Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time to get serious!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Trying to prolong going to the gym today in favour of getting in another meal. Currently lying about 2400kcals. Didn't train yesterday, didn't do a whole lot yesterday. Felt tired and just wanted to get out a bit so went to the cinema.

Deadlifting this evening, trying some new tap out shoes I bought for squats and deads. They look sexy but I'll see if they perform.

Going to take my weight after my first meal of the day and before I sleep everyday now to track progress.

Back later..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,168 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Trying to prolong going to the gym today in favour of getting in another meal. Currently lying about 2400kcals. Didn't train yesterday, didn't do a whole lot yesterday. Felt tired and just wanted to get out a bit so went to the cinema.

Deadlifting this evening, trying some new tap out shoes I bought for squats and deads. They look sexy but I'll see if they perform.

Going to take my weight after my first meal of the day and before I sleep everyday now to track progress.

Back later..
    Overkill. While completely understandable, you're becoming overly fixed on the number on the scales. Keep getting stronger and eating well and the weight will follow. Weigh yourself in the morning after you use the bathroom every couple of days and keep track on myfitnesspal or something. This information can be represented in a graph and you'll see quickly whether its going in the right direction or not. Otherwise you'll get bogged down in tiny fluctuations in your weight which arecompletely normal.

Sangre wrote: »
    Overkill. While completely understandable, you're becoming overly fixed on the number on the scales. Keep getting stronger and eating well and the weight will follow. Weigh yourself in the morning after you use the bathroom every couple of days and keep track on myfitnesspal or something. This information can be represented in a graph and you'll see quickly whether its going in the right direction or not. Otherwise you'll get bogged down in tiny fluctuations in your weight which arecompletely normal.

It's just annoying me the fact that the gym scales told me I was getting heavier but this tells me otherwise and being an LCD I can see it being wrong tbh. But I get what you mean. I'll draw a graph with weight on the side axis and date on the bottom and do it monthly.

I learned something in maths after all:pac:

On my phone at the minute, I'll post my training after my T bone steak the father brought home :D

Had my food so here we go.

Thursday 28th March

Warm Up

Shoulder Mobility.
    Stepper for 5mins @ 7.
    Stretches.

Deadlifts

Warm Up;

70kg x 8
    80kg x 6
    100kg x 5
    110kg x 3
    120kg x 2

Working;

135kg x 3 x 3

Speeds;

110kg x 3 x 3

Week 5 done and over, very hard!

SLDL

70kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    90kg x 5 x 2

Power Shrugs

87.5kg x 5 x 3

Rack Pulls

160kg x 5 x 3

Bent Over Row

70kg x 5
    80kg x 5 x 2

Lat Pull Down

50 x 5
    60 x 5 x 2

V Bar Pulldowns

40 x 10
    50 x 10
    60 x 10
    70 x 10

Lat Push Downs

25 x 10
    35 x 10
    45 x 10

Lat Row w/DB's

Sets 1 & 2;

22kg x 8
    12kg x 12

Sets 3 & 4;

24kg x 8
    12kg x 12

Preacher Curls

Loads w/ 12kg DB's.

And the videos;

135kg x 3

110kg x 3

My new shoes for deads/squats;

246968.jpg

Probably gonna go back to barefoot deads though, heel on these makes it feel very deficit dead like.

I'm baaaaaaaaack!!

After a good rest the weekend, I was back today. Feeling great! My girlfriend fed me for the weekend, increased weight 4lbs- what a women:pac:

Warm U

Hip abductions
    Shoulder mobility
    Stepper for 50kcals:pac:
    Stretches

Squats

50kg x 8
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 2
    95kg x 1 x 2
    102.5kg fail.

60kg x 5
    50kg x 8
    40kg x 10

Leg Extensions

Single Leg;

70 x 5 x 5

Both;

130 x 15
    150 x 12
    190 x 10
    230 x 8
    270(stack) x 5

Single Leg After Both Legs W/ No Rest;

50 x 6 x 5

Leg Curls

Single Leg;

10 x 10
    15 x 10
    20 x 8
    25 x 8
    30 x 5
    35 x 5

Both Legs;

35 x 10
    45 x 10
    55 x 8
    60 x 5
    40 x 10
    30 x 15

Calf Raises

Lotzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Bench Press

50kg x 8
    60kg x 5 x 3
    70kg x 1 x 4 would have gone higher reps but the gym was empty so I didn't wanna die..

50kg x 9
    40kg x 12

Incline Bench Press

40kg x 5 x 3
    50kg x 5 x 3
    60kg x 3 x 2
    40kg x 8 x 2

Floor Press w/DB's

24kg x 6 x 3
    26kg x 6 x 3

Biceps

-Seated EZ Curls supersetted w/ hammer curls
    -Preacher Curls
    -Seated DB Curls

Did quiet a few sets and reps of these to be fair.

Felt strong, disappointed with failing the squat but I did do quiet a bit of volume so its okay and plus I didn't rest for long enough either. Played around with a few grips on the bench, was grand. Finally getting me some tittays too.

Things to do in the next few weeks;

-Get bands and a foam roller for more mobility work
    -Keep gaining weight, if I got to 170 by May I'd be happy tbf.
    -Buy a belt- may be a while coming though.
    -Gonna buy some vinyl weights for home too.

Won't train again till deadlift day, Thursday. Been looking at competing, be it powerlifting or bodybuilding- I'll give both a go probably and see what I enjoy more. I like volume training, especially legs. I'll see, only 18 so I'll see how things fair out.

Right, a late post for the simple fact I've stayed up now to eat, everything!

Food went as follows;

500ml milk w/ 50g of oats and 50g of protein
    400ml more milk
    100g of porridge w/ 200ml milk
    200g cashews
    3 chicken breasts about 550g total
    200g rice
    100g of peas
    50g protein
    T bone steak 300g
    6 packets of small buttons- yummm!
    1litre more milk.
    Few more cashews washed down with a can of coke.

Yes, I like milk- a lot and yes I'll probably **** myself at some stage because of it but who cares? 170, here I come!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭divito06

Food went as follows;

400ml more milk
    200g cashews
    200g rice
    100g of peas
    50g protein
    T bone steak 300g
    1litre more milk.

Yes, I like milk- a lot and yes I'll probably **** myself at some stage because of it but who cares? 170, here I come!!!
    Nice evening snack. I like the part about the buttons. The easter bunny must have came to you lol..

divito06 wrote: »
    Nice evening snack. I like the part about the buttons. The easter bunny must have came to you lol..

The buttons were the left overs of a horrible chocolatey feast the weekend, never felt so horrible after it in all my life!

Easter bunny came but all I wanted was a new mug for tea so my girlfriend bought me an egg with a mug and the mug was cracked! Binged on the chocolate for comfort:pac:

Anyway, plumber will be here in less than 7 hours, night man!

The buttons were the left overs of a horrible chocolatey feast the weekend, never felt so horrible after it in all my life!

Easter bunny came but all I wanted was a new mug for tea so my girlfriend bought me an egg with a mug and the mug was cracked! Binged on the chocolate for comfort:pac:

Anyway, plumber will be here in less than 7 hours, night man!

I no how you feel. My 2 boys have 16 easter eggs which wont be eathing there only 1 & 2. but im tempted. Sweetdreams dont **** yourself .

Thursday 4th April

Warm Up

Stepper for 5mins @ 7/8
    Hip Abductions
    Shoulder Mobility Work
    Back Extensions
    Stretches

Deadlifts

Warm Ups;

70kg to 130kg in 10kg increments x 2

Working;

145kg x 2 Reps PR?

Speeds;

120kg x 3 x 3

Power Shrugs

95kg x 5 x 3

SLDL

95kg x 5 x 3

Lat Pull Down

60 x 5 x 3

Reverse Grip Lat Pull Down

60 x 8 x 3

V Bar Pull Downs

70 down to 40 in 10 increments x 5 no rest.

Bent Over Rows

80kg x 5 x 3

Incline DB Press

26kg x 6 x 6

I went home after these because my head was pounding like mad. Felt like someone was hitting me with a hammer... repeatedly.

Delighted with the deads, felt so strong today and it just went up easy. Form has improved I think? Delighted that I didn't feel the need to do my usual smack off the floor and use the bounce as an aid- rubber covered weights:rolleyes: The 120's were raw so that's a positive. Although by the third rep on the final set I was feeling it a bit.

And the vids (Need to stop looking at the camera);

Just a quickie;

Biceps and triceps with my home weights, nothing worth logging. Some savage pump from them.

