Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WEST COAST ROAD TRIP

• 16-01-2013 10:30am
    Registered Users Posts: 49

Help please!! I am looking for a route planner for a 14 day road trip West coast USA. I am flying into LAX and flying out of San Francisco. I want to take in Yosemite and Las Vegas (and possibly San Diego). Any suggestions would be very welcome......thanks! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,019 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I'm doing this in 2 weeks although slightly different to what you are proposing, staying away from the national parks as its February. Flying into SF and spending 5 nights there, then drive down to LA over 2 nights stopping in Monterey and San Luis Obispo. 3 nights LA and then on to Las Vegas for 4 nights. Finally fly back to SF for 1 night and then home. We originally had planned on doing San Diego as well but it was just a too far out of our way to be worthwhile. I would imagine your route and itinerary would be different to mine if you are taking in Yosemite though?
    One thing I would suggest is get your car rental through carhire3000, they were the cheapest by miles. Also we booked all our hotels through booking.com which is handy as we cancelled and rebooked hotels (prices went down) multiple times at no extra cost.
    I'm sure I'd be more helpful when I get back but if you have any questions ask?

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

I'm doing a west coast road trip as part of my honeymoon , was thinking 3 nights , san fran , 5 nights along the coast to get to la , stay in anaheim for two nights as missus wants to go to a couple of theme parks . what places would people suggest to stay on way down the coast for 5 days ?

any advice or tips appreciated .

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Cutevelvet

Thanks a mill for your reply - sounds like a good route although I dont want to spend 4 nights in Las Vegas as we will be travelling with two teenagers. Only booked flights last night but think I should have done it the other way around!! Should have flown into San Fran and departed from LA!!! I have already booked my car hire through travel supermarket and got a good deal with them. Have booked my first hotel - I find Trivago absolutely brilliant, it definitely gives the best deals and there are some differences although I do agree booking.com is a good site.

Would be interested to find out what the accommodation were like in San Fran as I know they are quite expensive - did you have recommendations for accomodation?

Supraman wrote: »
    I'm doing a west coast road trip as part of my honeymoon , was thinking 3 nights , san fran , 5 nights along the coast to get to la , stay in anaheim for two nights as missus wants to go to a couple of theme parks . what places would people suggest to stay on way down the coast for 5 days ?

any advice or tips appreciated .

How about Carmel, Santa Barbara, Huntington Beach or a seaside town as anaheim is inland? Maybe San Luis Opisbo as youcancallmeal suggests?

Booked the Chancellor Hotel for SF, recommended to me by a few people. Like most accommodation in SF its not cheap though. Another boards member actually PM'd the name of the manager as he had given her a good deal previously, I did the same and got a better deal than I could find online but still not cheap even by Irish standards. I think its coming in around €800 for 6 nights and that doesn't include breakfast. Our accommodation for the other 9 nights together is less than that.

Cutevelvet wrote: »
    How about Carmel, Santa Barbara, Huntington Beach or a seaside town as anaheim is inland? Maybe San Luis Opisbo as youcancallmeal suggests?

I'm not sure if I'd recommend San Luis Obispo, the only reason we are staying there is because we'll be there on a Thursday night and apparently their is a famous farmers market where they close off a lot of down town, supposed to be really good. Other than that it's meant to be a fairly unremarkable town?

From the research I've done 5 nights seem a lot for travelling from SF to LA. I think 3 nights is generally whats recommended. Did a lot of driving on my own honeymoon in Florida and kind of regretted it a little bit. Theres a lot to be said for staying in one area like SF while you get over jet lag and explore the city?

Booked the Chancellor Hotel for SF, recommended to me by a few people. Like most accommodation in SF its not cheap though. Another boards member actually PM'd the name of the manager as he had given her a good deal previously, I did the same and got a better deal than I could find online but still not cheap even by Irish standards. I think its coming in around €800 for 6 nights and that doesn't include breakfast. Our accommodation for the other 9 nights together is less than that.

Thanks will be interested to see how you get on - I will book the SF accomodation as soon as I can get my route plan together. You have been very helpful! :D

thanks folks for advice !!

we'll be flying into vegas first for 3 days.

flying to san fran staying 3 days .

rent a car from san fran to venture down west coast 4 days ? take our time

2 days la for theme parks .

fly from la to ny for 4 days to finish .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭LasTime

Help please!! I am looking for a route planner for a 14 day road trip West coast USA. I am flying into LAX and flying out of San Francisco. I want to take in Yosemite and Las Vegas (and possibly San Diego). Any suggestions would be very welcome......thanks! :)

What we did in 2005 was went from san fran, down the interstate 5, to visalia, to sequoia national park(biggest trees on earth), then took some mountain road and ended up in death valley natioal park(hottest place in north america), from there to vegas, and from vegas to LA. Best holiday ever

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Flying into SF and spending 5 nights there, then drive down to LA over 2 nights stopping in Monterey and San Luis Obispo. 3 nights LA and then on to Las Vegas for 4 nights. Finally fly back to SF for 1 night and then home.

Thats a perfect itinerary I think. And its a beautiful time of year for it too, coast fog should be a mimimum. It can be wet though.

If you get a chance, stop here for a break. Its just at the start of the twisty section of hwy one heading south.

http://www.nepenthebigsur.com/

For the coast it depends if you want to split that five nights up individually or stay two nights in 2 different places.

But if its a honeymoon then this place is amazing, heading south its at the start of Big Sur, south of Carmel:

http://www.ventanainn.com/

This has some novelty, in San louis obispo

http://www.madonnainn.com/

Remember there's three routes between SF and LA:

Interstate 5 is the fastest and least interesting. You can do it in a day.

Highway 101 is a freeway and is marginally more interesting than I-5 and it joins up with Hwy1 north of santa barbara so you enter LA along the coast.

Highway 1 is a slow twisty 2 lane road down the coast and is really beautiful. Its like the atlantic coast of ireland with (slightly) better roads and great weather. And more places to stop and eat.

So unless you're in a hurry you should take Highway One.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_State_Route_1

https://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&ll=35.8846,-120.827637&spn=3.315351,5.50415&t=m&z=8

I am flying into LAX and flying out of San Francisco.

For driving up the scenic highway One its good to go northbound because its a long twisty mountain road, with cliffs on one side a lot of the time, and if you drive northbound it means you're in the right lane which is on the inside.

Driving south can be a white knuckle experience, especially if you're not used to driving on the "other" side of the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭lil_lisa

LasTime wrote: »
    ended up in death valley natioal park(hottest place in north america)

Even the hottest place in the world. It currently holds the record.

I would also strongly recommend taking Highway 1. From LA to San Fran should take the bulk of a day depending on how often you stop. We did it in about 14 hours from Santa Barbara, stopped twice to take small hikes (30-60 minutes) and stopped for food and sight seeing about 3 times (1-2 hours). We stopped at Hearst's Castle too, that was an amazing sight!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭LasTime

lil_lisa wrote: »
    Even the hottest place in the world. It currently holds the record.

I would also strongly recommend taking Highway 1. From LA to San Fran should take the bulk of a day depending on how often you stop. We did it in about 14 hours from Santa Barbara, stopped twice to take small hikes (30-60 minutes) and stopped for food and sight seeing about 3 times (1-2 hours). We stopped at Hearst's Castle too, that was an amazing sight!

Libia holds the record of 58 degrees celcius.. correct me if I'm wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭lil_lisa

Libya did hold the title at one stage but it was removed from them because it couldn't be confirmed, they believe it may have been an error. So now Death Valley holds the world record. I'm sure its just a matter of time before a middle eastern country takes it back.

Thanks IntheTrees, have just seen your replies now. The way I am going to do it is Anaheim two nights, Vegas two nights, Yosemite one night back to Santa Monica 2 nights and to Santa Maria 3 nights and SAn Fran 4 nights before flying home. This seemed to be the best think to do while taking in as much as we possibly can without huge driving involved. We drove in Florida which seemed to be fine so hopefully it wont be too bad on the West coast......

