Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

New kit revealed on club website, not one I seen doing the rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

well the badge has gone back to an old fashioned traditional one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

A month ago I was certain Lamps would break the record, now with games running out I just cant see it happening actually. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

GavRedKing wrote: »
    A month ago I was certain Lamps would break the record, now with games running out I just cant see it happening actually. :(

Same here sadly, I hope he does though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Techless

Phoenix wrote: »
    Am liking the new kit :)

Sports Direct are showing a price of Stg 45 if you want to pre order it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

Tigerbaby wrote: »
    I concur about Mikel. He has a sh*tty job to do, and he generally does it well. He's not going to get accolades for creative attacking football, but other teams attacks founder upon him.

Dont know about the rest of you, but I am worn out from this season. Too many games, too much stress. The team must be knackered.

Blue Forever.

X, Tigerbaby.

Its his passing that drives me crazy. His job is to do the dirty work then give the ball to players who can do something with it, too often he will break up the play and then give it straight back to them.

As for Jose who knows but if there was no plan B I would be worried and Pelligrini would be a very decent plan B

• Registered Users Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Techless wrote: »
    Sports Direct are showing a price of Stg 45 if you want to pre order it.

You don't realise how good a deal that is, it's 45! And €1 delivery!

I'm definitely doing this before sportsdirect change the currency and delivery deals.

Would it be ok to get a jersey with a number on the back and no name? I am getting it as a 21st gift for someone but number 21 is Marko Marin :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Its great the new kit just has the simple blue and white, no yellow or red or god knows what. Definitely has an 80's look to it but I really like it. Only thing I would change is the badge, the lion on its own with a star either side would been better like this one (probably only because I'm nostalgic about it being my first shirt).

football_shirt_634_1_600x560x0.jpg

Anyway, I think the new shirt is the nicest they have had in a few years and might splash the cash for it.

Pedantic perhaps but I hate the socks. They should be white only white all white arrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhh. Actually I really hate when we play in all blue.

Yes I know very odd

You don't realise how good a deal that is, it's 45! And €1 delivery!

I'm definitely doing this before sportsdirect change the currency and delivery deals.

Would it be ok to get a jersey with a number on the back and no name? I am getting it as a 21st gift for someone but number 21 is Marko Marin :/

Apologies, on the mail I got from them it said Stg 45 but when you check the site, it says Euro 45 so not a bad deal at all

In work at the moment but are Sportsdirect selling the long sleeve aswell?

For anyone interested

2013/14 membership will go on sale towards the end of April 2013.

Think it's the short sleeve one only Gav, no image as yet showing on the site but the description mentions short sleeve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Pedantic perhaps but I hate the socks. They should be white only white all white arrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhh. Actually I really hate when we play in all blue.

Yes I know very odd

Im not keen on blue socks either, reminds me of Oldham or Birmingham

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

There's a few reliable people saying Rudi Völler is in London right now to negotiate the Schürrle to Chelsea transfer

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Well at least we know for sure that Lamps won't be around next season, I could be wrong but I havn't seen him once in any of the promo video's or pics for the new kit.

Well I find it strange that cfc or raffa are trying to push lamps and terry out when last night they were both in the team and we beat fulham in the dearby with ease. No matter what you say they really are the driving force behind us and are not going to be easily replaced.

Don't know if this has already been posted but chelsea tv is free to view tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭podge79

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/apr/18/premier-league-finances-club-by-club

net debt at £878m.. but thats the holding company debt; RA has pumped in £896m since he purchased...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭bullpost

I agree but dont think we can land this one on Rafa as he's halfway out the door himself now.
    kev1.3s wrote: »
    Well I find it strange that cfc or raffa are trying to push lamps and terry out when last night they were both in the team and we beat fulham in the dearby with ease. No matter what you say they really are the driving force behind us and are not going to be easily replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

If Jose was to make a return, do ye think he would be saying to Roman to hold on to Lamps and Terry as they could still be useful to him?

Panthro wrote: »
    If Jose was to make a return, do ye think he would be saying to Roman to hold on to Lamps and Terry as they could still be useful to him?

I just can't believe that if cfc are already after doing a deal for schurle ( spelling?) that Jose will come back unless ie has identified him as a target himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

from teamtalk.com

Bayer Leverkusen sporting director Rudi Voller has confirmed that he was in London on Thursday for talks over Chelsea target Andre Schurrle.

Reports in Germany claim that 22-year-old forward Schurrle has already agreed his part of a deal which could be worth in excess of £20million.

Voller travelled to England with general manager Michael Reschke to meet with Chelsea and talk terms over the highly-rated forward.

Asked about a deal with Chelsea, Voller told Bild: "Yes, I was in London and I have had discussions. There is nothing more to say, there is nothing decided yet. "

It is also claimed in the German media that Voller asked Chelsea about the possibility of taking Belgian winger Kevin De Bruyne as part of the deal.

The 21-year-old is currently impressing for Werder Bremen on loan and Bayer are hopeful that they can take De Bruyne on loan for next season.

If Schurrle is a long term target for Emenalo and the scouting team they probably want to move this summer before someone else comes in and takes him.

Be interesting to see what happens with De Bruyne, I'd rather keep him but if it sweetens the deal for Schurrle then off with him for a year, at least he'll have the chance of more games then we'd be able to guarntee him.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Schurrle would certainly add another dimension to the squad and would be a quality option to call upon. There is no doubt that a squad consisting of Hazard, Mata, Oscar, Moses and Schurrle sounds like an exciting prospect.

Though I would be a bit disappointed if we let De Bruyne go for the season. I really thought next season the central midfield role would be his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

KingdomYid wrote: »
    Mistaken there, ye don't have a game in hand on us. Both have played 32 now.
    Thanks for that. Post edited.

http://www.espn.co.uk/football/sport/story/203129.html
    Chelsea captain John Terry has nominated goalkeeper Petr Cech and defender David Luiz as the leaders of the next generation at Stamford Bridge.

"He has the personality of a leader. He pushes the lads. He is like that in training, demanding a lot from himself and the other players around him. It's good for the squad.

Anyone wanna predict the weekend?

I'd take a draw anyway right now, 3 points ahead of spurs and we're 1 point ahead of arsenal with a game in hand.

If we can get any points from the Anfield game it will be a bonus, Spurs will be looking to win to finish inside the to 4 and City will eb bulling for 3 points to close the gap to Utd who play on Monday night.

Best case scenario we win and Arsenal and Spurs drop points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,921 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

I'd take a draw anyway right now, 3 points ahead of spurs and we're 1 point ahead of arsenal with a game in hand.

If we can get any points from the Anfield game it will be a bonus, Spurs will be looking to win to finish inside the to 4 and City will eb bulling for 3 points to close the gap to Utd who play on Monday night.

If there's one game in the whole calendar that I really really really want us to win, and win convincingly, it's this weekend's. Just cause... Well y'know

I'm not pushed on this weekend, I'd prefer to winagainst Spurs at the Bridge, its our 3rd last game of the season and winning that will probably decide where either us or them finish in the top 4.

But ya winning this weekend would be great, I've a buddy going over, a Pool fan for his birthday, hope he has a lousy weekend. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

Liverpool haven't had a great season. I'm kind of hoping that, after our own up-and-down year but with the end clearly in sight, we're now capable of stringing a few wins together, even against tough opposition.

We do have some pretty serious weaknesses. If this team is tired, then Mikel's casual wastefulness can only make the rest of the team have to work that much harder. And our defence is still a bit on the skittish side. But if our creative midfield can get some momentum going, I'm confident of at least a draw.

Prediction: 2:1. To the Blues!

And Spurs and City to draw.

With that in mind I'd be hoping for

Cech
    Azp Luiz Jt Bert
    Lamps Ramires
    Oscar Mata Hazard
    Ba

Liverpool have failed to score in their last two games against West Ham & Reading so whilst their scoring record is ok its not great - they also tend to concede a few.

At the moment I feel we are a much better team when we attack, we always seem to mess it up when we sit back (first half's against ManU and ManC perfect examples). Yet when we attack we look really dangerous so I would go

Petr, Dave, Sideshow, JT, Ash / Bert, Ram, Oscar, Haz, Mata, Moses, Ba - plenty of pace and experience in the defense overall and more than enough to keep their defenders busy. Johnson for example is not a good defender but is a lovely striker of the ball be it crossing or shooting much better we keep him when he does us no harm

We should not be be worried about a pretty average Liverpool team 2-0 Blues I think.

Mata Hazard Lukaku all nominated for POTY or YPOTY.

If we've Ash fit for the run in I'd be delighted, same with Cahill, anybody but Ivanovic at CB, I'm never confident when hes in there, no matter who hes playing with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Killinator

What's the opinion on Nando for Sunday?
    Should he get the nod?
    I say yes while hes showing some drive and spirit

Killinator wrote: »
    What's the opinion on Nando for Sunday?
    Should he get the nod?
    I say yes while hes showing some drive and spirit

I'd agree, but then we'd need him away to Basel on Thursday.

It's very hard to second guess what Rafa will do, nobody knows at this stage what XI will start.

I would have started Torres agaisnt City and kept Ba for Fulham but he done the opposite so I can see it being Ba at Anfield.

Ba is playing quite well also so should get a run with nando on the bench.

Or play both of them, wont happen though unless we go 2-0 down and we're really trying to push on.

Cech
    Azp Luiz Jt Bert
    Hazard Oscar Ramires Mata
    Ba Torres

Goals-a-plenty among that team, we might ship 2 or 3 but we should score 4 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Tubbs4

I have a bad feeling yossi will be given a run out or worse starting.
    Damn you Rafa if he starts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Tubbs4 wrote: »
    I have a bad feeling yossi will be given a run out or worse starting.
    Damn you Rafa if he starts

God I hope not!

I reckon Ba to start and Torres on for the last half hour if needs be... Ba hasn't been great but he provides a good out for us early in the game when we tend to play crap... can bring on Torres to score goals (there's a phrase I never though I'd get to say).