Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish expressions you dont hear any more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

"Get your bollocks out of my face"
    "Ride me sideways" was another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Chin Stroker

dj jarvis wrote: »

pint of harp

Or Bass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

arra

muise

ah shure you'll have that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭ezekel

"I could'nt give a continental bollix"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

"Getting a feed in the nightclub"

Gone since the nineties :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭TopOfTheRight

Caffling :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Ask me butchin.
    Or in these more inlightened times (which i agree with), gays men are no longer refered to as Quaerrs, black people are no longer Nig Nogs and travellers are not Tinkers anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Chin Stroker

ezekel wrote: »
    "I could'nt give a continental bollix"

Eeny meany miney moe
    Catch a nígger by the toe
    If he squeals let him go
    Eeny meany miney moe

I was clearly a flamin racist 4 year old :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Butterfly25

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Eeny meany miney moe
    Catch a nígger by the toe
    If he squeals let him go
    Eeny meany miney moe

I was clearly a flamin racist 4 year old :eek:

Me too!

I've heard other variations which just sound so wrong...

Catch a lion by the paw
    &
    Catch a fly by the wing.....WTF!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

coola boola?

I'm almost positive Fran the man was saying that in Love/Hate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Tisserand

Woe betide you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Dunno if it was said, but

"Janey Mack..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

It's only a bleedin' whistle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Tisserand

Well that beats Banagher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭hju6

"you're no ordinary can of piss"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

''This is the third house I've bought this year''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Shove it up yer b0llix!

work it up the eye of yer prick

shove it up the back end of yer gee

be careful you dont fall and break yer gee (said to a man)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭doubleyoubee

Benny on the loose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Satts

"Ah don't bother you're bollix Mrs." said to a housewife by the coal man when she offered to go back in to the house to get the ten pence she was short for the bag of coal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭briggy

Stall the Ball Pope John Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

I am called a "dirtbird" multiple times everyday in college. You'd hear it a lot more if you went around dispensing smutty one liners and Kenneth Williams style double-entendres....

Football in the park and you boot the ball 60 yards outside the field

"Where do you think you are? Fooking Giants Stadium?"

Ah the summer of 1994, good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭littleteapot

On my solemn oath - except it sounded more like ommasolamoath
    Arra
    musha
    the head on him and the price of turnips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

On my solemn oath - except it sounded more like ommasolamoath
    Arra
    musha
    the head on him and the price of turnips

Just for you :D

http://hairybaby.com/images/monthlymadness.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Da property ladderrr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

"if you don't go way from that Im' going ta f**kin kill ya"... stayed with me till this very day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I'll paste ya to the wall.

You're cruising for a bruising.

The wren, the wren, the king of all birds........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

[QUOTE=Wibbs;82776112]He\she's a real go be the wall and tiddle the bricks. A sneaky individual.

Up to me oxters. One is up to one's armpits in work.

Lamb of the divine jayzuz. I'm quite perplexed.

I don't hear "gurrier" so much any more.[/QUOTE]

I still use this only as "He/She's a tiddle the bricks and go be the wall":o
    I still use oxters(only used it the other day:o) )
    Love the expression gurriers and would use that as well as "Bowsie"

You don't hear many people using "Header" as in "Jaysus, yer man's a right header" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I will in me bollix, meaning I will not.
    Merciful hour, used by Dublin ould wans. The merciful has to be dragged out meeeerrrrciful
    Goodmorra men
    I'll see you bye and bye
    Did you turn off the immersion?
    A pint and a drop, drop being whiskey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I will in me bollix, meaning I will not.
    Merciful hour, used by Dublin ould wans. The merciful has to be dragged out meeeerrrrciful
    Goodmorra men
    I'll see you bye and bye
    Did you turn off the immersion?
    A pint and a drop, drop being whiskey[/QUOTE]

As in "Shure I only had a drop":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Red Bástard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

hold your whist will ya = be quite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Day'yeh
    Very versatile word, worked in nearly every situation e.g.

Lad in second year : I rode loadsa mots in Git's gaffe at his party
    Lads friend (until they leave school and never see each other again) : Day'yeh you lying pr**k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Spa, abbreviated version of spastic. Derogatory term, usually used to indicate a high level of stupidity.

As in "you're some f**cking spa to put petrol into a diesel car".

Spa was/still-is a great one because it's so short you can change it to whatever your imagination dictates.

A friend of mine once called me a "a spasmodial geebag full of spasmotic sh**ehawks"..... I really hope that spa became the novelist he always dreamed of being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

"a half one" was said for a measure of whiskey, not sure if still said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I've a pain in my oxters. Haven't heard anyone say that in a good while. :D

zenno wrote: »
    I've a pain in my oxters. Haven't heard anyone say that in a good while. :D

I used to always say "I'm up to me oxters in work" until I found out oxters wasn't really a rude word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

Burn the bond holders .

I got back from shopping the other day and forgot the milk so I sent a youngone of mine "on a message".
    I may as well have been speaking Latvian to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

Rapid, pronounced "rapih", meaning, something was great.

This is a great thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Get out the garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Your as thick as pig ****e in a bottle.

Your standing there like a lighthouse in a bog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Auntie Psychotic

Swamp Donkey

CmeretometillItellyou

The poor cratur.

Janymack!

Have ye any yokes?

I got the job.

Sodastream's gas is empty!

The State he got himself into. Isn't it a fright to Christ?

I wasn't expecting you at all until tomorrow. Just as well I had a sliced pan defrosting.

You obviously don't spend alot of time in Limerick!

"Half 6 and not a child in the house washed!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 graineog

your friendly bank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 plaiboi

These are ones I haven't heard for a while.

She's a flowery cu*t,

Sleeveen,

Ah I was only lettin on,

Grushy,

He's a simpleton,

Gollier,

I amn't,

I robbed the bus seat for me sulky,

Fiver 088 credit please,

d'ye want a straightener do ye!!

I'm up for work in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I haven't heard 'As the Fella Says' in a long time.

There's one phrase which I believe originated and was exclusively used in Roscrea Tipperary. It was 'a bit of Jonic', for eg Are you up for a bit of Jonic? It means craic or a good time. Sadly it's not used by the majority in the town anymore, the old ways are gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Abi wrote: »
    "Crease"

As in "I'll bleedin' crease ye". Popular amongst Irish mothers in the 80's.

Crease is still quite popular with wanker sergeants in the Defence Forces.

As in ''if he's asleep on gate duty I'll fúckin crease him.''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Ah haaaayor leeri bleedin ouuuuu