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭lukiej

Thanks IntheTrees, have just seen your replies now. The way I am going to do it is Anaheim two nights, Vegas two nights, Yosemite one night back to Santa Monica 2 nights and to Santa Maria 3 nights and SAn Fran 4 nights before flying home. This seemed to be the best think to do while taking in as much as we possibly can without huge driving involved. We drove in Florida which seemed to be fine so hopefully it wont be too bad on the West coast......

Attracted this this thread when I saw West Coast Road Trip!

I have done this road trip twice since 2010, I have wrote quite a bit on here about my time in California. Its a wonderful state with so much to do and see! So thats a good start picking Cali!

I did both of mine from South - North. the first year starting in Huntington Beach, the second starting in San Diego. 14 days is definitely enough time to cover all that ground.

My route went from San Diego - Laguna Beach, Newport Beach and Huntington Beach ( we literally just stopped for a look at laguna, stayed a few hours in Newport and stayed the night in Huntington) - LA, here we did the beach towns of Santa Monica and Venice Beach along with bus tour of Hollywood, Beverley Hills and celeb homes - then we went straight north through the valley directly to Lake Tahoe, stayed there for a few nights and then drove across west to San Fran - then we took Highway 1, the coast road, ( make sure you take this road) the scenery is amazing, its a lot longer but its worth it. stopped in Monterey on the way down then Santa Barbara and then drove all the way back to San Diego.

You seem to have picked or decided on a route, but il offer my recommendation anyway:

Your flying into LAX, so I think instead of staying in Anaheim, stay in one of the coastal towns, Huntington Beach is amazing, i lived there for a whole summer, or somewhere closer to LA like Santa Monica. Get all the sights in around LA, go to 6 Flags theme park its not that far from LA itself, I went to Universal Studios, well worth the visit, also definitely get the bus tour of Hollywood, Beverley Hills and the celeb homes, was so cool i thought. go for the smaller open top pick up trucks rather than the big buses, they will show you more and let you get off to walk around too.
    From there LA I would go to Vegas, your looking at a 5 hour drive max probably less in a car. 2 nights here will be enough, its an intense place, ( I didn't go as part of west coast road trip but went there twice separately!), no real way of describing it you have to experience it for yourself, its an amazing place, check out the mini theme park on top of the stratosphere, walk in around all the hotels, the nightclubs are like nothing you will have ever seen! theres day trips to the grand canyon and lake mead too, would be worth a look! Hotels are very cheap, even the well known ones! try get something on the strip, but again if you have car it wont matter!
    I would go back to LA from Vegas then shoot up Highway 1 (the coast road), no other route should be taken! Stop through Santa Barbara, its a nice city, and Isla Vista the far side of it, is a lovely town. Keep going up along the coast, Monterey is a very nice town, home to Pebblebeach Golf Club. Would be a nice town to stay the night in. Then on up to San Fran, again lots to do and see here, Alcatraz, Golden Gate Bridge n all that. Berkley University. I think then once your up this far to stay up here, you mentioned Yosemite, its east from San Fran, I havent been but have heard great things. I have however been to Lake Tahoe and it was the highlight of my summer in 2011, it is amazing, A huge lake, we stayed in cabins in the woods on the shores of the lake, rented speed boats, did cliff jumping, its on the Nevada border so plenty of nightlife and casinos at your reach, we also went tubing down a river from the top of the mountain to the lake. It is a wonderful place. I still think it will be possible to get in Yosemite and this too in your time frame.
    Then back to San Fran to fly out of..

That would be the route I would take I think, given what you want to cover.

Dont forget about the towns in SoCal, well worth a look if you can get down, Laguna, Newport and Huntington. Make sure you take Highway 1 (coast road) to go to San Fran, you will not be disappointed. you pass through Big Sur, 90 miles of coast road, coming very close to the edge of the cliffs at times but amazing! Cant recommend Tahoe enough either! Vegas is Vegas! you will understand when you go there, its probably one of the best places Iv ever been!

Sorry if iv blabbed on a bit, but I know Cali pretty well at this stage and have travelled a lot of it. Please let me know if you have any questions, I would be glad to help!

lukiej wrote: »

Attracted this this thread when I saw West Coast Road Trip!

I have done this road trip twice since 2010, I have wrote quite a bit on here about my time in California. Its a wonderful state with so much to do and see! So thats a good start picking Cali!

I did both of mine from South - North. the first year starting in Huntington Beach, the second starting in San Diego. 14 days is definitely enough time to cover all that ground.

My route went from San Diego - Laguna Beach, Newport Beach and Huntington Beach ( we literally just stopped for a look at laguna, stayed a few hours in Newport and stayed the night in Huntington) - LA, here we did the beach towns of Santa Monica and Venice Beach along with bus tour of Hollywood, Beverley Hills and celeb homes - then we went straight north through the valley directly to Lake Tahoe, stayed there for a few nights and then drove across west to San Fran - then we took Highway 1, the coast road, ( make sure you take this road) the scenery is amazing, its a lot longer but its worth it. stopped in Monterey on the way down then Santa Barbara and then drove all the way back to San Diego.

You seem to have picked or decided on a route, but il offer my recommendation anyway:

Your flying into LAX, so I think instead of staying in Anaheim, stay in one of the coastal towns, Huntington Beach is amazing, i lived there for a whole summer, or somewhere closer to LA like Santa Monica. Get all the sights in around LA, go to 6 Flags theme park its not that far from LA itself, I went to Universal Studios, well worth the visit, also definitely get the bus tour of Hollywood, Beverley Hills and the celeb homes, was so cool i thought. go for the smaller open top pick up trucks rather than the big buses, they will show you more and let you get off to walk around too.
    From there LA I would go to Vegas, your looking at a 5 hour drive max probably less in a car. 2 nights here will be enough, its an intense place, ( I didn't go as part of west coast road trip but went there twice separately!), no real way of describing it you have to experience it for yourself, its an amazing place, check out the mini theme park on top of the stratosphere, walk in around all the hotels, the nightclubs are like nothing you will have ever seen! theres day trips to the grand canyon and lake mead too, would be worth a look! Hotels are very cheap, even the well known ones! try get something on the strip, but again if you have car it wont matter!
    I would go back to LA from Vegas then shoot up Highway 1 (the coast road), no other route should be taken! Stop through Santa Barbara, its a nice city, and Isla Vista the far side of it, is a lovely town. Keep going up along the coast, Monterey is a very nice town, home to Pebblebeach Golf Club. Would be a nice town to stay the night in. Then on up to San Fran, again lots to do and see here, Alcatraz, Golden Gate Bridge n all that. Berkley University. I think then once your up this far to stay up here, you mentioned Yosemite, its east from San Fran, I havent been but have heard great things. I have however been to Lake Tahoe and it was the highlight of my summer in 2011, it is amazing, A huge lake, we stayed in cabins in the woods on the shores of the lake, rented speed boats, did cliff jumping, its on the Nevada border so plenty of nightlife and casinos at your reach, we also went tubing down a river from the top of the mountain to the lake. It is a wonderful place. I still think it will be possible to get in Yosemite and this too in your time frame.
    Then back to San Fran to fly out of..

That would be the route I would take I think, given what you want to cover.

Dont forget about the towns in SoCal, well worth a look if you can get down, Laguna, Newport and Huntington. Make sure you take Highway 1 (coast road) to go to San Fran, you will not be disappointed. you pass through Big Sur, 90 miles of coast road, coming very close to the edge of the cliffs at times but amazing! Cant recommend Tahoe enough either! Vegas is Vegas! you will understand when you go there, its probably one of the best places Iv ever been!

Sorry if iv blabbed on a bit, but I know Cali pretty well at this stage and have travelled a lot of it. Please let me know if you have any questions, I would be glad to help!