Few updates-

1. I got a foam roller and my hamstrings feel great after it! Bought a cheapo one to see how I get on with it but I regret not getting something more heavy duty!

2. I gained 8 pounds in the past week and a half. Night time weight before was 157 pounds, Tonights weight was 165 pounds. Obviously not as lean but tbh I don't care. I wanna hit 176 pounds/ 80kg and then cut back a bit.

Will be in the gym for a morning session tomorrow and depending on how I feel, maybe a time trial afterwards.

Saturday 6th April

Warm Up

As Usual

Shoulder Press w/ Barbell

Warm up;

20kg x 5
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 3

Heavy Working;

60kg x 1 x 5
    65kg x 1 PR?
    70kg x 0

Raises- Front and Side

F: 10kg x 8
    S: 10kg x 8

Set 2&3 the same.

Cleans From The Hips

40kg x 10
    50kg x 5 x 2

Rear Delt Flyes

10kg x 12
    12kg x 12
    14kg x 8
    16kg x 5

Skull Crushers

15kg x 10
    20kg x 10 x 2

Ab Work

Meh.

I tired:( a combination of staying up all night laughing at realitycheck11 and up at 7am makes me sleepy!

Monday 8th April

Warm Up

Hip abductions
    Stretches
    Stepper for 3min @ 7
    Walk for 5min @ 5km/hr

Squats

30kg x 5 x 3
    40kg x 5 x 3
    50kg x 5 x 2
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 2 x 2
    90kg x 2
    95kg x 1 x 3

Drop Set;

60kg x 6
    50kg x 8
    40kg x 10
    Bar x 2

Leg Extensions

Single Leg;

30 x 5 x 3

Both;

110 x 8
    150 x 8
    190 x 8
    210 x 8
    250 x 8
    290 x 5

Single Leg- no rest;

70 x 5 x 3

Leg Curls

Single Leg;

10 x 10 x 3
    25 x 8 x 2

Both;

35 x 8
    45 x 8
    55 x 8

Drop Sets;

50 x 8
    40 x 10
    30 x 12

Calf Raises

Lotz and lotz....

Bench Press

40kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    60kg x 5 x 2
    70kg x 6 Reps PR:)

Floor Press w/ DB's

26kg x 7 x 6 One extra rep compared to last week on each set.

Incline Bench

40kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    60kg x 5 x 2
    70kg x 3 Reps PR?

Hammer Curls

Mates weird hammer routine:pac: Basically ended up doing 32 reps either hand for 3 sets w/ 12kg or 10kg DB.

Seated DB Bicep Curls

10kg either hand x 10 x 2
    12kg x 12 x 2

EZ Curls

20kg x 8 x 2

Then for fun, me and a mate both picked up a bar, his had 15kg mine had 20kg and we went for reps.

20kg x 34

Mate ended up with 15kg x 35:pac:

Long aul session but hadn't trained with my mate in a few weeks now so twas nice to get the catch up and train with him. Another lad was there too, used to be very strong when he went to the gym regularly but went off the rails a tad the last year or so but seems to have got himself under control and is training regularly again- thank god.

Delighted with the presses, good few PR's so I can't complain. Legs were tired today, didn't feel good going into the session but wasn't too bad in the end I guess.

Wednesday 10th April

Warm Up

Shoulder mobility
    Stretches

DB Shoulder Press

Warm Up;

12kg x 12 x 2

Working;

22kg x 8 x 2
    24kg x 8 x 2
    26kg x 5

Behind The Neck Press In Smith Machine

30kg x 8
    40kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5 PR for pressing movements.

OH Press

50kg x 5 x 2
    40kg x 6 x 2
    30kg x 8

Super Set- Front & Side Raises

6kg x 16 (8 either way)

3 sets- all the same.

Barbell Shrugs

40kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 8

Decline Skull Crushers

15kg x 16 (8 pressing, 8 extensions)

4 sets- all the same.

Pushdowns

Used big V bar, rope and straight bar for these.

4 sets on each, heavy enough.

Extensions On Cable Cross Over

Lots and lots till I was knackered.

Dips

10 x 2

My shoulders are very sore after this session, not feeling great all day either. PR in the press was a surprise. Gonna go to KFC and indulge myself in the highest calorie thing they sell followed by an Oreo Krushem.:D

Deadlifts tomorrow, if this shoulder pain doesn't clear up I don't know if I'll go ahead with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Food went as follows;

400ml more milk
    200g cashews
    200g rice
    100g of peas
    50g protein
    T bone steak 300g
    1litre more milk.

