Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'aul racism now, is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Yeah, I'd say he probably opens the doors of the taxis and asks them to say something before sitting down to determine whether or not they're proper foreigners.

Or hands them the word 'Ballina' on a piece of paper and asks them to pronounce it...

• Registered Users Posts: 37,300 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

So, what was the context of the video? Was it how the non-nationals don't know where to go? Sure, ye can lump in the Dubs as well, as many of them have a tendency to take you the long way round if they don't think you're a Dub.

Read this

That's my original post, not just the piece someone else quoted. I said I was in favour of integration over multiculturalism, not that I was anti immigration.

If that link doesn't work (I'm on my phone) it was post 137 in this thread.

Fair enough. How do you feel about GAA clubs in Boston, Sydney and Ottawa?

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Bronze Wolf

MadsL wrote: »

Fair enough. How do you feel about GAA clubs in Boston, Sydney and Ottawa?

Same as I feel about the Brazilian soccer teams I've met here. Fair play to them for doing something constructive. Integration doesn't mean abandoning your culture, its just means you become part of the community at large.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Yeah, I'd say he probably opens the doors of the taxis and asks them to say something before sitting down to determine whether or not they're proper foreigners.
    I do the polite thing myself and ask from outside the cab door if the driver knows how to get to my destination if it is a positive reply i am good with that but if i get a blank expression on the drivers face i know it is not worth the hassle and walk away.

Same as I feel about the Brazilian soccer teams I've met here. Fair play to them for doing something constructive. Integration doesn't mean abandoning your culture, its just means you become part of the community at large.

And so your Islamabad and Lagos comments are in relation to what exactly?

Many Irish emigrants, live together, work together (Irish owned businesses), play together (GAA clubs), drink together (Irish bars)

Are they part of the community at large?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

While his comments are racist...

but isnt there a racist witch hunt going on lately? all you see is "...is this Racist?" - "that's Racist!" - "Racists everywhere!"

Really? I thought it was all swarming pc brigades round here...

Many Irish emigrants, live together, work together (Irish owned businesses), play together (GAA clubs), drink together (Irish bars)

Those comments meant socially isolated areas, composed mostly of one nationality or race, often first or second generation immigrants.

They will be poorer, suffer disportionate amounts of crime and have less facilities and resources.

We will be wary of customs and behaviour there that we aren't used to and Irish people won't want to live there.

If we get to know immigrants we will find that we have a lot in common. We won't get that if we are effectively living in seperate communities.

old hippy wrote: »
    Really? I thought it was all swarming pc brigades round here...

I hate the swarming season. Buggers are everywhere with PC that, and PC the other. "PC this" and "PC that". You can't move for the PC. It's wall-to-wall PC, Father. "You racist Bastard" "You racist Fecker" "You racist bollocks! Get your racist bollocks out of my face." "Ride me racist sideways" was another one Father!

Those comments meant socially isolated areas, composed mostly of one nationality or race, often first or second generation immigrants.

They will be poorer, suffer disportionate amounts of crime and have less facilities and resources.

We will be wary of customs and behaviour there that we aren't used to and Irish people won't want to live there.

If we get to know immigrants we will find that we have a lot in common. We won't get that if we are effectively living in seperate communities.

Where in Dublin would that be?

The senator was talking very frankly and very off the cuff as they say. He was saying what many of us feel and believe. People like you need to accept that people with my views and opinions, who have no interest or desire for all things multicultural, form a very sizeable proportion of the population of Ireland. Yes I know what I have posted is unpopular on here but I genuinely feel my views are legitimate. Its nothing to do with agenda or trying to be controversial.

He was only speaking his mind, yes? Reminds me of that tory billboard ad here in London a few years ago "are you thinking what we're thinking?"

No. A thousand times, no.

And if you don't like multiculturalism - fine. Don't integrate, don't greet your neighbours, don't make friends, don't go to any of their parties, or restaurants or festivals. Envelop yourself in your own culture and shun all others because they are alien and frightening to you.

The only person missing out will be you. The rest of us can benefit from it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

Parts of the UK I.e parts of Birmingham have now got no go areas for white British people, that is the result of multiculturalism with people that have no intention of integrating. Are parts of Australia no go areas because of the irish?

Where in Dublin would that be?

There isn't, that's what I said. I said we shouldn't let it develop like it has in some other countries. I don't think multiculturalism leads anywhere good for anyone. I think promoting integration is much more likely to lead to harmony.

What's your opinion on that?

gallag wrote: »
    Parts of the UK I.e parts of Birmingham have now got no go areas for white British people, that is the result of multiculturalism with people that have no intention of integrating. Ate parys of Australia no go areas because of the irish?

Which parts, specifically?

Parts of the UK I.e parts of Birmingham have now got no go areas for white British people, that is the result of multiculturalism with people that have no intention of integrating. Are parts of Australia no go areas because of the irish?

As a Birmingham lad, what utter utter shite.

No go areas for whites. What is it? Harlem in the 70s :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

To be fair, I also believe that there are parts of the UK that have got no go areas for non white British people, that is the result of multiculturalism with people that have no intention of integrating.

I wouldnt want people to misconstrue your post as one sided :)

There isn't, that's what I said. I said we shouldn't let it develop like it has in some other countries. I don't think multiculturalism leads anywhere good for anyone. I think promoting integration is much more likely to lead to harmony.

Where, specifically?

AEDIC wrote: »
    To be fair, I also believe that there are parts of the UK that have got no go areas for non white British people, that is the result of multiculturalism with people that have no intention of integrating.

I wouldnt want people to misconstrue your post as one sided :)

Where?

(becoming an echo in here)

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

Where?

(becoming an echo in here)

an echo you say...say....say... :)

I was being ironic...I dont think there is such a thing as a no go area and I dont know the UK well enough to even guess..

When did multiculturalism become such a dirty word? Nobody is forced to parade around in Brazilian head dresses or recite passages from the Koran, for crying out loud.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I tend to get taxis with non nationals as i don't have to listen to bollocks on the way home.

Where, specifically?

Take the banlieues in Paris, the area around north of St. Denis I think would be an example. Immigrants dropped there by the government in high rises, no facilities, serious crime problem, now a no go area for anyone with sense.

I asked you a question in my last post which you have naturally ignored. I'm beginning to think you want to take offence at something I say.

You came into this thread half cocked at part of a post taken out of context. If you want to be offended someone else will oblige you I'm sure.

So what is your opinion on integration?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

pmcmahon wrote: »
    I tend to get taxis with non nationals as i don't have to listen to bollocks on the way home.

Indeed, it does usually guarantee that you won't have to listen to a racist diatribe from the driver, or endless pissing and moaning about what a hard life being a taxi driver is.

When did multiculturalism become such a dirty word? Nobody is forced to parade around in Brazilian head dresses or recite passages from the Koran, for crying out loud.

Where did I say it did? You said to Gallag in your last post about speaking to your neighbours, going to their restaurants. That works two ways, they can speak to us and come to ours. That's integration.

Two cultures living side by side but not interacting will bring problems.

Take the banlieues in Paris, the area around north of St. Denis I think would be an example. Immigrants dropped there by the government in high rises, no facilities, serious crime problem, now a no go area for anyone with sense.

That's not multiculturalism, that's successive bad government and lack of planning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

I hate the swarming season. Buggers are everywhere with PC that, and PC the other. "PC this" and "PC that". You can't move for the PC. It's wall-to-wall PC, Father. "You racist Bastard" "You racist Fecker" "You racist bollocks! Get your racist bollocks out of my face." "Ride me racist sideways" was another one Father!

Class;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I asked you a question in my last post which you have naturally ignored. I'm beginning to think you want to take offence at something I say.

You came into this thread half cocked at part of a post taken out of context. If you want to be offended someone else will oblige you I'm sure.

So what is your opinion on integration?

The French don't do multi-culturalism, never have.

Where did I say it did? You said to Gallag in your last post about speaking to your neighbours, going to their restaurants. That works two ways, they can speak to us and come to ours. That's integration.

Two cultures living side by side but not interacting will bring problems.

Tonight, I'll leave my workplace - people from all round the world work and socialise here with not a problem in sight. Then, I'll pop into my local and have a pint with a black South African, a Ghanian, several Irish, several Scots, a Lithuanian, a French, a Chinese, a Russian and possibly plenty other nationalities that I'm not aware of. And the only problem will be getting the rounds in. Then, I'll stop at the Polish corner shop for some ciggies and buy them off the Polish speaking Afghan or he might give me them on tick. :D

No problemo.

That's not multiculturalism, that's successive bad government and lack of planning.

I was talking about ghettoisation as opposed to integration. Read a few posts back.

Tonight, I'll leave my workplace - people from all round the world work and socialise here with not a problem in sight. Then, I'll pop into my local and have a pint with a black South African, a Ghanian, several Irish, several Scots, a Lithuanian, a French, a Chinese, a Russian and possibly plenty other nationalities that I'm not aware of. And the only problem will be getting the rounds in. Then, I'll stop at the Polish corner shop for some ciggies and buy them off the Polish speaking Afghan or he might give me them on tick. :D

No problemo.

Sorry I'm all out of Legion of the Enlightened medals.

Read my posts, that's exactly what I said I would like to see as the norm in Ireland. But don't let that get in the way of reminding everyone how great you are.