Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Hopefully the Mata contract is sorted ASAP, if all else it stops the stupid rumours of his exit for at least another year.

An extension for Luiz and Ramires should follow soon after as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

Any news on KdB not heard a peep about him?

I'd say we'll get an update today, with the flying and potential jet lag and time zones it could have put back the scan until today.

Lets just hope it isnt bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Earnings from European competition last season:

Chelsea - £35.3m
    Man U - £30.5m
    Arsenal - £27.1m
    Man C - £24.7m

(via Evening Standard)

peteeeed wrote: »
    Earnings from European competition last season:

Chelsea - £35.3m
    Man U - £30.5m
    Arsenal - £27.1m
    Man C - £24.7m

(via Evening Standard)

Whats that, down about 20 million from last years winning of the UCL?

Still though a fairly decent return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Whats that, down about 20 million from last years winning of the UCL?

Still though a fairly decent return.

chelsea earned £47.3m last season

I couldnt remember was it closer to 55 million or 50 million with our UCL win.

Out of interest anybody throw a few quid on us winning the league? Seen 23/10 in PP which is a decent enough price.

I throw a few teams in an outright winners accum on a few leagues, got just over 15/1, only threw 10 on it though.

Might try a new one with more/different teams later online.

The whole Rooney thing is getting stupid now I don't know who this jenny Leigh is but with reporting of this stupidity she is destined for great things in the Daily Fail going forward.

http://hereisthecity.com/2013/07/23/would-united-swap-rooney-for-oscar/?

I just love the way she describes Oscar (who I really believe will be better than Hazard, Mata and will become one of the best in the world)

He’s just 21, he’s valued around £25 million (he cost Chelsea £19.35 million a year ago), he’s spent the season adapting to the demands of the Premier League and the Champions League, he’s a senior international with Brazil, has earned 22 caps and scored 6 goals despite his age, he scored 12 goals and made 12 assists for Chelsea across all competitions last term and he’s only going to get better.

He's proven himself one of the finest passers of the ball in the league, he can shoot from distance, he can dribble, he's got great vision and he really ought to be player a further forward role to improve and develop but obviously that role is usually filled by Mata as present.

And then describes Rooney

Rooney’s fitness and form have been inconsistent for the last couple of years and with all the rigmarole over his contract and his wages and his transfer request, United could just cut their losses – except this way, they wouldn’t appear to be losing a player to a rival, they’d save themselves the embarrassment, and gain a top quality player in a position they desperately require some quality.

Does she not beleive TSHO when he says no players are for sale and even if they were how stupid does she think Chelsea are?

This is what we ain't got no history reports regarding last seasons European money. Even though we are down some ST£20m at least we did earn more than any other English club.

http://www.weaintgotnohistory.com/2013/7/23/4549646/chelsea-fc-champions-europa-league-earnings?

Rooney for Oscar is LOLtastic.

The only rumours have surronded the players still on holidays but those players are all scheduled to go on the USA tour next week.

They're back in training Monday with the squad flying to America on Thursday August 1st.

Of the current 3 amigos hes the weakest as his decision making and ability to be out of games for periods cost him but he has the ability to be one of our best players easily.

With Hazard, Mata and Oscar all still young thats a frightening prospect for our team as theyre all going to improve.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Considering his age, size and the fact that he was coming to not only a new country but a whole new continent with a very different football culture I thought he did very well last season.

He is a bit lightweight and he can disappear for the occasional 10 or 15 minutes but he really is a sublime talent, he's got so much to his game and he's already established himself in the Brazil side. Hopefully he has the kind of second season in England that Mata had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

Anyone want to join a Chelsea league in Fantasy Football?

376536-97343

In, The B Sharps!

Nothing confirmed by the club yet but its looking good.

So where do you think Chalobah should go on loan?

Of the 3 promoted sides Palace would be handy but do they play the type of football he needs?

Stoke's midfield is pretty dire and with a proper manager now could get game time.

Saints could be a good mix but their midfield is quite good as it stands.

We have a decent relationship with the baggies that is a possibility

http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/chelsea/transfer-talk/news/chalobah-wants-premier-league-loan_94963.html

Anywhere where he'll get 30 + games would be ideal.

It would be brilliant if it was an EPL side but another good Championship side would suffice for his progression IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

After hearing all the stuff about Cisse and the dispute with Newcastle about religion, it got me thinking about Demba Ba. Doesnt he fast for his religion and that for a few weeks during the season. I wouldnt be happy with that if I was Jose

Ya its for Ramadan. Its on at the moment until 7th August.

Ozil last year was also effected by it but I dont think Jose done anything about it other then say he respected his beliefs.

I'll try dig up the article.

Edit : I can find an article saying he actually told Inter players to choose Ramadan or playing. :pac:

Ya its for Ramadan. Its on at the moment until 7th August.

Ozil last year was also effected by it but I dont think Jose done anything about it other then say he respected his beliefs.

I'll try dig up the article.

Edit : I can find anarticle saying he actually told Inter players to choose Ramadan or playing. :pac:

Ha whatever your religion, isnt it a bit unprofessional for a pro footballer at a club like Chelsea to fast for so long?

Anelka is a Muslim so I'm assuming he fasted at points while with us.

It is very tough though, the time frame you cant eat or drink in the UK is from 5am until 9pm.

Thats mental for an athlete and what makes it worse is pre-season training.

Ah its lunacy with pre season training!

It is very tough though, the time frame you cant eat or drink in the UK is from 5am until 9pm.

Would be quite tough if we were touring Northern Norway :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Anelka on how he dealt with Ramadan:
    Some players compromise. Anelka has said that he initially fasted in daylight hours as prescribed, but "I realised I often got injured just after the period of Ramadan, so I don't observe it strictly any more".

Jose in same article:
    In 2009, after only half an hour of Inter's 1-1 draw with Bari, the fasting Sulley Muntari was substituted, with manager Jose Mourinho stating that Ramadan had "not arrived at the ideal moment for a player to play a football match". His comments drew widespread criticism, which Mourinho later clarified by saying: "Muntari's decision is not to be criticised because it is a question of faith and religion. That means that I accept it. I never said Muntari should forget his religion and practice."

Source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,921 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Anyone want to join a Chelsea league in Fantasy Football?

376536-97343

Done! The Chelsea Lie-ins

I really just want this season to start already, bloody boring summer.

3rd kit officially launched.

0,,10268~12093142,00.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

I really just want this season to start already, bloody boring summer.

That's what happens when you support a club that gets the vast majority of its Summer business done so early. I wish it was a boring Summer at Arsenal!

greendom wrote: »
    That's what happens when you support a club that gets the vast majority of its Summer business done so early. I wish it was a boring Summer at Arsenal!

This summer though ye dont look to be losing anybody of note, thats always a good thing and from what I've read and heard Giroud is having a good pre-season which is always good for a club.

I think hes a good CF and his 2nd season should see an improvement on his goals return.

I reckon we're still in for Rooney but unless Utd splash some money I dont thnk they'll sell him on as they'll ahev no need to baalnce the books, so to speak.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=85672734&postcount=129
    Just noticed tickets for the super-cup went on sale to members - just the 1 for each member for now.
    I am looking to buy 2 tickets.
    Is any other member willing to join my 'family & friends' so that I can use their allocation for the super-cup (assuming they are not going)?
    I will gladly return the favour during the season if they want to go to a prem match or two. I usually get over there just the one visit per season myself.
    Please send me a message if you can help out.
    Cheers

Anyone able to help him out lads, cant be too many heading to the Super Cup. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭chelseaaremagic

gav pm me i will pair with you i'm defo not going

It's actually for this guy : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=141640

cheers for the offer though, since the Hull game sold out I've put off renewing until this months payday in a few days.

Reports from the Daily Mail that Liverpool and C.Palace might be interested in Piazon on laon for the year.

The same article , Piazon said he wants to be used as a left winger, so I cant see it being at Liverpool he wont get the game time there. With Palace losing Zaha he could be ideal for them and to show case that he has a fairly bright future.

There is a different starting formation from the previous two games in Asia with Jose Mourinho opting for a 4-3-3 shape.

Demba Ba plays in the centre of the front three, flanked by Victor Moses and Eden Hazard.

Nathaniel Chalobah, having played in central defence in Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur, is the holding midfielder, and Jamal Blackman is given a start in goal.

The Chelsea team is expected to line-up in the following 4-3-3 formation:

Blackman;
    Wallace, Cahill, Terry (c), Cole;
    Ramires, Chalobah, Van Ginkel;
    Moses, Ba, Hazard.

Game k/o's at 2:30 BST.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Don't think I'll be able to watch this.....might see if Chelsea TV works on my phone and look busy. I'm good at doing that.....:pac:

Looking forward to seeing how the team can operate in the 4-3-3. Pretty spectacular that these days Chelsea can draw 80,000 fans in Indonesia.

Gonzo, you're on update duty so the way I see it. :pac:

I'll do my best....just kicked off:pac:

Looking forward to seeing how the team can operate in the 4-3-3. Pretty spectacular that these days Chelsea can draw 80,000 fans in Indonesia.

With Chalobah doing the holding, Ramires and Van Ginkel will do all the donkey work around him, that could be a very good partnership if MVG can hit the ground running once the level is stepped up.

I'll do my best....just kicked off:pac:

No goals?

Jose out!!!!

Wallace has been impressive in the few games considering he's so young. Played a great ball in there, spit the defence.

Its a shame hes going to have to go on loan alright although if he plays at a decent team then it will only improve him.

I think with Azpilicueta we've a good RB anyway but if we could keep Wallace we'd have competition which is brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭RichT

I'll just add the subs.....

Schwarzer, Ivanovic, Kalas, Cole, Essien, McEachran, Piazon, Feruz, Lukaku.

Nathan Chalobah is strutting around like he owns the pitch and is splaying some lovely passes.

PENO!

JT pulled back

Hazard scores

"He gave him the eyes" :D

Super penalty by Hazard, fully deserved, he's played very well so far.

No goals?

Jose out!!!!
    RichT wrote: »
    JT pulled back

Hazard scores

Jose in!!!!! Yeeeee haaaaawwwww

Chalobah hits post

Wallace hits the other post :confused:

Ramieres scores (Hazard cross, Bertrand flick on)