Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Alarm for DIY Install?

Options
  • 23-01-2013 8:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 44

Hi All,

I wish to buy an alarm for my house and install it myself. I've rang around for quotes from the experts, but I just do not have the type of money they are quoting.

Is there an alarm that I can buy online and install myself without too much trouble?
    I have no background in electronics, but have a technical mind.

Thanks

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Thunderbird2

What's your budget like ?
    Is your house wired for an alarm ?

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Prizen

What's your budget like ?
    Is your house wired for an alarm ?

My budget is €400 max, less if I can. Would I get any sort at all for this price?
    My house is wired for an alarm, but wouldn't installing a wireless system still be easier?

Something that's easy to install is important.

Thanks

Yes wireless is easier . How many doors and windows do you have ?
    You could get the quantum kit 2
    Includes RF bell
    RF fob
    2x RF PIRs
    1x RF reed sensor
    1x RF reed/shock sensor
    Panel with built in voice / text dialler
    Very easy to install
    €400

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Prizen wrote: »
    My budget is €400 max, less if I can. Would I get any sort at all for this price?
    My house is wired for an alarm, but wouldn't installing a wireless system still be easier?

Something that's easy to install is important.

Thanks

You are mad to be installing wireless if your house is wired.