Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will you choose between MS & Sony's new consoles?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Still buying a PS4 but won't rule out an Xbox at some point now, it'll depend on the games.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭DeSelby83

This certainly makes things a bit more interesting alright. I'll still go for a ps4 cause of price and friends but glad to see MS listened. Is it true now that you need the disc in the tray to play and there is no more game sharing with 10 'family' members as a result of all this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

So yeah, still ps4 for me, but If what, this makes me proud of gamers as community.

Can we now all be pissed off like this about windows 8? :D

I bet Gamestops stocks will rise on this news, Sonys will go down and MS will go up, and Gamestop execs will party hard and count those dollah billz yáll!

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Mudlan

I'm still going to go with PS4...MS took a huge gamble an didn listen. Hope its too late

So yeah, still ps4 for me, but If what, this makes me proud of gamers as community.

windows 8.1 my friend....and its free :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

see Windows 8 is actually good but metro. a boardsie described it to me as the tastiest steak ever but someone to a **** on it

8.1 will hopefully fix it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

I bet Gamestops stocks will rise on this news, Sonys will go down and MS will go up, and Gamestop execs will party hard and count those dollah billz yáll!

Yea gamestop will be happy with all this. Giving ****ty trade in values and selling 2nd hand games for stupid prices for another generation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

Really happy for the backpedal, for people getting a Xbox. Really encouraging that kind of backlash the interwebs stirred up could create a positive result. Very glad for strong competition.

I'm sticking to my PS4 preorder, but it's possible now that I'll get a Xbox down the road. But I don't fully trust Microsoft after this. They showed us where they wanted to take us if they had their way, and it was awful, so I'll be treading carefully.

Nolars wrote: »
    Yea gamestop will be happy with all this. Giving ****ty trade in values and selling 2nd hand games for stupid prices for another generation...

Nobody is holding a gun to your head and forces you to trade in games at gamestop. If you don't like their prices, don't trade in, that's why man invented private ads...

I don't. But alot of people do.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,565 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Jaysus there's been more drama in the world of videogames in the last few weeks than in the entirety of Eastenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

LookingFor wrote: »
    Really encouraging that kind of backlash the interwebs stirred up could create a positive result. Very glad for strong competition.

I'd like to think it was this, but it's Microsoft we're talking about here. Pre-orders speak louder than nerd rants :D

I don't. But alot of people do.

So why the feck should you care what people do with their own property? If they like they can burn their games in a bucket in the back yard.

Getting sort of sick of the GameStop bashing. Getting really old at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I still got more respect to Sony for holding the ground. Just because MS got their tail between legs wont automaticly switch me to MS. In a way even Xbox fanboys should be thankful to sony. Sony and community forced MS to turn down douchery from 11 to 4.

Yeah... the only reason that Microsoft could have gone down their original route must have been because they thought that Sony were going to buckle to the same pressure from EA and others that they were under. And Sony didn't. And now everyone wins.

I'm still going to get a PS4 but I'm pleased that my friends who do go for the Microsoft machine now won't be screwed over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Jaysus there's been more drama in the world of videogames in the last few weeks than in the entirety of Eastenders.

Next thing you know Ken Kutaragi will turn up at Microsoft :eek:

So why the feck should you care what people do with their own property? If they like they can burn their games in a bucket in the back yard.

Getting sort of sick of the GameStop bashing. Getting really old at this stage.

Because they are not good for the gaming scene. People are not bashing them for the fun of it....

BNJr_uKCEAAG2XG.jpg:large

I don't like this Major Nelson guy and his bullying way of answering questions, but I kinda feel bad for him. Hung out to dry in the worst way!

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Mudlan

Price and ps+ still going to go wit ps4......unless MS decide to copy Sony again!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,565 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I'd say it was more the articles about it getting into the press.

Mudlan wrote: »
    Price and ps+ still going to go wit ps4......unless MS decide to copy Sony again!

ps+ is that the thing you have to pay for online multiplayer after mocking microsoft's xbox live for years. aw i dont understand ye console gamers sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Unearthly

ps+ is that the thing you have to pay for online multiplayer after mocking microsoft's xbox live for years. aw i dont understand ye console gamers sometimes.

Go and read the playstation plus topic and it might give you a hint why this is a popular service.

Xbox Live has began to start offering free games so maybe they will catch up soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I'd say it was more the articles about it getting into the press.

They got into the press off the back of the Twitter campaigns. It's what prompted the specialist coverage, which prompted then the more mainstream coverage, and so on.

And Sony brought it into the mainstream press in a huge way at E3, and their announcements were a direct response to the twitter campaigns.

So I do think at the root of it all was a good old fashioned consumer backlash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,874 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

The disk in the tray was a easy choice. This is a good line for anyone wondering about regions and disks.

Also important to you is the freedom to play offline, for any length of time, anywhere in the world

I do worry about this line though

Downloaded titles cannot be shared or resold. Also, similar to today, playing disc based games will require that the disc be in the tray.

Have we just lost the ability to store our disk games on the system and to share our digital library with our friends? The ability to loan a game to a friend and keep playing yourself? Just so we could play with a disk in the machine?

So we have lost a bunch of really good progressive features for a feature most people will never use! I hope i'm wrong. fingers crossed you can opt into the 24 hour check.

So we have lost a bunch of really good progressive features for a feature most people will never use! I hope i'm wrong.

Ah, sure; ya can't lose what you never really had :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Chinpool wrote: »
    Next thing you know Ken Kutaragi will turn up at Microsoft :eek:

The OUYA is pregnant....with Reggie's lovechild!!

*dun dun dun dundundundun*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Features I would use in the new xbox world regularly:

Lending games to a few people who can play those simultaneously.
    Selling on games to people and buying games off of people.
    Giving games to friends and getting games off them and giving them to others.

Great picture!.....its all too real [except for the hot GF in the uggs...sadly]

http://i.imgur.com/vbkJDP8.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

Good for the industry and it shows we can change things when we are united than divided.

I am not blind to know anyone could of been microsoft and tried to get away with this , but those men in suits had the balls to go along with it as long as they did and all that pr marketing bull**** from the likes of don matrick if you dont like xbox one policies buy a 360.

This system may have legs now are policies are removed but its still dead and that company image is in a rough spot more so than ever now.

I dont like to use the word hate since i enjoy to play games than consoles but i truly hate microsoft.

To take up a position after what sega provided for years and just destroyed gaming ever since.

Bold claims but they are mine to make.