Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No water in Tramore

• 19-01-2013 7:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭

Water has been off in ballycarnane woods since last night and its still not back on. Does anyone know when it will be back on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

wellboy76 wrote: »
    Water has been off in ballycarnane woods since last night and its still not back on. Does anyone know when it will be back on?
    Time enough for your monthly bath on the 21st.

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭wellboy76

Smart fcuker P.

Rang the council, in Dungarvan of course this evening, was supposed to be fixed at 8 but now it "might" be fixed tomorrow. It's off since Friday for Christ sake, afraid to take a sh1t in case the tank runs out.

And they want to charge me for this service?!?!

Take a hike. Why couldn't They leave me ring someone in Tramore anyway. Imagine when the city and county councils merge!

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭invalid

Smart fcuker P.

Rang the council, in Dungarvan of course this evening, was supposed to be fixed at 8 but now it "might" be fixed tomorrow. It's off since Friday for Christ sake, afraid to take a sh1t in case the tank runs out.

Take a hike. Why couldn't They leave me ring someone in Tramore anyway. Imagine when the city and county councils merge!

Apparently the mains pipe was broken when the river at the bottom of the hill by Ballycarnane Woods burst it's banks and destroyed the river bank. They've been at it since 8:30am this morning (I can hear them from my house)

So I'd try and be a bit more patient and stop ranting about the council. Unless of course you want to go down and fix it yourself. I'd wear a wetsuit though, it's very wet and cold. Plus. I hope you know how to fix a watermain, it's not the easiest job in the world.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

While it appears they are responding to the problem, they still should have supplied a tanker. Though I suspect a lot of people get the large bottles of water which are only a few euro in Tesco. As for charging - this is the type of service you get for free, and its pretty good, so you can expect a better service when there is money ringfenced towards it.

Just passed two trucks emblazoned with "Cantwells specialist in water" heading to Tramore , looks like the council cant fix the problem either.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

wellboytoo wrote: »
    Just passed two trucks emblazoned with "Cantwells specialist in water" heading to Tramore , looks like the council cant fix the problem either.

Do we not have our own water trucks? I assume its just taking longer to fix than expected.

Sully wrote: »

Do we not have our own water trucks? I assume its just taking longer to fix than expected.
    These aint your ordinary work trucks look like specialist gear probably pipe freezers.

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭wellboy76

It's fixed now. The lack of communication with the residents was disgraceful. Why could there not have been communication from Tramore rather than Dungarvan. The guy manning the phone had no idea of the area. That was helpful.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭invalid

It's fixed now. The lack of communication with the residents was disgraceful. Why could there not have been communication from Tramore rather than Dungarvan. The guy manning the phone had no idea of the area. That was helpful.

I found the person on the helpline very helpful to be honest. Hats off to The crew doing the repair, not the most fun way to spend your weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Smiley Burnett

why dont ye ring your local councillor?? There's 7 of them representing ye on Waterford Co Council...They have direct access to the engineers...OR IS IT A CASE THAT YE WOULD RATHER BE MOANING AND WHINING...It was a burst water-main FFS!!

• Registered Users Posts: 34 realworld82

lads out working in the cold at the moment, no craic in that

Yeah, they are doing work on it so there is a good chunk of the town out with access restored tomorrow morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭mariano rivera

Smart fcuker P.

This is WORSE than Hurricane Sandy

• Registered Users Posts: 28,466 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Water in most of Tramore is due to be off tonight (latish) in order to get the leak fixed. Don't envy the guys working in the rain that's coming down at the moment.

As to the toilet tanks - you could always keep a bucketful of water in the bathroom and either flush it straight down the toilet or fill the tank. I also have a 5 litre bottle of water for drinking that I just have 'in case'.

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭rasper

Everyhouse should have a Waterbutt if possible, enough water out there

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

When water meters do eventually get installed then people would finally realise how much water they use and waste. When you have to pay for every drop you will be quickly installing a water butt to do the garden and yes there it is, your emergency water.
    p.s. since a family member had a water meter installed in th U.K the bill has been way under half what it was under the old water rates/charge. Water meters are the way to go. (and water butts, obviously)