Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horse meat found in beef burgers in leading supermarkets - implications?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

As safe as horsemeat?

Horsemeat produced in accordance with the approriate standards is a safe product.
    Again your interpretation of the exact nature of the horsemeat contamination seems slightly askew.
    I have no problem eating Irish beef or Irish lamb. Top of the range product.

A burger on the other hand is a composite product containing beef as an ingredient. The Irish beef that goes into the burger is a safe product, if treated in accordance with the rigorous and exacting food safety standards. The issue here affecting Irish beef is not as a result of any safety issues with Irish beef. The issue, sadly, will effect Irish beef.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

flutered wrote: »
    we live in the following blurb, the heart of the golden vale, in the month of december and so far in january, we have not as yet bought frying steak that is edible, it is not for the want of trying, as each week we bought meat from a different butcher or supermarket, it is always dry or tough, hard to chew, with plenty of gristle, why is it so hard to buy a piece of steak which can be put on a hot pan and fried then is edible and juicey.

The one common denominator here is the Chef:D

We all get the odd ropey bit, like any natural product, there will be variations. Did you ever tyr a nice thick T bone, on the bone, I'm getting hungry thinking about it!

If it tender you want try Fillet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭flutered

moy83 wrote: »
    Get the aldi certified Angus steaks , you wont be disappointed . I think the dry tough meat is probably the lean type of meat that most shoppers want to see in the deli , you wont beat a bit of fat to give extra flavour and juicieness

we always ask for meat with the fat on it, perhaps i am being septical, do the butchers have a market for the best beef, we have asked them to cut it from the side if we do not like what is on display.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

The issue is with processed food, not Irish farm products.

It's put me off burgers from any source other than my own kitchen.

There's absolutely no reason to go into some kind of panic over Irish fresh meat products! They should be at least as good as NZ lamb and a lot fewer food miles, fresher and more easily traced!

I've never been keen on cheap, lowest price, burgers, or any other composite product.

Clearly the issue here is a failure of EU standards or enforcement. If the ingredient was imported and had been mislabelled, I'm not sure how the factory could have avoided it, other than not ever using imported ingredients!

We're supposed to be able to trust other EU nations to gave similarly strict food safety. That's how the free, single market functions.

Also, the FSAI DNA tests are not common practice elsewhere in Europe. Other countries wouldn't ever have found this as they wouldn't have been looking!!

Bear in mind the UK didn't pick this up and it was also found in product from a UK licensed plant in Yorkshire.
    Does this mean you'll also refuse to eat UK Meat?

So if anything out standards are way ahead of requirements elsewhere.

What needs to change is transparency of country of origin labelling.

Those burgers should show origin of all meat used.
    Eg; 50% Irish Beef, 25% Meat Products from Poland &....

Even worse where poultry us re labelled as Irish or British etc coz it was processed there.

As for the tough steak, have had some really amazing steaks recently. Just the organic / Angus range from Dunnes and SuprValu.

perhaps consider cooking them at a lower temperature? You normally sear them at high temp then cook at medium. Or, grill / broil at medium temp.

Biggest issue with dry steak is over cooking / excessive temp. It changes the proteins into a very tough mess.

Could also be the cuts. Try sirloin or fillet!

Round sometimes needs to be tenderised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

latest
    Coveney Announces Further Conclusive Test Results

The Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine announced late this evening that in addition to his earlier announcement in which he had confirmed the source of the equine DNA in beef burgers, further tests of the Polish ingredient concerned have been released and are showing up to 20% horse DNA content relative to beef. This confirms previous results that the raw material from Poland is the source of equine DNA content in certain beef burgers.

http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/press/pressreleases/2013/january/title,68552,en.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Lofty0990

Absolutely. He comes across as a spokesman for the processors, not someone concerned with the public's health and safety.
    I bought New Zealand lamb in the North today: it is not Irish so is probably safe to eat. The only Irish meat I will buy is from my butcher: I trust him but as for Bord Bia etc., their guarantees are worthless.
    Sorry if this upsets you farmers out there but that is how I feel.

Oh Lordy Lordy , drill into some of the feed back from young Irish working in New Zealand re animal welfare etc (on this forum) - "safe to eat ";)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭guttenberg

Apologies if this has already been covered, but is horse meat "cheaper" than cow meat, or is it simply that other countries are more liberal about what can be used in their burgers, and whomever was doing the importing of the raw material didn't specify that they only wanted meat from cows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Bichon Lover

The lamb was delicious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Was it the New Zealand lamb ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

So you bought NZ lamb in the UK because of Polish horse in a Beef Burger.

My brain hurts, I'm going to have a lay down in a dark room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

<snip>

[MOD]

Let's perhaps hold off on naming and accusing a particular person of orchestrating this, at least until the investigations are complete, and even then, until any possible arising court proceedings or enquiries are concluded.

[/MOD]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

:rolleyes: Dont worry he'll get away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

See on news millions to be spent in uk on marketing to repair damage to industry by government agencies.They can pay that and cut schemes does nt make sense ABP might be made make a donation to the ad campaign????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

See the news? This is now out of control. All the bull Bord Bia doing farm inspections. Who inspects the processor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭dzer2

There is so much beef in this country why the fcuk are we importing any other meat. The department need to revoke licences and ban all meat imports from Poland straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭jc bamford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

guttenberg wrote: »
    Apologies if this has already been covered, but is horse meat "cheaper" than cow meat, or is it simply that other countries are more liberal about what can be used in their burgers, and whomever was doing the importing of the raw material didn't specify that they only wanted meat from cows?

It could be either. Horse meat is consumed on the continent, it's not the most popular kind of meat but it's not taboo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

dzer2 wrote: »
    There is so much beef in this country why the fcuk are we importing any other meat. The department need to revoke licences and ban all meat imports from Poland straight away.

The Sunday Times yesterday seemed to say that the product was right when it left Poland, but not when it got to Ireland...... wouldn't want to lose the run of ourselves until we get the facts right.
    Even claimed the product might have been changed in England

rancher wrote: »
    Mail on Sunday yesterday seemed to say that the product was right when it left Poland, but not when it got to Ireland, wouldn't want to lose the run of ourselves until we get the facts right

Different product

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

what shops do reangeland supply, would like to know,
    is the mince meat we buy in supermarkets just beef.

To think farmers stay up at night to mind a cow and calf, spend €350/ tonne on meal, erect state of the art housing, recylce mnure to protect environment then sell the animal for a tiny margin to a phucker who goes and destroys it all through greed. i thought some were over reacting on Boards early in this story but it now a slowly exploding bomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

goat2 wrote: »
    what shops do reangeland supply, would like to know,
    is the mince meat we buy in supermarkets just beef.

Would also like to know the outlets that sell Rangeland products in Ireland

dzer2 wrote: »
    Different product

Edited my previous post, was actually sunday times,.... what do you mean by different product.... relabelled!!!!!

rancher wrote: »
    Edited my previous post, was actually sunday times,.... what do you mean by different product.... relabelled!!!!!

First one was gelling agent, the second one is horse meat directly

Would also like to know the outlets that sell Rangeland products in Ireland

Supermacs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 ryanp3

jc bamford wrote: »
    there musn't be a horse left in Monaghan that hasn't made it to a burger!! On a serious note very bad news for the beef industry. Yet again a serious break down in standards outside the farm gate. Bord Bia inspectors have a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

pat mc donagh is on the radio for the last 2 weeks broadcasting that his meat is 100 percent irish, and he has been getting his meat from rangeland meats for over 30 years !:P the dirty clown he was a bit cocky wasnt he:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

quality_08.gif

From Rangeland website

'The department confirmed that the batch tested positive for 75pc equine DNA. Minister for Agriculture Simon Coveney is liaising with the authorities in Poland on the matter.

Minister Coveney has ordered the involvement of the Special Investigation Unit (SIU) of the Department of Agriculture to look into the controversy.

He has also asked the Gardai to join the investigation team.'

