Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My LS430 - Converted to LPG - Review

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭sorel

aidanki wrote: »
    which is the best kit to go for ? just got a quote for 1099 for the zenith which the installer told me is the best......and says I don't need flashlube 1.4vvti corolla 2005

Have you seen new promotion of www.lpgain.ie ?.
    They do really perfect job with perfect components.
    They have PRINS autogas system and STAG autogas system
    with KEIHIN and HANA injectors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭aidanki

sorel wrote: »
    Have you seen new promotion of www.lpgain.ie ?.
    They do really perfect job with perfect components.
    They have PRINS autogas system and STAG autogas system
    with KEIHIN and HANA injectors

you wouldn't recommend a zenith?

you wouldn't recommend a zenith?[/QUOTE
    I don't know ZENIT-sounds like Russian system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

dh0011 wrote: »
    aidanki - who was the quote with?
    the corolla has a vvti engine which the internet tells me is not happy when you put lpg in it. I was going to get my avensis converted but have decided not to as i am afraid that the car might end up needing a new head.
    have a look on the web. If you cant find anything let me know and i will send on what i found.

Vvti is only a valve timing system, its nothing to do with the metal used in the valves/valve seats that might not be LPG friendly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I've 10,000kms done since I converted to LPG six months ago, best move I ever made and I have saved considerably since and my conversion is has saved over €660 in costs compared to Petrol as I am paying on average 99.9c/litre as I don't live near any of the cheaper outlets currently selling LPG. I did a 900kms roadtrip from Kerry to Fermanagh over the weekend and it cost €72 on LPG wheras it would have cost over €120 on Petrol. I never ran out of gas once as I refilled my tank along the way to ensure of this. I have over 1,000 litres of LPG burnt since converting and my consumption for the year will probably be around 2,000 ~ 2,300 litres.

mullingar wrote: »
    Vvti is only a valve timing system, its nothing to do with the metal used in the valves/valve seats that might not be LPG friendly.

i'm not a specialist, but I spoke to many of them in Germany.They told me that the old LPG systems that were not accurate, dosed bad proportions of gas and air, causing burn valves. If you have a good LPG system and above all, was installed by professional people and appropriate calibrated, the valves will work with no problem for same mileages as on petrol without FLASH LUBE.

All modern LPG systems need to be connected up to the oxygen/lamda sensors to ensure the correct amount of LPG is injected. The Stag system im installing does a fully automatic calibration with petrol and lpg fuel mapping that the Stag unit learns itself as its also wired up to the MAF, petrol injectors and it even measures the manifold negative pressure.

The problem is that LPG is a dry fuel and does not have the cooling properties that petrol has when vapourised to lower the temperature. Petrol also has a few additives added to also help prevent valve burn. IMO, for these reasons Flashlube (or similar) is a must.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Tragedy wrote: »
    Eh, I never said that. Please stop making stuff up about other people to prove imaginary points, cheers!
    Uh huh.. sure you didnt.
    Tragedy wrote: »
    I was involved in a discussion on LPG on octane.ie before it closed. When I suggested that installations in the UK on high performance 6/8 cylinder cars (<300hp) cost above £2000, I had a poster personally attack me for being anti-LPG, of spreading misinformation and trying to discredit LPG. Even though I could link to hundreds of forum threads with people posting quotes for installations costing this - apparently I was making up the figure to make LPG seem unattractive?

You get what you pay for and the cheapest isn't always the best. lpgforum.co.uk is a goldmine of information, and will generally have threads on any specific engine that people are looking at converting.
    Have you actually paid for an LPG install yet or do you just like to talk about it?

All modern LPG systems need to be connected up to the oxygen/lamda sensors to ensure the correct amount of LPG is injected. The Stag system im installing does a fully automatic calibration with petrol and lpg fuel mapping that the Stag unit learns itself as its also wired up to the MAF, petrol injectors and it even measures the manifold negative pressure.

The problem is that LPG is a dry fuel and does not have the cooling properties that petrol has when vapourised to lower the temperature. Petrol also has a few additives added to also help prevent valve burn. IMO, for these reasons Flashlube (or similar) is a must.

correct me if I'm wrong. usually burn out exhaust valves. Not really sure how the exhaust gas can cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

Hows it going lads - just in the door. I think that I might not have been as clear as I should have in my earlier post. I dont know for definite that having lpg installed will do damage to a toyota. It is just something I read a lot on the internet while I was thinking of getting my own avensis converted. I havent eaten since lunch so I am going to grab a bite to eat and then have a look through my bookmarks and put up the links I found about converting the toyota vvti engine to lpg.

This was one of the first links I found and this led me to do some more looking - it is a forum like this so I wasnt convinced one way or another but was keen to learn more.
    http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/topic/110278-can-vvti-be-convertible-to-lpg/

When I saw the next post I thought that most of the horror stories were to do with cowboy installers or just the fact that parts fail on all cars eventually and people were blaming the lpg. Also another poster mentions that the valves should be monitored at set intervals.
    http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/topic/86030-avensis-18vvti-lpg-conversion-anyone-had-any-experience/

These are just two pages like this I saw and I was not convinced either way. I then contacted a few installers who all said it would be grand. I was leaning towards getting it and then I found this
    http://www.autogas-umruesten.com/news/images/database_probleemvoertuigen1207.pdf

It lists problems with cars and mentions that the corolla vvti engines have "valve/seat problems <100.00 km" and "Problems even with flash lube". As this is the same engine that is in the avensis I decided not to go for lpg.

I am in no way claiming to be an expert and perhaps lpg is harmless to these engines but given that Prins are seen as a very good lpg kit manufacturer and they put their name on the last link and have mentioned that there could be problems, I decided it wasnt for me.

If anyone has converted a toyota and had no trouble with it I would be delighted if they would prove me wrong as I like the idea of an LPG car but dont want to have to start adjusting valves etc.

Again, I am an applied mathematician not an engineer so I honestly could be wrong and dont wish to offend anyone [some people seem to be taking some things said in this thread personally]

This was one of the first links I found and this led me to do some more looking - it is a forum like this so I wasnt convinced one way or another but was keen to learn more.
    http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/topic/110278-can-vvti-be-convertible-to-lpg/

When I saw the next post I thought that most of the horror stories were to do with cowboy installers or just the fact that parts fail on all cars eventually and people were blaming the lpg. Also another poster mentions that the valves should be monitored at set intervals.
    http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/topic/86030-avensis-18vvti-lpg-conversion-anyone-had-any-experience/

These are just two pages like this I saw and I was not convinced either way. I then contacted a few installers who all said it would be grand. I was leaning towards getting it and then I found this
    http://www.autogas-umruesten.com/news/images/database_probleemvoertuigen1207.pdf

It lists problems with cars and mentions that the corolla vvti engines have "valve/seat problems <100.00 km" and "Problems even with flash lube". As this is the same engine that is in the avensis I decided not to go for lpg.

I am in no way claiming to be an expert and perhaps lpg is harmless to these engines but given that Prins are seen as a very good lpg kit manufacturer and they put their name on the last link and have mentioned that there could be problems, I decided it wasnt for me.

If anyone has converted a toyota and had no trouble with it I would be delighted if they would prove me wrong as I like the idea of an LPG car but dont want to have to start adjusting valves etc.

Again, I am an applied mathematician not an engineer so I honestly could be wrong and dont wish to offend anyone [some people seem to be taking some things said in this thread personally]

Did you check how many toyota owners have no problem about it?.

Couldnt find anyone in person but had a chat to a couple of mechanics. They said they werent sure. Told be that they would charge a lot to take the head off an engine and get it reconditioned or replaced if it did go wrong.

If there are any toyota owners who have had it done I would really like to hear from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭who_ru

Stinicker wrote: »
    I've 10,000kms done since I converted to LPG six months ago, best move I ever made and I have saved considerably since and my conversion is has saved over €660 in costs compared to Petrol as I am paying on average 99.9c/litre as I don't live near any of the cheaper outlets currently selling LPG. I did a 900kms roadtrip from Kerry to Fermanagh over the weekend and it cost €72 on LPG wheras it would have cost over €120 on Petrol. I never ran out of gas once as I refilled my tank along the way to ensure of this. I have over 1,000 litres of LPG burnt since converting and my consumption for the year will probably be around 2,000 ~ 2,300 litres.

Stinicker,

what type of car did you convert and engine size? did you get a large LPG tank or the doughnut shape?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

who_ru wrote: »
    Stinicker,

what type of car did you convert and engine size? did you get a large LPG tank or the doughnut shape?

I converted my BMW 316i SE Auto e36 1.6L. I have the donut tank and it holds 50 litres, I got it converted by VV-Tech LPG.ie in Kilcullen in Co. Kildare and it cost €1,000.

thanks Stinicker anyone else have details on what car they have converted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Couldnt find anyone in person but had a chat to a couple of mechanics. They said they werent sure. Told be that they would charge a lot to take the head off an engine and get it reconditioned or replaced if it did go wrong.

If there are any toyota owners who have had it done I would really like to hear from them.

You're posting on a Toyota (Lexus) thread, and my engine is also Vvti

I'd strongly advise going to lpgain where I got it done, as they've done a few lexuses at this stage, and if I recall properly the last time I filled up there an avensis being worked on.

daRobot, when did you get it done?

December, it's in my original post at the start ;)

Car has been perfect since, extremely pleased with the whole experience.

delighted to hear that

I genuinely hope I am wrong about this.

daRobot wrote: »
    You're posting on a Toyota (Lexus) thread, and my engine is also Vvti

I'd strongly advise going to lpgain where I got it done, as they've done a few lexuses at this stage, and if I recall properly the last time I filled up there an avensis being worked on.
    December, it's in my original post at the start ;)

Car has been perfect since, extremely pleased with the whole experience.

daRobot you went with the STAG system in the end, mind sharing with us what other systems you considered and why you didn't go with them

any good links that explain the pros and cons of each manufacturers system

all info v much appreciated

daRobot you went with the STAG system in the end, mind sharing with us what other systems you considered and why you didn't go with them

any good links that explain the pros and cons of each manufacturers system

all info v much appreciated

Here the options were:

Zenit, Lovato, Romano & STAG.

I researched it extensively, (mostly using google chrome to translate Polish & Italian forums as that's where the detailed info was).

Firstly, I couldn't find much info on Zenit really, good or bad. All I can tell you is that it's priced a good bit cheaper than STAG in multiple UK installers. I'm sure it's a decent system, but really there wasn't much on it to assess.

Lovato & Romano: I saw quite a few bad reports on those and wouldn't be taking the risk.

The best systems in this order seem to be: Prins, STAG & BRC.

The first two have developed systems for Direct injection engines, which to me shows that they are at the top of their game, as no other company have products for this.

Prins comes at a significant price premium however, and from looking at the Polish forums, a lot of installers seemed to prefer the STAG ecu, as seemingly it's got more adjustable parameters when it comes to mapping the car.

BRC have a really good reputation too, and didn't see anything negative about them at all.

Also, in my case with the Lexus, a huge amount of the members on the lexus owners club forum had their cars converted in Profess in Wales, who use STAG, and have had zero issues.

http://www.professautogas.co.uk/

I saw that you were quoted 1100 for a 4 cyl with Zenit. Way too expensive IMO. Looking at the LPGAIN site, it's approx 725 odd for that, and they've a 10% off promotion at the moment, so that would be an absolute no brainer as far as i'm concerned.

Hope this helps with your decision.

you were happy not to bother with flashlube?

obviously your research showed you didn't need it

any links to those polish and italian forums please, I use chrome by default so I wouldn't mind spending a bit of time reading

When I was shopping around at the time before I bought my kit, the STAG offered the best high-spec reliable option based on a lot of googling, but that was only one of the decisions. You also have to pick the injectors/reducers/multivalves etc......

I wanted a full out-of-the-box single solution so the kit I finally went for had:
    STAG 300-6 ISA2 ECU
    2x Triple Valtek Type 34 injector rails (not the type 30)
    KME Gold reducer
    Tomasetto Multivalve/Air tight housing
    80L cylinder tank
    Mini tomasetto LPG filling kit
    Filter housings (inc some spare filters)
    All the required tubing (LPG FARO tubing/Low pressure tubing /coolant etc etc)
    And all the mounting clips
    All required hose-clips and Y pieces
    All LPG Nozzles (into inlet manifold)
    Electronic Flashlube system (with an extra 5L container of the stuff)

including delivery from Poland to Ireland.....€830

The only bit I had to buy extra was a odd sized 1-1/4" to 1/2" equal T to siphon off the hottest coolant where it comes directly out of the cylinder head (to the main rad) rather than the "warm" water that comes out at the back of the cylinder block to the heating system (There are x2 water outs on the 2JZ engine) @ €20 delivered

This is definitely a "higher" spec option and I could have got cheaper stuff, but decided against

any links to those polish and italian forums please, I use chrome by default so I wouldn't mind spending a bit of time reading

With the LS430, and the LS400, they don't need flashlube. A good few owners had clocked up 100k + miles on gas without it.

Some people claim that flashlube is a bit of a con, and that modern cars don't need it when the install is done properly. Others say it's an absolute necessity on certain Jap engines. I was confident through others experience, that i'd be ok without it. Quite literally, your mileage may vary.

You'll get contrasting opinions like that here:

http://www.lpgforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=9791

Put in the hours, research it and you'll be better placed to make a decision. Personally, I would say, if in doubt, get it. It's not too pricey, and if it gives you peace of mind, all the better.

I don't have any links for you to the Polish/Italian forums, as it's a good few months since I researched it and they're long cleared from my history. Grab a strong coffee, start banging in the keywords on the relevant domestic google sites (.pl etc), and read between the (poorly translated) lines.

When I was shopping around at the time before I bought my kit, the STAG offered the best high-spec reliable option based on a lot of googling, but that was only one of the decisions. You also have to pick the injectors/reducers/multivalves etc......

I wanted a full out-of-the-box single solution so the kit I finally went for had:
    STAG 300-6 ISA2 ECU
    KME Gold reducer
    80L cylinder tank

including delivery from Poland to Ireland.....€830

The only bit I had to buy extra was a odd sized 1-1/4" to 1/2" equal T to siphon off the hottest coolant where it comes directly out of the cylinder head (to the main rad) rather than the "warm" water that comes out at the back of the cylinder block to the heating system (There are x2 water outs on the 2JZ engine) @ €20 delivered

This is definitely a "higher" spec option and I could have got cheaper stuff, but decided against

the physical installation isn't overly difficult, how did you manage with tying in the ECU to the overall system, do you get the software on a CD and install on your laptop

Ye know this LPG is starting to wreck my head ! :-)

the physical installation isn't overly difficult, how did you manage with tying in the ECU to the overall system, do you get the software on a CD and install on your laptop

Do not under estimate the time it takes to do the physical installation, its took me days to mount/wire/fabricate stuff in.

Re ECU, as I have a copy of the full service manual for the car, which includes the full wiring diagram, I wired EVERYTHING that required connecting to the original car loom directly into the original harness inside the ECU box. From memory I needed to connect up the 6x petrol injectors, 2xOxy sensors, MAF sensor, TPS sensor, 12V perm, 12V ignition, GND. All other wires went to the new LPG components directly from the LPG ECU (LPG injectors/Solenoids/tank level sensors etc).

The newest software is freely available on the net and its just a matter of following the instructions for a full automatic calibration via a laptop and the USB cable that connects directly to the loom of the STAG ECU. I have not finished the calibration yet as it needs to calculate the existing petrol mapping by driving 10-15 mixed miles as I have no insurance on it! I have done the first 2 stages of calibration, tick-over and zero load revving. I was hoping to get her back on the road next week (1st May) after being off the road for 2 years, but it will now be 1st June

one photo of Toyota Prius here shows the cap of JLM lube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Suasdaguna1

Feck, that would put me off.

What would put you off?

STAG 300-6 ISA2 ECU
    KME Gold reducer
    80L cylinder tank

Fair play for doing the install yourself, must have been satisfying. Just curious, how did you get on with your insurance company, with it being a self-install?

I guess this is the link you found advising on the quality of systems

http://www.crdperformance.com/lpg/lpg-petrol-vehicles/

actually rang the installers in dublin about the flashlube and comment was "we can fit it if you want, it helps some people sleep easier at night"

I guess this is the link you found advising on the quality of systems

http://www.crdperformance.com/lpg/lpg-petrol-vehicles/

actually rang the installers in dublin about the flashlube and comment was "we can fit it if you want, it helps some people sleep easier at night"

Actually, i've not seen that before, but good info there.

Did a bit of digging for you, here's the link to the polish lpg forum I was on about:

http://lpg-forum.pl/

Are you going to go with the flashlube so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭74merc

According to the folks that converted my car, most people who have flashlube installed do bother to refill it, with no apparent adverse effects.

74merc wrote: »
    According to the folks that converted my car, most people who have flashlube installed do bother to refill it, with no apparent adverse effects.

well its only after 100k or something like that I bet that the effects would be seen, thus if they went to the bother of fitting I can't see why you wouldn't bother filling it

say does anyone know when the LPG is fitted is the sparkplug timing for the petrol different to that when running on LPG,

my head says the LPG should be advanced more as it takes longer to burn

say does anyone know when the LPG is fitted is the sparkplug timing for the petrol different to that when running on LPG,

my head says the LPG should be advanced more as it takes longer to burn

you can find on the market "special" spark plugs for LPG" but they are worse than normal one. lpg doesn't need any special oil,spark plugs, etc.
    I had same questions before.

you can find on the market "special" spark plugs for LPG" but they are worse than normal one. lpg doesn't need any special oil,spark plugs, etc.
    I had same questions before.
    What?
    What is "worse" and what is a "normal" spark plug? LPG should be run on Iridium plugs, while readily available they are not an average, normal plug.

The NGK "LPG" plugs are most definitely better for LPG, they feature both platinum and iridium components to resist corrosion and pitting unique to LPG while at the same time igniting the harder to ignite LPG mixture more readily, providing less strain on the ignition system.

I tried regular Platinum's, Iridium and LPG specifics and while expensive, the NGK LPG plugs were definately the best.

I forgot to mention the plugs on my shopping list.!

A set of 6x NGK LPG1's cost me €100

Matt Simis wrote: »
    What?
    What is "worse" and what is a "normal" spark plug? LPG should be run on Iridium plugs, while readily available they are not an average, normal plug.

The NGK "LPG" plugs are most definitely better for LPG, they feature both platinum and iridium components to resist corrosion and pitting unique to LPG while at the same time igniting the harder to ignite LPG mixture more readily, providing less strain on the ignition system.

I tried regular Platinum's, Iridium and LPG specifics and while expensive, the NGK LPG plugs were definately the best.

Ok. Did you only read about it or it is your experience?. You can use new special, perfect etc. oil, spark plugs, flash lube for LPG.

What?

What car you running on LPG?

Ok. Did you only read about it or it is your experience?. You can use new special, perfect etc. oil, spark plugs, flash lube for LPG.
    I already said I tried all 3 plug types personally.
    I tried regular Platinum's, Iridium and LPG specifics and while expensive, the NGK LPG plugs were definitely the best.
    When its something Ive read, I would usually try and state it as such.
    What car you running on LPG?
    I had till I sold it last year a 340bhp Audi S8 4.2litre with 185k miles on the clock on LPG.

Are you going to go back to LPG again?

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Matt Simis
    I tried regular Platinum's, Iridium and LPG specifics and while expensive, the NGK LPG plugs were definitely the best.

Why Matt Simis the NGK LPG plugs were definitely the best and why normal / "for petrol"/spark plugs for this engine worse ?.explain please

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Matt Simis

Why Matt Simis the NGK LPG plugs were definitely the best and why normal / "for petrol"/spark plugs for this engine worse ?.explain please
    I asked you the exact same thing, to which you again replied with a question and not an answer. You based your statement on seemingly nothing as you didnt qualify it, I based mine on experience as I stated. NGK make the case for their LPG plugs on their site and my experience backed that up. Just read the site.

Im not going to continue this stupid back and forth unless you actually start providing some backup or answers for the random things you keep coming out with.
    Are you going to go back to LPG again?
    Definitely however my own personal living and location plans got in the way of it for now. Was planning on getting the 740i done.

I asked you the exact same thing, to which you again replied with a question and not an answer. You based your statement on seemingly nothing as you didnt qualify it, I based mine on experience as I stated. NGK make the case for their LPG plugs on their site and my experience backed that up. Just read the site.

Im not going to continue this stupid back and forth unless you actually start providing some backup or answers for the random things you keep coming out with.

Definitely however my own personal living and location plans got in the way of it for now. Was planning on getting the 740i done.

I never used any "special" thing for LPG like spark plugs, flash lube etc. and I didn't notice any difference when engine works on petrol or LPG. That's why when somebody wants me to spend extra €100 for things I don't need I always ask why...

It's not that you need the LPG spark plugs, he's just saying that they're more efficient, and work better.

daRobot. Do you use that sparks plugs?. if no, have you any problem?. do you use flash lube?.if no , have you any problem?. If there are on the market new tires, air filters, oil filters etc. designed for LPG will you buy them?. If yes, I will try to do good business to make that things for LPG users tomorrow.

No, I don't use them, but I do use NGK Iridium plugs which are good for LPG.

Like I said in my previous post (why do people have to repeat themselves again and again to you?) they are not necessary but perform better .

And no, I don't use flashlube for my car as it's not needed for a LS430, but for others it may be needed.

I also have absolutely no idea what point you're trying to make here, by the way. It would follow on in the same vein as your previous posts, which have a puzzling logic at the very best.