Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time to get serious!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭stuchyg

Week 6 Average weight: 174.5

Tipping what I think might be my heaviest weight ever.

Ridley you fat fcuk

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

stuchyg wrote: »
    Ridley you fat fcuk

:(

I'm comfort eating for my pathetic training and lifts:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 24,600 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Curling massive burgers - drop-sets, obviously - is win-win!

KFC three times a week:pac:

Monday 4th November

Bench

Bar x 10
    40kg x 12
    50kg x 10
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 5 x 3
    80kg x 1
    85kg x f

DB Incline Bench

30kg x 5 x 5
    35kg x 3

Standing Cable Flyes

10 x 10
    15 x 10
    20 x 10

Squats

50kg x 10
    60kg x 10
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 1
    95kg x 1

Had 12 jaffa cakes going to the gym then some beta alanine. The crash is gonna be a complete write off.

Here's an overview of things that have happened over the past few weeks/sessions;

-Weight has increased.
    -Left college.
    -Poor training.
    -Injured.
    -Passion for training left.
    -Passion came back after a good dose of MTFU.
    -Decided to take my life where I wanted to take it.

That brings me to the last week and today. Hanleys e-mails are brilliant, motivational and brought me to some deep thought. Looking at where I'm living and the lack of people in the know about fitness and the people who want to be in good shape with nowhere to turn to. I didn't enjoy my college course. It didn't motivate me and the lecturers bar 1/2 were quite poor. So, I took a brave step. Put down the most money I'll ever spend and decided to become a student at LIA. After a great talk with Sean in LIA, the firey passion for training is back to be the best I can be.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭Ant11

Fair play man.

Cheers dude, it's not gonna be easy but it'll sure be worth it in the end.

Wednesday 6th November

Suspension Row- 10 x 10
    Chinz- 5 x 5
    Dips- 5 x 5
    Pull Ups- 5 x 5
    Suspension Pike- 10 x 10

Sh!t loads of mobility.

Thursday 7th

Overhead Squats

Bar x 10 x 3
    25kg x 5 x 3
    30kg x 3
    35kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 2
    50kg x 1
    60kg x 1
    35kg x 3 x 3

Leg Extensions & Curls

Extensions- 130 x 10 x 5
    Curls- 25 x 10 x 5

Leg Press

190 x 10 x 5

Lunges

BW +12kg DB Each hand x 10 x 4

Biceps

Seated Curls- 8kg x 10 x 5
    Standing EZ Curls- 15kg x 10 x 5

Fcuk you starting strength. Grow body grow!

Weight update: 177.9

Right that's me there or there abouts the same weight as my last bulk when it had finished in around 1/4 of the time. Looking forward to seeing what the future brings.

Monday 11th November

AM

Suspension Row- 10 x 5
    Chinz- 5 x 5
    Suspension Crunch- 10 x 5
    Dips- 5 x 5

Learning to snatch.

PM

Overhead Squats

20kg x 5 x 2
    30kg x 3 x 3
    35kg x 3
    40kg x 3 x 3
    45kg x 3 x 3

Squats

60kg x 6
    70kg x 6
    80kg x 3 x 3
    50kg x 15

Leg Extensions & Leg Curls

130 x 10 x 5
    30 x 10 x 5

Leg Press

250 x 10
    270 x 10
    290 x 10
    310 x 10
    330 x 10

Bench

40kg x 10 x 2
    60kg x 10 x 3

Incline Bench

50kg x 10 x 3

That was supposed to be that but one of the lads I haven't trained with in months arrived so I joined him for shoulders.

OHP

Bar x 10
    30kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    30kg x 5

BTN Press in Smith Machine

Bar x 10
    30kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    50kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    50kg x 10

Then some accessories;

Upright Rows
    Lateral Raises
    Rear Delt Flyes

Have a video of the 40kg x 3 overhead squat if someone would like to critique it when it's up, please do. Long days training, I'm pooped.

Biceps and chest tonight. Ridiculous amount of volume.

Thursday November 14th

Warm Up

Rolling
    Band Stuff
    Scap Pull Ups- 12 x 2

Squats

Bar x 10
    40kg x 10
    50kg x 8
    60kg x 5 x 2
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 4
    85kg x 4 x 2

Squat strength slowly on the up...

Deadlifts

70kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    120kg x 3
    130kg x 3

...along with deadlift strength

Leg Extensions and Single Leg Curls

130 x 10 x 5
    15 x 10 x 5

Leg Press

330 x 6 x 3
    250-110 x 10 dropset

Back-ccessories

Pulldowns- 45 x 10 x 3
    Cable Row- 100 x 10 x 5
    Horizontal Row- 130 x 10 x 3
    Bent Over Rows- 20kg x 10, 30kg x 10, 40kg x 10, 50kg x 5.

Finito.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Sorry, but can't seem to search the thread on my phone so if my question is answered already...sorry

What sort of template/structure does your training follow?

Sorry, but can't seem to search the thread on my phone so if my question is answered already...sorry

What sort of template/structure does your training follow?

No real structure as of late only keeping the compounds between 3-6 reps and accessories in a hypertrophy range. Lots of volume too in my surplus.

Cool cheers for the reply, when you say volume, do you mean total number of rep's?

Just many 3-5 sets of 10-15 reps.

Yeah that's what I thought but I'd someone recently saying different...did you find your muscular endurance improving quickly or a slow progression

Well I've really only scrapped the 5x5 style in the last week and must say I'm sore after every session. Legs especially to be honest.

Update:

Firstly, weight: 181.6. 3 or so pound heavier then when I finished my last bulk. Getting stronger too, loving it.

Got herself into the gym for a session. Squats & deads. Got up to 90kg for 3 triples in squats and 130kg for 5. Very proud of herself, getting a 55kg squat and 65kg deadlift respectably. Hoping to pull her in some more days during Christmas.

Was bought Adipowers for Christmas, roll on 27th of December when I get to use them :pac:

Starting in LIA tomorrow/today. CANNOT FCUKING WAIT!

Off to bed..

• Registered Users Posts: 11 doug3932

Looks like fun! And looks like a great workout! 

Day 1 at LIA down. Awesome place, great lads. Heard a huge bang in the background which I can only assume was Hanley hitting his PR clean.

Learned a tonne in the few hours I was there. Really can't wait to get properly going:)

Day 1 at LIA down. Awesome place, great lads. Heard a huge bang in the background which I can only assume was Hanley hitting his PR clean.

Learned a tonne in the few hours I was there. Really can't wait to get properly going:)

Which course are you doing?

Level 2 in fitness/gym instruction and going onto do personal training and hopefully all going well ill do a few of the one or two day courses in April/May.

Tonight:

Squats

Up to a low bar PR- 105kg. Gonna sort my hips out and hopefully hit 10kg more by this time next week.

Bench

Up to 75kg x 3 x 2.

Then just a few accessories. Got an ab wheel and it's safe to say, core DOMS will be there tomorrow.

Crossfit baseline test:

500m Row
    40 BW squats
    30 crunches
    20 press ups
    10 pull ups

All in a frankly pathetic 9 minutes. I have excuses though:P main ones being, I can't row, squatted last night and used the ab wheel.

Gonna try knock a good 2minutes off it.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,600 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Crossfit baseline test:

500m Row
    40 BW squats
    30 crunches
    20 press ups
    10 pull ups

All in a frankly pathetic 9 minutes. I have excuses though:P main ones being, I can't row, squatted last night and used the ab wheel.

Gonna try knock a good 2minutes off it.

Technique makes a hell of a difference in rowing. Once you have that, dropping the time will be much easier.

Equip that with **** conditioning too:pac: