Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda shot in Bellurgan Co.Louth.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Garda seriously injured according to thejournal.ie
    http://www.thejournal.ie/shooting-credit-union-dundalk-770297-Jan2013/

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,433 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I'm closing this thread for the moment. I'm sure you can understand and it will be reopened as soon as is possible.

For the sake of those involved please do not start new threads on the subject.

EDIT/ RTE have now reported that the detective involved has sadly passed away. Sincere condolences to family and friends.

The thread has been reopened. Do not speculate on events as this could prejudice any legal proceedings and will mean the thread will be closed. Please be respectful in any contribution.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

Local paper report via Facebook
    It has been confirmed that the Garda shot in a botched raid earlier this evening has died. The raid took place at approximately 9.30pm at the Lordship Credit Union. The Garda that was killed was believed to have been escorting a security van to the credit union.
    The Dundalk Democrat understand that four armed men were waiting outside to rob the credit union and moved to hold up staff at gunpoint as they were leaving work.
    One of the two detectives approached the raiders and was shot dead.
    His colleague was not injured.
    The raiders fled the scene in what is believed to have been a dark-coloured car.
    Gardaí are still trying to establish the circumstances surrounding the shooting and are appealing for anyone with information to contact them at Dundalk Garda Station on 042 938840 or via the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111.
    The area has been sealed off, the PSNI have been informed and gardaí are now trying to establish if subversives, dissidents, or members of a criminal gang are involved.
    The Garda Commissioner has offered his condolences to the detective's family on their loss and is due to travel to Dundalk.
    https://www.facebook.com/DundalkDemocrat

Terrible stuff.

May he RIP.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,683 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Sickening to hear of such a thing, may he rest in peace.

I'll never forget in my teenage years when I heard Gerry McCabe had been murdered. I was gob-smacked that such a thing could occur to a member of the force, but even now when I know how bad the world can be, it still shocks me to hear of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭hellboy99

My sincere sympathies to the family, friends and colleagues of this Garda, R.I.P

About time the Gardaí were armed!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Heard about this last night. Not much you can say really other than I pray to God their caught!

RIP Garda Donohoe

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Adrian was a big gentle giant who lived for his family and The local GAA team he was a committee member and a member of a Joe Ward winning team, very sad news for his family friends and fellow Gardaì.
    Reports are that two of the 4 suspects were arrested in Whitehall early this morning.
    RIP to a really nice guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 MA.OL.

What terrible news to hear a Garda shot on duty. RIP Det Garda Donoghue. Sincere sympathy to his family friends and colleagues. My thoughts and prayers are also with the other Garda involved in the incident.
    Hopefully now the government especially Minister Alan Shatter will show some respect for the difficult job these guards do morning noon and night and stop cutting Garda numbers resources and pay.
    Hopefully this event is the last not the start of a terrible escalation of the crime spree that seems to have been building.
    We should all show our support for our police force.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 ordinaryhuman

Today I find myself inspired by that mans bravery. I will visit my local Garda station later today and leave in a letter of admiration for their work and a tin of biscuits and a box of teabags.

Thank you to all who stand for justice and keeping us safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭mickey mac

hellboy99 wrote: »
    My sincere sympathies to the family, friends and colleagues of this Garda, R.I.P

He was armed, but the robbers were ruthless killers.

hellboy99 wrote: »

As above, he was armed and it didn't help.

Is there any more news about suspects or arrests?

It has been reported on RTE News tonight that Gardai are investigating a line of enquiry that the killers of Det. Donohoe were a local criminal gang. If that is correct, people in this town will know who they are and need to come forward to the Gardai with the information to bring these people to justice. Contact Dundalk Gardai on 0429335577 or confidential line 1800 666 111.

Link: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Argus-Dundalk/106975352688599

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Gardaì now believe the gang are Locals, they escaped with €4000, let there be no hiding place for these scum, Adrian never had a chance to defend himself, shot at close range.
    Poor honest good living man may he Rest in Peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Ironic that it's the same week we are closing 95 Garda stations. Gardai will have even less resources next time.

(but at least we're in the good books with our unsecured junior bondholders!)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭andrew1977

macadam wrote: »
    Gardaì now believe the gang are Locals, they escaped with €4000, let there be no hiding place for these scum, Adrian never had a chance to defend himself, shot at close range.
    Poor honest good living man may he Rest in Peace.

Disgusting beyond belief when look at it. 4000 euro for a family deprived of their dad and husband .

I hope whoever knows anything about the culprits have the human decency and backbone not to stay quiet, but to come forward to the gardai.

Scotty # wrote: »
    Ironic that it's the same week we are closing 95 Garda stations. Gardai will have even less resources next time.

(but at least we're in the good books with our unsecured junior bondholders!)

If only he hadn't had to pay the pension levy, maybe he wouldn't have been killed. It's nothing to do with money or resources ffs.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,683 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Guys, try to keep the politics out of the thread, thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Scotty #

If only he hadn't had to pay the pension levy, maybe he wouldn't have been killed. It's nothing to do with money or resources ffs.
    The investigation does. I wasn't suggesting the crime itself had.

Anyway, for a different thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I cannot make it to Dundalk to sign the Book of Condolence there.
    Does anyone know if there is one in Drogheda presently or soon?

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Mylow

Biggins wrote: »
    I cannot make it to Dundalk to sign the Book of Condolence there.
    Does anyone know if there is one in Drogheda presently or soon?

Yes, in the Tholsel. Bit awkward for anyone working outside the town as the Tholsel is only open Monday to Saturday 9.30am - 5.30pm NB Closed on Saturdays (December to April)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Mylow wrote: »
    Yes, in the Tholsel. Bit awkward for anyone working outside the town as the Tholsel is only open Monday to Saturday 9.30am - 5.30pm NB Closed on Saturdays (December to April)

Went this morning, thanks again.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,433 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I hope that the communal spirit that was so evident from so many different communities today will provide ongoing comfort to Caroline, their children and Adrian's extended family.

It was an absolutely beautiful and impressive send-off by An Garda Síochána and I feel honoured to have been there. An incredible display of solidarity, surety and force. Between this and what I've heard over the last few days I've no doubt that arrests and prosecutions will follow.

Very proud of Dundalk,Louth and Ireland for a wonderful turnout yesterday.
    Thank you Garda Donohoe for your excellent years of service to this town and community.You served us well.

Glad too see also that a Garda Commissioner has been assigned to this case ala Gillagan.

Strong eulogy from the Redemptorist father today and very true too.

RIP Detective Garda Donohoe.

d-garda-donohoe-3-2-310x415-300x200.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

As a catholic I've little time for the church at the best of times but that priest today has made me think. He was outstanding and saw Adrian off well!

A very proud day for the town under the circumstances. It's one for the history books and we can all hold our heads high in countering the minority of evil that lives amongst us.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Dundalk and Ireland gave Adrian a fitting sendoff. For once our national flag was used for a man who deserved it.
    Agree with above sentiments about priests strong eulogy, just hope Enda Kenny was listening and not playing on his phone again.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Some rumours which would be shocking if true are flying about in Dundalk the last few hours regarding the raiders who done this being found in Ravensdale forest. Anyone know if there is any truth to them?

@LMFMRADIO: Contrary to reports on social media NO bodies have been found shot dead in Ravensdale. Gardai have confirmed the reports are unfounded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

delly wrote: »
    Sickening to hear of such a thing, may he rest in peace.

I'll never forget in my teenage years when I heard Gerry McCabe had been murdered. I was gob-smacked that such a thing could occur to a member of the force, but even now when I know how bad the world can be, it still shocks me to hear of it.

I was very near there at the time, I remember it well, I was shocked then.

Its terrible to say I have stopped listening to the news, and I heard a vague report of someone being shot, but didnt realise it was a Gardai in connection with an armed robbery, days later I saw it in a paper in a shop.
    I just dont think there is the same level of shock and outrage as there was back then. It doesnt really matter if it was 4000 or a million.
    I was stunned to hear it seems they lay in wait? what weapons were they armed with?
    There seems to be a level of lack of will to deal with these types, I mean politicians may sound off, but the people that are affected by it still suffer (any one else that deals with it or happens to be in the vicinity).

Im more shocked that there isnt more being said.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 223 ✭✭RiskItAllRick

Just drove home from Cooley two check points at bellurgan and Cooley credit unions which I can understand as it was a week ago. I have also heard the rumours about the bodies but must not be true according to the last post

Merch wrote: »
    I was very near there at the time, I remember it well, I was shocked then.

Its terrible to say I have stopped listening to the news, and I heard a vague report of someone being shot, but didnt realise it was a Gardai in connection with an armed robbery, days later I saw it in a paper in a shop.
    I just dont think there is the same level of shock and outrage as there was back then. It doesnt really matter if it was 4000 or a million.
    I was stunned to hear it seems they lay in wait? what weapons were they armed with?
    There seems to be a level of lack of will to deal with these types, I mean politicians may sound off, but the people that are affected by it still suffer (any one else that deals with it or happens to be in the vicinity).

Im more shocked that there isnt more being said.

There is plenty being said but not here > http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056865104