About 2 months too late

If this government dose not stop pussyfooting around the Beef Barons like there predecessors pussyfooted around the bankers the beef industry will end up like the banks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I dont quite understand how they can go on about traceability from the farm when you bypass the whole system with a filler material that can only now be ackowledged as being of unknown origin. The only issue they have with this filler material is the presence of horse tissue. Even if it was 100% beef in this filler, surely the fact that it is such an unknown material should raise many many questions relating to the food standards etc. Is there any evidence that any of this material is fit for human consumption even if no horse present?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

pat mc donagh is on the radio for the last 2 weeks broadcasting that his meat is 100 percent irish, and he has been getting his meat from rangeland meats for over 30 years !:P the dirty clown he was a bit cocky wasnt he:rolleyes:

Bye bye supershmacs.

Never ate a burger in there in my life. Curry chip was ok I wonder where that came from??

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Nice one for f##king the whole beef industry ye shower of idiots bord bia check farms who checks the factories

Coveney on prime time tonight, now for more fairy tales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

i wouldnt mind but i had a quarter pounder in supermacs on sunday ! rolleyes

'The department confirmed that the batch tested positive for 75pc equine DNA. Minister for Agriculture Simon Coveney is liaising with the authorities in Poland on the matter.

Minister Coveney has ordered the involvement of the Special Investigation Unit (SIU) of the Department of Agriculture to look into the controversy.

He has also asked the Gardai to join the investigation team.'

About 2 months too late

If this government dose not stop pussyfooting around the Beef Barons like there predecessors pussyfooted around the bankers the beef industry will end up like the banks
    We already had a tribunal a few years ago that cost a fortune and did f all only make a few people rich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,884 ✭✭✭mf240

Good old Ireland island of snakes and scoundrels.

cant even make burgers without acting the cnut.

Nobody will suffer for this other than the farmers and the factory workers the big men will walk away scot free.

Does anybody remember the story of Heart of England Eggs? They were selling 'organic' eggs supposedly imported from Ireland.
    The eggs were found not to be organic and it appears all that came from Ireland were the invoices. Big court case over there.
    Anyone see any parallels here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 jimstir

i wouldnt mind but i had a quarter pounder in supermacs on sunday ! rolleyes

My gran usta say "That will put a stop to your gallop"

Name the supplier ffs and get on with if you dont name it the damage to the beef industry will only drag on jesus

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Coveney should start packing his belongings, Kenny can't tolerate his idiocy much longer

Primetime: Re rangeland... Notice how he states Irish Meat, that would include horse meat , he was carefully not saying Irish beef

Does anybody remember the story of Heart of England Eggs? They were selling 'organic' eggs supposedly imported from Ireland.
    The eggs were found not to be organic and it appears all that came from Ireland were the invoices. Big court case over there.
    Anyone see any parallels here?

The CEO of that Co was jailed for 3 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

It would be better if the beef industry had co-ops rather than these beef barons running things.

What is happening is a disgrace.

mf240 wrote: »
    Good old Ireland island of snakes and scoundrels.

cant even make burgers without acting the cnut.

Nobody will suffer for this other than the farmers and the factory workers the big men will walk away scot free.

Spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Does anyone know who owns the firm in Poland that was supplying the trim ... (beef and horse) .. Any links to ABP or unnamed Irish beef industry multi-millionaire....

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

What I didn't like was that he said that the product is imported frozen and then used in the making of the burger. It's a mortal sin to thaw meat and then refreeze it, regardless of anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Birtles

Fcuking Raging. just sent Rangeland food a 'nice' email telling em my thoughts. might help my mood but doubt it. covney, the lang er is next... seething!! a 2nd major fcuk again. Crriiisssst!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Lads the IFA want everyone to keep quite about this and it will all go away, so a bit of hush down the back please:D:mad::mad:

Attended first IFA dinner dance recently as my friend is sec and invited me, the president was there telling us how quiet we should be keeping about this issiue. Does he think this will go away on its own or is he hoping a plane will crash somewhere to take out of the headlines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭mikofo

whats the problem? the horsemeat is probably the best ingredient in de burger, in anyways.