Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

David1994's Study log

• 27-01-2013 1:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭

Alright guys I'm Dave and I said I might aswell do one of these logs too :)
    I am aiming for 500+ in the LC and hoping to primary teaching in Mary I.

The grades I am striving towards are as follows:
    • Irish(H)-A2
    • English(H)-A1
    • Geography(H)-A1
    • Biology(H)-A2
    • Spanish(H)-B1
    • Chemistry(H)-B2/B1
    • Maths(o)-Once I pass I'm happy :L

I have been studying consistently throughout the year but I am finding chemistry the hardest so I am trying to push my average B3/B2 up higher.
    I find languages easy but still work on them to really try and prepare well for the exam. Alright thats it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭David1994

I got up at 10 and studied till now. I covered:
    Geography-Revised sedimentary rocks and agriculture in India.
    Biology-Human breathing

I find Geography fairly draining to study when I am just going over my prepared answers.Not sure if I am going to much more later but I might just go over my Irish oral notes and some grammar.

Decided to do some of the 2007 chemistry paper. Right here I go.

Had few free classes today so got a bit of work done. Now I am goin to do:

Soap experiment and trends in periodic table(Chemistry)
    Genetics
    Oisin I dtir na nOg(Irish)
    Revise sec. Activities in GDA and map of mezzogiorno

I am so tired! Having dinner now :)
    Completed biology and chemistry and will do the rest after my grub.

Got the rest if the work done quicker than I thought and honestly I am so tired.
    Relaxing for the rest of the night..Nice one!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭CookieMonster.x

David1994 wrote: »
    Alright guys I'm Dave and I said I might aswell do one of these logs too :)
    I am aiming for 500+ in the LC and hoping to primary teaching in Mary I.

The grades I am striving towards are as follows:
    • Irish(H)-A2
    • English(H)-A1
    • Geography(H)-A1
    • Biology(H)-A2
    • Spanish(H)-B1
    • Chemistry(H)-B2/B1
    • Maths(o)-Once I pass I'm happy :L

I have been studying consistently throughout the year but I am finding chemistry the hardest so I am trying to push my average B3/B2 up higher.
    I find languages easy but still work on them to really try and prepare well for the exam. Alright thats it!
    Make sure you go through the papers for chemistry, it's usually the same thing asked for each topic. I usually study a topic and then try to do the exam questions in te next few days and correct online. Usually the same calculations, too.

Thanks :) I normally do that but sometimes just study the chapter if I am in a rush.I find calculations the hardest but I am getting the hang of them.
    Just wondering what part of the course is your favourite? I would have to say organic is my least favourite yet I love fuels/heats :L

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭CookieMonster.x

Thanks :) I normally do that but sometimes just study the chapter if I am in a rush.I find calculations the hardest but I am getting the hang of them.
    Just wondering what part of the course is your favourite? I would have to say organic is my least favourite yet I love fuels/heats :L
    Sometimes I don't have time to write out questions so I just skim through the papers and mark one or two words beside a question.
    Well I like most o te course tbh although I'm not too fond of the first few chapters about the discoverers and the periodic table. I think it gets better as you go on. I love chemical equilibrium and radioactivity. I don't really mind organic chemistry too much, I think once you get your head around it it becomes a lot easier and likeable. Although I don't like the experiments that much (probably because I don't know them). The fuels chapter is a really nice chapter too! Overall I think it's actually a nice subject despite what most people say :P

What I got covered today was:
    • Human nutrition
    • Spanish comprehension
    • Fuels/heats and periodic table trends

I'm not sure if the study was that productive though as I am really tired! Nearly fell asleep during chemistry :L
    I might just get my diary entry for English done now while listening to some music :D

• Registered Users Posts: 17 cba

How much are you planning on writing for the irish poems and pros?

cba wrote: »
    How much are you planning on writing for the irish poems and pros?

Depends on the amount of time I have to work with but I probably will try and write 2.5 pages on the pros and around 2 pages for poetry.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 cba

Depends on the amount of time I have to work with but I probably will try and write 2.5 pages on the pros and around 2 pages for poetry.

wow thats loads! cr*p !! haha fair play :)

I have decided to go through atomic theory etc. in chemistry and then do some calculations.

It is so weird I have been not motivated at all to do study and my mocks are.next week :P I am usually motivated like!

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Kenbob

I have decided to go through atomic theory etc. in chemistry and then do some calculations.

It is so weird I have been not motivated at all to do study and my mocks are.next week :P I am usually motivated like!
    I feel the exact same I'm getting less motivated as it gets closer!

I finished the chemistry and did a bit of Biology exam papers. I forgot I had to do English comprehensions for homework so I did them instead of learning Geography answers :L

Now I am going watch Shameless and listen to music. Not looking forward to my pre's on Tuesday! :/

Studied Geography and Biology today:
    Did soil characteristics,soil formation processes,historic settlement and population distribution in India.

In Biology I basically did the whole of sections 1 and 2 :P
    I thought I wasted a good bit of time doing nothing but still got stuff done! :L

Roll on tomorrow..Major study of Chem and Biology will ensue.

I will be starting my study for English and Irish after the midterm will start on Monday :P Really annoyed about the mocks...some of them were way harder than the standard leaving cert ones!

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Kenbob

So were mine, even our biology teacher felt sorry for giving us the biology paper that she did!

If it goes like this in LC well I'm ****ered anyhow!

I started studying properly today for the first time since we got our holidays :L
    I covered:
    • Kingship in Macbeth
    • Bishop
    • Half my Irish essay

Just going to test myself on Macbeth and then do an Irish listening :P

Not in the mood to study but going out tonight so I suppose I better! :L
    I think I will spend today doing English and hopefully get the following done:

Bishop revised
    Essay plans and ideas done up
    Theme or Issue

Wow been a while since I have posted here :L Finding it hard to get back into properly studying since the mocks but am going to try get going anyway!

Going to do:
    Irish oral work
    Titrations revision
    Spanish vocab and learn common verbs
    Revise plath

Wow been a while since I have posted here :L Finding it hard to get back into properly studying since the mocks but am going to try get going anyway!

Going to do:
    Irish oral work
    Titrations revision
    Spanish vocab and learn common verbs
    Revise plath

So far today I have studied Photosynthesis/Respiration and corrected some of my pre mistakes.
    Now I am going to do:
    Overpopulation in Geography
    Do an Irish listening and revise 2 sraith pictiurs
    Start my English essay...Title "Story in which a charcter is old" or something like that :L

Revised 2 sraith pictiurs this morning and the anion tests for chemistry.
    Got 82% in chemistry mock and dying to see my paper on Monday! :L
    I thought I got maybe a low B because I messed up a few sections. It seems the average mark everyone got in my class was like C's so I am fairly happy.

I need to start my english essay so I will do that soon.

Did our Geography fieldwork today. Great craic like :L
    So far I have covered:
    Past tense in Spanish
    Prep of soap and clove oil experiment in Chemistry
    Fungi in Biology
    Studied a bit of my Human interaction with biomes answer

Just going to try get a bit of my English essay done now!

So far today I have covered:
    Endocrine system in Biology
    EU expansion essay and agriculture in GDA for Geography
    2 Sraith pictuirs
    Irish listening

I stayed home sick after lunch today so I got stuff studied earlier. For the past 30 minutes I have been listening to Spanish music...God! That stuff is so addictive :L
    I revised:
    • Chemistry-Soap experiment and water theory. After that I did a rates of reactions and Heats question.
    • Spanish- Did 2009 dialogue construction and the diary entry
    • Biology-Went over structure in flowering plants and few exam questions

In other news I am only waiting on English to come back..Shouldn't be too long hopefully.
    Also for anyone doing Spanish and happen to read this...For the dialogue construction and diary entries etc, do ye keep it simple and stick to the sentences given? I'm unsure if they want more complicated sentences :L

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Eva213

How are you able to fit in study midweek evenings? I just about finish the bare minimum for homework. And with grinds and an extra subject, all I want to do after homework is sleep!?

Eva213 wrote: »
    How are you able to fit in study midweek evenings? I just about finish the bare minimum for homework. And with grinds and an extra subject, all I want to do after homework is sleep!?

Well to be honest with you I don't get much homework nowadays so I basically have the evening free to study if I want! A lot of the time I feel really tired but still try get something done even if it is just doing a few exam Q's :L

Also if grinds are taken up a lot of time maybe you could drop them or just not have them as regularly? Unless you really need them of course :)
    But seriously the best thing to do is just push yourself and you will hopefully get what you want in the end!

Have my mock oral on Wednesday! :p Dunno why just want to get it over with lol. I am not going to cram too much info into my head for it-I will go in and just talk I think! :pac:
    Anyways today I covered:
    • Geography-Sedimentary rocks and practiced writing an answer on quarrying
    • English-Learned quotes for Morning Song and Child by Plath
    • Biology-Just went over enzymes
    • Chemistry-Equilibrium and types of bonding

I also practiced the Irish oral with my mum earlier and did 3 sraith pictiurs.
    Mad snow outside so might not have school tomorrow! :L

Spent yesterday just going through Irish oral notes for the oral today.
    Finished that so time to get into some serious work!

