Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Bertser wrote: »
    Nothing worse than losing to a bad refereeing performance.

Well I don't think we lost to a bad ref performance, more like a bad manager.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Bertser

kev1.3s wrote: »
    Well I don't think we lost to a bad ref performance, more like a bad manager.

Well a blatant penalty that we most likely would've scored from to make it a draw, and a blatant sending off to give us a man advantage in the last 15 minutes would've been handy. Ridiculous that Lampard didn't play at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Lampard needs to play. Still the best midfielder.

Terry would have prevented the 2nd goal too. Bad marking from Ivanovic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

A peno and a red but I still don't feel that agreived for some reason... we were the worst team for 60 minutes and were completely out-muscled...

Lampard > Mikel and Moses/Torres > Oscar might have made a difference. Pleased that Benitez actually tried 2 up front though.

Bertser wrote: »
    Well a blatant penalty that we most likely would've scored from to make it a draw, and a blatant sending off to give us a man advantage in the last 15 minutes would've been handy. Ridiculous that Lampard didn't play at all.

You may have a point but we lost this game today by our usual slow start in fact its a miracle that we we're only one down by half time, our defence was all over the place our midfield were non existent and as for ba anytime he did get a sniff of the ball he was bullied off with ease, it wasn't until the game had effectively gone that raffa decided to make a change and then he only made one and left on the ineffective Oscar and terrible mikel, I don't think that the ref had as formuch to with us loosing as raffas did.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Garzorico

Oscar needs to stay in the middle, play the Pirlo role. Moses out wide in his place. Lampard is too slow in possession.

Refs performance directly affected the result. Two clear reds and a peno. Few yellows he bottled also. He'll not get any more high profile games until his 'retirement'. We were all over them when aguero should have gone.

Can't believe aguero will get away with that.

Garzorico wrote: »
    Oscar needs to stay in the middle, play the Pirlo role. Moses out wide in his place. Lampard is too slow in possession.

Refs performance directly affected the result. Two clear reds and a peno. Few yellows he bottled also. He'll not get any more high profile games until his 'retirement'. We were all over them when aguero should have gone.

Can't believe aguero will get away with that.
    I'm not disputing that we were all over them at that point but you have to admit city tore us apart in the first half and killed the game very early in the second half. Poor referee decisions go hand and hand with football and if you want to win the game you have to do enough to win it on you're own back and not be relying on referee making decisions in you're favour, it doesn't go down as the same kind of travesty that we endured at the bridge against united.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

What I take from today's performance is the following:

- Mikel is simply not good enough for the very top level. Very lazy attitude, sloppy passing, no meaningful impact whatsoever. When he said he didn't much care about the Europa Cup, it seems he feels the same way about the FA Cup.

- Luiz is too skittish and undisciplined to be a defender. He can only survive at the top level in a midfield role.

- Ramirez is too close to Shaun Wright Phillips for comfort. He has his moments, but his decision-making is questionable.

- Torres still has a market value. Whether he can fit into Chelsea is another question. I'm not sure he's the right fit for the style we want to develop.

The squad needs a pretty major overhaul. The Mata-Hazard-Oscar axis has a big future. Ba would be a great squad striker, alternating with a Falcao/Hulk type. Cech has more years, but let's not lose hold of Courtois. Moses is good in the squad. Our defence needs a major, major overhaul. We need a central defence revolution. Cahill is good, but can he lead like Terry?

A lot to ponder for next year.

As for Man C, they muscled us out of it until the second goal. Their players seemed man for man to be a step ahead. But I put a lot of that down to Mikel who was MIA. You can't play with 10 men against players like City have.

McDave wrote: »

- Torres still has a market value. Whether he can fit into Chelsea is another question. I'm not sure he's the right fit for the style we want to develop.

We have to face the fact that Torres will be here next season, facts are that nobody will be willing to take on his wages and to be honest if he keeps playing how he has been for the last month or more I'd be happy with that, there have been games where he has been without doubt the best player on the pitch ( and also the worst ) Ok the goals aren't coming as free and easy as we all hoped but I was wishing him to come on from the early stages today.

I'm not disputing that we were all over them at that point but you have to admit city tore us apart in the first half and killed the game very early in the second half. Poor referee decisions go hand and hand with football and if you want to win the game you have to do enough to win it on you're own back and not be relying on referee making decisions in you're favour, it doesn't go down as the same kind of travesty that we endured at the bridge against united.

We were poor in the first half but 'City tore us apart' does not = a 5 goal lead. There was 1 goal in it at half time. And at that their goal was a fluke, ball rebounding all over the shop and landed at Nasris foot 2 yards out.

I am talking about the officials doing their job. Dead cert peno on Torres, the chance didnt magically appear out of thin air, we created that chance and were denied the opportunity to convert it due to Kompanys foul.

against 10 men we would have been in a much stronger position to score another goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

We have to face the fact that Torres will be here next season, facts are that nobody will be willing to take on his wages and to be honest if he keeps playing how he has been for the last month or more I'd be happy with that, there have been games where he has been without doubt the best player on the pitch ( and also the worst ) Ok the goals aren't coming as free and easy as we all hoped but I was wishing him to come on from the early stages today.
    Yep. Wages are potentially the biggest deal breaker for any transfer, unless we pay part of them, or compute them into the transfer price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Positives from today , ramieres lung busting runs and Torres continues to be playing a much more direct game and looks a different player and should have had a peno
    Negatives our centre back partnership never got to grips with city's front 2

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 492 ✭✭thebison

Luiz is a such a likeable player! Here's his quotes on the Aguero tackle.
    Luiz Said - "I never saw Aguero do a bad tackle on other players. It was five seconds of anger and I forgive him."

"Many people have said to me about this tackle. I didn't see it because I was on my back," he said.

"I felt it a little bit. Sometimes in a game people have five seconds when they are angry and do things they don't like to do. I think it was that.

"Aguero's a great player, he needs to be honest with himself and say I don't like to do bad tackles.

"People are happy when Aguero scores goals and does good things in the game.

"Many kids see the game, watch the game and they want to see good things and not bad things."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Reason we lost yesterday, City were the better team.

What didnt help was giving a free for Ramries "tackle" that led to the 2nd goal and Ivanovic ball watching as Aguero literally jogged away in behind him for a free header, for a CB his concentration is worse at times then Luiz.

Could and should have been a worse scoreline, bring on the league and hopefully 3 points Wednesday night.

I actually forgot about Ba's miss in the 2nd half that he hit straight at Pantimilion.

On the Aguero tackle, Foy gave it as a free kick, meaning he seen the incident, so does that mean Aguero will escape any punishment from the FA?

GavRedKing wrote: »
    On the Aguero tackle, Foy gave it as a free kick, meaning he seen the incident, so does that mean Aguero will escape any punishment from the FA?

no because he gave it for the first challenge

from the mirror

Representatives of Schurrle were at Wembley for the FA Cup semi-final and will discuss personal terms shortly...

Chelsea next? Germany's Andre Schurrle
    Chelsea are ready to open talks this week with powerful German striker Andre Schurrle abut a £20million switch to Stamford Bridge.

Roman Abramovich has opened the cheque book for the Bayer Leverkusen hitman who will be sold by the Bundesliga outfit in the summer.

Representatives of Schurrle's camp were at the FA Cup semi-final with Manchester City at Wembley yesterday and will discuss personal terms shortly.

Schurrle is a powerful and versatile front man who can play anywhere in the attack and would give Chelsea a fresh option in their forward line next season and beyond.

Chelsea tried to buy Schurrle at the start of the campaign but were priced out of it. However he is now available and Abramovich wants the transfer tied up fast.

The Russian ruler trusts his scouting staff on Schurrle - and he will be presented to the next manager as a done deal.
    http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/chelsea-transfer-news-blues-open-1832713

Would he still not be looking at the same incident though?

I cant see him making a reference to it in his match report either way.

Between that, Kompanys man handling of Torres and 3 or 4 fouls, 2 alone on Hazard, it could have been a different outcome.

Yaaaaay anothe player coming in before we've a manager signed.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

Mikel should have been hauled ashore at half time and the substitution was the right one. Oscar started to have an effect on the game when he moved to the center and Ram is at least as good as Mikel in the holding role with the difference he can burst forward if the opportunity presents itself. That should be the starting formation against Fulham.

Nando did fine I am a little curious why he has started putting in good shift's all of a sudden.

Did he have a moment of clarity and say the flak from the fans is justified I am not working hard enough?
    Is our interim getting to grips with him?
    Is he putting himself in the shop window hoping for a transfer out in the summer?

I have a horrible feeling it is option 3 (but then I have often been called a cynical b******s) but I really hope option 1 that would be great for us and him.

As for the ref too many matches are being decided by referees these days, I was at the Munster Leinster game on Saturday that was destroyed by a so called top ref having a nightmare. Foy yesterday was nothing short of disgraceful and should be dropped from the list with immediate effect.

In the Southern hemisphere in super rugby they can now go to a TMO for pretty much anything, the ref can also let play go for two phases and then stop the play and go back and ask. They are also experimenting with a ref in the stands who can advise the ref on the field something he and his touch judges have missed. The idea is to ensure the game is won by the best team not by reffing errors, something along those lines would be a whole lot better than the stupid efforts UEFA and FIFA have tried so far. Rugby and cricket are innovative and try to ensure fair play soccer is run by a complete bunch of muppets.

Yup, agree Grumpy.

I'd be whipping Mikel for games where we need goals, he was ezxcellent in the 2nd gaainst Utd as we needed him to stay back witht he back 4 incase we were picked off, agaisnt City we needed more from him and Ramries gives us that and Oscar put in a shift.

I'd send out a strongteam agaisnt Fulham because in all reality we've a better chance of 3 points at Fulham then we do at Anfield so lets play a strong team there fiorst and pick up the points there before we worry about Anfield.

Yup, agree Grumpy.

I'd be whipping Mikel for games where we need goals, he was ezxcellent in the 2nd gaainst Utd as we needed him to stay back witht he back 4 incase we were picked off, agaisnt City we needed more from him and Ramries gives us that and Oscar put in a shift.

I'd send out a strongteam agaisnt Fulham because in all reality we've a better chance of 3 points at Fulham then we do at Anfield so lets play a strong team there fiorst and pick up the points there before we worry about Anfield.

For sure we can worry about Liverpool on Thursday but we have to win at Fulham. If we do I would be quite confident we will carry the performance through to Anfield but our away form has not been very good of late. Just go for goals at Fulham bring JT back and drop Ivan to the bench, so for me

Petr,
    Apil, Sideshow, JT, Bert
    Ram, Oscar
    Haz, Mata, Nando
    Ba

Lets go for the juggler let the opposition worry about us we have too good a side to be worrying about them.

Ya' I'd be all for Ba and Torres both starting, they'ed be a handful for most sides anyway.

Coupled with Mata and Hazard they would be fairly potent I'd reckon.

And so....Aguero is getting away with it, cant say I'm surprsied really, proabbly for the reason I outlined above.

Quite glad in a way would have done us no good would prefer him to be playing against Spurs not sitting on the sideline.

True and Luiz is ok so I've no real problem with it now.

At the time and after a few replays it made for nasty viewing.

Reason we lost yesterday, City were the better team.

What didnt help was giving a free for Ramries "tackle" that led to the 2nd goal and Ivanovic ball watching as Aguero literally jogged away in behind him for a free header, for a CB his concentration is worse at times then Luiz.

Could and should have been a worse scoreline, bring on the league and hopefully 3 points Wednesday night.

Im sorry but the reason we didn't at least draw yesterday was due to the inability of the officials to so their job. 3 mins from time Torres was fouled by the last defender, peno and straight red. No debate. And that should have been Citeh down to 9 men if Agueros foul had been dealt with correctly by the lines person.

Also Clichy should have walked with amount of yellow card offences he committed.

Ref was a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Killinator

Im sorry but the reason we didn't at least draw yesterday was due to the inability of the officials to so their job. 3 mins from time Torres was fouled by the last defender, peno and straight red. No debate. And that should have been Citeh down to 9 men if Agueros foul had been dealt with correctly by the lines person.

Also Clichy should have walked with amount of yellow card offences he committed.

Ref was a joke.

Although you have a point, you're assuming we would have scored the peno,

Granted its likely, but with lamps on the bench, Mata would most likely of taken it, and his record from the spot for us is somewhat chequered, eg: champions league final.

The ref COULD have cost us at least a draw, then again maybe Mata would have skyed it or had it saved(their keeper seemed on form and is a big fella too).

Dont mistake that for me not being angry at the decision though.

EDIT: Luiz could have walked with Aguero aswell if the ref was handing out reds.

Killinator wrote: »
    Although you have a point, you're assuming we would have scored the peno,

Granted its likely, but with lamps on the bench, Mata would most likely of taken it, and his record from the spot for us is somewhat chequered, eg: champions league final.

The ref COULD have cost us at least a draw, then again maybe Mata would have skyed it or had it saved(their keeper seemed on form and is a big fella too).

Dont mistake that for me not being angry at the decision though.

Fair enough he could have skied it but the fact remains that the officials denied us the chance not the fact that Citeh played well for an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Killinator

Fair enough he could have skied it but the fact remains that the officials denied us the chance not the fact that Citeh played well for an hour.
    That I agree with

The reff did on one that level deny us the opportunity to bring the game to extra time but on the balance of the game I'd swallow my pride and say the best team won. City have become our bogey team I hope to f**k we can do them next season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Bionicle

Was at the match yesterday. Gotta admit was a good game despite the loss. Was great letting Citeh know who the champions of europe are (and that they'll never sing that song! :D )

If you can guys, I advise you all to go to Wemberley and see us play in future. It really is a great day out and one I'll never forget!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

how do you get into the chelsea supporters club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Compton wrote: »

Send a PM to one of the Chelsea Supporters Group mods - GavRedKing or Phoenix - to ask for access.

Compton wrote: »

sorted. ;)

Luiz saying a top 4 finish coupled with winning the Europa League would be a success.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/apr/15/chelsea-europa-league

Arsenal v Everton tonight, big game for us as well.

Both teams have played 1 more game then us, Arsenal are 1 point ahead, while Everton are 3 points behind.

Ideally Everton go and take at least a draw, that would suit us, Arsenal 2 points clear with 2 games more played, prior to our Fulham game.

Just looking at the webbsite, you can pre-order the new shirt now........without seeing it. :pac:

Anyone want to take a gamble ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Depends, which one have ya seen?

I posted a blue and white one to the Chelsea Supporters Group but I'm not sure if its even close to being the right one, I think the new one will be practically all blue with only the adidas logo and stripes and Samsung being in white.

I hate the new jersey every year malarky and the new away/3rd jersey every 2 years, its a bollix.

I imagine if you had kids it would even be worse.

I'm still getting miles out of my 2011-12 jersey.

Ya, I thought that too, also kind of reminded me of the Greek National jersey.

If its nice I'll get it, if not I'll keep this years one because I like the feel of it, also, I have to get it in long sleeve, not a fan of short sleeves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

5 games in 17 days, add a 6th if we get to the EL final.

2nd May - Basel
    5th May - Man Utd
    8th May - Spurs
    11th May - A.Villa
    15th May - EL Final??
    19th May - Everton

Flights from Cork to Amsterdam on the 15th May are about 120 quid......very tempted. :pac:

What I want to see from the next few days, beat Fulham anyway necessary, beat Liverpool via a * Torres winner in front of the Kop and Rafa to do a Jose running down the touchline. *

Neither is likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Tubbs4

good result tonight once chelsea win the next game back up to 3rd with a game in hand.

Still a great chance of 3rd with Europa cup to boot