Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is it time for the West to Boycott Israel like we did South African Pre-1993?

• 28-01-2013 7:10pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Let me start by saying where I stand.

I believe Israel is a profoundly racist society and this extends into government.

There have been many incidents of institutional racism in Israel down through the years from Arab Israeli's having the word Arab stamped on passports and ID cards (they still have 7 stars on both to identify them as Arabs) to Ethiopian Jews being excluded from receiving housing from the Housing Committee to their enforced apartheid laws in The West Bank and Golan Heights and their treatment of the population of Gaza and well as Ethnic Cleansing of Palestinians from Northern Israel.

But this latest instance reported by Haaretz is surely close to being the straw that broke the camels back?

How can we in the west, with good conscience, continue to buy Israeli goods, allow Israeli institutions to function in our society and accept Israeli Embassies in our countries?

I think we (the EU) should expel Israeli Ambassadors, ban Israel from European Sporting Events (athlethics, soccer, etc) and ban the import and sale of Israeli products in the EU until such time as Israel no longer operates an Illegal Apartheid occupation of Palestinian lads, an Illegal block of Gaza and Discriminates against Ethiopian Jews, Arab Israeli Citizens and African Migrant Workers.

IT worked against South Africa, and it will work against Israel too.

Ban them from sporting events, expel their Ambassadors, ban their products and isolate them politically and economically and they will be forced to fall in line.

We cannot accept this anymore.
    Zionism+and+South+African+Apartheid.jpg

What say you Boards.ie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You're speaking to the converted with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭G Power

Nodin wrote: »
    You're speaking to the converted with me.

me too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

Should we boycott their handlers as well? The fact that the USA has facilitated the Israeli's in their blatant moral and ethical abuses over the last couple of generations should not be ignored.

Without the support of the USA the Israeli's would have to check their more repugnant policies.

It would be fun banning Yanky goods and services.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Should we boycott their handlers as well? The fact that the USA has facilitated the Israeli's in their blatant moral and ethical abuses over the last couple of generations should not be ignored.

Without the support of the USA the Israeli's would have to check their more repugnant policies.

I think if the EU and other developed nations boycotted Israel, the US wouldn't be able to carry on their current charade for very long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I never gave much thought to the whole thing before tbh, just kind of dismissed the lads you used to see on Patrick's Street passing out flyers and stuff. Have to say this has definitely changed my stance on the whole thing. Will definitely be avoiding Israeli products personally and would support a national boycott.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Of course Israel should be boycotted but due to the influential Zionist lobby in America it will be a lot more difficult than the one against South Africa.

Of course there will also be the inevitable anti-semetic accusations that would launched at anyone involved in a boycott as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Eggy Baby!

In before the guys who point out that you are on an American-made computer, probably wearing American-brand clothes, and living in a country full of American investment (assuming that you live in Ireland).

Secondly, your views are utterly acceptable. I sympathise with them for the most part. But when you refer to Americans as "Yankies" it really make you look terribly unreliable and undermines your beliefs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Why are you all so concerned about a country thousands of miles away that does nothing to us? There are so many anti Israel threads on boards that I am beginning to think its infiltrated by Irish Palestinian solidarity group or whatever they're called now. Why don't you concentrate your efforts on our own corrupt and quite frankly useless politicians that have your own country ruined? Your fighting a lost battle with the whole Israel thing so just get over it and move on. And quit posting stuff that we have seen already in one form or other on boards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Israel is not South Africa and any attempt to compare the two is laughable. The vast majority of Palestinians in Israel vote for Jewish parties - and hey, they can bloody well vote. Jesus Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Why are you all so concerned about a country thousands of miles away that does nothing to us? There are so many anti Israel threads on boards that I am beginning to think its infiltrated by Irish Palestinian solidarity group or whatever they're called now. Why don't you concentrate your efforts on our own corrupt and quite frankly useless politicians that have your own country ruined? Your fighting a lost battle with the whole Israel thing so just get over it and move on. And quit posting stuff that we have seen already in one form or other on boards.

I used to consider myself neutral on the Israel-Palestine issue but seeing all the injustices carried out against the Palestinians its hard not to see Israel as a big problem as things stand at the moment.

Now dont get me wrong i still think the Palestinians can be just as bad as we see with Hamas but Israel just seems far worse and they need to realize that they cant do whatever they please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

List of companies that you'll need to boycott; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_companies_of_Israel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I don't buy anything I have found is linked to Israel, or as I have heard it called "Occupied Palestine". Any fruit, veg, herbs I buy in any shop, I check the country of origin and I have actually changed whole dinner plans because the shop only supplies a product from there, e.g. from today alone, fresh basil in Tesco's is Israeli, as a result, my dinner for tonight was changed until I get to a shop that sells some from another country. It will hardly set the Israeli's back millions, but it is something I feel I can help with.

