Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People of Waterford wake up

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Cork does have it.The Cork and Kerry Region exceeds 600000 people.So Cork doesn't need it. And even if it did what makes you think this justifies hiving off peices of the South East to facilitate services in Cork? Likewise Dublin. This is what makes the whole exercise by Hogan and Howlin more cynical. The catchements are based on Regions which are based on traditional and natural social interactions that have occured naturally over centuries.Like it or not and despite the sometimes savage rivalry Waterford,Kilkenny,Wexford and South Tipp have more in common with each other historically than they have with anywhere else. The same in the South West and Mid West. Changing them to suit Cork or anywhere else is akin to Gerrymandering and unequitable as far as services goes. If your advocating this as some type of strategy it is only robbing Peter to pay Paul.
    No I am not advocating it, I am pointing out that Waterford needs the other hospitals in the South East .

The reason why the south east health region is in trouble is that one hospital wants to leave - , originally it was felt that Wexford wanted to leave too , but all the consultants there support WRH,

The county jersey idiotics in the region does nothing to support the region , it divides it .

Cork people did not go on a winge when Kerry got a new A&E last year for example

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Anyone watch the 6-1 News on Artayaye?

The ESRI report on the economy laid the facts bare and the business correspondent to his credit highlighted that the south east was the laggard of the state and that Waterford was a non person as far as inward investment is concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

mike65 wrote: »
    Anyone watch the 6-1 News on Artayaye?

The ESRI report on the economy laid the facts bare and the business correspondent to his credit highlighted that the south east was the laggard of the state and that Waterford was a non person as far as inward investment is concerned.

Its sad to see it laid out so clearly. It shows we're not paranoid and far from being convinced its all in our heads, its obvious how far the region and Waterford as its main centre has been allowed to fall by those in power. Now if only Waterford was reduced in status so that it wouldn't have to be compared to the other 4 gateway cities, then the ESRI reports like this wouldn't have to go on RTE News eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Here is the PDF for the regional employment breakdown in the context of the last 14 years, with emphasis on the difference between 2007 and 2012

http://www.esri.ie/UserFiles/publications/RN20120403.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭fuzzy dunlop

Chiparus wrote: »
    No I am not advocating it, I am pointing out that Waterford needs the other hospitals in the South East .

The reason why the south east health region is in trouble is that one hospital wants to leave - , originally it was felt that Wexford wanted to leave too , but all the consultants there support WRH,

The county jersey idiotics in the region does nothing to support the region , it divides it .

Cork people did not go on a winge when Kerry got a new A&E last year for example

How do you know? Were you down in Cork doing a straw poll or something? Something tells me you son't spend much time on the Cork Forums feeling the pulse of Corkonians. But that is neither here nor there Cork has nothing to moan about! Because the reality is when Kerry got a new A&E it was not soon followed by propositions to downgrade any Cork Hospitals or delegate services from Cork to Kerry. Yes the County Jersey idiots are self defeating but it is bizarre the way you are not on the Kilkenny forums preaching this when that is where the county jersey mentality is flagrant.

Actually a lot of cork hospitals were downgraded e.g. Mallow , Mercy, south infirmary but that is neither here nor there

The proposal to realign the hospitals is actually coming from Cork , Kilkenny are supporting it Wexford and South Tipp are opposed.

The relationship to the new A&E provision has nothing to do with this.

Actually a lot of cork hospitals were downgraded e.g. Mallow , Mercy, south infirmary but that is neither here nor there

The proposal to realign the hospitals is actually coming from Cork , Kilkenny are supporting it Wexford and South Tipp are opposed.

The relationship to the new A&E provision has nothing to do with this.

CUH hasn’t been downgraded that is the equivalent not Mallowor South Infirmary. So the proposal is coming from Cork? In other words avested interest. As Kilkennys support of it is only a political maneuver. Theopposition from all the other hospitalsin the region is a major clue to this as they are approaching it from aregional argument. Plus it has everything to do with the new A&E investments.They are all ultimately funded by the exchequer so political strokes where KKand Wexford is fastracked and Waterford is downgraded is therefore directlyrelated as less important hospitals are given priority

So you think wexford and kilkenny are taking waterfords money?

Did I say this?

