Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's all about racing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Monday 30th Dec - 5.15 miles @ 8:07 pace
    Same route as Saturday's long run but I just ran one loop. This run started off as a very heavy legged and tired affair but after about 2.5 miles, my legs seemed to just suddenly wake up and I spent the rest of the run holding myself back.

Tuesday 31st Dec - 23 mins recovery run @ 9:10 pace
    A great run to finish off the year after yet another alcohol fuelled night!

That's it. The end of 2013. Only 955 miles covered for the year but hopefully things are looking up for 2014. I'll pen down some goals for the year later.

Not much to review in 2013. The year started off well and I was full of optimism for some good times and solid mileage. Unfortunately, the highlight of 2013 came in March - A very satisfying 17:55 at the MSB 5k. After that I got to represent my club in the national relays. I was on the B team and was way out of my depth but I really enjoying competing at the same time. I only actually raced 3 times in 2013! The other race was the Raheny 5 in January where I bagged a 31:15 pb (first time effort at 5 mile!). A persistent and annoying ankle injury basically ended the rest of my year and a recommendation of surgery had me contemplating what my running future would look like. However, I got a reasonably solid November and December in and am trying to just manage the injury as best I can for now. Learning to train with it and really listening to my body is the biggest single challenge for next year.

So what exactly are the goals for 2014? To be honest, I haven't made any in terms of times and mileage etc! Training consistently is the aim. Realistically, I'm not going to be doing big mileage. If I can find a way of getting 30+ miles per week on a consistent basis, I'll be happy. And if I can do that, pb's will come - I'm sure of it. Instead, I'm going to make a series of short term goals. So here goes for January:

• 115 miles (105 covered in December)
    • Sub 32 in the Raheny 5
    • Compete in a Parkrun!
    • Get another 2 quality sessions done
    • Get back into yoga - get to 4 classes
    Best of luck to everyone for 2014 and keep up all the good work and enjoyment.

Wednesday 1st January - 5.13 miles @ 8:17 pace
    Started off the new year well with a nice easy run. Can't remember a whole lot about the run only that I was getting stronger and faster as it went along.

Took a couple of days off after this as the ankle was starting to act up and I'd planned to do my first parkrun today.

Saturday 4th January - Parkrun
    Headed down to Marley park for my debut in the Parkrun. I have to say it was excellently organised and the whole event seemed to run off without any problems. Fair play to all the volunteers - it's not the easiest thing to forego a Saturday morning sleep in to stand around in those freezing conditions.

So my run wasn't great. Started off far too fast and suffered very badly after the first mile. I finished 22nd but must have been overtaken by at least 10 runners in the last mile. The splits tell their own story really. I was planning to run at about 6:10/15 pace and finish around 19:15/30 so my finishing time of 19:33 is ok. I just went about getting it absolutely arse ways:eek:

Splits were: 5:48, 6:30, 6:29 and last .13 @ 6:30

Nice to have a marker down all the same and I've recovered pretty quickly after it. Also great to be back racing again:cool:.The plan sets a long run for tomorrow but I'll see how the legs recover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Good 1st race of the year. That 1st mile tells it's own story! But it's better to do that at a Park run than at a race.
    Betcha you'll be doing all 3 miles at 5:50 fairly soon though.

Good 1st race of the year. That 1st mile tells it's own story! But it's better to do that at a Park run than at a race.
    Betcha you'll be doing all 3 miles at 5:50 fairly soon though.

I think it was the first 800 meters that did the real damage. It's so long since I've raced, I think I just got a little over excited! My first km was 3:37:(:(

Anyway, I'm in no rush back to averaging 5:50 pace so you're safe enough for a while yet;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Now that's a painful way to race a 5k!! Good performance though and a nice return to racing.

Sunday 5th Jan - 9 miles @ 8:20
    Didn't know if I'd be able to do a long run on Sunday after the Park run Saturday but one of the lads in the club was doing 9 miles and that was just fine for me. Felt very easy throughout apart from tight calves after about 6 miles. Good week for me overall with 29 miles, a park run and a longish run complete.

Tuesday 7th - 3.7 miles @ 8:40
    Very easy run tonight to shake out the legs. They've been quite stiff since Sunday. I was meant to go to a yoga class but couldn't resist a light run instead. :rolleyes:

Wednesday 8th - 5.2 miles @ 8:10 pace

Was going to do this run a bit quicker but the ankle has been giving me a lot of trouble since the weekend so took the sensible option and kept the pace easy.

Thursday 9th - 3.7 miles @ 8:45 pace

Did this nice and easy with the OH. Decided to keep all my runs easy this week due to the swelling around my ankle and think (hope) it's settled down a bit.

Saturday 11th - 3.5 miles @ 9:00 pace with 90 mins Bikram yoga

Wasn't planning to run quite so slow but the amount of ice on the road in the early morning forced me to slow down in places. Went straight into a Bikram yoga class after. First time I've done one and found it good. Plenty of balance work which has to be good for the ankle.

Planning a long run tomorrow.

Sunday 12th - 12 mile @ 8:07

I was down home at the folks place for my Mam's birthday today. My god, what a horrible day in the west of Ireland. I woke up to rain smashing against the window and it hasn't let up all day. Nothing for it but to get out and face it. I was soaked through after 5 mins and really just wanted to get this done and finished. As a result, I probably went a little too quick given it's only my second time running this distance. Nonetheless, I was reasonably comfortable throughout. Last two miles were tough but I was weighting an extra stone at that stage with all my soaking clothes. Happy to get it done and finish off the week with 28 miles.

Tuesday 14th Jan

I've decided to give morning runs a try. I'd think it will help leave time for other stuff in the evenings like my social life, study and possibly even a yoga class or other stuff which may help my general fitness. So started Tuesday morning with a very easy 3.7mile at 9:00 pace.

Wednesday 15th Jan

Ran over to my girlfriend's place in the PM with a bag on my back but felt full of energy. Picked up the pace for a couple of miles in the middle hitting a 7:18 and 7:30 miles. Nothing too fast but given the pace I've been doing most of my runs lately,it felt like I was flying!! 4.8miles @ 7:51 pace

Thursday 16th Jan

Ran back from my girlfriend's in the AM but took a shorter route and kept the pace nice and slow. 3.2 miles @ 8:50 pace.

I'm planning to take on the Park Run again this Saturday. I wanna do a bit of speed work and also want to eradicate the last time from my mind. Doubts of runnnig even sub 32 mins in Raheny are starting to creep in since that run so I'd like to run the same time (or maybe a little faster) with less effort this time around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Cleanman wrote: »
    Tuesday 14th Jan

Wednesday 15th Jan

Ran over to my girlfriend's place in the PM with a bag on my back but felt full of energy. Picked up the pace for a couple of miles in the middle hitting a 7:18 and 7:30 miles. Nothing too fast but given the pace I've been doing most of my runs lately,it felt like I was flying!! 4.8miles @ 7:51 pace

Thursday 16th Jan

Ran back from my girlfriend's in the AM but took a shorter route and kept the pace nice and slow. 3.2 miles @ 8:50 pace.

Good night so?? :D:D

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Good night so?? :D:D

Reading AMK's log has me posting TMI I suppose. Now who's the cheeky b***ks!

Saturday 18th - Park Run Marley Park

Back to Marley park this morning and my aim was to run much smarter than two weeks ago, post a slightly faster time and just in general feel a lot better about my fitness as a result. What a horrible morning. It was wet, cold and really messy down there. So again, much appreciation to the volunteers. There were massive pools of water everywhere and lots of dirt in the forested area too. I got caught a bit by surprise by the start as I was chatting to the guy next to me, trying to explain the route! But that was ok as I was planning to start a lot lot slower than last week. Got into a comfortable rhythm pretty quickly and 3:55 was called out as I passed the 1k mark. Perfect. The second K is through a forested area and was pretty messy and congested so I sat back and took my time on this section. Was still feeling pretty comfortable and passed the 2k mark at 7:48. Still nicely on target. The third k is tough and is up hill nearly all the way. I was starting to dig deep here and it took 4 minutes to cover this part. Still, I was going ok as nobody was passing me and I was picking off one or two all the time. The race really started for me in the last 2k which is exactly what I wanted. I continued to pass one or two and had a great battle with one guy in the last 500 meters. He won out in the end, showing up my lack of fitness but I was very happy to see the time of 19:18 on the garmin at the end. The mile splits were:

6:11, 6:23, 6:01 and 5:45 for the last part.

So very happy with this run. I have a bit to go yet but slow progress is what I'm looking for right now. I'm also a lot happier than I can achieve sub 32 next week. Longish run tomorrow.

Sunday 19th Jan - LSR

10 miles this morning around PP with two of the lads from the club. Pace was generally kept very slow but it picked up a bit in the last two miles, despite the heavy legs after yesterdays run. Very happy to get it done. 10 miles @ 8:36 pace.

Afterwards, we decided to head down to Bray and did the cliff walk to Greystones. I've never done it before, very nice indeed and the weather was perfect for it.

Third week in a row getting 28/29 miles on 5 days running. That's the kind of consistency I've been looking for. Starting to feel a lot more positive about my running again. :):):)

Tuesday 21 Jan

AM - Easy run. Still getting used to these runs! I was half asleep leaving the flat but was quickly wide awake while hurtling plodding down the street. Lovely morning for it though. 3.7 miles @ 8:20 pace

PM - Yoga. Jogged down to yoga (only 500 meters but they all count:rolleyes:) and got 75 minutes of stretching and strengthening work that been badly missing in my training over the last while. Finished off the day with a 500 meter jog home!

So you ran 3 times in one day and didn't even cover 5 miles :)
    Digger would be proud.

So you ran 3 times in one day and didn't even cover 5 miles :)
    Digger would be proud.

That's pretty much it yeah. And to make it worse, I'm a little sore today:o

No more slagging you off about not having a job when I can find time to train (technically) four times in one day!!

Wednesday 22 Jan

I had a vague plan to run a couple of quicker miles on this run but had nothing too specific in mind. The minute I got out the door, I felt great so I didn't try to fight it and went with whatever pace felt comfortable. It ended up being a bit of a (unintentional) progression run and I felt like I could have kept going at the pace (7m/m) of my last mile for a lot longer. I was determined to make it to 5 miles on this run too as I didn't want to upset the hard men marathoners on this forum:p Splits were as follows:

7:47, 7:34, 7:08, 6:56, 8:00

One note to make is that I got stopped at about 3 or 4 traffic lights along the way on this run on the canal so I had a couple of 15/20 sec "recoveries"!

Thursday 23 Jan

Another early morning trot and I think I'm starting to get used to them. I actually almost enjoyed this one! Can't wait till we get a bit of sunlight pre 7am though. 3.2 miles @ 8:50 pace.

For Saturaday, I plan to get an easy 4 miler done before Sunday. Big plans for Sunday evening then. I've managed to stay away from both chocolate and alcohol since new years day. The chocolate bit is a huge achievement for me. So come 3:40 or so on Sunday, I plan to be digging into the yummy goody bag we're promised and follow that with a big steak dinner and a few glasses of wine with my gf. Can't bloody wait:cool::cool::cool:

Sounds like you're all set for Sunday - just remember to stay in your own gaff Saturday night if you're looking for a PB :cool:

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Sounds like you're all set for Sunday - just remember to stay in your own gaff Saturday night if you're looking for a PB :cool:

That sounds like an experienced voice right there! I'll see what I can do. I won't be going for a pb anyway so I reckon chocolate and alcohol were enough to give up for Jan:D

I reckon chocolate and alcohol were enough to give up for Jan:D

Thanks for sharing that :D:D

Saturday 25 Jan

Very easy 4 miles this morning with a few strides thrown in to make sure the legs are awake. Looking forward to tomorrow. Best of luck to all taking part.

4 miles @ 8:38 pace

Best of luck Sunday. Going to be a close run thing amongst a fair few boardsies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

@Cleanman aka theFilthyFecker :)

Best of luck and enjoy it.

TbL

Best of luck tomorrow - will see you there :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Best of luck. Sounds like there'll be a lovely day for it.

Thanks for all the support. The weather doesn't look any worse than last year so at least times should be easily comparable.

It's a real pity that AMK felt like he had to head off to greener pastures for fear of a showdown;) and that RQ is not going to be there with her famous cakes:rolleyes: but there'll be other days for both:D:D

@Cleanman aka theFilthyFecker :)

Best of luck and enjoy it.

TbL

Slanderous and insulting. That is all.;)

'Story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

'Story?

He seemed happy after the race

'Story?

31:59:99 by my garmin (I kid you not!) and 32:00 official. I reckon the official time was rounded up so I'm claiming the sub 32:D:D I'll put up a report here later when I get a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done! Looking forward to the report.

Sunday 26 Jan - Raheny 5 mile

So this run was the short term focus since coming back from my ankle injury. I had said at the beginning of December that if I could come in under 32 mins with limited training, then I'd be happy and it would make running all the more enjoyable! The training has been ok. I've been doing as much as I feel I can but the injury has been pretty uncomfortable at times. Two parkrun's in the last few weeks have indicated that I should be in contention for a sub 32 so I was going into this run full of expectations.

Anyway, I got down to Raheny at 2 o'clock and met Marthastew and Mr Stew and was introduced to Career Move and a few more non boardies. After a few minutes chatting and generally hiding in the hall away from the wind outside, we eventually decided it was time for a warm up. It was windy out but it wasn't awful.

Before long, I was standing beside Mr Stew waiting for the gun to go off. He suggested that I move up a few places and I should have listened to him because the first half mile was a right pain. Weaving, slowing and speeding up again before I eventually got into a comfortable rhythm. I turned onto the Howth road and was immediately hit by the wind. This is going to be fun! Hit the first mile in 6:22 though. Absolutely perfect.

Then I realised both my laces were open! I had bent down in the pin to double knot both shoes before the race but somehow didn't tie either shoe properly and I knew it too because I remember starting to bend down to re tie them before just thinking that I was nervous and to relax. What a knob! Know I had two sets of laces slapping off the road and back against my shins. I thought about pulling over and tucking them into my shoes but knew they weren't going to open because as least they were double tied. Then I was nervous that someone would stand on them and I'd ruin both my race and at least one other person's race with a nasty fall on the concrete. Ah just forget about it Cleanman and concentrate! I don't know if it was this or the wind or race inexperience, but my second mile was a lot slower at 6:30.

Seeing the split woke me up a bit and I started motoring again. The third mile went without any hiccups and I felt much more in control. I remember looking at my watch at the 3 mile sign but don't remember the time but turns out I covered it in 6:21.

I was feeling strong in mile 4 with the wind behind me and ran alongside another runner and we were encouraging each other to keep working and try to catch the group ahead. It wasn't until we hit the corner and started climbing the hill that we caught them. The hill seemed to hit everyone really hard, including my companion, as I caught and immediately pushed on past about 5 or 6 runners. Mile 4 was a 6:13 but I didn't realise it at the time as I was just concentrating on working hard!

I met my girlfriend here and she gave me a huge roar of encouragement and I was feeling really strong. I was convinced I was going to push on. I did just that and passed a few more runners who seemed to be shattered after the hill. The strong feeling continued until I hit All Saints road with about 1k to go. And then, all of a sudden, I started to wilt. Negative thoughts started creeping in. You haven't worked hard enough, not enough speed work, not strong enough, the injury is holding you back etc etc! I had to try and banish those awful thoughts and just concentrate on keeping up to the Raheny lady directly in front of me. I don't remember much more until about 200 to go, just generally hanging on to the white and green singlet and wanting, no, begging, the finish line to come. Then a guy in blue passed me. I have nothing I thought! All of a sudden, it's almost like it was a revolutionary thought, I realised that if I sprinted, I'd be finished quicker:confused::confused:. So off I took, a full out sprint. Where did this come front?? Was passing runners at a rate of knots now. I must have gone past nearly 10 in the last 100 metres. Pump the arms man, pump them, lift those knees, come on.....nearly there. Oh maaaaannnn, thank god that's over.

I look down at my watch and it reads 31:59:99!!! Ha, thank god I had that sprint in me or it was a definite 32:0x run. But I'd have to wait for the official time to know if I had come in under the 32. (The official result was 32:00!!). I'm taking that as a sub 32 (due to rounding) and job done:D:D

Looking back, my last mile, despite the spontaneous and unexpected sprint, was only 6:27 so it shows how badly I was starting to suffer. I just can't understand why more runners didn't pass me here!

So job done for now. A light warm down followed by most of the contents of the lovely goody bag before heading out for a big steak dinner and a few well earned pints. 26 days without chocolate, alcohol or eating out and boy, didn't I enjoy all three!!

It was great to meet Marthastew, Mr Stew and CM. It was a pity I didn't get to meet other boardies but there'll be other days....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Great report and race. Can't have been easy running with open laces - funny how that always happens to the men :rolleyes: :D

Nice meeting you and your girlfriend and thanks again for the lift :D

Great report Cleanman and well done on the sub 32 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

I can empathize with the laces (have done it in two of my last three races :o). Fair play man and solid running. I know you are discouraged with your last mile split I know you aren't to happy but there is a simple reason why no one passed you despite it being a slow mile, that mile was a b!iatch starting with the climb up watermill road turning into the wind, was my slowest mile to by nearly 20 seconds.

Great start to the year after the injury and you will certainly push on from here

Great report and race. Can't have been easy running with open laces - funny how that always happens to the men :rolleyes: :D

Nice meeting you and your girlfriend and thanks again for the lift :D
    It must be all the multi tasking we have to do before a race. It messes with our ability to preform the simplest of tasks!
    ecoli wrote: »
    I can empathize with the laces (have done it in two of my last three races :o). Fair play man and solid running. I know you are discouraged with your last mile split I know you aren't to happy but there is a simple reason why no one passed you despite it being a slow mile, that mile was a b!iatch starting with the climb up watermill road turning into the wind, was my slowest mile to by nearly 20 seconds.

Great start to the year after the injury and you will certainly push on from here
    Cheers ecoli. CM told me about your mishap before the race. Hope you're ok after it. The last mile is very deceiving alright. At least you know Rotterdam doesn't have a final mile like that;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Cheers ecoli. CM told me about your mishap before the race. Hope you're ok after it. The last mile is very deceiving alright. At least you know Rotterdam doesn't have a final mile like that;)

Ah yeah breathing still a little messed up but hopefully that is just swelling and nothing more. Have ran this race I think 6 times and that last mile always tough enough (mind you the wind the last two years has made it a complete nightmare). If Rotterdam was like that I would probably turn around the last mile and find myself the nearest pub :D

ecoli wrote: »
    Ah yeah breathing still a little messed up but hopefully that is just swelling and nothing more. Have ran this race I think 6 times and that last mile always tough enough (mind you the wind the last two years has made it a complete nightmare). If Rotterdam was like that I would probably turn around the last mile and find myself the nearest pub :D
    And I've only run it for the last 2 years so I can't wait to come back on a calm day:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Fantastic race from you T, I'm thrilled for you:D Sounds like you enjoyed a very well deserved celebratory evening afterwards.

Great work, pity about the laces.....gob****e.....oh wait!

You're ticking along nicely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great report - congratulations and well done !

Tuesday 28th Jan

AM - 3.7miles @ 8:40 pace. Don't remember much about this run. I was cold, tired and my quads were a little sore to begin with but I think all was ok after the first mile:)

PM - Yoga. Going to try and keep going to this for a few weeks at least. Tough going.

Wednesday 29 Jan

I very nearly slept in for this run. I was very very tired getting out of bed but I was fine once I got going. 5 miles @ 8:35 average although the first two miles were 9:17 and 9:12. The last three were a lot quicker.

I've signed up for a 10 weeks of "Bootcamp" with work starting next Wednesday so I'll use that and yoga to augment my running for February.

Thursday 30 Jan

A very tired 3.7 miles this morning at about 8:40 pace. Started off with a ridiculously slow first mile but the legs started to wake up after that.

So that's me done for January. Overall, a successfull month. My main aims for the month were to cover 115 miles, get sub 32 in Raheny and run a parkrun. I managed to hit the 115 miles, ran 31:59:99 in Raheny :D and did two parkruns (a 19:33 and 19:20). Happy overall. The injury has flared up from time to time and is particularly swollen this week since Raheny so I'm going to take a few days off. I'm going to London tomorrow and although I'll bring the runners, I won't do anything if I don't feel it's a good idea.

I've no particular aims for February yet. CM asked me on Sunday what my next race was and I actually couldn't tell her! I think I'll focus on the MSB 5k on Paddy's weekend. I love that race and I've done it for the last 3 years in a row, taking a huge chuck off my pb each time. No expectations on that front this time around but I'll stick down a target on paper after the weekend and see if I can hit it!

Saturday 1 Feb

I was in London for the weekend and was staying with a friend living right beside Hyde park. Couldn't resist a morning (although very hungover) trot around Hyde park and Kensington gardens. 5.6 miles @ 8:10 pace

Monday 3 Feb

I was going to take an additional rest day as my ankle hasn't been great. But I felt guilty for foregoing my Sunday long run. I won't run again until Wednesday. The easy week last week meant the legs were really fresh for this run so spend the whole run holding myself back. 4.8 miles @ 8:05 pace

I've also been thinking of my goals over the next few weeks. MSB 5k is definitely on the cards. I'd be happy with a sub 19 there with a sub 18:45 run being a "gold medal" run.

I'm not going to put any pressure on myself in terms of miles and sessions until then. I'll see how everything feels and push a bit harder when I feel good and pull back when necessary. But I'm going to have to make sure I do a little more strengh and conditioning work to make up for times when I pull back! I'll probably do a parkrun (and maybe 2) between here and MSB.

I've also decided to look into surgery a little more. I've kind of ignored the idea over the last few months but I don't think that I can realistically keep up any kind of meaningful training without getting it done at some stage.

I seem to have been doing a lot of thinking in the pubs around London over the weekend ;)

Tuesday 4 Feb - Yoga

Wednesday 5 Feb - "Bootcamp" Basically a gym class with lots of exercises like squats, lunges, clean and press, rows etc. All done with a very light weight but it didn't stop me from having a touch of DOMS today:eek:

Thursday 6 Feb - 5.2 mile @ 8:30 pace

My first run since Monday. I needed the break and glad I took it. Gluts and hamstrings were very tight after last nights gym work but otherwise, this was a lovely run.

Are you MarthaStew............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Are you MarthaStew............

Only if he mentions cute fluffy animals and cappuccinos;)
    Although his love of chocolate is most definitely Marthastewesque:)

Marthastew wrote: »
    Only if he mentions cute fluffy animals and cappuccinos;)
    Although his love of chocolate is most definitely Marthastewesque:)

And my longest racing distance is 5 miles, not 50 miles:eek: