Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭TheGunns

Podolski should be dropped. Since he's come back into the team he has been awful and provided nothing. Sagna really has provided nothing going forward this season but we need him defensively. Cazorla needs to come back into the middle when Wilshere isn't playing, had no idea what to do out there today.

I know how people like to hate on Giroud but I've been a huge fan of his since he came and I really think we miss him. Gives us something that none of the other 'forwards' give us, much more creative than Walcott and Podolski too.

Wigan might be a tough game, not much rest for them though after the cup final so hopefully we will catch them on the hop after what looks like a long rest for the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Despite Sagna's inability to cross he was pretty solid in defence today. Monreal on the otherhand was pretty shocking up against Townsend.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

The best part of the 89mins after Theo's goal:

392986_344644802305548_666098270_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Fiorentina v Roma coming up on ESPN now for anyone who wants to have a look at Jovetic. We may not sign him at all but there's no harm in looking :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Good 3 points but worrying that we have scored just 3 goals in our last 4 games in the league.

Wenger only making changes with less then ten minutes to go was quite simply ludicrous. Both Pod and Cazorla were toothless today. The reason Barca and Real werent knocking on Santi's door is because he doesnt try hard enough and I wonder is Pod set on a move away with that performance? It was shameful
    We're living a charmed life and now have to play two teams in desperate need of wins. We can take a 'end justifies the means' attitude to it but i wonder just how long more can we keep this up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,500 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

dvemail wrote: »
    Despite Sagna's inability to cross he was pretty solid in defence today. Monreal on the otherhand was pretty shocking up against Townsend.

Couldn't believe that Gibbs is injured yet again. Made of glass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

A lot of hyperbole in here today.

QPR never really threatened today and we didn't get out of second gear, mostly because we didn't need to. Yes, it was a horrible match to watch, but it looked like QPR were disinterested and knew they were beaten between the early goal and our overall dominance in the first half. I got the feeling if we really wanted to, we could have turned it on.

Overall, I am happy: 3 points, nice relaxing game for the team and no injuries.

Couldn't believe that Gibbs is injured yet again. Made of glass.

I hope it was more precautionary than anything else. Could do with him for the last two games where Wigan and Newcastle will put up more of a fight.

farna_boy wrote: »

QPR never really threatened today and we didn't get out of second gear, mostly because we didn't need to. Yes, it was a horrible match to watch, but it looked like QPR were disinterested and knew they were beaten between the early goal and our overall dominance in the first half. I got the feeling if we really wanted to, we could have turned it on.

I hope that was tongue-in-cheek and that your not that innocent.
    Szcz had to save us near then end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,751 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

League form since Spurs:
    WWWWDWDW

20 from 24. Not bad at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

AdamD wrote: »
    League form since Spurs:
    WWWWDWDW

20 from 24. Not bad at all

It's excellent.

Two more games to go we can do it.

Ok firstly 'relaxing' it certainly wasn't your barking if you think it was. Secondly, the big question is why arent we turning it on like you say we should be? Because the players are not good enough thats why. The passing was shocking in some quarters and there was a clear lack of effort. Its simply not good enough. Nothing secured yet and both Spurs and Chelsea play two games between this and the next time we kick a ball. The pressure is really on but we are playing like a team who has a 5-0 headstart.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

HazDanz wrote: »
    It's excellent.

Two more games to go we can do it.

Not to be pessimistic but a possible permutation, Chelsea could win tomorrow and Spurs to beat Chelsea on wednesday? It would be then 68 points each after 36 games and each to win their last 2 games, leaving us out of CL (even if we win our last 2). So we need Chelsea to drop points tomorrow and on wednesday, as well as Spurs.

I think we rely too much sometimes on our full backs when attacking. When our LB or RB are playing well, we attack well. Not much of a surprise really that the fact that Sagna's poor run of attacking form the last few matches has meant we offer very little going forward.
    Too often, (especially with Ramsey) they pass it out to the wing instead of trying to play a though ball or just taking a shot. Change of mindset needed imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Games are running out.

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Not to be pessimistic but a possible permutation, Chelsea could win tomorrow and Spurs to beat Chelsea on wednesday? It would be then 68 points each after 36 games and each to win their last 2 games, leaving us out of CL (even if we win our last 2). So we need Chelsea to drop points tomorrow and on wednesday, as well as Spurs.

We either need Chelsea to drop points in both games or beat Spurs for it to be in our hands, not necessarily both. If Chelsea drew with Spurs it would be in our hands too actually.

Ok firstly 'relaxing' it certainly wasn't your barking if you think it was. Secondly, the big question is why arent we turning it on like you say we should be? Because the players are not good enough thats why. The passing was shocking in some quarters and there was a clear lack of effort. Its simply not good enough. Nothing secured yet and both Spurs and Chelsea play two games between this and the next time we kick a ball. The pressure is really on but we are playing like a team who has a 5-0 headstart.

You do realise we won, don't you? What more could we have done besides winning today? What else can we do while the other two are playing and we aren't?
    Fuck all.

Yes we could have played harder and worn ourselves out before the next game. And then what? Put the rest of the season in jeopardy because we are so tired. And what would we have achieved except scoring another few goals in a game we had already won? Why should we "turn it on" if we don't need to against a pathetic QPR side?

We did enough today. Be happy about that and look forward to the next game.

You do realise we won, don't you? What more could we have done besides winning today? What else can we do while the other two are playing and we aren't?
    Fuck all.

Yes we could have played harder and worn ourselves out before the next game. And then what? Put the rest of the season in jeopardy because we are so tired. And what would we have achieved except scoring another few goals in a game we had already won? Why should we "turn it on" if we don't need to against a pathetic QPR side?

You need to turn it on because you are not safe with a one goal lead. We could have conceded a penalty or a late goal and ended up only getting one point.
    That's why you have to play at full steam for the entire game.
    You are right in saying that QPR are poor but that's another reason why we should be winning easily.
    There is the other matter of goal difference between ourselves and Chelsea. They are two better than us and we could have done with a few more today in case we end up on the same points as them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Limping over the line and the Wigan game is gonna be nervy.

Are Gareth Bale home against Chelsea? Feel so dirty cheering on Salford Reds tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

keano_afc wrote: »

Are Gareth Bale home against Chelsea? Feel so dirty cheering on Salford Reds tomorrow.

No it's at Stamford Bridge and I'm hearing Dembele will be missing and Lennon might not make it either

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

keano_afc wrote: »

Agreed, it dont feel right, but desperate times and all that. I will try to be as muted as possible.

For anybody that doubts Wengers willingness to win and love for the club

BJc5_XXCAAAgChN.jpg:large

Fuck all.

Worn out? These are pro players who have their next game on Tuesday week. The main priority should have been to put the 3 points beyond doubt against this pathetic QPR side but instead we kept giving them serious belief they could get something out of the game. We are leaving things to luck and chance and its not good enough

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Fuck all.

Are you for real? worn out? Too worn out sitting on 100k per week playing a game of football once a ****ing week whilst all the rest of us have to wake up early every morning working our socks off till late in the afternoon(some work at night time) and dont even earn 100k in 5 years?

get ****ing real mate. worn out LOL!! you are having laugh

iMuse wrote: »
    Good 3 points but worrying that we have scored just 3 goals in our last 4 games in the league.

Thats pretty much how United won the league.

Ask any united fan and they will tell you just how poor united have been all season winning games in the same fashion arsenal are at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Are you for real? worn out? Too worn out sitting on 100k per week playing a game of football once a ****ing week whilst all the rest of us have to wake up early every morning working our socks off till late in the afternoon(some work at night time) and dont even earn 100k in 5 years?

You could probably say the same thing about the qpr players in fairness. Also I think you'll find that your rate of work isn't a linear correlation with your wage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

dvemail wrote: »
    For anybody that doubts Wengers willingness to win and love for the club

BJc5_XXCAAAgChN.jpg:large

thats the reaction of a man who's only concern is that his football philosophy is disintegrating before his eyes and he blames everyone around except himself.

hope everyone enjoyed the recent boardsie reminisce about his first title 15 years ago... and all the memories of that day who what and where you were... make a grown man cry
    ye do realise no young Arsenal fan has had this same experience in the last 7 years, No Arsenal kid fan has had that feeling of seeing Arsenal winning anything. No Arsenal kid has gone out and rubbed it in the face of his Man U mates. No Arsenal kid has had the reason to go out and try to emulate some winning passage of play from a recent cup final. Like when we spent hours trying to recreate Alan Sunderland slide in at the back post in the 79 cup final.
    So what memories do these young Arsenal fans have, what glorious moments of soccer perfection and triumphs do they taunt and tease their Manu U mates with ..... oh yeah they wave the balance sheet and quote CL spot ....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Read the last few pages of the thread

Got a little fright

Rechecked the result

Yep we won

As you were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

thats the reaction of a man who's only concern is that his football philosophy is disintegrating before his eyes and he blames everyone around except himself.

hope everyone enjoyed the recent boardsie reminisce about his first title 15 years ago... and all the memories of that day who what and where you were... make a grown man cry
    ye do realise no young Arsenal fan has had this same experience in the last 7 years, No Arsenal kid fan has had that feeling of seeing Arsenal winning anything. No Arsenal kid has gone out and rubbed it in the face of his Man U mates. No Arsenal kid has had the reason to go out and try to emulate some winning passage of play from a recent cup final. Like when we spent hours trying to recreate Alan Sunderland slide in at the back post in the 79 cup final.
    So what memories do these young Arsenal fans have, what glorious moments of soccer perfection and triumphs do they taunt and tease their Manu U mates with ..... oh yeah they wave the balance sheet and quote CL spot ....

You should add more fibre to your diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Ha ha ha.

For years, it's been 'remember the good old days of one-nil to the Arsenal'.

Now, it's 'one goal isn't enough'.

The reason Arsenal created do little today is that Arteta played as an out and out DMF, Ramsey focused on providing cover and our full-backs only occasionally joined the attack. So we were attacking with 4 players instead of 7/8.

This is exactly what people have said we should do for ages and now it's not enough?

JESUS CHRIST!!

I accept our attackers could still have been better but we were ahead for the whole game. If QPR had scored we could have changed tack and tried to get another.

For the final few mins, we made a really negative substitution and ran down the clock with a bit of timewasting.

This is exactly what people in this thread have been saying for years has been missing - a pragmatic, low risk, defensive 3 point win.

I can't see the problem.

thats the reaction of a man who's only concern is that his football philosophy is disintegrating before his eyes and he blames everyone around except himself

Amazing insight.

Anyone else think that this poster is like one of those racist coloured people or homophobic gays.

Lots of self loathing going on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,598 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Let's be honest. You'd be more tired doing their work than your own.

You are right.

All the managers who believe players can get tired are wrong. Rotation is wrong.

Would people please think before they post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,180 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

it was the same before Arsene. Last title 1990-1991. I reckon you were saying the same things back then???
    Your posts are really entertaining. . .please post more often. . .

Yes of course you are right, what was I thinking? We have never seen any player getting worn out and needing a break during the season. Our first 11 should play every game throughout the whole season, league, FA cup, Carling cup, Champions League and anything else in between.

That is why we haven't been winning anything over the last few years: our players aren't playing enough and are just lazy.

Yes of course you are right, what was I thinking? We have never seen any player getting worn out and needing a break during the season. Our first 11 should play every game throughout the whole season, league, FA cup, Carling cup, Champions League and anything else in between.

That is why we haven't been winning anything over the last few years: our players aren't playing enough and are just lazy.

The hilarious thing is that one day it's...

'Why hasn't the club or Wenger looked into our injury list?'

And the next it's....

'What do you mean player fatigue. Have you seen how much they get paid?'

Between that and the...

'let's go back to the good old one-nil ... but one goal is never enough'

'What we need is an out and out DMF ...but we're not attacking enough when that happens'

'Why don't we just see out a win ... but we need to push for another goal'

Anyone got any recommendations for another Arsenal forum. I've been here for years but it's doing my nut in at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

gosplan wrote: »

And the next it's....

Between that and the...

'What we need is an out and out DMF ...but we're not attacking enough when that happens'

Anyone got any recommendations for another Arsenal forum. I've been here for years but it's doing my nut in at this stage.

Arsenal mania used to be decent, but its gone to the dogs, some of our fans don't cover themselves in glory to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Those young fans will be thankful for these few fallow seasons in years to come. The foundations are now in place for Arsenal to remain amongst the elite in Europe. You can't blame them for not being able to see that though as it seems that seven some grown ups don't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

And the next it's....

Between that and the...

I've been starting to think the same. Unfortunately any other forums iv seen aren't much better these days. Reddit is full of yanks taking photos of jerseys, arsenal mania is plastered with ads and requires you to wade through the **** interior playschool forum before posting in the main one. Pepe le frits has a decent one with a lot of the old posters from Arsenal mania but there are one or two there that piss me off even more than some of the lads in here these days.

Whens the last time we was in all 4 competitions? get off your high horse, we have been competing for the league one for over a month now. worn out? yea ok

Ha ha ha.

