Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just What the Doctor Ordered!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭doctorwhogirl

8km run

Today's Plan
    warm up
    3 min treadmill
    2min stepper
    2 min xtrainer
    150m row x 3

squats
    40kg x 3 x 6
    45kg x 2 x 6

hangclean to push press 20kg 3x8
    step ups on bench 3x10 each leg 10kg dumbbells

single leg deadlift with 10kg dumbbells 3x8 each leg
    Inverted body row using smith machine 3x8
    kbell thrusters 8kg. 3x10

sit ups with 10kg kbell, reverse crunches, sidebends 10kg weight 2x10

7.6km jog in quite a good time tonight too. Legs felt quite fresh. I had to be somewhere after my run that I didn't think I would I think the sense of rushing really improved my time!

Today's Plan

warm up
    3 min treadmill
    2min stepper
    2 min xtrainer
    150m row x 3

A) Squats
    40kg x 6
    45kg 4x6

B1)Reverse lunge with reach from step 3x8 each leg 10kg dumbbells
    B2) Single arm dumbbell snatch 12kg 3x6 each arm

C1) Kettbell thrusters 3x12
    C2) bent over row with 25kg 3x10
    C3)Incline DB press 3x 8-10 (20kg...may try 24kg (12kg dumbbells)

exercise ball crunch x10 with 10kg weight
    Reverse crunch x10
    Side flexions x10 each side
    x2/3

8km jog.

Bloody freezing. The warm running gear was out :(

Today's

Usual warm-up

A: Squats
    40kg x 6
    45kg x 6 x 4

B1) Deadlifts with bar (deloading, haven't done these in yonks)
    45kg x 8-10 (x3)

C1) Lat pull down 35-40kgs 3x8-10
    C2) step ups on bench 3x8-10 each leg 10kg dumbbells
    C3)Woodchoppers 3x6 each side

jaysus the above was punishing. I'm fecked. Love it.

Today's Plan
    warm up
    3 min treadmill
    2min stepper
    2 min xtrainer
    150m row x 3

A)squats
    40kg x 2 x 6
    45kg x 3 x 6

B1)hangclean to push press 20kg 3x8
    B2)single leg deadlift with 10kg dumbbells 3x8 each leg

C1)Bent over row 3x8 w/25kg
    c2)kbell thrusters 8kg. 3x10
    c3) reverse lunge forward reach 10kg dumbbells 3x8 each leg

sit ups with 10kg kbell, reverse crunches, sidebends 10kg weight 2x10

Smothered with a cold but went out and did a run anyway.

Whether or not this was a good idea has yet to be revealed...

Today's Round of Punishment. Not feeling it but I know once I'm in gym I'll be grand. Hungry like a beast today too.

Usual warm-up

A: Deadlifts
    50kg x6 x3 (may go up the weight depending on how this feels)

B1) Squats 40/45kg 3 x 6-8 reps

C2) step ups on bench 3x8-10 each leg 10kg dumbbells

Core/Push ups circuit
    Sit ups with 9kg weight/10kg if I can find it
    Push ups (still on the easy ones...I'll see how my arms feel tonight)
    Side bends with weights
    Maybe some thrusters thrown in there somewhere....

Now, can someone drag me there and make me do all of the above please? I've been delaying it all day...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭TheBellJar

Get to it! :)

Thanks belljar!!!

This is what I actually ended up doing, more or less as above.

Usual warm-up

A: Deadlifts
    50kg x6 x5 Prob could have gone to 55kg

B1) Squats 40kg 3 x 8 reps

C2) step ups on bench 3x10 each leg 10kg dumbbells

Core/Push ups circuit
    Sit ups with 12kg Dbell
    Push ups (still on the easy ones...I'll see how my arms feel tonight)
    Side bends with weights
    No thrusters, fecked.

Yay for going!

What's the story with the push ups - not a fan?

Thrusters are the devils work..

TheBellJar wrote: »
    Yay for going!

What's the story with the push ups - not a fan?

Thrusters are the devils work..

