Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

As I've said many times before, you can't say things like that about the pronunciation of the English language. There are few globally-accepted standards of pronunciation. As long as a pronunciation is close enough that the meaning is clear and there's no jarring difference in sound, there's no problem.

For the record, the word "Thailand" hasn't come up in any of the speaking sections of English-language exams I've dealt with, but if it did, it the pronunciation of the "h" would only (possibly) be marked down in a proficiency-level exam, or maybe advanced if the student made few other mistakes. Most students have bigger things to worry about, pronunciation-wise.

And if I took such a strict attitude towards pronunciation with students, they'd never get anywhere.

I can understand people getting a little annoyed by slightly deviant pronunciations, but I don't think you can say such minor differences are wrong.

Actually, he is correct. Thomas, Thames and thyme are (I think) the only 3 words in the English language where one should never pronounce the 'th'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

When I fell stupid for not knowing that names have changed.

Mumbai was in the news last month for some terrorist being hanged.
    Mumbai?? Ahhhhh.....when I was a young 'un we called that Bombay.

Burma is now Myanmar Republic or something like that.

Read somewhere about Republic of China. I always called that Taiwan

It it Dingle or An Daingean?

Leave placenames alone :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Actually, he is correct. Thomas, Thames and thyme are (I think) the only 3 words in the English language where one should never pronounce the 'th'.

Citation needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Trendy, made-up allergies.

"Oh, I'm so special, I'm like sooooooooo allergic (or, more usually, allergict) to granite; magnolia vinyl emulsion; the ink in the Drogheda Independent; Spanish 5c coins, etc. etc."

And before yis all jump on me, I have no problem with the symptoms of, say, hayfever. My problem is with the assumed cause. How, after living on and with all sorts of plants and grasses for millions of years, can a human, e.g. your cousin's buddy, suddenly become snot-infested, swelly-eyed and hoarse from being in the same county as.....plants? Why aren't our primate cousins also affected?

I remember, when I was about six, having a slight sniffle and being brought to some obscure Catholic ritual involving incense. Well, the sniffle turned to a few sneezes, runny eyes and a slight cough. "Oh, you must be allergic to incense," said the font of wisdom. "Great", I thought, "no more of this church stuff for me." I milked that for years!

In her sixties, my mother decided she was allergic to chicken. Now we have instantaneous dashes to the bathroom if so much as a whiff of chicken is detected. Other fowl are fine!

My Leader of the Opposition alleges an allergy to base metals, e.g. rivets on jeans; cheap jewellery, etc. So easily (and successfully) disproved!

I freely admit that my theory falls down when new-borns exhibit sensitivity to substances......unless their mammies are telepathically beaming these reactions into them.....but perhaps some boardies have access to some fact-based research on the proportion of legitimate allergies to the made-up, auto-suggested, Mammy-suggested or media-suggested allergies that wasn't funded by the pharmaceutical industry.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 herbytosh

People who say living the dream

• Moderators Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Wise Old Elf

BrensBenz wrote: »
    Trendy, made-up allergies.

...etc

I kind of agree. I have a (medically tested!) allergy to eggs, i.e., throw up, blue lips in bad cases etc. My son has a similar but less severe reaction to eggs as well.

However, I have also been randomly advised by well meaning but misguided people in healthfood shops and the likes to avoid anything they feel like, e.g. white bread, gluten, etc with no backing, just their experience, so I presume these people have just decided that they're allergic to this food group. Intolerant might be a more apt word than allergic.

So another trivial thing that annoys me: unsolicited, incorrect medical advice from people in shops!

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭aknitter

Disco - have to agree with you, was told to eat loads of pro biotics by a health food shop while my own doc was after telling me to avoid like the plague!! I told them that and they would not believe me....didn't know most of the shop assistants were physic or have little known medical degrees hanging around!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭silenceisfoo

When people don't know the difference between an allergy to something and an intolerance to something.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭aknitter

bandwagon jumping on this issue is huge - my mother is a diagnosed coeliac - my mother-in-law swears she is the same but just looking for something to whinge about. My sister is 'lactose intolerant' and see the amount of milk chocolate she can pack away is cruel....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

When an ad comes on the telly, so you change the station, and all the other stations have ads as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

The Republic of Telly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

The phrase "I weep/despair for humanity", usually preceded by some shìtty facebook post.

You really base your assumptions of seven billion people on one person?

One has to wonder who the actual idiot is in that scenario, because the other seven billion people couldn't give a flying fùck.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

When Ihave the decency to put down those "seperater" things in que for a till so person behind me can put theirstuff down aswell and they don't even bother to say thanks- ungratful f*ckers, I should have made have to hold onto their sh!te..
    /rant

• Registered Users Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

aknitter wrote: »
    bandwagon jumping on this issue is huge - my mother is a diagnosed coeliac - my mother-in-law swears she is the same but just looking for something to whinge about. My sister is 'lactose intolerant' and see the amount of milk chocolate she can pack away is cruel....

It drives me crazy when people have the disorder of the year. EVERYONE has a slight intolerance to gluten, it's natural, same with milk after a certain age.

A few years ago, bipolar disorder was trendy. No, you're not bipolar just because sometimes you are sad and sometimes you are happy. They're called emotions, pretty much every person on the planet has them, dumbass. Before that it was aspergers. You don't have a disorder, you're a dickhead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

A few years ago, bipolar disorder was trendy. No, you're not bipolar just because sometimes you are sad and sometimes you are happy. They're called emotions, pretty much every person on the planet has them, dumbass. Before that it was aspergers. You don't have a disorder, you're a dickhead.

So, is your username ironic or is it accurate?

Is it even Joe!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Here I was looking forward to a night in watching the soaps and at half six, in lands a elderly neighbour and settled herself down for a great chat. Talking about her varicose veins and hens not laying and now I'm after missing an hour and a bit of soaps. She only left because I kept pretending to yawn. Wagon.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

EazyD wrote: »
    When I'm paying for petrol and the "regular" behind me in the queue cuts in before either myself or the till guy has a chance to talk and exclaims "I'll just leave that tenner there for ya", and saunters off, I mean really, could you not wait all of 10 seconds?Argh

i hate that so much seen it a few times where i shop in a queue of 5 to 6 people and the guy at the back usually buying a paper jumps ahead and leaves the 1/2 euro on the counter, of course nobody including myself ever calls people out for it,

not sure if this bothers anyone else but again when in a queue mainly the 10 items or less checkouts, the person in front of me might be queueing for a few minutes just standing there , and when they eventually get served and the one or two items they have are totalled up, only then do they decide to get out their wallet/bag/purse etc. and start rooting for change or notes and granted it may only take 30 seconds to get the money but it bugs me so much i mean you have been standing there a couple of minutes and you only have one or two items, you could have easily estimated a total in your head and got the money out in advance,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

So, is your username ironic or is it accurate?

Is it even Joe!?

One part is truth, the other is fiction. Figure it out for yourself, because I've forgotten.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

aknitter wrote: »

I'm genuinely lactose intolerant and have been since I was a kid, but sometimes chocolate's worth the unpleasant effects :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

An aunt of mine announced recently that she has a "touch of Coeliac" cause she thinks she comes out in a rash after eating some kind of bread, ahhhh it's not an allergy it's an INTOLERANCE.

Something that annoys me is when getting stuff for people and they just take it for granted, like if you buy a ticket for €20 and there's a €2 handling fee, they assume you won't take the €2. Another thing that drives me crazy is my inlaws always get my wife to get them stuff online (they don't have a credit card is the excuse), no money is forthcoming till the stuff is delivered and if they don't like it when it does arrive it's up to her to send it back and get the money back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭silenceisfoo

The "10 items or less" checkout in a supermarket. It should be "10 items or fewer'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Rasheed wrote: »
    Here I was looking forward to a night in watching the soaps and at half six, in lands a elderly neighbour and settled herself down for a great chat. Talking about her varicose veins and hens not laying and now I'm after missing an hour and a bit of soaps. She only left because I kept pretending to yawn. Wagon.

Sky + that biyatch! I mean the show not the wagon, that would be just wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭kingcobra

I hate internet/modern cliches such as:

-"Faith in humanity = restored"
    -"Like if you're against cancer, ignore if you've no heart"
    -"1 Like = 1 Respect" In fact any post looking for likes is as annoying as hell.
    -People saying what is wrong with society today, it's been the same as it always has been, albeit cultural changes you eejits
    -"Rant over" after the end of a status a couple of sentences long, some rant!
    -"If you haven't had this you haven't lived"
    -"Bitch please...blah blah blah"
    -Some memes can be funny but then some are overused and complete shite like "Brace yourselves, the ..... are incoming."

And that age-old boards reply "Let me get the popcorn" etc. is totally unoriginal and not funny now either...get a new joke lads.
    And I know someone will say this after this post because they're a funny person

Rant over. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I gave some ould lad a bit of a jump just passing by when he was about to lock his garage door n he goes "cutting, isn't it!! skin ya!!!!"

and at that moment I realized that fcuking cutting northeasterly would probably skin me before he!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

kingcobra wrote: »
    I hate internet/modern cliches such as:

-"Faith in humanity = restored"
    -"Like if you're against cancer, ignore if you've no heart"
    -"1 Like = 1 Respect" In fact any post looking for likes is as annoying as hell.
    -People saying what is wrong with society today, it's been the same as it always has been, albeit cultural changes you eejits
    -"Rant over" after the end of a status a couple of sentences long, some rant!
    -"If you haven't had this you haven't lived"
    -"Bitch please...blah blah blah"
    -Some memes can be funny but then some are overused and complete shite like "Brace yourselves, the ..... are incoming."

And that age-old boards reply "Let me get the popcorn" etc. is totally unoriginal and not funny now either...get a new joke lads.
    And I know someone will say this after this post because they're a funny person

Rant over.

Two things
    One: maybe you're spending too much time on the interwebs
    Two: You sound like You're not getting much lately ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I just remembered something else that really annoys me.

Every New Year's Eve, I go to the local pub with a few friends and family members and the pub we go to has a cover charge for the night.
    It's €10 a ticket.

A few times I've offered to buy them in advance for whoever's going and then they can settle up with me on the night.

So there I was, last New Year's Eve, in the pub with three of the people I was socialising with. They gave me their portion of the money, fair enough.
    But then two people decided they weren't coming-how was I meant to get paid?

And one showed up and I asked them for the money, only to be told they'd "fix me up during the week. I didn't ask for it again because I didn't see that person for a while.

It's so awkward-for God sake, if I asked someone to get me a ticket, I'd make sure that person got their money.

Am I the only one who gets annoyed by stuff like this?

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭kingcobra

nocoverart wrote: »
    Two things
    One: maybe you're spending too much time on the interwebs
    Two: You sound like You're not getting much lately ;)

It's that fact that I get too much which is causing me to vent my anger :P

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

I hate when people use Americanisms in Ireland. That's if they're not American, of course.

"Awesome" is one of my biggest pet hates. "Mom" instead of ma or whatever etc.

I also hate Bipolar instead of manic-depression. It's akin to euphemisms like Jolly instead of Fat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Two things that really annoy me ...

1.people who start off with a number

B. who then change to a letter like as if it that makes sense

(I know its only one thing but I had to make my point)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

People who use full stops when it should be a comma.Should be shot.