No I think two politcians are pulling a stroke for their own benefit that will deny sevices to the region including Kilkenny. Every Historian has written about this scourge and every media outlet has been talking about. The slush fund analogy is dead right. They are Ministers of the Irish State not their respective counties.Why is this obvious fact lost on you and only you.:rolleyes:

There is no connection between the new Facilities in these hospitals and the plans for hospital groups.

Unless KK and Wexford have declared independence then there is a direct connection. Where the connection is missing is with strategic planning and patient priorities.

There is no relationship, the plans for hospital groups have nothing to do with the new facilities that were badly needed.

The new facilities were for departments that were described as unfit for purpose.

If we want the region to progress we need to have a unified support toward the whole region. The reason why the region is not being broken up is the support from Wexford and Clonmel, Kilkenny is the odd man out. When we need the support of these hospitals we should not begrudge upgrading of these centers.

Begrudery is ruining Waterford.

There is no relationship, the plans for hospital groups have nothing to do with the new facilities that were badly needed.

The new facilities were for departments that were described as unfit for purpose.

If we want the region to progress we need to have a unified support toward the whole region. The reason why the region is not being broken up is the support from Wexford and Clonmel, Kilkenny is the odd man out. When we need the support of these hospitals we should not begrudge upgrading of these centers.

Begrudery is ruining Waterford.

Yeah that's right noreside begrudgery is ruining Waterford and the region.Nobdy is saying the facilities were not unfit for purpose. Butt the facts are they were fastracked ahead of other hospitals that are also in desperate need of facilities. They were not the priority. Roisin Shorthall knows this. All the media outlets know it.Wexford and Clonmel know it and you know it. But you can't hack it so come out with the begrudgery accusations.Or BS like Waterford people will be working on these projects as if you even know this. Oh and if the Network is not broken up its because the 15000 people marched in Waterford with support from across the region.And also because this government is slowly crumbling thanks in no small part to Phil Hogan and James O'Reilly.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0203/365996-upgraded-hospital-was-not-hse-priority-foi/

This tin foil hat stuff is really getting out of hand. Or is it begrudgery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

Stumbled Across a few segments on Limericks fight for a University back in the 1970s. We could take a leaf out of their book. They didn't take no for an answer and were not afraid to highlight the favoritism shown to cork, galway and dublin as it still is today.

Check it out, hopefully it will inspire someone

http://edition.pagesuite-professional.co.uk/Launch.aspx?EID=fa4aeacd-3018-4ea2-b7a2-16534ac0e42d

People need to take to the streets on this, and before anyone starts harping on about the "Technological University" I am beginning to think this is a cop-out and even with a TU we are still severely underrepresented at 3rd level.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

alot of people on ere posting about the new a and e in wexford dont have a clue wat they are talkin about . the plans were drawen up in 2009 we have a population of 140000 people in this county which in the summer months doubles . the old a and e is ashambles at best i should know father died last may in wexford hospital , that nite around a and e they were 25 to 30 on trolleys around a and e . the vibe i am gettin from people they sooner wes hospital be closed . if that happened waterford hospital would buckle under the pressure . its not our fault ye have a pack of wasters in charge down there .

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭cassette50

A lot of hospitals within minister's constituencies have coincidentally had there budgets increased for the coming year.

Cronyism alive and well in Ireland.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0204/366142-hospitals-hse-budgets/

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 69 ✭✭douglastubbs

Some in ministers constituencies had budget cuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭Bards

cassette50 wrote: »
    A lot of hospitals within minister's constituencies have coincidentally had there budgets increased for the coming year.

Cronyism alive and well in Ireland.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0204/366142-hospitals-hse-budgets/

RTE yet again referred to wexford as Wexford Regional in that report

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Smiley Burnett

Brand new dermatology unit opened in WRH last week....but hey, ssshhhh, that's a good news story about investment in our regional hospital!!

p.s. who do we BLAME for this investment???

Bards wrote: »
    RTE yet again referred to wexford as Wexford Regional in that report

Yep county jersey parochialism

Brand new dermatology unit opened in WRH last week....but hey, ssshhhh, that's a good news story about investment in our regional hospital!!

Any links to back this up?

Maybe we can blame FF for it. After all that's what FG does depending on how the wind blows :D. But Seriously this is nothing compared to the considered downgrade and what has been stripped of the city as you well know. Is this investment part of the normal investment a hospital can expect? How much did it cost? How long were we waiting for it? Was it unjustifiably fast tracked? Was it f%ck. We could take you more seriously if were not trying to continuously muddy the waters on behalf off FG government. Your attempts to smear hospital protestors for "supporting" Tescoes by using their car park as a meeting point is a classic. I wonder how the FG cllrs in Waterford voted when it came to planning permission for this;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭Bards

Yep county jersey parochialism

Our National Broadcaster is expected to get things like this right, if RTE can't get simple things like names correct how many other things in these reports are not correct?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Minister Hogan on Newstalk saying that theres a little bit of resistance to the city/county merger in Waterford. Spoke about Limerick doing the right thing and embracing it, but not so with Waterford. Didn't explain why the same wasnt done with Cork, Galway or Dublin. Didnt address the concerns that even though this is based on population it seems, the population in Waterford is lower because of multiple government's lack of investment in the city.

The man comes across as defensive, arrogant and unwilling to listen to anyone who doesnt share his narrow minded and parochial ideas.

Bards wrote: »
    Our National Broadcaster is expected to get things like this right, if RTE can't get simple things like names correct how many other things in these reports are not correct?

They cost one chap the presidency over a false tweet.
    They accused a priest of being a child rapist.

but worst of all, they called Wexford General , Wexford regional....

You should write an angry letter.:)

Trotter wrote: »
    Minister Hogan on Newstalk saying that theres a little bit of resistance to the city/county merger in Waterford. Spoke about Limerick doing the right thing and embracing it, but not so with Waterford. Didn't explain why the same wasnt done with Cork, Galway or Dublin. Didnt address the concerns that even though this is based on population it seems, the population in Waterford is lower because of multiple government's lack of investment in the city.

The man comes across as defensive, arrogant and unwilling to listen to anyone who doesnt share his narrow minded and parochial ideas.

Perhaps he needs to realise a lot of his voter base works in Waterford?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

Sully wrote: »
    Listen lads, its simple. The two hospital facility upgrades has been on the cards for ages. That's a fact and I have provided evidence of that fact already in this thread and its not being disputed. The only issue is that the development was 'fast tracked' - that it happened ahead of the HSE agreeing to a specific time frame of development. But either way, it wasn't a matter of 'IF' but a matter of 'WHEN'. WRH or Roscommon or any other hospital has absolutely no connection or baring on these two hospitals. It made no difference and isn't connected.

This has been on the cards well before WRH was on the cards for a potential downgrade. It appears that, despite the folks with their tinfoil hats on, Ministers and TDs in the South East are in favour of keeping WRH as is and not downgrade it. That include Big Phil who we are lead to believe has a personal vendetta against us and is doing his best to destroy us. James Reilly seems to be putting his weight behind WRH. John Deasy seems to be saying it wont be downgraded.

We will just need to wait and see but just because two hospitals get other work done to them in the South East that has been on the cards since the previous fecking government doesn't mean its being done to turn the screw to WRH in any shape or form.

So people pointing out the glaringly obvious are wearing tinfoil hats? "Potential downgrade"? And as for "lead to believe" about Hogan? This sounds so very, very familiar.

James Reilly is "putting his weight" behind his own constituency (already proven) and now behind the blatantly obvious stroke politics of Hogan and Howlin.

Do you think people are really this stupid? And have you learned nothing from the failed promises by so many politicians in the past?

Trotter wrote: »

Just about covers it. As I've said before I would have no problem if this were happening everywhere. Limerick's losing fcuk all. It will be run from Limerick City - as should be the case here. Instead of parochial and GAA lines, driven by a County bias by those three dummies we have representing us.

Aided and abetted by the usual FG drones and trolls.

Wow! A bone thrown to the dogs, and probably planned for the past ten years.

Sully wrote: »
    In addition, there is an unfair blame that this is the government targeting Waterford and its the cabinet proposing to put the axe on Waterford. People are using this whole issue as a reason to bash the government even though they haven't recommended either way. Just like when it came down to WIT and their finances towards a project they themselves decided to build - it was the government neglecting Waterford

Ah the poor Government. So we're being unfair to them. As janey it's terrible.
    Sure we can't be bashing a Government that is not only putting an axe on Waterford, but running a steamroller over it as we'll. That would be so unfair to them.

I suppose fuming would be too mild a word to describe how most genuine Waterfordians would feel when reading the statements above. So you choose to bash the college that educated you ahead of levelling the criticism where it should be directed. At the tools that conned the entire country during the GE of 2011.