Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'aul racism now, is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Many people may have misconceptons about different nationalities that are wrong but due to fear of being labled a racist keep quiet and hold on to those misconceptions rather than voicing their fears and opinions and learning from it.

"Change is hard" isn't a reason to hold onto stupid ideas.
    And neither is getting butthurt when other people call your behaviour what it is.

When you find out something you thought was correct is wrong you can either double down on it ("it's just my opinion, PC brigade, blah blah fucking blah) or you can learn from it.

What's it going to be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

No I dont like multiculturism and integration being forced upon me. I dont have any time for this pc extreme leftist ideology being rammed into our everyday lives. Who asked me about my views and concerns on whether my kids school should take in an influx of children who do not speak English in their homes to the detriment of local children.

Who asked me my views on the crazy asylum system swallowing up this country's scarce finances? No one. Do I hate foreigners... no. Do I hate the way we all have to participate in (or else be branded racists or made feel inferior by people like you) and go along with this social experiment... yes.

Well if you don't like it you can piss off back to ..... Oh wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

No I dont like multiculturism and integration being forced upon me.

So you don't like foreigners is what you're saying.
    Who asked me about my views and concerns on whether my kids school should take in an influx of children who do not speak English in their homes to the detriment of local children.

Are your children unlearning English by being around foreign kids?
    Do I hate the way we all have to participate in (or else be branded racists or made feel inferior by people like you) and go along with this social experiment... yes.

Is getting into a taxi driven by someone who (GASP!) isn't white constitute participating in a social experiment in your book?

If you feel inferior then that's your look out dude. I'm just calling it as I see it based on what you say. My views don't make me feel inferior so if yours and how other people react to them make you feel inferior then maybe the blame lies at your door, not mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

When I was a kid I was thought that it was worse to be labelled a racist than it was to be labelled as a liberal.

Hopefully you've seen the light since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Are your children unlearning English by being around foreign kids?

Oh how I laughed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

Why, so you point and yell racist! racist! omg!!! my pet peeves with different nationalties are my business, use your immagination. There minor annoyences and it doesent affect how I deal with people.

Okay, why bother bringing it up if you're not willing to expand on it? I could just as easily say, by the same token, you were waiting for someone to question you so you could play the victim.
    Issues? what like difficulties integration,ignorance towards different religions and cultural practices, language and skilles issues, representation in political instatutions, a list as long as your arm.

And just as vague too? You'll forgive me if I remain sceptical in the face of such broad claims being made many times before with no examples.
    Many people may have misconceptons about different nationalities that are wrong but due to fear of being labled a racist keep quiet and hold on to those misconceptions rather than voicing their fears and opinions and learning from it.

Do they? Or is it that they're just plain old racist and know it? Ignorance isn't a terribly big deal but racism isn't ignorance, it's just good old stupidity.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

Pet peeves or small annoyances about people are one thing but choosing a taxi driver based on the colour of his skin and saying things like "I have no desire for all things multicultural" (in other words - I don't like dem foreigners) are a bit more than pet peeves.

Ok thats fair enough, someone shouldnt be judged on their skin colour. No excuses for that. On the other hand alot of people have issues with african taxi drivers either not knowing where they are going or ripping them off. Maybe that sould be talked about? Im not implying that all african drivers are like that but this is the kind of thing im getting at, it needs to be discussed to find a solution, other wise many people will continue to ignore the decent lads a leave them out of pocket and feeling isolated or resentfull.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

Dont say anything about foreigners driving down workers rights and rates of pay, schools and hospitals being stretched and benefit systems being taken advantage of or your a big awl dirty racist!! I have no problem with controlled imagination, but open boarders is a recipe for disaster.

gallag wrote: »
    I have no problem with controlled imagination, but open boarders is a recipe for disaster.

Good thing we don't have open borders then, isn't it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Show Time wrote: »
    Most of the money the drivers make is wired out of the country and anyone thinking otherwise is living in a dream world. If you like some English horse burgers then Tesco is the place to go but i would just as soon spend my money in with a company like Dunnes.

Eh, the horse burgers originated in Ireland and Tesco actually buy more local produce than Dunnes do.

While Tesco are no better, Dunnes are an absolute shower of bastards who at one stage sacked trade unionists for refusing to handle apartheid goods in the 1980s. Only a few years ago they were sacking workers for trade union activity as well. Dunnes are as much anti-Irish worker as any of the rest of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

No I dont like multiculturism and integration being forced upon me. I dont have any time for this pc extreme leftist ideology being rammed into our everyday lives. Who asked me about my views and concerns on whether my kids school should take in an influx of children who do not speak English in their homes to the detriment of local children.

Who asked me my views on the crazy asylum system swallowing up this country's scarce finances? No one. Do I hate foreigners... no. Do I hate the way we all have to participate in (or else be branded racists or made feel inferior by people like you) and go along with this social experiment... yes.

You say you're not integrated but you are trying. Don't be so hard on yourself.
    You are communicating on an Irish-based message Board here, That's Good.

You mentioned your children are attending school, again Good.

You're making small steps it's true and Immigrants have passed you and your family members out on Society's ladder, but you're doing okay.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Bronze Wolf

I can understand how people can hate multiculturalism. It hasn't worked in the UK or US and no one here wants ghettos developing.

Integration on the other hand is a good idea. When immigrants make an effort to become part of the community we get to know them and we get to like them. They should preserve their own culture by all means but learning English, working if they are allowed (this is where most people will get to know foreigners), adhering to Irish standards of behaviour as much as they can, all makes it easier for everyone to live together.

I don't want to see little Lagos or Islambads springing up. Anyone who lives in ghettos like that will be marginalised from society and will have a poor quality of life. Unemployment will be high and eduaction standards will be low. It's easy for crime to become established because people will be wary of the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Good thing we don't have open borders then, isn't it.

We're not far off it.

On the other hand alot of people have issues with african taxi drivers either not knowing where they are going or ripping them off. Maybe that sould be talked about?

Of course it should. The regulator is there to report anyone who tries to rip you off no matter who the feck they are or where they come from.

As for not knowing where they're going. As I've said before, I've never found it with drivers in Dublin but that might be just me.

Dont say anything about foreigners driving down workers rights and rates of pay.

I don't understand how they're doing that. We've got a minimum wage and unions in this country to protect a lot of that stuff. If anything it's foreign workers in other countries who we're losing jobs to that we should be worried about. Big companies who are taking their production centres to other places because they're cheaper. But that's more something that the government has to do to make Ireland more attractive to corporations. Imman who works in Centra isn't ensuring that Sharon who works in Centra is getting paid less.

twinQuins wrote: »
    Okay, why bother bringing it up if you're not willing to expand on it? I could just as easily say, by the same token, you were waiting for someone to question you so you could play the victim.

And just as vague too? You'll forgive me if I remain sceptical in the face of such broad claims being made many times before with no examples.

Do they? Or is it that they're just plain old racist and know it? Ignorance isn't a terribly big deal but racism isn't ignorance, it's just good old stupidity.

Why ask in the first place if you know well what i ment and simply wanted blow your little racist whistle. And what the hell do you want from me exactly, documented case reports. Its the AH fourm ya'know light hearted discussion. I think the TD in th OPs video is a moron, backwards in his way of thinking and xenophobic certainly, would I call him a dedicated racist, no i wouldnt.

Of course it should. The regulator is there to report anyone who tries to rip you off no matter who the feck they are or where they come from.

As for not knowing where they're going. As I've said before, I've never found it with drivers in Dublin but that might be just me.

I don't understand how they're doing that. We've got a minimum wage in this country. If anything it's foreign workers in other countries who we're losing jobs to.
    But the problem is that companies will never pay more than minimum wage while there are thousands flooding into the country sharing houses and exporting a good chunk of the pittance they do make, if a company with a more than healthy profit margin could not fill a post offering min wage they would up the money! I remember a guy telling me he would never employ a local again because one polish guy could lift the paving stones it took two to lift, to hell with the bad back in later life. That is the erosion of workers rights our grand parents, parents and ourselves have fought for. What about our children?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

While his comments are racist...

but isnt there a racist witch hunt going on lately? all you see is "...is this Racist?" - "that's Racist!" - "Racists everywhere!"

juan.kerr wrote: »
    We're not far off it.

Only in bizzaro world.

But the problem is that companies will never pay more than minimum wage while there are thousands flooding into the country sharing houses and exporting a good chunk of the pittance they do make, if a company with a more than healthy profit margin could not fill a post offering min wage they would up the money!

I don't think that's correct. Minimum wage jobs didn't suddenly starting paying a lot more during the Celtic Tiger when there was nearly full employment (or as close to it as we could get). Also what does sharing houses and sending money home have to do with the rate of pay? I share a house and send money overseas (to pay for a young relatives education) - it has no effect on how much I am paid.
    I remember a guy telling me he would never employ a local again because one polish guy could lift the paving stones it took two to lift, to hell with the bad back in later life. That is the erosion of workers rights our grand parents, parents and ourselves have fought for.

The right to not work hard or the right to run a business with scant regard for health and safety?
    What about our children?
    Maybe our children will have to learn to work a bit harder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

Why ask in the first place if you know well what i ment

Because I don't. You made an implication, I made one too but in either case neither of us knows the other's motivation or reasoning.

You're assuming I have it in for you, I made the point that equally I could assume you want to play the victim. See? Assumptions on both sides, which could easily be cleared up if you just went ahead and made your point.
    and simply wanted blow your little racist whistle. And what the hell do you want from me exactly, documented case reports.
    At this stage I'd nearly settle for 'I knows a fellah who...'. If it's as prevalent as you make it sound you shouldn't have difficulty finding even one example. Just one.

And I'm not talking about case reports, just a news article or something along those lines. Again, if it's that prevalent there should be plenty readily available.
    Its the AH fourm ya'know light hearted discussion. I think the TD in th OPs video is a moron, backwards in his way of thinking and xenophobic certainly, would I call him a dedicated racist, no i wouldnt.
    Okay.

While his comments are racist...

but isnt there a racist witch hunt going on lately? all you see is "...is this Racist?" - "that's Racist!" - "Racists everywhere!"

I hear they hang around playgrounds at night, being racist - on the same swings that OUR CHILDREN PLAY ON!!!!! :eek::eek::mad::mad:

But yeah the 'racist' word gets batted back and forth a good bit. Unfortunately it's more acceptable to call someone a racist than to tell the truth - the senator is a f*cking moron. Both for his views and for the fact that he put together his point so stupidly that even a small child would have been able to pick holes in it.

I don't think that's correct. Minimum wage jobs didn't suddenly starting paying a lot more during the Celtic Tiger when there was nearly full employment (or as close to it as we could get). Also what does sharing houses and sending money home have to do with the rate of pay? I share a house and send money overseas (to pay for a young relatives education) - it has no effect on how much I am paid.

The right to not work hard or the right to run a business with scant regard for health and safety?

Maybe our children will have to learn to work a bit harder?
    Why did jobsbin the celtic tiger days need to be min wage? Because even if the companys were making record profits the steady flow of eastern European workers ment they could keep wages down, and if people are sharing houses and keeping spending to a minimum they can afford to work for min wage, what about people who want to raise a family in their own house, is that just a dream of the rich now? Should the natives accept a lower quality of life because the pc brigade shout racist every time the flaws of multiculturalism are pointed out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Oh here we go again... racism racism racism.. would the do gooders ever give it a rest. Do I integrate or socialise with blacks or asians... no! Do I wish to.... no! Do I hate all non nationals... no! Have I ever insulted or been rude to a non national or am I likely to commit a race hate crime... no! Would I choose an Irish taxi driver over a non national one... yes. Am I racist??

In answer to your question, yes in my opinion you are,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

f**ing hell, it has kids :( what chance to they have if their parent tells them that foreign kids are coming in and destroying their education. They're going to grow up as filth with a thoroughbread racist lunatic at the helm.

How is it to the detriment of your children, explain please, evidence would be nice.

twinQuins wrote: »
    Because I don't. You made an implication, I made one too but in either case neither of us knows the other's motivation or reasoning.

You're assuming I have it in for you, I made the point that equally I could assume you want to play the victim. See? Assumptions on both sides, which could easily be cleared up if you just went ahead and made your point.

At this stage I'd nearly settle for 'I knows a fellah who...'. If it's as prevalent as you make it sound you shouldn't have difficulty finding even one example. Just one.

And I'm not talking about case reports, just a news article or something along those lines. Again, if it's that prevalent there should be plenty readily available.

Okay.

Ah here itll have to wait till tomorrow if you want proper details its 2am here in 'stralia and ive work tomorrow. This one is about a conferences in Kilkenny discussing the the points I mentioned. Now guluk n goodnite
    In his closing address, Integration Forum chairman Kulckani Joseph Mguni said it was recognised that religion, culture, history and faith, as well as prejudices, all impact on family and civil status. He said it was to be hoped the outcomes and recommendations from the conference might challenge some attitudes, provoke further debate and influence policies in the future.

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/local/conference-focuses-on-families-to-aid-integration-1-4593902

Why did jobsbin the celtic tiger days need to be min wage? Because even if the companys were making record profits the steady flow of eastern European workers ment they could keep wages down

The companies recording record profits weren't the ones paying minimum wage.

Generally minimum wage jobs are that because it's not profitable for a company to pay the workers more. Construction workers certainly weren't on minimum wage and half (if not the vast majority) of the sites had Polish lads filling up the ranks. But of course being in the EU means we cannot stop Polish people coming and working here even if we wanted to.
    what about people who want to raise a family in their own house, is that just a dream of the rich now?

Well working in a job that pays minimum wage was never going to give you enough to be able to afford to buy. How many shop staff or coffee shop employees do you know that have ever owned homes?

The average industrial wage hasn't gone down to the best of my knowledge, despite the amount of immigration. Correct me if I'm wrong there.
    Should the natives accept a lower quality of life because the pc brigade shout racist every time the flaws of multiculturalism are pointed out?

Pointing out the things you're pointing out shouldn't get you branded a racist at all. However I have to say I don't really think the points you're making are valid ones.

Immigrant workers aren't really to blame for the economic state of the country - that problem runs much deeper I'm afraid.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Why did jobsbin the celtic tiger days need to be min wage? Because even if the companys were making record profits the steady flow of eastern European workers ment they could keep wages down, and if people are sharing houses and keeping spending to a minimum they can afford to work for min wage, what about people who want to raise a family in their own house, is that just a dream of the rich now? Should the natives accept a lower quality of life because the pc brigade shout racist every time the flaws of multiculturalism are pointed out?

ireland and the uk opened the doors to migrants from the former eastern bloc. That was the state's choice. FF's choice. Germany and Austria didn't allow it.

So what happened has happened, it may not have been right or it may have feuled a booming economy, whatever way it was, it was the choice of Irish government to allow it. And Irish employers to chase down wages, which not all of them did.

So blaming the foreigners for 'eroding' the rights our fathers, and forefathers and blah f**king blah fought 'so hard' to obtain is absolute dog sh!t only a fool would spout.

And the point of this discussion is a politician saying he won't get in a car of a 'obvious' foreigner. How do you judge an obvious foreigner? by race.

This other scumbag says foreigners are destroying children's education by talking a second language in their family homes.

And your whinging about f**king PC brigade??

Jesus christ almighty.

Dont say anything about foreigners driving down workers rights and rates of pay, schools and hospitals being stretched and benefit systems being taken advantage of or your a big awl dirty racist!! I have no problem with controlled imagination, but open boarders is a recipe for disaster.

Have you any evidence that immigrants cause a lowering of rates of pay or workers rights?
    How do immigrants leave schools and hospitals stretched to the limits?
    And again what evidence is there that immigrants are any more likely to take advantage of our social welfare system?
    You make a lot of accusations, can you actually substansiate any of them?

How is it to the detriment of your children, explain please, evidence would be nice.
    Simple, overstretched teachers teaching larger classes with even more time being allocated to non English speakers to the detriment of native children. I hate falling back on this argument but do you think for example the polish people would accept several irish children per class taking up the teachers time to the cost and detriment of their own childrens education?