Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Guess the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

jim-mcdee wrote: »
    oh so its guess, then mock the incorrect guesses is it?

Why is it mocking ? Those type tail lamps are uniquely British in nature, generally fitted to a large number of kit cars. Most people who are observant of cars over the years would spot them easily enough, and would be aware that of all the cars they might be fitted to as original equipment, Italian ones are the most unlikely. That is what I was alluding to.

This illustrates my point...

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭jim-mcdee

swarlb wrote: »
    Why is it mocking ? Those type tail lamps are uniquely British in nature, generally fitted to a large number of kit cars. Most people who are observant of cars over the years would spot them easily enough, and would be aware that of all the cars they might be fitted to as original equipment, Italian ones are the most unlikely. That is what I was alluding to.

You don't have many friends do you?

Nope... I'm a complete loner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Lads go find a rock to insult each other under bloody hell it's meant to be a fun thread.

jayo26 wrote: »
    Lads go find a rock to insult each other under bloody hell it's meant to be a fun thread.

I completely agree with you

Absolutely. Its not fun when someone picks you apart for making an incorrect guess. Low esteem I suppose.

Less b17$h1n9 and more mesmering British/Italian sports car photos I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

Absolutely. Its not fun when someone picks you apart for making an incorrect guess. Low esteem I suppose.

Let it go kiddo. Don't be so sensitive.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

Enough handbags.

IMG-20181206-234456.jpg

I'll try to keep an eye on the thread.

boombang wrote: »
    Enough handbags.

IMG-20181206-234456.jpg

Crysler lebaron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Enough handbags.

IMG-20181206-234456.jpg

Proton Waja

Proton Waja

Jaysus that was quick. This happens every time I post something here. The are some amazing rainmen out there : )

I hadn't a clue what it was when I saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Damn that was quick. I was hunting for it, never would have got it.

Jaysus that was quick. This happens every time I post something here. The are some amazing rainmen out there : )

I hadn't a clue what it was when I saw it.

It's hard to beat Google image search lol

IMG-20180902-160443.jpg

That was my own photo. Thought it was a funny mix of Alfa and Bora.

It's hard to beat Google image search lol

Thats not playing Guess the car, thats a different game called Smartarse .
    Sometimes people know their cars

Here is mine

jap_zpsakuleb1j.jpg

Looks like a British 70s fibreglass car. I thought it could be a Lotus Éclat.

No, I had never heard of them, interesting car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Here is mine

jap_zpsakuleb1j.jpg

928S I'd say, or 924/944. It has a porsche feeling.

928S I'd say.

No sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

No sorry
    Apologies for the edit, I'm wrong anyway.

Had the look of a kit car. Not a Saab Sonnet?

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Miscreant

Looks vaguely Lotus. Is it an Elite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

Here is mine

jap_zpsakuleb1j.jpg

Is it a Miura?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Has to be some sort of fiberglass kit car, the way those lights are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Ciano35

Lancia Stratos no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,170 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Renault Fuego.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭high horse

Ciano35 wrote: »
    Lancia Stratos no?

I think you're right.

Lancia Stratos no?

Thats the one. Well done

Very tasty. Much better than the aul' kit car I'd imagined.

3b4690c65ee81f43f9c1aa57c28af73bfdd5dcca.jpg

Nice one! Absolutely love the stratos.

This is something a bit different, it is technically a car. I hope it comes out ok because I’m doing it on my phone.

C419-D512-C42-F-4369-BB31-332-AEBA59-F8-A.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭FamousBelgian

Nice one! Absolutely love the stratos.

This is something a bit different, it is technically a car. I hope it comes out ok because I’m doing it on my phone.

C419-D512-C42-F-4369-BB31-332-AEBA59-F8-A.jpg

Peel P50? (as seen on Top Gear)

Yep!

How about this:
    467729.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Is it just me or has famousbelgians car rotted away already I can't see anything ;)

Picture didn't get embedded although it still appeared so for me so tried again.

Japanese. Maybe a Mazda.

You're thinking Mazda 929, but no, not Japanese.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭TommyGun2017

an old volvo barge?

You're thinking Volvo 780 coupe but no, not Swedish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Grand Cherokee

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Grand Cherokee
    No, this is strictly a car.

Looks Japanese.

FB - the image isn’t reversed is it?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Looks Japanese.

FB - the image isn’t reversed is it?
    It may look Japanese but it isn't. Not at all.
    Yes, it's a reversed, degraded crop. Can't make it too easy but I thought I had left two or three tiny clues in. BTW this car wasn't for sale in Ireland in the form pictured.

You're thinking Mazda 929, but no, not Japanese.

I wasn't aware of the 929 until I started Google image searching 1980s Mazdas. You think you know cars and then you come to this thread...

It may look Japanese but it isn't. Not at all.
    Yes, it's a reversed, degraded crop. Can't make it too easy but I thought I had left two or three tiny clues in. BTW this car wasn't for sale in Ireland in the form pictured.

Yeah, I’m looking at that badge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

It's American, Chrysler of some kind I think.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    It's American, Chrysler of some kind I think.
    Getting warmer. That's what it ended up as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Getting warmer. That's what it ended up as.
    It ended up as a Chrysler TC which makes it a Maserati