Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time to get serious!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭stuchyg

My cut will start in August. I'll pro bulk for another month and then maintain. Clean bulk is just a bitch to plan. Iv already cooked my eggs and spuds for lunch tomorrow and have 300g of white fish defrosting.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

stuchyg wrote: »
    My cut will start in August. I'll pro bulk for another month and then maintain. Clean bulk is just a bitch to plan. Iv already cooked my eggs and spuds for lunch tomorrow and have 300g of white fish defrosting.

Sounds like a plan. If I got to 180 I'd probably cut just so I don't look too fat:pac: Good man, planning ahead is the key.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,168 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

My back hurts just looking at your 170kg. Pause your video as plates are inch from ground and you'll see how straight your legs are and how rounded your back is.

Next cycle completely back-off and work on your form.

Nonetheless, great work and fair play to sticking it out. Onwards and upwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭divito06

Well done on your completion of your program. You've jumped the wall and are ready for the next step. You should take a week off and relax, give the body time to recover.

You've got a lot of good advise through out your program. Still need work on your form.

Great achievement. .

Sangre wrote: »
    My back hurts just looking at your 170kg. Pause your video as plates are inch from ground and you'll see how straight your legs are and how rounded your back is.

Next cycle completely back-off and work on your form.

Nonetheless, great work and fair play to sticking it out. Onwards and upwards.

It was only a matter of time before someone said it:P

Yeah, I plan on taking next week off from deadlifts and after that really begin to work on form. I've said form sucked for weeks now and would sort it after the programme.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

That vid is positively violent! Well done Man :D

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    That vid is positively violent! Well done Man :D

Thanks man:)
    Decided I'll do rack pulls on back day and SLDL's for the hammys. Training today, the bank holiday was well needed.

Tuesday 7th May

Warm Up

Foam Rolled- Calves, Glutes, Hammys, Upper and Lower Back, Lats and Quads.
    Shoulder Mobility

Squats

Bar x 5 x 2
    40kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    60kg x 5 x 2
    70kg x 5

75kg x 8 x 3
    50kg x 15 x 3 (Supersetted with leg extensions @ 110)

SLDL

70kg x 10 x 5

Leg Extensions

190 x 10
    210 x 10
    230 x 8
    250 x 8

These are getting light.

Leg Curls

40 x 8 x 5

Bench Press

Bar x 5
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    55kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    65kg x 5
    70kg x 5

50kg x 8 x 3

DB Press

30kg x 7 x 5

Incline Bench

50kg x 8
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 5

Decline Bench

As above.

Did a few curls. Highest was 35kg x 8 x 3.

Videos of squats to come. First time high repping squats for a while and Jesus it hurts! If I worked this out right I hope to test in 6-7weeks time.

75kg x 8 Set 1

75kg x 8 Set 2

50kg x 15

Wednesday 8th May

Warm Up

Foam Rolled- everything.
    Wall Slides
    Shoulder Dislocations

Push Downs w/ Rope and Close Push Ups

25 x 12
    12 Push Ups

35 x 12
    12 Push Ups

45 x 12
    12 Push Ups

Push Downs w/ Bar

45 x 12
    55 x 12
    65 x 12

Push Downs w/ V Bar

65 x 12 x 3

Skull Crushers w/ More Close Push Ups

20kg x 20 x 2 + 10 Push Ups After Each Set
    15kg x 20 + 10 Push Ups

Pull Ups

BW x 5 x 5

Superset- Lat Raises & Front Raises

8kg x 10 x 3 On Each

DB Shrugs

35kg x 10 x 3 w/ 1sec Hold At Top

Rear Delt Flyes

10kg x 10 x 3

Compounds? Not even once.

Thursday 9th May

Warm Up

Stretches
    Foam Rolling
    Walk:pac:

Rack Pulls

70kg x 10 x 3
    110kg x 10 x 2
    140kg x 5 x 2
    160kg x 3
    200kg x 1 Was a proper grind!

Pull Ups

Wide Grip;

BW 3 x 5

Neutral Grip;

BW +5kg x 3 x 5

Bent Over Row

60kg x 10
    65kg x 10
    70kg x 10

DB Row

42kg x 6 x 3 PR on these.

Some Lying On Bench Row w/EZ Bar Thingy

25kg x 12
    30kg x 12
    40kg x 12

Lat Pull Down

Over-Hand Wide Grip;

35 x 10
    45 x 10
    55 x 10

Under-Hand Grip;

55 x 10
    65 x 10
    75 x 8

w/ V Bar

45 x 10
    55 x 10
    65 x 10

T-Bar Row

35kg x 10
    Up in 10kg increments till 85kg

Biceps

Curls w/10kg DB's & EZ Bar Curls
    Concentration Curls w/ 10kg DB
    Curl Machine

Tiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiired!! Had a driving lesson before hand too so I'm mentally and physically f*cked.

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

200kg x 1 Was a proper grind!

Noice.

Hammar wrote: »
    Noice.

Chalk and resistance bands arrived today. Chalk ball looks good but the loose stuff looks messy as hell.

Buy a chalk ball off ebay there only round 2-3 EURO + 2-3 EURO for delivery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

divito06 wrote: »
    Buy a chalk ball off ebay there only round 2-3 EURO + 2-3 EURO for delivery.

Hanley wrote: »

Lol ha. Never comment on your day off and on the beer... ha ha

Hanley wrote: »
    It's literally a ball of chalk rapped in fabric and you just rub it on your hands like normal chalk block

I understand hanleys comment... I commented yesterday saying to buy exactly what u just bought. Stupid me lmao

Friday 10th May

Squats

20kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    50kg x 10
    60kg x 5 x 2
    75kg x 8 x 3
    50kg x 15 x 4

I tore my pants going ATG here:pac:

The rest of the work out was just my normal- Leg press, Extensions and DB SLDL.

Did chest too. Just bench and DB press though.

Sunday 12th May

Warm Up

Foam Rolling
    Stretches
    Shoulder Dislocations
    Overhead Band Pull-aparts

Deadlifts

70kg x 5
    110kg x 5 x 2
    140kg x 3 x 2
    160kg x 2
    170kg x 1 Match PR

Used my chalk today and the grip is unreal. Bye bye straps!

Pull Ups

Wide Grip;

BW x 5 x 5

Neutral Grip;

BW x 10 x 3

Finished with lat pulldowns, lat pushdowns and a cable row.

Monday 13th May

Warm Up

Foam Rolling- Quads, Hamstrings, Calves, Abductors, Lower Back.
    Wall Slides
    Shoulder Dislocations
    Band Pull-Aparts- Overhead and In Front. (Blue band)
    Shoulder Mobility w/ Black Band.

Squats

Jump Squats;

Bar x 5 x 2
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5 x 2

Normal Squats;

40kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 8
    80kg x 8 x 3
    50kg x 10 x 4

Leg Extensions

Single Leg;

30 x 10 x 3

Both Legs;

110 x 10
    150 x 10
    170 x 10
    210 x 10
    250 x 8
    290 x 5

SLDL w/DB

26kg x 10 x 5

Leg Press

230 x 15 x 2

Bench Press

Bar x 5 x 2
    40kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    60kg x 5 x 2
    70kg x 5 x 2
    75kg x 3
    60kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    40kg x 8

Incline DB Press w/Incline Flyes

30kg x 8 x 2
    12kg x 10 x 2

Neutral Grip Pull Ups w/Close Grip Push Ups

BW +5kg x 8 x 5 (Pull Ups)
    BW x 10 x 5 (Push Ups)

Tricep Pushdowns

30 x 10
    35 x 10
    40 x 10
    45 x 10
    50 x 10

And the videos here of heavy set squats;

Set 1;

Set 2;

Set 3;

Wrecked..

A few things-

Mobility has finally improved and by just looking at the squats you can see that. I used to get a sharp pain in my abductors which is gone and I can finally go ATG! Which I think by them I have the right to say I went ATG :P Thank you foam roller, resistance bands, static and dynamic stretching.

Toyed with a new grip benching today which I think I'll stick to as it's a bit tighter and stops my elbows flaring out so much. Chest felt much more pumped than normal so that's good too.

I've changed my programme slightly. The first time during the week I train legs I'll train for hypertrophy and the second time, strength. The same will follow for bench.

Weight has increased to weighing about 173-4 morning weight which I'm happy with as I also think I look leaner.

Wednesday 15th May

Shoulders

OH Press
    Raises- front and lateral
    Deltoid Press
    Reverse Flyes

Arms

Supersetted everything here.

Nothing special worth logging here.

Warmed up with loads of mobility stuff. Deadlifting tomorrow.

Thursday 16th May

Warm Up

Lots of hip and shoulder mobility.
    Box Jumps

Deadlifts

40kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    100kg x 8
    120kg x 5
    150kg x 3
    160kg x 2

175kg x 1 PR
    180kg x 1 PR

150kg x 5
    120kg x 5

Pull Ups & Neutral Grip Chins

Sets 1, 2 & 3:
    8 Pull Ups & 8 Chins

Sets 4 & 5:

BW + 5kg x 8 Pull Ups and same with Chins

DB Row & Bent Over Rows

DB Row:

42kg x 6 x 5

Bent Over Rows:

50kg x 10 x 5

Lat Push Downs

35 x 10
    45 x 10
    50 x 10

Dropset:

40 x 10
    30 x 10

Triple Dropset:

50 x 10
    40 x 10
    30 x 10

Was training with a few other lads, decided we'd do a few muscle ups. Got 4:pac:

To the deadlift, yes I know form wasn't great but for me it's a **** load of weight and it seems a tad better than usual. Form on all the others was great. The dude in the video is in college and studies it so I trust him when he says I was good. Felt a lot better too. I wasn't planning on going for a PR either so I'm really happy with these PR's.

P.S Chalk, I love you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

To the deadlift, yes I know form wasn't great but for me it's a **** load of weight and it seems a tad better than usual. Form on all the others was great. The dude in the video is in college and studies it so I trust him when he says I was good.

Stop listening to that dude. Work on form and you'll pull bigger weights eventually.

Dathai wrote: »
    Stop listening to that dude. Work on form and you'll pull bigger weights eventually.

Stop listening to a dude who's pulled over 200 with a table flat back at 65kg? I have nothing to judge my form on in lower weights until after I lift so at least if he's there mid way through a set or whatever to tell me tidy up my lift I won't be making the same mistake twice.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭COH

I had a big reply typed out but boards ate it so here are some things to consider...
    1 - your mate is a retard
    2 - stop testing your deadlift every week
    3 - if you keep pulling like that you will literally never get as strong as you could/should
    4 - you might not injure yourself pulling for a week.. a month... a year... 5 years, but when you do it's going to suck really REALLY bad
    5 - if your form was 100% awful last week..and only 95% appalling this week thats still not good enough. Are you physically incapable of getting into a good start position??

I have every faith you'll ignore all this. I like your enthusiasm for training... but you drive me f*cking nuts :)

COH wrote: »
    I had a big reply typed out but boards ate it so here are some things to consider...
    1 - your mate is a retard
    2 - stop testing your deadlift every week
    3 - if you keep pulling like that you will literally never get as strong as you could/should
    4 - you might not injure yourself pulling for a week.. a month... a year... 5 years, but when you do it's going to suck really REALLY bad
    5 - if your form was 100% awful last week..and only 95% appalling this week thats still not good enough. Are you physically incapable of getting into a good start position??

I have every faith you'll ignore all this. I like your enthusiasm for training... but you drive me f*cking nuts :)

The dude ain't retarded. He's veeeeeeery clever. And telling me my form at 150kg was the best he's seen me lift. I didn't intend on testing. Just said f it and lifted. I'm not going to be lifting that heavy for the next two months or so anyway. I get tight in my abductors after a while and I don't know, but it might be down to wearing no shoes and getting cold.

I don't know why everyone here seems to lay into me:pac: One of few people who actually post there videos publicly. Others here might be doing ten times worse of a job but keep it quite. And as for the ignoring part- ye said I'd test while doing the Coan programme, I didn't. Said I wouldn't finish it, I did. I can do it, whether or not ye choose to believe me:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭COH

The dude ain't retarded. He's veeeeeeery clever. And telling me my form at 150kg was the best he's seen me lift. I didn't intend on testing. Just said f it and lifted. I'm not going to be lifting that heavy for the next two months or so anyway. I get tight in my abductors after a while and I don't know, but it might be down to wearing no shoes and getting cold.

I don't know why everyone here seems to lay into me:pac: One of few people who actually post there videos publicly. Others here might be doing ten times worse of a job but keep it quite. And as for the ignoring part- ye said I'd test while doing the Coan programme, I didn't. Said I wouldn't finish it, I did. I can do it, whether or not ye choose to believe me:pac:

I haven't seen you get into a good start position once. Your back has been rounded on every rep I've seen, speed pulls and singles (I haven't seen all your vids - perhaps I'm missing something). So, based off what I can see... and assuming he sees the same thing and he says yeah.. thumbs up.. then yeah he's a retard.

Don't take this as a personal attack - you will get more from your training for longer if you set a better foundation. I reckon with a bit of consistency most guys could pull 180... of this made up but large percentage of people i see every day all of them would like to pull 260 because it would be awesome ...but I'd guess 90% of them will never pull 220. Like ever... I've seen guys come in day in day out where i work for 5 years now doing all sorts of programming etc. but literally never setting prs because they can only execute the movement at sub maximal weight.

If you post vids you're open to criticism... fair play, it takes guts to get judged. I reckon you could probably pull 200 by years end. But once you start hitting true top end weight you're gonna be risking alot off the ground with regards the shearing force on your lumbar, and eventually failing alot of reps at lock out because you will be in a biomechanically poxy position to push your hips through.

You might feel under attack but really from what I've read everyone is trying to help you out!

COH wrote: »
    I haven't seen you get into a good start position once. Your back has been rounded on every rep I've seen, speed pulls and singles (I haven't seen all your vids - perhaps I'm missing something). So, based off what I can see... and assuming he sees the same thing and he says yeah.. thumbs up.. then yeah he's a retard.

Don't take this as a personal attack - you will get more from your training for longer if you set a better foundation. I reckon with a bit of consistency most guys could pull 180... of this made up but large percentage of people i see every day all of them would like to pull 260 because it would be awesome ...but I'd guess 90% of them will never pull 220. Like ever... I've seen guys come in day in day out where i work for 5 years now doing all sorts of programming etc. but literally never setting prs because they can only execute the movement at sub maximal weight.

If you post vids you're open to criticism... fair play, it takes guts to get judged. I reckon you could probably pull 200 by years end. But once you start hitting true top end weight you're gonna be risking alot off the ground with regards the shearing force on your lumbar, and eventually failing alot of reps at lock out because you will be in a biomechanically poxy position to push your hips through.

You might feel under attack but really from what I've read everyone is trying to help you out!

Re my mate- this is the second week I've deadlifted I think since finishing the Coan programme. He's been following my progress on youtube and he'll admit my form is **** and there's posts on facebook where he's openly said my form is terrible. I regret not videoing the 150kg x 5 because my form was solid and I didn't feel a rounding in the back and I squatted back deeper then usual.

I am trying to set better foundations for myself and I think since the start of my 'Time to get serious log' I've come a long way. My shoulders are in better health, mobility is improving and my diet has come a long way for someone who probably started this at 65kg and 5'11 to be now 79kg and just as lean. I know I have to sort out my form and I will. I went heavy today, not intentionally but it did happen. I PR'd and it's not a PR to you guys as you don't see it that way. I know for a fact that if a dude posted in the daily achievement thread and said I pulled 180kg after 5months deadlifting it would be thanked all day but nobody would stop to ask about form.

I post videos week by week regardless of form and openly admit my form is **** but it is getting better. Compare my 145kg x 1 from a month or two ago to today, the difference is clear.

I know people are just trying to help but what I don't appreciate is people coming here saying someone is retarded before knowing there background, what they can lift etc.. I am working on from like everyone says to do here, it's not as though I ignore what ye say. I train with another mate three days a week and I go to the gym 45mins earlier to do my mobility, stretching, foam rolling and whatever else I feel needed. 3 months ago I wouldn't have. You guys' advice isn't ignored, it's put into practise.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,316 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I don't know why everyone here seems to lay into me:pac: One of few people who actually post there videos publicly. Others here might be doing ten times worse of a job but keep it quite.
    This is absolutely true. THe reason you geta harder time is because you are putting it out there.
    But you shouldn't see it as an attack. You should think of it as "as least I've got the balls to put it out there are be ripped apart. I'll improve much faster than the guy staying silent"
    I know I have to sort out my form and I will. I went heavy today, not intentionally but it did happen. I PR'd and it's not a PR to you guys as you don't see it that way. I know for a fact that if a dude posted in the daily achievement thread and said I pulled 180kg after 5months deadlifting it would be thanked all day but nobody would stop to ask about form.
    A bad form PR is still a PR imo. Nobody is saying "bad form, doesn't count".
    A true max effort rarely has perfect form. But bad form in all your reps all the time will fuck you up.
    I know people are just trying to help but what I don't appreciate is people coming here saying someone is retarded before knowing there background, what they can lift etc..
    His background is irrelevant. No offense to any PTs, but the standard of course work to become a PT isn't that high. Especially in a practical sense.
    His ability isn't really a factor, he may be very strong, and natural have good flexibility and form but not be aware of how to translate that to others.
    The dude in the video is in college and studies it so I trust him when he says I was good.
    That's the part people are talking about.
    The form wasn't good. If he genuinely thinks it was, then he doesn't know what to look for. If he was saying the form was "better" than your previous max pulls, thats a different story, but seeing as you just pulled with your best ever form at 150kg, its very strange to call the 180kg pull good, as it clearly regressed.
    I am working on from like everyone says to do here, it's not as though I ignore what ye say. I train with another mate three days a week and I go to the gym 45mins earlier to do my mobility, stretching, foam rolling and whatever else I feel needed. 3 months ago I wouldn't have. You guys' advice isn't ignored, it's put into practise.
    Nobody should be suggesting you aren't working to improve.
    The evidence is here. Mobility work, actively try to fix issues, the time when the programing was wrong, you took the mistake and moved on.
    People are just highlighting the biggest issue right now as its easy to focus on a less critical issue then a few areas aren't yet perfect.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,339 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

You're killing yourself pulling max effort single deadlifts as regularly as you are. I've tested mine once in the last four months of training (your max = my max fwiw but yours is far more impressive relative to bodyweight). The subtle knock on effect of that into your next couple of sessions means your training will be far less efficient.

As for the 'I didn't mean to pull heavy it just happened *shrug*'...what a dreadful attitude. :) Have a plan and stick to it. You really should be working light on your Deadlifts until your form improves (consistently). Every heavy lift you're doing at present carries a risk of you doing your back. That's reality. That type of **** scares me. Why? Because if you do your back you're done. All that progress, all those goals: unattainable in the short to medium term while you hobble around in agony hoping the last thing the physio said to you will work.

You're an absolute tank and making superb progress. Don't **** yourself over something silly like an unplanned 'I wonder if I can pull an extra 5kgs today' Deadlift.