Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'aul racism now, is it?

1111213141517»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭The Road Runner

Ah here this is getting stupid now.
    Many a time a car has passed me by when its dark and ive had to do a double take thinking there was no one in it until i see a pair of eyes or teeth. A total innocent observation which doesn't make me a racialist. It is pure fact that it is hard to see a dark skinned person if they are wearing dark clothes in a dark car.

It would be racist if it was a taxi and i didn't hail it because i just realized it was a black man driving it through seeing his eyes and teeth.

Silly back and forth bickering conversation tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The whole thread turned stupid quite a few pages back. Somewhere around page 4 I'd say! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Many a time a car has passed me by when its dark and ive had to do a double take thinking there was no one in it until i see a pair of eyes or teeth. A total innocent observation which doesn't make me a racialist. It is pure fact that it is hard to see a dark skinned person if they are wearing dark clothes in a dark car.

It would be racist if it was a taxi and i didn't hail it because i just realized it was a black man driving it through seeing his eyes and teeth.

Silly back and forth bickering conversation tbh

Ah, here now, I work with my black mates every day and despite the lighting I see them as friends and co-workers.

When the snow is coming down and the skies are pure white they never see me as invisible...

Some of the contributors here are plain eejits.

old hippy wrote: »
    Ah, here now, I work with my black mates every day and despite the lighting I see them as friends and co-workers.

When the snow is coming down and the skies are pure white they never see me as invisible...

Some of the contributors here are plain eejits.

hard to tell the tone on message boards but im presuming you are being sarcastic...
    you seemed to take exception to my post below. Care to explain?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Now if i was in Dublin i would get a cab with an African lad driving faster then a local Dublin head.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

This is going around in circles now.

As we've lost all semblance of discussing the OP please get in any closing posts now as we will lock this up soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Show Time wrote: »
    Now if i was in Dublin i would get a cab with an African lad driving faster then a local Dublin head.
    so you would get in one taxi after another? effectively sharing your custom? looks like someone's changed their tune re: equal oppurtunities.

Leftist wrote: »
    so you would get in one taxi after another? effectively sharing your custom? looks like someone's changed their tune re: equal oppurtunities.
    i was trying to add a bit of humour at the end of the thread really more then anything.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

i was trying to add a bit of humour at the end of the thread really more then anything.:)

o.k. better luck next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You forgot to put a joke into your post though? :confused:

:pac::pac::pac:

"Thanks folks you've been a great audience. I'm here all week. Try the veal."

hard to tell the tone on message boards but im presuming you are being sarcastic...
    you seemed to take exception to my post below. Care to explain?

Yeah, your "eyes and teeth" comment and your general patronising schtick. With the disclaimer that you're "not a racialist".

With a name like hippy you get way to worked up at times.

With dim comments like the above, it's hardly surprising

No need to be so narky kid. I respect the views of others even if i do not share the same views myself.

I'm delighted for you.

nah man you got it all wrong. i took my two lads to see life of pi yesterday, and not ruining anything here, but there is a part in it when he's been at sea so long and it is dark and you can only see his eyes. the exact same thing i was referring to. i really don't see the problem.

You saw it in a movie, so it must be true. How to trivialise a weighty topic in 5 easy steps. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

This is going around in circles now.

As we've lost all semblance of discussing the OP please get in any closing posts now as we will lock this up soon.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.