When I was in London with my OH about 4 years ago, we were searching for a Palestinian flag and we went to different stalls in Camden looking for one, we asked several, but all were sold out or never stocked them, but told us of a stall that specialised in flags. We went there and for some reason when I say the vendor I stood back and told my partner to ask for the flag himself, he did and the man's face went from helpful smile to disgust. Don't ask me why, but I just knew from looking at him he was Israeli. He went ranting at us about why we should support those "Muslim Bastards" to which he just strengthened our support!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

What would a boycott of the Israeli state achieve?

The Israelis act the way they do because of the situation they are in. I oppose the way they got to where they are now wholeheartedly but right now what can they do?

They are as a society under siege, argue they should or shouldn't believe that but that's what they think. They see hostile aggressive people and states all around them. I think that makes them act a bit crazier than most countries.

I won't defend the actions of the state of Israel but I can understand the logic in what they do in many instances.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Seaneh wrote: »
    Ban them from sporting events, expel their Ambassadors, ban their products and isolate them politically and economically and they will be forced to fall in line.

People can make up their own minds and there are already several private boycotts agoing.

Ban their athletes - what does this achieve? What does preventing a young Israeli athlete competing for their country do? It won't make Israeli people change their government towards a more progressive stance on Palestine, it will only make them mistrust the countries that ban their athletes. Plus, sporting events are a great conciliator between nations. I'd also be very concerned by governments telling sporting bodies who can compete or not.

Expel their ambassadors - why? Isn't that the international relations equivalent of teenagers going out of their way to ignore each other? They would almost certainly expel ours, and what happens then if an Irish aid worker is kidnapped or arrested when in the region?

Ban their products - what if I want to buy their products? What if I am pro Israel or indifferent to the political situation. What if i like middle eastern food? Why should the government dictate to all of us what we should buy because of one of many views of the situation?

If you want to support the Palestinian people why not make a conscious effort to buy their goods? Why not lobby to support their bid for full state status in the in? Why not holiday in the West Bank or give money to charities that work in the Palestinian territories?

I don't know what the solution is. Probably no one does. But I don't think pretending that Israel doesn't exist is very productive. I don't really get why people are more willing to give out about Israel than to support the Palestinians, my only guess is that people get frustrated and want to do something, and boycotting Israeli goods is easier than going out of your way to support the Palestinians.

Plus, Fatah and Hamas are not exactly free from sin yet we don't advocate boycotting the Palestinians because of them.

If you want to support the Palestinian people why not make a conscious effort to buy their goods? Why not lobby to support their bid for full state status in the in? Why not holiday in the West Bank or give money to charities that work in the Palestinian territories?

I don't know what the solution is. Probably no one does. But I don't think pretending that Israel doesn't exist is very productive. I don't really get why people are more willing to give out about Israel than to support the Palestinians, my only guess is that people get frustrated and want to do something, and boycotting Israeli goods is easier than going out of your way to support the Palestinians.

Plus, Fatah and Hamas are not exactly free from sin yet we don't advocate boycotting the Palestinians because of them.

Can I do both, support the Palestinians through different methods and boycott Israeli goods, while still acknowledging the state of Israel, I just don't have to like it.

I doubt a person alive could deny both sides have not committed wrongs, but IMO Israel is the more wrong party. But as I said, this is my opinion.

It is not black and white, and as you said, there is probably no one who has the solution. But boycott is a legitimate way of showing anger at one side. Better than blaming the entire state of Israel for the actions of it's government and in reality, most likely the majority (I assume they have a democratic government) but not all Israeli's, just like any nation, are cut from the same cloth, and to assume so is just being ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Let me start by saying where I stand.......

I believe Israel is a profoundly racist society and this extends into government..........
    What say you Boards.ie?

Right-Oh,thats a clear and unequivocal statement and fair play for making it at the outset.

All of the other stuff is pretty much par-for-the-course in the various Israel vs The Rest threads and assorted other debating elements that abound.

However as for the article itself....

http://www.haaretz.com/print-edition/news/state-admits-problematic-birth-control-shots-for-ethiopian-women-1.496664

From my reading,it seems that a senior Israeli Government Official took action after concerns had been raised by Civil-Rights groups within Israel.
    Health Minister Director General Prof. Ron Gamzu has instructed the four health maintenance organizations to stop the practice as a matter of course. The ministry and other state agencies had previously denied knowledge or responsibility for the practice, which was first reported five years ago. Gamzu's letter instructed "all gynecologists in the HMOs not to renew prescriptions for Depo-Provera for women of Ethiopian origin if for any reason there is concern that they might not understand the ramifications of the treatment." Gamzu also instructed physicians to avail themselves of translators if need be.

Gamzu's letter came in response to a letter from Sharona Eliahu-Chai of the Association of Civil Rights in Israel, representing several women's rights and Ethiopian immigrants' groups. The letter demanded the injections cease immediately and that an investigation be launched into the practice.

So...a serious Civil Rights issue involving Ethopian Jewish women is finally brought to a head,following representations by Israeli Civil Rights associations.

This would seem to indicate,to me,some form of functional democracy within Israel,given that the letter of protest has achieved it's primary objective of stopping the Depo-Provera injections.

The greater Ethopian Jewish issue is neither new,nor easily addressed,given that Israel and the USA ( :eek:) effectively rescued thousands of Sudanese/Ethopian Jews from what could have been anhiliation,at a time when few other Countries were willing to take action.

http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/Judaism/ejus.html

Was the operation successful ?

I would venture to say yes,not 100%,but for sure it was a hell of a lot better than doing nothing....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/524662.stm

I thought this bit was particularly interesting......
    More than 1,000 families are still living in the caravans in the reception centres where they were placed on arrival in Israel, and 45% of parents cannot pay for their children's schooling, the report said.

However, The military is one area of Israeli life where Ethiopian Jews are making a positive impact, with nearly all young Ethiopian males doing national service and more than 50 Ethiopians having been made officers, the report said.

Nothing is ever cut,dried and neatly packaged when Humanity is involved....:)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Denerick wrote: »
    Israel is not South Africa and any attempt to compare the two is laughable. The vast majority of Palestinians in Israel vote for Jewish parties - and hey, they can bloody well vote. Jesus Christ.

Your post ignores the occupation.

Hamas are under various legal embargoes, Fatah less so. Israel is not. As they're occupied in violation of international law by Israel, this is somewhat farcical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Eggy Baby!

Why don't you concentrate your efforts on our own corrupt and quite frankly useless politicians that have your own country ruined?

Parochialism at its worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭golfball37

It can't be easy being surrounded by nations that want to see your destruction. Its also worth noting that Israel is the only functioning democracy in that part of the world so for that they do deserve support.

My only problem with Israel is the settlement and land grab issue. As far as I'm concerned they can do whatever they want to their own citizens but the land grab is just extending the conflict for decades and should be stopped, settlements dismantled and settlers re housed within the 1967 borders.

There should be a Palestian nation based on these borders and go from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

Really can't see the comparison between Israel and South Africa at all.

Israel is a relatively new country, and new generally countries come along after some hostility to the status quo.

Once Israel and the rest of the region stabilizes no one rational is going to be questioning it's legitimacy. until then its going to seem like there's good guys and bad guys.

Why boycott a legitimate country, that happens to be transitioning to stability?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Nodin wrote: »

Your post ignores the occupation.
    What occupation? They are in possession of what they believe is theirs. I am in possession of my phone, I believe it to be mine. Try and exert a claim that it is yours and I will resist.

Pro-Palestine or anti-Israel? That is what people need to decide before initiating arguments. Anti-Palestine or pro-Israel tambien.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

The level of antisemitism on boards is truly shocking at times. Comparing South Africa to Israel is utterly nonsensical on so many levels. Israel is a functioning civilized country, for starters. Why would anyone want to boycott such a country? We should be trying to build stronger links with countries like this!

Israel is legitimate country which isn't going anywhere. There is no occupation, they are regaining (peacefully) what they believe is truly theirs and they will continue to do so. People just need to accept that and move on.

COYW wrote: »
    The level of antisemitism on boards is truly shocking at times. Comparing South Africa to Israel is utterly nonsensical on so many levels. Israel is a functioning civilized country, for starters. Why would anyone want to boycott such a country? We should be trying to build links with countries like this!

Israel is legitimate country which isn't going anywhere. People just need to accept that and move on.

This drives me insane and is basically idiocy, to be Anti-Israel is not anti-semetic, people do not have a problem with the people of Israel based on their religion, but their actions as a country.

I am aware it is going nowhere, actually it is, it is taking over more and more Palestinian land, which is completely wrong. Palestine finally was recognised as a state in November 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Palmach

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I don't buy anything I have found is linked to Israel, or as I have heard it called "Occupied Palestine".

Puts you in the same boat as Ahmedinijad, Hamas, Hizbollah and assorted other Islamofacist knuckledraggers. You must be so proud.

The level of antisemitism on boards is truly shocking at times. Comparing South Africa to Israel is utterly nonsensical on so many levels. Israel is a functioning civilized country, for starters. Why would anyone want to boycott such a country? We should be trying to build stronger links with countries like this!

Israel is legitimate country which isn't going anywhere. There is no occupation, they are regaining (peacefully) what they believe is truly theirs and they will continue to do so. People just need to accept that and move on.

Israel is a legitimate country. However, to enforce eugenics on people is horrendous and is despicable. I don't believe that all Israelis are racist but there is serious questions to be asked about the government and how a policy like this became state policy.

Palmach wrote: »
    Puts you in the same boat as Ahmedinijad, Hamas, Hizbollah and assorted other Islamofacist knuckledraggers. You must be so proud.

I have called it Israel in all of my posts, if you would have read, which I doubt, I know people from the Middle East, that is what they call it.

And I would rather be tied in with those groups than to embarrass my family that suffered in Europe throughout the 1930-1940's by acting the same to others as was done to them in that time.

What's an islamofacist?

don't know but it's can't be as bad as an Ashke-Nazi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭golfball37

People who claim to speak for Israel do their cause no favours when they throw out the anti semetic line.

Israel has every right to exist and should be supported but they have no right to any lands beyond their 1967 borders. The way I see it the Arab world fought them and lost so tough sh1t. Most countries are born out of conflict and Israel is no different, they earned their country the hard way.

Just because they think they own additional lands however it doesn't make it so. Mexico still think they should own Texas ffs.

golfball37 wrote: »
    People who claim to speak for Israel do their cause no favours when they throw out the anti semetic line.

Israel has every right to exist and should be supported but they have no right to any lands beyond their 1967 borders. The way I see it the Arab world fought them and lost so tough sh1t. Most countries are born out of conflict and Israel is no different, they earned their country the hard way.

Just because they think they own additional lands however it doesn't make it so. Mexico still think they should own Texas ffs.

Your understanding of International Law is extremely flawed.

They no right to anything beyond their 1948 boarders, annexation of land is banned by the 4th Geneva Convention, as is the mass movement of people out of or into occupied land, they also have no right to deny Palestinian Refugees the right of return, which is part of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

But hey, since when have Israel given a crap about human rights or International laws?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Palmach

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I have called it Israel in all of my posts, if you would have read, which I doubt, I know people from the Middle East, that is what they call it.

And I would rather be tied in with those groups than to embarrass my family that suffered in Europe throughout the 1930-1940's by acting the same to others as was done to them in that time.

Occupied Palestine is a term used by terrorists like Hamas to describe Israel. The implication is clear. Israel has no right to exist and is not a legitimate state. Indeed the obliteration of Israel is a Hamas aim. Do you share this aim? I assume you do if you use this term.

They no right to anything beyond their 1948 boarders, annexation of land is banned by the 4th Geneva Convention, as is the mass movement of people out of or into occupied land, they also have no right to deny Palestinian Refugees the right of return, which is part of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

But hey, since when have Israel given a crap about human rights or International laws?

The 1967 "border" is a cease fire line and is disputed. That is a fact and international law.

Occupied Palestine is a term used by terrorists like Hamas to describe Israel. The implication is clear. Israel has no right to exist and is not a legitimate state. Indeed the obliteration of Israel is a Hamas aim. Do you share this aim? I assume you do if you use this term.

The 1967 "border" is a cease fire line and is disputed. That is a fact and international law.

No, the boarder of 1948 = Israel.

The rest was Syria (Golan Heights), Jordan (West Bank) and Egypt (Gaza).

That is fact and International Law.

Israel call is an "armistice" line in some weird attempt to circumnavigate law but it's failed entirely and without the Veto of the US on every resolution calling for Israel to respect the boarders their occupation would have been removed decades ago.

That is fact.

The international legal consensus is Clear on this, and claim otherwise is laughable.

Hopefully Palestine can use the ICC to punish Israel for their war crimes and human rights violations and eventually force their withdrawal from The West Bank and end the illegal siege of Gaza.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Hopefully Palestine can use the ICC to punish Israel for their war crimes and human rights violations and eventually force their withdrawal from The West Bank and end the illegal siege of Gaza.