Yeah I throw in the thrusters just in between stuff sometimes to get me roused again, if you know what I mean!!! If I'm feeling lacklustre!

Push-ups, I just dunno. Like I should be well fit to do proper ones like but I think I have a block with them or something. Sometimes I try them but I give up on them too easily, for sure. They're something I've never enjoyed so never persisted at them!

Joggy wog ce soir. In the drizzle. Beautiful.

Heading off now in five minutes, hard to drag myself from the couch! It's cawld out there!

Warm Up

A1) Squats
    (I always do 10 with just the bar as a warm up)
    40kg x 6 x1
    45kg x 6 x4
    50kg x 6 x1 (see how I go with this one!)

B1) Hangclean to push press 20kg x8 x3
    B2) Single leg deadlift 10kg Dbells x8 each leg x3

C1) Bent over row 25kg x 8 x3
    C2) Reverse lunge from step w/ 8kg dbells x8 each leg x3

Circuit x2/3 (see how I feel!)
    15 press ups
    10 thrusters with 10kg kbell
    Crunches x10 with 10kg kbell
    Russian twists x10 with 10kg kbell

Going to get tomorrow's workout clear in my head before I go in as I've a mad busy day/week ahead!

Usual warm up

A) Deadlifts
    10 warm up reps with just bar to get form right
    2 x 6reps 50kg
    3 x 6reps 55kg

B1) Squats 40kg 3 x 8reps
    B2) Single arm snatch 3 x 6reps e/s with 12kg dumbbell. Might try 14kgs for the last round.

C1) Step-ups on bench 3 x 10 e/s with 10kg dumbbells
    C2)Lat pull downs 3x 8 35/40kg
    C3) Woodchoppers 3x 6 reps e/s

Core stuff

Just thinking, would you not get more out of logging your workouts after you've done them? So that you can track how everything went etc.?

Yeah, BellJar, not a bad idea! I'm doing that tonight! I just used to plan out what I'd do here and then edit it if I made any changes etc...

I don't have a specific programme so I just plan before I head to the gym .

Tuesday: 8.5km run. Found it tough. Running is so funny like that.

Today
    Usual warm up- treadmill, rower, stepper, X trainer etc...

A1) Hang clean to push press 20kg x8 3 rounds
    A2) Bulgarian split squat 16kg x10 e/s 3 rounds

B1) Single arm snatch 12kg (felt really heavy tonight!) x6 e/s 3 rounds
    B2) Single leg deadlift 20kg x8 e/s 3 rounds

C1) Bench press 25kg x8 3 rounds (These were a killer because I haven't done them in ages! But last round was better)
    C2) Thrusters x8 with 10kg Kbell 3 rounds
    C3) Bent over row 25kg x8 3 rounds

2 rounds of
    Side bends
    weighted sit ups 10kg
    reverse sit ups

8.5 km run in not a bad time at all.

But then I came home and baked iced fingers.... :)

Warm up as normal

A1) Squats
    40kg x 8reps x1
    45kg x6 x3
    Didn't do any 50kg as my knee was at me. :( Disgusted.

B1) Hang clean to push press 25kg 8reps x3
    B2) Static lunge, rear foot elevated 8reps e/s with 10kg DBells x3

C1) Step ups 10 reps e/d with 8kg dbells x3
    C2) Inverted body row on Smith machine 8reps x3

Walk on treadmill

Felt really crap during tonight's workout. Felt like maybe I'm a but burnt out? I don't know what the story is with rest weeks? My weight conscious self feels like it's not a good idea (the dieter in me, I guess) I just don't know!!!

Seriously unmotivated by weights in the gym these days :(

Any suggestions to get things moving again??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Just watch this over and over.

Sweet jeeeesus.....!

What has been suggested to me, as a break from the heavier lifts, is more of a higher reps routine. I just feel like my body is wrecked-My right knee is feeling dodgy in squats and, this sounds mental, but I have this twitch in my right eye when I'm lifting!!!! Sounds crazy but it comes randomly when I lift!

Anyway, this was given to me as a suggestion- focusing more on higher reps with as heavy as I can for the amount of reps (I'm taking this quote directly from the girl who recommended it to me)
    High rep Lower weights so the heart rate stays up an example of one my trainer gave me is go as heavy as you can but last 20 reps Bicep curls x 20 Tricep extension x 20 Shoulder press x 20 Hammer curls x 20 Tricep pulldown x 20 Lateral raise x 20 Do these straight thru no rest then take 1 min rest when all done once and repeat Squats x 20 Weighted lunges x 20 Weighted step ups x 20 1 min break then repeat all legs Bent over row x 20 Push up x 20 Front row x 20 Wide armed push ups x 20 1 min break and repeat It's an all over work out cause only small breaks the heart rate stays up so it includes your cardio and apparently this type of training is good for conditioning the muscle after building some

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

I think everyone feels like that every so often! There is no way that I'd be able to follow the same programme day in day out for the longterm. I absolutely LOVE when its time to start a phase in my programme. The changes in my programme from month to month are ever so slight but I still feel its something totally different and am delighted with it...for all of 6 weeks :D:D

What are your goals? And what do you enjoy doing trainingwise? How long were you doing your last programme for? Or where you even following a structured programme?

As regards your knee...do you foamroll often? Are you doing enough mobility work?

Sorry for delay in getting back to you, Gymfreak! Thanks so much for the reply, really appreciate it.

I do change it up in the sense of not doing the exact same exercises each day but just feel unmotivated by it. It's not a programme as such, me just doing my own thing based a bit on NROLW which I started into almost a year ago. So no, not a structured programme as such. I would like to get on from a trainer but I really can't justify (nor do I have the money for) a trainer at the minute.

Goals wise, not sure really! I don't want to lose more weight nor am I bad on gaining loads of muscle. Maintenance of the lean muscle I've gained (I think/hope :P) is really what I'm after.

I feel so bleh about the training now I find it hard to say what I enjoy but I like variety. I usually do a whole body movement like squats at the beginning of a session and then do supersets and I like the changing over in the supersets, doing a variety. I find it goes quicker and I enjoy it more.

And the knee, that's a double negative. Foam rolling and mobility are two concepts I know very little about. I'm good for my stretching but clearly something has been strained in my knee...

again, thanks for any advice anyone can give!

Sorry for delay in getting back to you, Gymfreak! Thanks so much for the reply, really appreciate it.

I do change it up in the sense of not doing the exact same exercises each day but just feel unmotivated by it. It's not a programme as such, me just doing my own thing based a bit on NROLW which I started into almost a year ago. So no, not a structured programme as such. I would like to get on from a trainer but I really can't justify (nor do I have the money for) a trainer at the minute.

Goals wise, not sure really! I don't want to lose more weight nor am I bad on gaining loads of muscle. Maintenance of the lean muscle I've gained (I think/hope :P) is really what I'm after.

I feel so bleh about the training now I find it hard to say what I enjoy but I like variety. I usually do a whole body movement like squats at the beginning of a session and then do supersets and I like the changing over in the supersets, doing a variety. I find it goes quicker and I enjoy it more.

And the knee, that's a double negative. Foam rolling and mobility are two concepts I know very little about. I'm good for my stretching but clearly something has been strained in my knee...

again, thanks for any advice anyone can give!

Okay, first off if you are training properly you NEED to be foamrolling and doing mobility stuff most days. If you're not, you are going to end up injured or not performing to your best ability. If your gym doesnt have foamrollers (mine doesnt) then go buy yourself one, it will say you tonnes in physio bills in the long run. Secondly, browse this website:

http://www.mobilitywod.com/

It is an absolutely AMAZING resource. There are tonnes of videos and articles and he explains stuff in such simple language.

Now on to your training:
    From an outsiders stance it actually looks like the lack of a set programme is what may be causing you to be unmotivated. Programmes generally guide people through their workouts and show progression from week to week. If you're just pulling random bits out of your head how do you know if you're progressing? Like, I am currently on the last week of a 6 week cycle (before competition next week...whooop!) and I can clearly see the progressions that we've go through over the course of the programme. That doesnt always mean that the weight of my squats have gone up..we often reset my squats at the start of a programme, so that at the start Im lifting lighter than I was but by the end Ive progressed onto heavier than I was.

