Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eircom promising broadband - eircom engineers laughing at the idea!

• 23-01-2013 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭

Hi all

This is my first time posting in this forum, so hoping I won't make a mess of it!

I live in Kilsallaghan, Co Dublin. I recently got a phone line reactivitated in the house and have ordered broadband - Eircom assure me that we can get up to 24mb broadband on the line, uncongested etc etc.

And here's where my concern is.... Eircom couldn't remotely reconnect my landline so they sent out an engineer, who in turn needed to call in a crew to work on the line on the road. I told the engineers that I was getting broadband and they found it hilarious - they said that Eircom customer support had no business selling me broadband as it's not available in my area as I am 10 miles from the Finglas Exchange (we are one of the last houses on the Finglas Exchange).

I have rang Eircom again about this and they say that they can supply broadband no problems due to it being NGB so congestion and distance don't impact it - does that sound right?

I know I can wait until tomorrow when it's actually turned on and see for myself - but am wondering what kind of come back I have if it doesn't work? (it's the reason we are getting the land line)

Would it be unusual to be told broadband is available on a land line and then for it not to be?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭FSL