Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wallpaper shops Limerick

• 24-01-2013 12:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30

Anyone know the best shops for wallpaper in Limerick ?

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 DublinDIYguy
    ✭✭

Have a look at these guys Facebook page DLK Wall Designs. They're not in Limerick but they offer to sent images or samples to anyone interested in any of their wallpapers. You just have to describe what your looking for and they'll e-mail you a load of images of wallpapers they suggest..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 AgathaC

Hi I'd love to know the same about Dublin. Is there any Wallpaper shops? Not hardware or paint shops. Does DLK have a shop in Dublin?

✭✭

AgathaC wrote: »
    Hi I'd love to know the same about Dublin. Is there any Wallpaper shops? Not hardware or paint shops. Does DLK have a shop in Dublin?

Yeah their shop is in Dublin. It's all on their facebook page..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 LaChatteGitane
    ✭✭✭

OP, I don't know what style you're after, but Laura Ashley do beautiful wallpapers and there appears to be one of their shops in Limerick.

✭✭

OP, I don't know what style you're after, but Laura Ashley do beautiful wallpapers and there appears to be one of their shops in Limerick.

Surely there's an Irish owned wallpaper outlet in Limerick..
    Wallpapers are all about opinions when it comes to designs. Personally I think you'd find nicer wallpapers in B&Q then Laura Ashley (more duck egg than any other colour). But either way your just going to get thin paper with a nice design printed on it. If you want high quality wallpaper with some texture, maybe some flocking or embroidery you'll have to go elsewhere.
    But I've hung many different brands of wallpapers and when it comes to the quality of the actual paper and not the design Laura Ashley's paper type is of low standard.. A fancy name sometimes makes cheap paper become expensive paper!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 shunney

Thanks for the replys

I'm not sure what i'm after yet until i have a look at some, but trying to keep the cost down as i need about 25 rolls for the main hall way, which could get very costly... I think i will be looking at the more simple designs that don't have to be matched, otherwise there will be a lot more waste.

✭✭

I wouldn't worry too much about the type of match if I was you.. Pick the paper you like the most as there's always places above doors and radiators or half size walls to use up the smaller pieces, having a match shouldn't cost you more than one extra roll.. And for the sake of buying 26 instead of 25 you'd be mad not to choose the wallpaper you like the most..
    An awful lot of papers are straight match or half drops which don't have much wastage once the pattern repeat isn't really long..
    But you can also find many really nice free match papers..

✭✭✭

Surely there's an Irish owned wallpaper outlet in Limerick..
    Wallpapers are all about opinions when it comes to designs. Personally I think you'd find nicer wallpapers in B&Q then Laura Ashley (more duck egg than any other colour). But either way your just going to get thin paper with a nice design printed on it. If you want high quality wallpaper with some texture, maybe some flocking or embroidery you'll have to go elsewhere.
    But I've hung many different brands of wallpapers and when it comes to the quality of the actual paper and not the design Laura Ashley's paper type is of low standard.. A fancy name sometimes makes cheap paper become expensive paper!!

That might well be. But I am just giving the OP an option. They can make up their own mind.

✭✭

I'm not having a go at you Lachattegitane, the more opinions expressed the better. I do stand by my views on Laura Ashleys wallpaper though, it is very thin and unforgiving, I'd always recommend lining the walls first when using this type of thin paper, but then lining the walls first is always advisable anyway.
    And regarding the extra roll I think would be needed for a paper with a match over a free match, on 2nd thoughts it might need 2 extra but still worth it if it means having the wallpaper you want, afterall your gonna be looking at it for the next 5 years or more..

✭✭✭

That's okay DublinDIYguy. You have experience with different types of wallpaper, I do not.
    I go for wallpaper that I realy like the look of and will move heaven and earth to get it on my wall. :D So you see the thickness of the paper doesn't really matter to me.

Two years ago, we coincidently papered our bedroom and landing in two different papers from Laura Ashley. It was our first experience with wallpapering and my husband and I had no problems getting it up whatsoever.

Most important is that we both love the look of it. For us it's about creating a particular atmosphere more than the practicalities.

✭✭

Cool, I'd love to see some pics if you don't mind posting them... Fair play to yous for hanging the wallpaper yourselves, when you say landing: is it a hall, stairs & landing.. A really tricky wallpapering job!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 cardwizzard
    ✭✭✭

I'm not having a go at you Lachattegitane, the more opinions expressed the better. I do stand by my views on Laura Ashleys wallpaper though, it is very thin and unforgiving, I'd always recommend lining the walls first when using this type of thin paper, but then lining the walls first is always advisable anyway.
    And regarding the extra roll I think would be needed for a paper with a match over a free match, on 2nd thoughts it might need 2 extra but still worth it if it means having the wallpaper you want, afterall your gonna be looking at it for the next 5 years or more..

Do you always line the walls?

Because I thought you said prior in another post, to do it only if neccesary.

I'm confused with the two conflicting pieces of advise.:confused:

✭✭

Sorry to hear you get confused so easily cardwizzard, I thought it was quite easy to understand.. My advice when using thin wallpaper would be to line the walls first.. On the otherhand it is often advised to do this anyway regardless of the paper therefore using the lesser quality paper wouldn't matter.
    I don't think you should always need to line the walls first as long as the walls are in good condition and the paper is good quality.
    Before you had the chance to jump in and say you should line the walls first anyway I put your argument up for you..
    I'll give another similar example if you're still confused. When painting a house exterior that gets hit hard by weather you might say to the customer I'd advice you to repaint at least every 4 years, although it is advised that you repaint every 4 yrs anyway.. Even though you do not think every exterior needs repainting every 4 yrs that is what any paint manufacturer would advise..
    I hope this clears up your confusion, and thanks for keeping an eye on all of my posts I didn't realise you could have followers on boards :)

✭✭✭

Cool, I'd love to see some pics if you don't mind posting them... Fair play to yous for hanging the wallpaper yourselves, when you say landing: is it a hall, stairs & landing.. A really tricky wallpapering job!!

Bedroom : 2 walls opposite eachother have been papered.

zvopdk.jpg

oidp20.jpg

The landing. No stairs. The wall facing the stairs papered. The rest is painted

x3haiv.jpg

2l6zir.jpg
    Skirting board has been fixed after that photo was taken. ;)

Entrance hall

24orlzl.jpg

15z2peu.jpg

Please note that these photos were not taken to show you our wallpapering skills. Hence there are no close ups of any botch jobs :p

✭✭

Do you always line the walls?

Because I thought you said prior in another post, to do it only if neccesary.

I'm confused with the two conflicting pieces of advise.:confused:

I've checked back on that previous post you are referring too (3 months ago, good memory almost :) ) It was regarding wallpaper hanging costs of doing 1 wall, and I said not to bother cross lining unless it was neccessary but if they didn't mind the paper hanger having to do the job over 2 days then by all means have it cross lined..
    You should really check back on things when you are going to have a go at someone for having "conficting pieces of advice" or causing you confusion.

✭✭

Please note that these photos were not taken to show you our wallpapering skills. Hence there are no close ups of any botch jobs :p[/Quote]

It looks really good, fair play to you and your husband, perticularly coming down the few steps.. From these pics it looks like a professional job well done..
    I'd be more of a fan of the design in the bedroom than the one at the steps myself even though it looks suspiciously like duck egg :) , it looks really nice..

✭✭✭

It IS duck egg blue. But I love duck egg blue, especially for a bedroom. :)

✭✭

Not a big fan of duck egg myself, Laura Ashley certainly is.. But I do agree that this wallpaper looks very nice in this room..
    I'll see have I got any pics of wallpapers I've used that I do like. As it always easy to point out what we don't like...
    I hope our general wallpaper discussion helps the OP when he/she's buying his rather than annoying him/her for taking over their thread!!

✭✭

This is an embroidery wallpaper I hung recently.. I really like this one

✭✭✭

I've checked back on that previous post you are referring too (3 months ago, good memory almost :) ) It was regarding wallpaper hanging costs of doing 1 wall, and I said not to bother cross lining unless it was neccessary but if they didn't mind the paper hanger having to do the job over 2 days then by all means have it cross lined..
    You should really check back on things when you are going to have a go at someone for having "conficting pieces of advice" or causing you confusion.

Thats my point. You say not to bother to line before wallpapering in one post, and then here you say it is always advisable. :confused: Can you see the discrepancy in that?

Why does it matter if its two rolls or twenty five?

By the way not having a go, it just remained in my head. Attack the post not the poster.....

✭✭

I can see now why you are so easily confused.. As I already explained.. I said I'd always advise to use lining paper when using thin or cheap wallpaper or as I said in that previous post where necessary. However it is always advisable to use lining paper anyway ie: not my advice, my advice was to use when necessary or when using cheap or thin paper..
    Like it is always advisable to repaint an exterior every 4 years, again not my advice, I'd advise depending on the particular exterior.
    Do you need anymore explanation?
    Btw I am not advising this person to cross line their hs&l, I would leave that to whoever's doing the job.. As good walls + quality paper = no need to cross line.
    Comprende???

✭✭✭

I can see now why you are so easily confused.. As I already explained.. I said I'd always advise to use lining paper when using thin or cheap wallpaper or as I said in that previous post where necessary. However it is always advisable to use lining paper anyway ie: not my advice, my advice was to use when necessary or when using cheap or thin paper..
    Like it is always advisable to repaint an exterior every 4 years, again not my advice, I'd advise depending on the particular exterior.
    Do you need anymore explanation?
    Btw I am not advising this person to cross line their hs&l, I would leave that to whoever's doing the job.. As good walls + quality paper = no need to cross line.
    Comprende???

Id beg to differ, in fact i'd go as far to say you are completly wrong. Good walls has little too do with what lining paper is designed for.

We will leave it there as its getting into handbag stuff, although im sure you will want the final say.;)

Good luck.

✭✭

So basically now your argument is that you think I was wrong 3 months ago but even though you mis-interpreted what I said in this thread as agreeing with you, you still wanted to have the argument you missed out on 3 months ago.. It must've been playing on your mind that you never argued your point the first time..
    And now you want to just say I'm wrong and your right so lets leave it at that.. Without any explanation to back up your argument or to explain why you think the state of the walls plays no part in wether lining paper should be used first.
    You can have the last word by all means,
    As long as its not "i'm right your wrong, argument over".
    Btw apologies again to the OP I didn't intend for this thread to go so far off topic but maybe it'll help them decide wether to cross line or not.
    If you want to start a thread re the function of lining paper cardwizard we could debate between ourselves !!

✭✭✭

This is my last word on this, again.:p

You can't tell one poster not to bother to line, and another its what you always recommend, thats paraphrased. This doesnt make sense in anyones book

Prephaps you would like to read this link below or prehaps not. Its from a colleague of mine.

Again you try to make it personal with your remarks, attack the post if you wish.

http://www.colour-republic.com/blog_decorators_why_use_lining_paper.html

✭✭

I'm the one who's made it personal but you jumped into this thread just to accuse me of contradicting myself.
    This next quote is from your friends blog you asked me to have a look at.
    "The different types of wallpaper are immense and it is true that not all types of wallpaper require a lining paper."
    And this is what I said in the thread 3 months ago:
    "I wouldn't cross line the wall unless its required as it has to be left to dry before hanging your wallpaper. Number of problems from papering over just hung lining paper. Unless you want him coming twice then by all means."

your unwarranted and unjustified accusation that I am contradicting myself feel quite personal to me but your arguments are changing from one thing to another.
    You think you should advise somebody to cross line before hanging paper regardless of the state of the walls or the type of paper being used.. Your friend doesn't agree as his quote above shows.
    I think the paper hanger who looks at the walls and the paper he is going to hang should make that call.
    Your friends blog talks about non-woven paper shrinking after being hung but I don't think you can put all non-woven papers in the same boat, but this is something I've noticed much more from the thin and cheaper wallpapers so in their case I'd agree, but if you look at the pics I posted you'll see a very high quality non woven paper that does not require cross lining first and didn't shrink.
    The advice I gave that made you jump in was regarding the wallpaper being used not the walls as I cannot see the walls.
    I look forward to your final word..

✭✭✭

So you advice has being...

1. Don't bother to line the walls.
    2. Always line the walls.
    3. Sometimes line the walls.
    4. Ask the decorator.

Does it depend which way the wind is blowing.;)

✭✭

So you advice has being...

1. Don't bother to line the walls.
    2. Always line the walls.
    3. Sometimes line the walls.
    4. Ask the decorator.

Does it depend which way the wind is blowing.;)

Those 4 statements you've posted are your words.. Would you like to copy and paste where I've said any of that..
    Your really starting to annoy me now by trying to change my advice to suit your accusations.. And I'm sick of having to explain simple english to somebody who is obviously not prepared to listen or try to understand..
    My original post re lining paper was regarding a thread where someone wanted to know cost of having 2 rolls of paper hung.. Someone gave a price but said it might be a little more if cross lining.
    I as quoted in my last post said not to cross line unless its required as you can't line and paper over in the same day..
    Not the same as 1 don't bother lining the walls.
    Then in this thread I said I would recommend lining when using cheap or thin paper without explaining details of why..
    Not the same as 2 always line the walls.
    3 sometimes line the walls is similar to my advice as I said when required which is sometimes
    And 4, I do agree with ask the decorator as he will see the paper and the walls and not mr know it all cardwizard who asks me to read a blog about lining paper that contradicts his own views.
    Then cos he knows he's argued himself into a corner with noway of winnings his arguement he decides to change my advice into 4 statements non of which I actually made.
    You should be a politician cardwizard or maybe write for a tabloid newspaper

✭✭✭

Thks I am good.:D But in essence that was your advice.

Do you want to shake hands and call it a narrow victory for me:rolleyes:.

Cya around.

✭✭

And before you come back with another route of trying to twist my words give me a quote where I say your number 1 Don't bother to line the walls
    If you can't do that don't cone back with anything else

✭✭

Thks I am good.:D But in essence that was your advice.

Do you want to shake hands and call it a narrow victory for me:rolleyes:.

Cya around.

Fair enough.. Congrats on your victory

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 yop
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

Cardwizard and DublinDIYGuy - Count yourselves lucky you aren't been banned for that spat of rubbish you both posted. DublinDIYGuy you already have served a ban from this forum for personal abuse, your next ban will be permanent.
    Cardwizard you have a line of bans, so you too won't be back on this forum if I come across anything like this again.

✭✭

I agree, it was a spat of rubbish but if you were accused of saying something you didn't say I'm sure you would also defend yourself.. In hindsite I should've asked cardwizard to send a pm and delete his false accusation and we should've had our rediculous discussion privately..
    Apologies, I hope nobody else bothered to read it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 AgathaC

Yeah their shop is in Dublin. It's all on their facebook page..

Hey, Thanks for the recommendation, went into their showroom today and it's a great place, just what I was looking for. Couldn't decide which wallpaper I wanted but have a few weeks to decide anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 roroliam
    ✭✭

The best shop in Limerick for wallpaper .......J.C.Daly,William street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 mackes
    ✭✭

Colourworx just off the Parkway roundabout have beautiful (if expensive) wallpapers that I regularly go in and drool over...

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.