For years, it's been 'remember the good old days of one-nil to the Arsenal'.

Now, it's 'one goal isn't enough'.

The reason Arsenal created do little today is that Arteta played as an out and out DMF, Ramsey focused on providing cover and our full-backs only occasionally joined the attack. So we were attacking with 4 players instead of 7/8.

This is exactly what people have said we should do for ages and now it's not enough?

JESUS CHRIST!!

I accept our attackers could still have been better but we were ahead for the whole game. If QPR had scored we could have changed tack and tried to get another.

For the final few mins, we made a really negative substitution and ran down the clock with a bit of timewasting.

This is exactly what people in this thread have been saying for years has been missing - a pragmatic, low risk, defensive 3 point win.

I can't see the problem.

Dont get me wrong id take 1-0 any day of the week but i want to see
    1. Desire at the very least to add to the 1-0
    2. Desire to close down potential opportunities for QPR
    You cant deny that we lived a charmed life for alot of that game and a better team could well put us to the sword

That all said, we do have a solid base to build on going forward. I really hope Wenger can make those 3 or 4 signings and i would pray he might give Frimmy a run out like he did with the Flamster all those years ago as i think Frimmy could prove a real gem if he began to get games for us.

CSF wrote: »
    Let's be honest. You'd be more tired doing their work than your own.

no i wont.

i may be too tired counting my 100k per week though

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,412 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Our performances haven't been setting the world alight the last couple of months, but our results have been great imo. We've come up short in a few games (to our main rivals for 3rd & 4th unfortunately) and that's something to work on for next season, but if we manage the same level of consistency next season as we have since christmas in the league while managing a few results against the bigger teams we'll be much closer to winning a trophy.

I'd happily have every game be like yesterday if it means winning something. United showed this season you don't have to play great to win a trophy, you just need to do enough to get the three points on the day. I genuinely think we're only a few signings off competing with this squad.

This season must have our highest amount of 1-nil victories in a long time? There was a time that that was our specialty :D

If people can't tell the difference between playing well to tactically shut out a match and what Arsenal served up yesterday then there's no point talking to them tbh.

Anyway hopefully the United players' hangovers have cleared.

For all the talk of 1-0 leads being dodgy and needing to kill off games; we haven't let a single one goal lead slip after half time this season. That includes 2 games where we spent over 20 minutes with 10 men. I think its disingenuous to say we're just riding our luck.

I can't see the problem.
    I do think people are missing this point. We are less adventurous but with good reason (and effect).

A little analysis:
    Before Spurs
    Avg goals scored per league game this season: 1.89
    Avg goals conceded per league game this season: 1.14
    Points per game this season: 1.67 (same amount of goals as points :P)

Since Spurs:
    Avg goals per game: 1.75
    Avg goals conceded per game: 0.5
    Points per game: 2.5

4 goals against Reading slightly skews my point as I was sure we were scoring less, which we still are, albeit slightly. But I think this shows a big switch in tactics since the Spurs game. The full backs are attacking less and with Ramsey and Arteta playing at CM together there has been a lot more cover for the back 4. Its definitely been uglier, but its also been far more effective, and iirc, pretty much what everyone had been calling for all season. Of course we should have scored 1 or 2 more against QPR but the change in tactics has meant that we held that lead and didn't need the extra goal whereas earlier in the season, not scoring the 2nd goal would have meant we'd drop points.

If people can't tell the difference between playing well to tactically shut out a match and what Arsenal served up yesterday then there's no point talking to them tbh.

Anyway hopefully the United players' hangovers have cleared.

arsenal did not look good yesterday but i thought we edged it. walcott could have easily got a hattrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Didnt see the match yesterday but reading this thread you would have thought we lost :confused:, we won we got 3 points we kept the pressure on Spurs and Chelsea and at this stage of the season that's all that matters fcuk performances point make the difference.

We can worry about style,player etc next season for now we have one aim top four and I couldnt care how we get as long as we manage to get there.

Didnt see the match yesterday but reading this thread you would have thought we lost :confused:, we won we got 3 points we kept the pressure on Spurs and Chelsea and at this stage of the season that's all that matters fcuk performances point make the difference.

We can worry about style,player etc next season for now we have one aim top four and I couldnt care how we get as long as we manage to get there.

performance needs to be questioned because we cant get away with playing **** and winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

performance needs to be questioned because we cant get away with playing **** and winning.

From the sounds of it we did ;).