Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pool Table & a Pint - City Centre

• 25-01-2013 4:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Is there anywhere in the city centre where ye can have a pint and play a game of pool?

I called the Trinity Bar but they don't have the table anymore so looking for something around O'Connell Street/Temple Bar area.

I know The Palace have a pool table but any other options out there?

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

There have been plenty of threads on this before if you search for them.

Of top of my head
    Fibber Magee's and Woolshed on Parnell st
    The living room around the corner from there
    The Palace on Wexford street

• Registered Users Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

There have been plenty of threads on this before if you search for them.

Of top of my head
    Fibber Magee's and Woolshed on Parnell st
    The living room around the corner from there
    The Palace on Wexford street

Thanks pete, yea I've searched but they're all 2/3 years old so wasn't sure if they still had the pool tables.

Cheers for the heads up on Fibber Magee's & Woolshed, will check them out

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Nodster

Oil Can Harry's on Lower Mount Street for pool n' pints ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

Frank Ryan's in Smithfield. Great little boozer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭YumCha

Hacienda Bar on Little Mary Street - if you can get in ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

Carr & O'Connell on Bachelor's Walk...lovely pub with a nice pool table and doesn't be that busy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

YumCha wrote: »

If you can find it!! Great little bar though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

strand house at the five lamps has one

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Break for the Border aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Palace - loads of tables.
    Woolshed - one table.
    Downstairs in Bruxelles? One table.
    The Living Room - Two tables.
    Murrays - One table?
    Fibbers - two tables.

And the others that have been mentioned. I wish more places had a pool table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Only opens after 8 at night.

Also you have to be buzzed in and if Shay doesn't like the look of you or doesn't feel like it, you don't get in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

McGrattans off Baggot Street has a couple of tables; nice pub too!
    The Palace is only place I know of with big American pool tables.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

MarkMc wrote: »
    If you can find it!! Great little bar though

What is the deal with that place? Was in there a couple of Fridays back. Really liked it, buzzed in - owner came and let us in. Seems a really nice guy, bit of an old hippy vibe about him. Nice friendly vibe about the place, played winner stays on in the pool room. Good mix of customers from older locals to students in the local DIT. Not for haters of Rod Stewart though - sounded like he had his greatest hits on shuffle.

Will definitely be back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭YumCha

Only opens after 8 at night.

Also you have to be buzzed in and if Shay doesn't like the look of you or doesn't feel like it, you don't get in.

I'm not seeing any downsides there... :D

Also the first time I went, Shay gave us all a card so we didn't have to go through 20 questions at the door next time... Making sure I hang onto that!

Its proper cool. Great place for Celeb watching too ;) He gets some huge stars in there when they're in Dublin, have a look at the photos on the wall next time you're there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I'm not seeing any downsides there... :D

Also the first time I went, Shay gave us all a card so we didn't have to go through 20 questions at the door next time... Making sure I hang onto that!

Ah it's a nice place alright - just wouldn't be the place to organise to meet up with a load of people as you're not guaranteed to get in.

Cheers for all the suggestions, will keep my busy :D

Sound job..!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Is that owned by Mick Wallace? I was in there once on a sunday i think it was.

Hilly Bill wrote: »

Is that owned by Mick Wallace? I was in there once on a sunday i think it was.

Afaik no. Its run by a guy called shay, pretty sure he owns it too

• Registered Users Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

The Longstone on Townsend St, just across from Pearse St Garda station. They've one in the smoking area, which itself is a grand auld spot.

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    The Longstone on Townsend St, just across from Pearse St Garda station. They've one in the smoking area, which itself is a grand auld spot.

Yep, its grand. Owned by the same people who own Fibbers, Murrays, The Living Room and Czech Inn

Here's a fairly comprehensive list for anyone else looking for tables around the city centre

http://publin.ie/category/facilities/pool/

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Cheers for the heads up on Fibber Magee's & Woolshed, will check them out

The table at the woolshed is not and its pretty busy. If you were planning on going on your own its good as you'll always have someone to play but if you wanted to play with a buddy then your unlikely to have match table time during peak times. Pitchers of beer for €10 make up for that though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mr Whirly

The Palace on Camden Street have dropped their prices to €5 an hour for a table and pints are €3.50. I think the drinks deal is between 5 and 9 on weekdays. Not too sure about the weekend. Pool is that price all the time.