Fat b*stard! What a feed! :D

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Fat b*stard! What a feed! :D

I like food:D I've near given up on eating all healthy now. I just eat healthy till I'm about 5-600kcals off my target and eat buttons and chocolate to fill the rest:pac:

Thursday 11th April

Warm Up

Shoulder Mobility
    Stretches
    Stepper for 5mins

Deadlifts- Week 7

Warm Up;

70kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    110kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    130 x 2
    135 x 1

Bleh..

Workings;

152.5kg x 2 PR for reps I think. Gotta look back.

Speeds;

127.5kg x 3 x 3

SLDL

100kg x 5 x 2

Reverse Grip Lat Pulldown

65 x 5 x 2

Lat Pull Down

40 x 8
    50 x 8
    60 x 8

Shrugs

102.5kg x 5 x 2

Bent Over Rows

70kg x 5 x 2

No GM's cause they hurt...

Chins

BW x 6
    BW + 5kg x 6
    BW + 10kg x 6
    BW + 15kg x 6

Chins Neutral Grip

BW x 6 x 3

Floor Press w/ Barbell

50kg x 10
    60kg x 8
    70 x 5

My hands were so sore. I just left after the floor presses because of the pain.

Video (My form is ****. Looks a lot easier than it was I think);

God I just looked at next weeks programme, 162.5kg x 2. I'm nervous as hell:confused: I suppose all I can do is eat, train, sleep and repeat at this stage. If I can't do 162.5kg, I'll add in an extra week at 157.5kg and attempt the 162.5kg the following week.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭COH

If I can't do 162.5kg, I'll add in an extra week at 157.5kg and attempt the 162.5kg the following week.

It's not supposed to be easy....

My advice is stop mind f*cking yourself. If it turns out to be heavy and you fail that's one thing, but failing the rep a week in advance is a different story! You never know - you might find it comes up easier than you think :)

Deadlift looks stron. You can really see an improvement the last month. As for next weeks session all you can do is your best.

COH wrote: »
    It's not supposed to be easy....

My advice is stop mind f*cking yourself. If it turns out to be heavy and you fail that's one thing, but failing the rep a week in advance is a different story! You never know - you might find it comes up easier than you think :)

That's also true!

My thing is next week I'll be well out of my comfort zone and just by a lil bit either:pac: I'll definitely go for it. I'll video it, whether I lift it or not. I'll be more then happy if I get this, even one:pac:

Judging by that vid, you've got another 10kg in the locker, no sweat... keep 'er lit! :pac:

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Judging by that vid, you've got another 10kg in the locker, no sweat... keep 'er lit! :pac:

Its 10kg I need:pac:

As Omar Isuf would say, Keep calm & and press the f*ck on:pac:

Except this isn't a press..:confused: Oh well the points the same:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 39,310 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The 152.5kg x2 from this week took about 2 seconds for each rep to get up.
    You have more there. If this was your actual max, it'll would have been slower, a grind that almost stops half way and a big purple head on ye.
    The extra bit you have now, plus what ever gains during recovery will get you 10kg. Then its singles.

Mellor wrote: »
    The 152.5kg x2 from this week took about 2 seconds for each rep to get up.
    You have more there. If this was your actual max, it'll would have been slower, a grind that almost stops half way and a big purple head on ye.
    The extra bit you have now, plus what ever gains during recovery will get you 10kg. Then its singles.

By the end I thought that I was gonna be seeing stars:pac: Hopefully you're right and it'll come up. I've a full week of recovery and eating ahead of me so I'll prep as best I can :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

162.5 x 2 easy.....get it done....

As a great one once said...

No messin' just ****ing lift it

162.5 x 2 easy.....get it done....

As a great one once said...

No messin' just ****ing lift it

Tough love, I like it :P

Here in the gym, just did 85kg bench:) Going for 87.5, I'll be back in ten :pac:

Failed it. Went up to parallel and came back down:p

Here in the gym, just did 85kg bench:) Going for 87.5, I'll be back in ten :pac:

As my mate in work likes to say when I proudly tell him I benched/squatted Xxxkg that day: "Xxxkg... on both sides of the bar, yeah??" :D :pac: