Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where you watching the festival?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Deco99 wrote: »
    Do i take it that we feel that the best day for closely contested races and therefore best day to take off work and watch in the pub is the Tuesday? The wednesday would be nice to break up week but i've a feeling the races are a lot more interesting the Tuesday, looks like Sprinter Sacre is goin unapposed in the big race on the Wednesday, so thats a minus from a viewing perspective. I'm booking the day off by end of today so I need someone to make my bloody mind up for me :D.

Better than christmas!!!!

Yes the Tuesday is def the best day.
    Golf cup day is probably now the worst days racing to me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Suarez20

ha i'm on course on wed and thurs can't wait have to skive off work on the tuesday afternoon to watch the races! friday is all about cassidys pub! big screen, good crowd, i was there last year with a jockeys hat on going buck mad when salsify won! this year i hope will be a repeat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Because Guiness outside of Ireland is sewerage??

Agreed great spot for a few scoops pre racing.

I emailed them. He said it's because the design of the bar doesn't allow for draught beers/stout. I presume he means there isn't any room for kegs.
    The Guinness in the other bars there is ok. Just unfortunate that the best bar there doesn't have Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

ste2010 wrote: »
    I was wrong your not 19 you must be at least 48... :)
    Haha,thanks for the compliment :-)

Slattsy wrote: »
    Gonna propose The Dame Tavern.

Great stout, bookies close by, always a good athmosphere and a great stout :D:D

There's a good chance I'll be here on the Tuesday, if anyone is around drop in :)
    I thought you would of been at one of your wine and cheese parties slattsy :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Rastadoyle

only one place to watch it and thats the couch!

stretchaq wrote: »
    anyone recomend a good place to watch the festival in wexford or waterford???? good racing crowd bookies nearby decent 3g coverage be a help!!!!
    Bugler doyles on south main street is a great spot for the racing, great pint,great racing crowd, and 3 bookies beside the pub.

Blasphemy to drink Guinness outside or Ireland.

you're asking for trouble drinking it anywhere else.
    Agreed,drink Guinness outside of Ireland and you risk your bowels flapping like billyo for a few days after.:-)

baraca wrote: »
    Just booked the whole week off work, I had to work during it last year and swore to myself I'd never do it again.
    Lol I,ve been working for over 30 years, but by hook or by crook, I have never missed that week off :-)

I thought you would of been at one of your wine and cheese parties slattsy :-)

Nowt wrong with wine and cheese.

Yes I am a pretentious bastard lol

Not really. I do have afternoon tea in The Shelbourne tomorrow though haha

Nowt wrong with wine and cheese.

Yes I am a pretentious bastard lol

Not really. I do have afternoon tea in The Shelbourne tomorrow though haha
    I love the ol` easy singles....pure class :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Lads what's the biggest bookies in Dublin ye can think of since that's where I'll have to watch it. Atm biggest I can think of is Boyles on Camden street

Anyone ever in the confession box pub in Marlborough street?its bleedin tiny, they can only fit a 14 inch tv in it, so forget about there for Cheltenham :-)

Lads what's the biggest bookies in Dublin ye can think of since that's where I'll have to watch it. Atm biggest I can think of is Boyles on Camden street

Yeah that could be the biggest in the city. Boyles on Parnell still fairly big too but more knackers from Sligo around that area.

Confession Box is a great wee boozer.

Yeah that could be the biggest in the city. Boyles on Parnell still fairly big too but more knackers from Sligo around that area.

Confession Box is a great wee boozer.
    Is it still there? Haven't been in it in yonks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Long shot maybe, but anyone know of a bar/hotel in Rome that will definitely show Cheltenham on Gold Cup Day? Heading over for the rugby the Friday morning, don't want to miss any of the action...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

kpnuts wrote: »
    Long shot maybe, but anyone know of a bar/hotel in Rome that will definitely show Cheltenham on Gold Cup Day? Heading over for the rugby the Friday morning, don't want to miss any of the action...

I hear they're all distracted with some conclave at the moment so you could probably nick the pontiff's cable tv for the day if you sneak past the swiss guards :pac:

Seriously though, Sacre-ligious to be travelling on Gold Cup Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

kpnuts wrote: »

Best bet would be to ring your hotel and see if they can either show it for you/showing it already or can they make enquiries and find out if anywhere in the area does.

I hear they're all distracted with some conclave at the moment so you could probably nick the pontiff's cable tv for the day if you sneak past the swiss guards :pac:

Seriously though, Sacre-ligious to be travelling on Gold Cup Day

Land at 11.20am, more three hours before the off in the Triumph, should be OK. It will only turn out to be a cardinal error if I can't find a telly with the geegees :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Failing that, if you have the internet, you'll be able pick it up.

Panic averted. Scholars Lounge on Via Del Plebiscito have confirmed to me on Facebook they will broadcast all the action from Cheltenham :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Working Tuesday & Wednesday but have rest of week off.

Most pubs are putting good spreads.

Usually head out to Blackpool in my finest for Gold Cup day :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Rastadoyle

from Tesco