Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric socket burnt and fused at neutral connection!

Options
  • 23-01-2013 4:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭

I'm not an electrician but tend to get calls from friends and neighbours whenever they have probably with telly's, phones, Internet and stuff.

Anyway, neighbour rang me last night saying they had a problem with their sockets and had no power would I drop over and have a look.

Anyway it turned out they had a toaster in the kitchen which the plug had started to warm up and they could smell burning. The toaster was off at the time. They went to unplug it and they couldn't, the plug was stuck, so they turned off the power at the consumer unit for the sockets.

I had a look and ended out removed ng the socket from the wall, and found the neutral wires had melted their insulation and part of the socket also. The plug neutral pin had also got stuck in the socket and would not come out as I think it had been effectively glued into place with melting plastic.

On closer inspection I found the plug itself to be in perfect condition no heating or melting, all the damage was confined to the inside of the socket around the neutral connection.

To get them over the hump, I replaced the socket as I had a spare one, and cut back the damaged neutral wire. I told them not to use the toaster, (I cut the plug off it anyway) as I had non idea what caused the problem but told them it might be no harm to call an electrician to check things out.