Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'aul racism now, is it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

0066ad wrote: »
    Are you saying you can't stand people whose opinion is different to yours?

There's opinions and then there's incitement to hatred and bigotry. Where do you stand on those?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

'Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt' - Mark Twain.

Never argue with a fool; onlookers may not be able to tell the difference. —Mark Twain

Why do fools fall in love? - Frankie Lymon

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

"You fool !!, you foolish fool"- Professor Hubert Farnsworth

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

gallag wrote: »
    How you relait that to muslims in a predominantly muslim area telling people to get out of their muslim area and attacking them I will never know.

Ever hear of a non sequitor? Probably not.

W wrote:
    fool me once, shame on — [pauses] — shame on you. Fool me — [pauses] — You can't get fooled again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭0066ad

old hippy wrote: »
    There's opinions and then there's incitement to hatred and bigotry. Where do you stand on those?

People form opinions on experience, and if that experience involved getting
    ripped off by a few non national taxi drivers, not knowing the way, taking
    longer routes etc is it not their right to choose a national driver if they
    prefer? They still might get ripped off but it's their choice.

Unfortunately it only takes a few bad experience for people to form an
    opinion as it is impossibly to meet every single person from every race.

I hear you but, again, it shouldn't be an excuse to discriminate, should it? I have been ripped off by Irish taxi drivers, does that give me the right to write off every Irish taxi driver as chancers?

I'd take that as a measure of intelligence to be honest. I've never had good experiences with Australians, but me saying to everyone that fecking Aussies are the scum of the earth and they eat babies. The first part is my opinion of Australians, the second is plain racism. Most people are smart enough to know the difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

The black lads are very quiet.

The Muslim lads are always flat out talking on their bluetooth headsets,

And the Irish lads always are always trying to make conversation.

Personally if it came to it. I would prefare to pay a person who is an Irish citizen, the same way I would support Ireland in the world cup.
    This is my own survey of getting the first taxi I see.

I can only comment on what I have personally found in my travels through life.

Each taxi run has resulted in a journey to my chosen destination. Which is really what matters.

brokenarms wrote: »

Personally if it came to it. I would prefare to pay a person who is an Irish citizen, the same way I would support Ireland in the world cup.

Each taxi run has resulted in a journey to my chosen destination. Which is really what matters.

If the Irish citizen was black or Muslim, or even a black Muslim, you'd still opt for them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Sit in the passenger seat means you are open for chat and the banter

Sit in the back left with your arms folded and staring out the window means you want a quiet journey

Well a good barman is supposed to know when to banter and when to leave their customer in peace.
    A good taximan should be able to do the same

edit, unless it's one of those big people carriers.
    I hate sitting in the back of those when I'm on my own
    Feel every speedbump and pothole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

How would you know if they were an Irish citizen? Over 20.000 people recieved Irish Citizenship at cceremonies held in the last 12 months alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

old hippy wrote: »
    If the Irish citizen was black or Muslim, or even a black Muslim, you'd still opt for them?

Yes I would . Without a doubt.

But how would one know? Other than being a white Irish man.

Beat me to the same question Wiley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

You'd know if he was Irish if he does be speaking as the locals do be.
    That does be the way!

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭AndyTheDude

I've heard this senator is originally from Eastern Europe. It wouldn't surprise me at all. After all that's where all the racist scum come from...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Get ready to be labeled a racist on here by the high horse set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Yes, there was that link to the Bulgarian National Party earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,065 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yes I would . Without a doubt.

But how would one know? Other than being a white Irish man.

Beat me to the same question Wiley.

Are you saying that there are no Black Irish men?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Are you saying that there are no Black Irish men?

Is there such a thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Is there such a thing?

Are you trying to be clever?

• Registered Users Posts: 41,065 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Is there such a thing?

Of course

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

squod wrote: »
    Senator nobody says he'd rather not take a non national home after a few pints. This racism or common sense? Should we support our own in a time of crisis?

Meself, I don't like taxis full stop. I'd rather not drink than deal with them.

Two thoughts.

"Down with this sort of thing!"

and

"careful now..."

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

What colour non national do you mean here?

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭EMTFlynn

What about the Irish going to Australia and Canada looking for work :rolleyes:

I wonder how the Australians and Canadians feel seeing all the paddy's coming over taking their jobs!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

MadsL wrote: »
    I'd take that as a measure of intelligence to be honest. I've never had good experiences with Australians, but me saying to everyone that fecking Aussies are the scum of the earth and they eat babies. The first part is my opinion of Australians, the second is plain racism. Most people are smart enough to know the difference.

But as you haven't met every Australian then the first part of your opinion is racist to

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Show Time wrote: »
    Get ready to be labeled a racist on here by the high horse set.

I'm curious as to how you knew their religion? :confused:

Spook_ie wrote: »
    But as you haven't met every Australian then the first part of your opinion is racist to

Then you don't know the definition of racism do you?

rac·ism /ˈrāˌsizəm/
    Noun
    The belief that all members of each race possess characteristics or abilities specific to that race, esp. so as to distinguish it as...
    Prejudice or discrimination directed against someone of a different race based on such a belief.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 48 eisseb

Old Hippy. Cop on and lose the belligerent attitude please

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Is there such a thing?

I'd reckon he counts.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phil_Lynott