I think it might be helpful for you to either sit down and write yourself a 4 week programme (if you know how to programme that is), or get an established one online or else get a trainer to write a programme for you. It doesnt mean that you have to pay for a trainer to babysit you every session but why dont you invest in yourself, get a trainer to do an initial session, write you out a programme and meet back with you in 4 or 6 weeks.

I hope something in that was helpful :)

That was all helpful! I even feel more motivated having read it! Reading your log has given me lots of ideas on routines etc... so I'll have a good think about it over the weekend.

Thanks for the advice and site regarding mobility and foam rolling. Really need to do more, they had a foam roller at the gym but it has disappeared. Going to look into getting one.

Really appeciate the time you took to write that! Really has me thinking!

So here was tonight's efforts
    Quick warm up with some dynamic stretches
    Treadmill: 1 min @13.5 km, 1 min @ 11.5km, 1 min @ 14.5km
    Rower: 3 x 150m as quickly as I could
    Stepper 2 mins @ highest
    X trainer: 2 mins

Deadlifts
    Warm up
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    40kg x8 (x2)
    45kg x8 (x2)
    50kg x8 (x2)

Push press
    20kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 8 (x3)

DB lunges
    20kgs x 8 (x2)
    24kgs x 8 (x2)

Superset (x3)
    Single leg squats 10kg x6
    Inverted body row x10

Side bends with 15kg
    Can't think of the name of the yoke I do my core thing, where I am suspended, leaning on elbow, pull my knees up to chest...can do dips and that on it...

Stretching

Tomorrow, jog and mobility once I've researched

Ran yesterday, great time and very comfortable run for about 8km.

Weights day

(This is the plan, will edit as necessary. I like to have it thought out and haven't had a chance to sit down to come up with a programme for myself just yet but I have some general aims in mind)

Warm up: As above (as per usual) :p

Mobility (have a nice routine I found online)

Squats- going to test the knee and see, if not I'll swap to some deadlifting
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    45kg x5
    45kg x5
    50kg x 5

Push press
    20kg x 10
    20kg x10
    25kg x 8 or more
    25 kg x 8 or more
    25kg x 8 or more

Bulgarian split squats
    10kg DBs x10 each leg

Single arm DB snatch
    12kgs x6 each arm x2
    14kgs x5 each arm

Leg raises
    Side bends with 15kgs
    Push ups (I'm actually going to make the effort on the real deal from now on, even if it's pitiful)

Ran yesterday, great time and very comfortable run for about 8km.

Weights day

(This is the plan, will edit as necessary. I like to have it thought out and haven't had a chance to sit down to come up with a programme for myself just yet but I have some general aims in mind)

Warm up: As above (as per usual) :p

Mobility (have a nice routine I found online)

Squats- going to test the knee and see, if not I'll swap to some deadlifting
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    45kg x5
    45kg x5
    50kg x 5

Push press
    20kg x 10
    20kg x10
    25kg x 8 or more
    25 kg x 8 or more
    25kg x 8 or more

Bulgarian split squats
    10kg DBs x10 each leg

Single arm DB snatch
    12kgs x6 each arm x2
    14kgs x5 each arm

Leg raises
    Side bends with 15kgs
    Push ups (I'm actually going to make the effort on the real deal from now on, even if it's pitiful)

I'm not sure whether you still want advice or not, but what I will say is that when you are creating a programme you need to ensure that it is balanced. Ie. that you give as much attention to your hamstrings as your quads. The day that you listed above has both push ups and push press in it, which work your chest and shoulders but you dont have anything in it that works your back. Therefore the more that you follow an unbalanced programme like this, the more your pecs will get tight and your shoulders will round forward.

Basically what Im saying is when you sit down to write something out properly, ensure that it is balanced...that was supposed to be helpful, not critical, hopefully it came across the right way :)

And well done on adding in some mobility work!