Wow - thanks so much for this I am going to print this out and bring with me. Unfortunately I had booked my accomodation (Hotwire no refund but great prices!). You have given me some invaluable info there and I might be looking for some more when it comes closer to the time. I have two teenage boys so will definitely be looking to go to the theme parks - had Universal in mind but will check out 6 flags!

Vegas, hotwire gave me Trump Tower for a really good price - I think it is off the strip a bit but it looks fab!!

I wish I had seen your post before I booked the accommodation but will defo check out Huntington Beach!

Thanks again

Finally booked with a few alterations to original plan.

Flying into Vegas July 9th .
    Staying in the Aria , checking out July 13th.

Flying to San Fran on 13th
    Staying in the Pickwick , checking out July 16th.

Renting a car on the 16th.

Driving to Monterey 16th .
    Staying in Stagecoach lodge , checking out July 18th .

Hitting Santa Barbara on July 18th , staying in best western peppertree, checking out 20th .

Arriving in Los Angeles July 20th , staying in the marriott in Anaheim . checking out July 23rd .
    will have the rental car up until departing at lax on the return flight home.

If anyone has essential tours , experiences , shows etc can you copy my post and paste in between the dates what ye might recommend at the locations .

Never been to the West coast so will certainly appreciate the advice given .

Mark

I'm going on Friday for a very similar trip so I'll report back when I'm home in 2 weeks!

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

Hitting Santa Barbara on July 18th , staying in best western peppertree, checking out 20th .

Arriving in Los Angeles July 20th , staying in the marriott in Anaheim . checking out July 23rd .

If anyone has essential tours , experiences , shows etc can you copy my post and paste in between the dates what ye might recommend at the locations .

Mark

Just letting you know that there's a Wet 'n' Wild opening Memorial Day in Las Vegas.
    If you have some teenagers with you it might me a good idea. It's about 10miles from the strip.

Don't go crazy booking stuff before you go. Alcatraz needs to be booked in advance if you're heading there but not much else.
    Shows in Vegas will always have seats.

Jersey Boys is one of the best shows to see. If you want some advice about Vegas just ask. We have family visiting us here so we've had to come up with other ideas for under 21's.

Remember to have ID on you at all times in Vegas. You can get asked for it by anyone and if you don't have any you're asked to leave the gaming floor.
    The Irish licence and Garda card aren't accepted that much either.

• Registered Users Posts: 727 ✭✭✭lilium inter Spinas

The way I am going to do it is Anaheim two nights, Vegas two nights, Yosemite one night back to Santa Monica 2 nights and to Santa Maria 3 nights and SAn Fran 4 nights before flying home. This seemed to be the best think to do while taking in as much as we possibly can without huge driving involved. We drove in Florida which seemed to be fine so hopefully it wont be too bad on the West coast......

Umm... if "huge driving" is something you want to avoid, you may want to tweak your trip just a little bit. The way you set things up, you're going to spend quite a bit on the road. From San Fran to Los Angeles alone, it takes approximately 4-6 hours depending on traffic (and boy are we known for our traffic). Florida has long, open roads which are quite different from the highways in So. California. And the roads also change a bit between No. and So. California.

Yosemite, Santa Maria & San Fran are all within the same vicinity from one another, so I'd suggest to group your trips there together to save time, gas and driving hours. If you're coming down from San Fran to Anaheim, it might be worthwhile to check out Santa Monica (since it's on the way- sort of) while you're in the area, especially if you take the 5 South. Anaheim and Santa Monica are a fair distance apart and belong to totally separate counties.

People underestimate our traffic here in Cali, so while we're not the absolute worst in the nation, driving during rush hour (3PM-5PM PST) will definitely set you back a bit. So definitely add that into the expected time for your trip planning. The worst I've had to endure is 2 1/2 hours where it should have only taken 45 mins. I pray you won't encounter that on your trip. >_<;

All in all, I hope you have lot's of fun here!! Good luck on your trip planning! :D

From San Fran to Los Angeles alone, it takes approximately 4-6 hours depending on traffic (and boy are we known for our traffic).

Its almost 400 miles. Maybe 6-8 hours if you take 101 which would be a huge waste because you should be taking the beautiful and scenic coastal Highway One which goes by Monterey Bay and Santa Barbara.

And that takes longer.

:o

As I posted earlier there's three routes between SF and LA, and the scenic tourist route is Highway One down the coast.

If you're in a hurry you can take I-5 (OR if you're coming from yosemite) but its really not recommended.

There's also 101 which bypasses the most beautiful scenery but does connect with the coast near san louis obispo.

Anyway... if you've never been to CA before DONT drive I-5 if can avoid it.

• Registered Users Posts: 727 ✭✭✭lilium inter Spinas

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Its almost 400 miles. Maybe 6-8 hours if you take 101 which would be a huge waste because you should be taking the beautiful and scenic coastal Highway One which goes by Monterey Bay and Santa Barbara.

And that takes longer.

:o

I've had friends who've made it to San Fran in under 5 hours........... >_>;;
    Then again they probably drove like savages. I was sort of going based on that, but NO! You are completely correct InTheTrees. 6-8 hours sounds about right. And totally agree with taking the scenic route if time allows. The I-5 and 101 are pretty darn boring. :)

I'm doing this in 2 weeks although slightly different to what you are proposing, staying away from the national parks as its February. Flying into SF and spending 5 nights there, then drive down to LA over 2 nights stopping in Monterey and San Luis Obispo. 3 nights LA and then on to Las Vegas for 4 nights. Finally fly back to SF for 1 night and then home. We originally had planned on doing San Diego as well but it was just a too far out of our way to be worthwhile. I would imagine your route and itinerary would be different to mine if you are taking in Yosemite though?
    One thing I would suggest is get your car rental through carhire3000, they were the cheapest by miles. Also we booked all our hotels through booking.com which is handy as we cancelled and rebooked hotels (prices went down) multiple times at no extra cost.
    I'm sure I'd be more helpful when I get back but if you have any questions ask?

Just back yesterday from our trip, had a blast. Feel like we ticked all the boxes and experienced the hell out of it! San Francisco is general was probably the highlight, such a great city, could've easily spent longer there. LA is what it is, Hollywood is a tourist trap but you've gotta do it. Las Vegas is great fun, went to a few shows, walked up and down the strip, ate at the buffets, drank a lot and gambled of course. 3 or 4 days is all you need to be honest because it really is quite intense on the body and the wallet!

Mark

Going against what somebody else said I would recommend booking as much as possible before you go. You will get it cheaper if you look around for deals and you won't have to queue. In particular in Vegas we had to queue up to an hour in the oppressive heat at one of the discount ticket places for tickets for a show that were not much cheaper than full price. Then you have to go to the box office for the show you booked tickets for and exchange the voucher for the tickets, most of the time you can only do this on the day of the show and you have to get there early to get a good seat. This is no fun when you you've been up till all hours the night before and your head is banging!

One night in Monterey is more than enough, definitely wouldn't recommend two. Driving from SF to Monterey you'll arrive at lunchtime, go to the aquarium in the afternoon, go out for dinner/drinks on cannery row that night, go through 17 mile drive the following morning on your way to Santa Barbara. Not sure what more you'd want to do there? Would also say one night in Santa Barbara would be enough, you may want to look into doing the Hearst castle between Monterey and Santa Barbara which can take around two hours (book ahead).

When renting a car just get a compact, its actually nearly the same size a saloon car here. They tried to get us to upgrade, very glad we didn't as the compact had more than enough room for two of us and our bags.

One night in Monterey is more than enough, definitely wouldn't recommend two.Would also say one night in Santa Barbara would be enough,

Nice. Thanks for the report.

Was their any coastal fog? That can spoil the view but is usually worst in the summer.

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Nice. Thanks for the report.

Was their any coastal fog? That can spoil the view but is usually worst in the summer.

We were quite lucky actually the day we did the really scenic pacific highway drive from Monterey to San Luis Obispo it was clear skies and sunny but the following day it was cloudy and raining all day. Its really just luck of the draw it seems?