I will try and get these covered today:
    • Biology-Revise nervous system and learn cohesion-tension model
    • Geography-Revise Desert biome characterisrtics
    • English-Learn Plath quotes
    • Chemistry-Do some organic chem experiments from exam papers

Wow, I am tired. I got my biology and plath quotes revised. I also got some chemistry exam Q's done and marked them against the marking scheme.

This study log hasn't seen the light of day in a while! :P Really tired at the moment but will try and get something done.
    Hopefully get these done:
    Biology-Revise cell structure and functions
    English-Practice doing a Macbeth answer
    Chemistry-Organic chem and maybe benzoic acid experiment
    Spanish-Oral notes

Okay so the Easter studying begins :pac:
    I had a lie-in this morning and then just did 30 mins of Irish listenings to get into the swing of things.
    Here's the plan for today: (3 hours)
    • Biology-Revise cell division
    • Chemistry-Revise volatile liquid experiment and go over The Mole
    • Irish- Do a poetry exam Q.
    • Spanish-Learn 2 roleplays

Finished now. Got everything done except for the Spanish roleplays. Might do them tonight, dunno yet. :L

Got up a bit earlier today and had a break before lunch...
    Anyways so far done:
    Genetic engineering and Evolution(Biology)
    2 Spanish roleplays
    Volcanoes-Geography
    Organic chemistry and substitution reactions (Chemistry)

Have to do my English section B question now and go over my Irish and Spanish oral stuff!

Done 2 sraith pictiurs and went over my Irish oral notes.
    Here's the plan for today:
    • Irish-Learn Mo Ghra-sa answer and the poet
    • Geography-Get gathering finished in project and maybe Mezzogiorno tourism
    • English-Section B
    • Spanish-2 roleplays and myself,where i live and school notes
    • Chemistry-Volatile liquid exam Q.s

Alarm set for 9:30 but will start if I wake up earlier.

Plan for tomorrow:
    Geography-Mezzogiorno tertiary activities
    Irish-S.P 9 and spend 30 mins practicing oral answers
    English-Section B completed
    Spanish-Oral practice
    Chemistry-Electrolysis
    Biology-Digestive system

Wasn't quite sure if I would get much study done today but I got going anyway!
    What I have done:
    30 mins of purely just going through answers to Irish oral questions
    Chem-Revised benzoic acid recrystallisation experiment
    Biology-Digestive system
    Irish-Bit of grammar(Ma,da,muru etc.)

Oh and I have also eaten two easter eggs(bars included) :D

Done:
    Irish-3 sraith pictiurs and oral speaking practice
    Geography-Limestone pavement formation
    Biology-Human reproduction
    Spanish-Oral practice
    Chemistry-Revised experiment:Measure concentration of free chlorine in water sample

Christ I totally forgot about this thing! I have been studying but just forgot to update this :L

Today:
    Geography-Burren and culture in gaeltacht
    English-Looked over literary genre and theme or issue
    Chemistry-Ethanal,ethanoic acid,soap and clove oil preparations
    Biology-Nitrogen cycle
    Irish-Wrote out "An spailpin fanach" answer and learnt a bit

Once it gets past 8 o'clock I just shut down. It is really annoying :/

Finished now for the night :) What I did:

Biology-Blood and circulatory system/menstrual cycle and hormones
    Spanish-Essay
    Irish-A thig na tit orm answer
    Chemistry-Ethene and Ethyne experiments
    Geography-Regional full exam question

Plan:
    Chem-Atomic history and heat of reaction of HCL and NaOH
    English-Plath and Lady Macbeth
    Irish-Caca Milis and the poets
    Geo-Secondary and tertiary in Paris Basin

Right so can officially say goodbye to this now :D
    Loads of points clear of my first choice so couldn't be happier!

My results:

Irish-B1( Happy enough with this..would have liked the A2 but can't complain)
    English-B3(Worst result. i thought I deserved at least a B1 but sure what can you do :P )
    Chemistry-B2 (Thought I had royally screwed up.Happy.)
    Geography-A1 (Really wanted this one :D )
    Biology-A2 (Still shocked I got this. Another exam I thought I made a balls of :L)
    Spanish-B1( Had the listening gone better I think I would have gotten an A2)

Grand total = 515 points :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭oncex

Hi congrats on Mary I I'm sure you'll meet all of my friends there haha just a question, do you think this study log helped? Contemplating setting up one myself

oncex wrote: »
    Hi congrats on Mary I I'm sure you'll meet all of my friends there haha just a question, do you think this study log helped? Contemplating setting up one myself

Thanks a million! :D Should see them all there than lol.

Yeah it did help a bit because I suppose it gives you a bit of specific focus.
    I also found seeing what other people were studying in their individual study logs helped me plan my study even better!