts, closes his account it will be a momentous day. I hope Tom Murphy is sending him, at least, an invite to Boards.ie parties!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

FearDark wrote: »
    Do a search, have a look at AH threads from 6/7 years ago and they're the same as now. The same topics keep coming up. AH is incredibly boring for anyone who has been here a while. Having said that there is a couple of great threads every year.
    Indeed ...which is why I don't want to needlessly add to my 22,000 + posts although if the subject / topic interests me enough I'll add to it but you can only say so much about the same stuff that's been done dozens of times before .Some of the older posters close their accounts ,pick new usernames and and start over again to .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I'm going to close my account, solely because of the number of times I've come across Please Kill Me's posts and thought "when did I say that!?" and I'm too lazy to change my avatar.

Then I'll return, more powerful than you can possibly imagine, and with a subtly racist username.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Not sure if it would be allowed but a more interesting conversation might be long time users who got a perma-ban and of course why.

E.g. The Flutt, R_T_D_H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I think bringing in the closed accounts thing kind of ruined the Boards community in a way. A lot of posters i would have recognized seem to be gone now and there seem to be a massive amount of new posters.

Not that theres anything wrong with new posters but it doesnt feel the same anymore.

I do feel a bit jaded with this site sometimes but i wouldnt close my account.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    R_T_D_H

Jesus, did not realise that. Boards has gotten a little darker (and, I suppose, saner).

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

Jesus, did not realise that. Boards has gotten a little darker (and, I suppose, saner).

From the prison thread it looks like Zaph took all the little scrapes, infractions and short forum bans and sent him marching but really we all know the constant conspiracy threads is what really got him banned.

Its ethnic cleansing I tell you! Would only be right that such a conspiracy nut would be flushed out with a conspiracy of his own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Not sure if it would be allowed but a more interesting conversation might be long time users who got a perma-ban and of course why.

E.g. The Flutt, R_T_D_H
    No, it's not allowed. It's between them and the admins, and no one else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

gurramok wrote: »

They should separate Boards usernames from Adverts usernames. Using Adverts exposes the ID of the poster easily to the real world, puts off using Adverts.
    What puts people off Adverts is the bs way that transactions must be carried out in a public thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

smash wrote: »
    What puts people off Adverts is the bs way that transactions must be carried out in a public thread.

Indeed, Adverts is a pile of cold dung. 'You're selling your car? How about a swap for a pair of crusty underwear?' Or what happened to me last week:

Me: 'I'm selling my electric bike for €xxx.'

Some guy: 'How about a swap for an ancient Dell projector worth 75% less?'

Me: %!£$*!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Nostalgia was better back in the day.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What the hell are you selling that you have all these mentalists threatening you? Bad crack?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Indeed, Adverts is a pile of cold dung. 'You're selling your car? How about a swap for a pair of crusty underwear?' Or what happened to me last week:

Yea I've used Adverts before a couple of times as a buyer, but I'd be very reluctant to sell on it I have to say(even though it's more reasonable than ebay IIRC). The kind of stuff you mention would get real old real quickly. It got old for me as a buyer reading daft offers and when a seller says "NO offers", you're guaranteed to get at least two eejits posting offers. Can't they bloody read? "*dribbles" "Oh he wrote no ffers, I know...*drools*... I'll go ahead and make an offer". W.T. F? Arrrgh.

TBH I dunno how the mods/staff could stop that though and to be fair they're really quick in jumping on other shenanigans, but it's the nature of the format I suppose. One man's decent offer is anothers daft offer. Still some can be so mouthbreathingly daft you do wonder at both the hard neck and/or the thick skull of the poster involved.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Yeah I sold a MacBook on it before and one of the guys spoiled my thread. He kept linking to cheap Chinese no brand name laptops saying I should match them.

Never again. It was grand back in the day when we were a small community and was just used to stop thread spam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sold a couple of things on adverts, never had any nonsense with swaps tbh. When selling a phone, I've had a couple of people ask for legit swaps, e.g. my phone for their phone + cash, but once you say, "Not interested in swaps" they go away.

E.g. The Flutt, R_T_D_H
    When long-time users get a permaban, it's for one of two reasons:

1. They've gone off the rails suddenly and done something ridiculously stupid
    2. They have a consistent history of low-level incidents, short bans and infractions numbering in the hundreds, without ever having been seriously banned. Like Anto who has 160 convictions but still manages to get a suspended sentence for burglary. Except unlike Anto the admins can step in and say "No more, you're a pain in the ass and a waste of time" and perma-ban them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I remember when I used to remember it being good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

RTDH isn't permbanned afaik, he's just out until the end of jan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Meh, some of us have survived site-bans and are still here... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

seamus wrote: »
    Sold a couple of things on adverts, never had any nonsense with swaps tbh. When selling a phone, I've had a couple of people ask for legit swaps, e.g. my phone for their phone + cash, but once you say, "Not interested in swaps" they go away.

When long-time users get a permaban, it's for one of two reasons:

1. They've gone off the rails suddenly and done something ridiculously stupid
    2. They have a consistent history of low-level incidents, short bans and infractions numbering in the hundreds, without ever having been seriously banned. Like Anto who has 160 convictions but still manages to get a suspended sentence for burglary. Except unlike Anto the admins can step in and say "No more, you're a pain in the ass and a waste of time" and perma-ban them.

But life is exciting when you're around people that aren't like you, even people you might not particularly enjoy meeting. That's what gives it some zest, not arse lickers and fawners.

..for instance, I liked Degsy, I also liked Flutterin' Bantam in his own special way (even though he was a coarse talking eejit at times..)

Some low level infractions should expire 'properly', as in, vanish totally from the system, over time, not quickly, but say, you've got a yellow from four years ago, that sort of timescale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭novarock

The problem with after hours compared to the good old days is that anything that is remotely topical, or interesting to talk about is generally over moderated in case boards gets into trouble, so the same stuff keeps getting recycled over and over.. Same jokes that everyone has read somewhere else. Its full of people trying to be funny which for the most part is just oainful.