ICC involvement is the last thing Hamas would wish for given their own method of iron rule in Gaza (when is that election due again? where is their opposition party HQ in Gaza? where are those opponents who disappeared in the post-Cast Lead purge of 2006/7?).
    The ignoring by Israel's neighbours of the UN GA resolution made in 1948 in the first place didn't exactly help, now did it?

By the way pre-emptively, this doesn't make me a Zionist nor a supporter of Netanyahu's party.

Seeing as how it wouldn't be Hamas going to the ICC I don't see how that's Relevant.

I've never claimed to be a supporter of Hamas by the way, or even the PA, I am a supporter of Human Rights, the right to self determination and happen to be against Genocide and Ethnic Cleansing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Huh? Peaceful? I like Israel, but I'm not going to say they are peaceful in the way they grab land.

As for the antisemitism card; piss off, tbh. It pisses me off when any criticism of Israel is labeled antisemitism as if it's a magic card of some sort. And I say this as an Israel supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

So you support the rights of Germans to reclaim their properties in Danzig and Konigsberg? The rights of Finnish people to their former properties in Viipuri? Population movements happen during and after wars, time for the palestinians and their western sympathizers to get over it already.

This thread is just another example of the usual anti-israeli/anti-jewish agenda from the usual suspects at boards.ie.

Seeing as how it wouldn't be Hamas going to the ICC I don't see how that's Relevant.

I've never claimed to be a supporter of Hamas by the way, or even the PA, I am a supporter of Human Rights, the right to self determination and happen to be against Genocide and Ethnic Cleansing...
    It would be relevant as Hamas would have many a case to answer to the ICC. Don't expect that no-one else would bring their regime to attention in tit-for-tat fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Can we try and keep it polite, please? And unless you can demonstrate anti-Semitism, don't play the card. Also, refrain from reporting every little thing the people on the other side of the argument do while ignoring your side's offences. "Ashke-nazi" seems perfectly appropriate as a response to "islamofascist knuckledragger", but I don't like either of them. In case that isn't clear, don't use these terms.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

JustinDee wrote: »
    It would be relevant as Hamas would have many a case to answer to the ICC. Don't expect that no-one else would bring their regime to attention in tit-for-tat fashion.

Then let Hamas answer it.

Like I said, I've never claimed to be a supporter of Hamas.

But bare in mind that in the last 25 years more Israeli's have died from Peanut allergies than attacks from Palestinian Militants, I don't think Hamas's crimes come anywhere near those of Israel's.

Just saying.

Actually I heard that term used by a normal civilian who was reared in Oman and of Indian origin, she is in no way a terrorist. It is how it is seen by many nations over there. I see of the northern 6 counties of Ireland as occupied and I am not dissident republican (but that is for another thread) I do not want the annihilation of any race/group of people for having a different opinion to me, nor do I want any race/group to be annihilated for not handing over its land to a nation that is now acting like Germany circa 1939 taking other nations lands.

As for Palestine just taking it, why should they? If someone tried to take my home in the morning I would fight, I support the Palestinians right to do the same.

Every person has a right to a good quality of life, Israel is infringing on the lives of others, sterilisation and acts that remind me of "Lebensraum" They voted no to recognising Palestine as a state in November when the world rushed to recognise theirs. They are the ones who need to be given a good dose of cop on. They had a bad start, they don't have to act like this, they think their past means we should all bend over backwards for them, when they seem to think they can treat any other nation like shíte so excuse me for not condoning their actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

the_syco wrote: »
    Huh? Peaceful? I like Israel, but I'm not going to say they are peaceful in the way they grab land.

As for the antisemitism card; piss off, tbh. It pisses me off when any criticism of Israel is labeled antisemitism as if it's a magic card of some sort. And I say this as an Israel supporter.

There are two tactics employed by the useful idiots who seek to stifle criticism of Israel at all costs when they've found themselves backed into a corner.

1. Throwing around the 'that's anti-Semitic' slur with all the historical baggage that comes with it.

2. Creating the false dilemma that you're either with Israel or you're with the 'terrorists' (spit).

People are perfectly capable of being sympathetic to Israel and its people and wanting fair treatment for Palestinians (I'd put myself in that camp). In fact these likudite dupes find it impossible to understand that some people want a settlement to the conflict because they actually care about Israel and think Israeli politicians and planners are putting their own people at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

What occupation? They are in possession of what they believe is theirs. I am in possession of my phone, I believe it to be mine. Try and exert a claim that it is yours and I will resist.

Eh? With all due respect, are you taking the mick?

There seems to be a case of the Emperor's New Clothes catching around these parts.

Palestinian-loss-of-land-1946-2005.jpg

What occupation? They are in possession of what they believe is theirs...........

So is many a burglar I suppose.
    COYW wrote:
    Israel is legitimate country which isn't going anywhere. There is no occupation, they are regaining (peacefully) what they believe is truly theirs and they will continue to do so. People just need to accept that and move on

According to International law, Arab East Jerusalem, Golan and the West Bank are indeed occupied.

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭esteve

Israel seem to be the only one doing any boycotting around here....

Israel boycotts UN rights council in unprecedented move

Representatives of Israel have boycotted its regular review by the UN Human Rights Council, the first time a country has ever taken such action.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-21249431

Then let Hamas answer it.

Like I said, I've never claimed to be a supporter of Hamas.

But bare in mind that in the last 25 years more Israeli's have died from Peanut allergies than attacks from Palestinian Militants, I don't think Hamas's crimes come anywhere near those of Israel's.
    I'm just pointing out why they won't go the ICC as they've plenty of blood on their hands against their own/rival factions/Israelis, rule Gaza by martial jackboot, ban opposition and prevent possibility of any Gazan elections.

Israel needs a centrist majority government before anything happens, the same as Hamas needs to abandon their campaign as per their charter to even get near the table.

Until then, business as usual.

JustinDee wrote: »
    I'm just pointing out why they won't go the ICC as they've plenty of blood on their hands against their own/rival factions/Israelis, rule Gaza by martial jackboot, ban opposition and prevent possibility of any Gazan elections.

Israel needs a centrist majority government before anything happens, the same as Hamas needs to abandon their campaign as per their charter to even get near the table.

Until then, business as usual.

Hamas wouldn't be going to ICC anyway, the PA would, which Hamas are not part of!

As if to underline the point.....
    Israel must withdraw all settlers from the West Bank or potentially face a case at the international criminal court (ICC) for serious violations of international law, says a report by a United Nations agency that was immediately dismissed in Jerusalem as "counterproductive and unfortunate".
    All settlement activity in occupied territory must cease "without preconditions" and Israel "must immediately initiate a process of withdrawal of all settlers", said the UN Human Rights Council (UNHRC). Israel, it said, was in violation of article 49 of the fourth Geneva convention, which forbids the transfer of civilian populations to occupied territory.
    The settlements were "leading to a creeping annexation that prevents the establishment of a contiguous and viable Palestinian state and undermines the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination," it said.
    The UNHRC report broadly restated international consensus on the illegality of Israeli settlements. But its conclusions are likely to bolster the Palestinians following their admission last November to the UN as a non-member state, which potentially gives them recourse to the ICC.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/jan/31/israel-must-withdraw-settlers-icc

In truth sanctions are whats needed, not just a boycott, but in the absence of sanctions, a boycott will have to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

From the UN Treaty Collection website:
    In a communication received on 28 August 2002, the Government of Israel informed the Secretary-General of the following:

".....in connection with the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court adopted on 17 July 1998, [...] Israel does not intend to become a party to the treaty. Accordingly, Israel has no legal obligations arising from its signature on 31 December 2000. Israel requests that its intention not to become a party, as expressed in this letter, be reflected in the depositary’s status lists relating to this treaty."

In general terms, if a state has not ratified an international treaty, it is not bound by it.

Israel is not a state party to the International Criminal Court Statute/Rome Statute and not therefore not subject to ICC jurisdiction without a referral by the UN Security Council. The United States is one of the five permanent members of the UNSC, who can veto any proposal.

Here is an article by Global Post, arguing why it is unlikely that Israel will be prosecuted before the ICC.

Slightly OT, but I was watching Deadliest Warrior there today and it was the US Navy Seals vs Israeli Commando's, at the end of the episode when the Israeli Commando's were commenting, they stated "It doesn't matter which side won, we fight the same enemies" and the American's laughed. It saddened me. A nation (Palestine) being bullied off their land by force and those forcing them are backed by one of the most violent, over-armed countries in the world, how can they fight that. Reminds me of us during the British occupation, a small nation against a world power.

[MOD]"Posting a link to a video hosted elsewhere does not constitute discussion. Not everyone is able to watch videos, for technical or other reasons, and points raised on a video are almost impossible to refute. It's OK to link to a video, but it should be accompanied by a detailed summary of its contents and arguments, and you must be prepared to discuss it." [/MOD]