Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "what the hell do I call my training log?" training log...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Best of luck tomorrow C, sorry I'm not going to be there. I think 1:38 is very achievable for you. You're training lately has been really impressive. Just go out and enjoy it and have a slice of cake for me!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Silver!

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭upthe19th

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    Silver!

Nice running fella. Well done. That's great improvement.

What was your silver time C?

Gold was <1.30, silver was <1.34 and bronze was pb (<1.38). Waiting for official chip time but in 1.33's. (Stopped for a pee half way round and auto pause kicked in, so I can't take watch time as accurate.) Happy enough - set out at gold pace but HR was too high to keep with it so I pulled back while I still could. It's around a 5 min pb since Waterford in December and a 15 min pb for that course since last year. And I've still got a target to aim for.

1:33!!! That is incredible!!! Well done you. 15 mins off your time from last year is quite some achievement.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Well done Dilbert. Super run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Super stuff. Well done :D

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

Good running again from you,I see it was a good day all-around for the Dilberts with Mrs D winning her age category.

Very true Doc - and we're just back from eating the winnings! :D Couldn't eat another scrap - apart from the two chunks of DairyMilk I've in front of me.:o

Good to meet you again and good we both made progress.

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

Very true Doc - and we're just back from eating the winnings! :D Couldn't eat another scrap - apart from the two chunks of DairyMilk I've in front of me.:o

Good to meet you again and good we both made progress.

It looked like Ye were taking good advantage of the fine spread that Clonmel had put on earlier too;-)

Here was my Garmin data for today. It's evident that I was under a fair bit of pressure at the start and I'm happy I'd the sense to pull back because it resulted in a nice chunk off my PB.

Let's paint a target on me.
    Based on my last two races (this & GLR) I've pretty much decided to change my approach to racing. I'll train for a target time but race to the conditions and how my body's responding on the day. So I'll decide my HR range and, barring short hills, stick to it. So if I'm feeling good, I'll go faster for the same HR. If I'm not, I'll go slower. But I won't be missing targets because I'll be setting out to run my best on the day and nothing more or less.

'Cos I have come to the conclusion that my training is pretty good but my ability to estimate my race pace is not great. The last time I raced with no target was my 10k in April and I blasted it out of it, probably above my potential. This time and last time I've lost sleep worrying about whether I'd achieve my goals and I didn't. Disappointment is arising from my arbitrary goals not being matched by my performance. And life's too short for disappointment. Absolutely not the accepted wisdom around here, I suspect, but I'm a contrary fecker and prefer to make up my own mind about most things.

docjewel wrote: »
    It looked like Ye were taking good advantage of the fine spread that Clonmel had put on earlier too;-)

Well I had committed to eating NCMC's share too, you know, and I'm nothing if not a man of my word. ;)

Haven't posted an update of this in a while. Coming along satisfactorily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

it'll always look longer in metric....cough..ahem....

bur seriously - great improvement. It shows in your training log.

That MBA is obviously teaching you about strategy anyway!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done on the PB Dilbert.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Here was my Garmin data for today. It's evident that I was under a fair bit of pressure at the start and I'm happy I'd the sense to pull back because it resulted in a nice chunk off my PB.

Let's paint a target on me.
    Based on my last two races (this & GLR) I've pretty much decided to change my approach to racing. I'll train for a target time but race to the conditions and how my body's responding on the day. So I'll decide my HR range and, barring short hills, stick to it. So if I'm feeling good, I'll go faster for the same HR. If I'm not, I'll go slower. But I won't be missing targets because I'll be setting out to run my best on the day and nothing more or less.

'Cos I have come to the conclusion that my training is pretty good but my ability to estimate my race pace is not great. The last time I raced with no target was my 10k in April and I blasted it out of it, probably above my potential. This time and last time I've lost sleep worrying about whether I'd achieve my goals and I didn't. Disappointment is arising from my arbitrary goals not being matched by my performance. And life's too short for disappointment. Absolutely not the accepted wisdom around here, I suspect, but I'm a contrary fecker and prefer to make up my own mind about most things.

Fantastic result C, the hill at the start looks cruel, brilliant time for what looks like a tough course :D Couldn't agree more with the sentiment above - have been having similar thoughts recently - chasing numbers may not actually be the road to a happy running career :eek: (now just to figure out how to implement that on race day ;)). Well done to Mrs D too - some team :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,181 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Nice work, that's a tough track!

I ran 90 mins in clonmel last year ahead of a 3.09 dcm so you are in a great position for the marathon

So I'm hopefully back on the horse tonight after a couple of evenings with other commitments and some worries about a sore toe after Sunday. Noticed it when I went to go to the car after the race was over (pre-cake) but it disappeared then till Monday morning when I was going into work. Joint at the base of my big toe was hurting and continued to do so any time I flexed it. Said I'd take the "rest" part of Meno's "rest/easy" instruction literally for a couple of days.

Went back at running tonight and felt grand. Went at the prescribed session and had the following results:
    km|planned pace|actual pace|avg HR
    1|5.40|5.33|125
    2|5.40|5.25|121
    3|5.40|5.32|118
    3.3|5.40|5.30|128
    4.3|4.30|4.44|142
    5.3|4.30|4.21|151
    6.3|4.30|4.28|154
    7.3|4.30|4.25|150
    8.3|4.30|4.18|156
    9.3|4.30|4.09|161
    9.7|4.30|4.03|166
    10.7|5.40|5.41|148
    11.7|5.40|5.39|155
    12.7|5.40|5.34|143
    13.0|5.40|5.06|132

Actually felt pretty comfortable at speeds that were properly taxing me on Sunday, though the terrain was flatter today. I was also better warmed up before I started the pace section, which might have had something to do with it. Anyway hopefully the toe stays fine and I can run unhindered again.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,181 ✭✭✭Gavlor

That achy tenderness at the base of my big toe affected me on and off for a few weeks before my injury... Might be Worth doing a bit of rolling on the outside of your calf as a precaution?

About 10k yesterday (no watch), fairly gentle throughout.

Paced the 2hr group in the Oylegate half marathon today, along with Izoard. Well we paced a group of 5 or 6 until they pushed on at around 10 miles. We were pacee-less for a while until we saw a lone woman making a late burst and we slowed a bit for her to catch up, then ran in with her to get her 1.59.30. Chip time was 1.59.24, which was ok. Found the route better today than on my recce two weeks ago. Weather was just about perfect for running, excellent marshalling, plenty of water stops with bottles, lots of food at the end. Definitely one for the future - Mrs D is gutted that she didn't do it today. Her pb is nearly 15 mins faster than the winning lady! :eek:

Nice to meet a few Boardsies including Druss who clocked up a 9th place finish in the 10k.

Btw, next stop DCM via Meno's plan - or what's left of it - and a couple of yet-to-be-confirmed races in the mean time (would I be mad to book Charleville HM when I have to be in Dublin for Daddy-duty the day before and I'd have to drive down on the morning of the race?).

yep.

Thanks for clarifying that RK! :D

OK since Sunday I've done:

Monday 9.73km in 52:19, avg pace 5:23/km, avg HR 128bpm

Tuesday 10.82km in 56:32, avg pace 5.13/km, avg HR 131bpm

Wednesday Meno Session
    Kms|Target Pace|Avg Pace|Avg HR
    2.41|5:40|5:01|128
    6.44|4:40|4:36|151
    0.56|5:40|5:21|146
    4.83|4:40|4:40|153
    0.56|5:40|5:19|138
    3.22|4:40|4:36|153
    0.56|5:40|5:21|134
    1.61|4:40|4:43|155
    2.12|5:40|5:56|142
    |||
    TOTAL 22.31km|1:48|4:51|147

The first 3km are mostly downhill and the last 3km are therefore mostly uphill, which explains the speed in the early section and the lack of speed in the late section. I also slowed for a drink after the last MP section. Overall happy enough though.

Thursday 3.12km in 17:36, avg pace 5:38/km, avg HR 126bpm. Another couple of short slow runs today and tomorrow, then the big one on Sunday.

Update:
    Friday was a rest day, in that I went cycling instead of running :eek: Dilbert Óg is in the cycling club (as well as running, Scouts & music) so they were meeting up. Stuck the bike on the rack and went for short a leg-loosener.

On Saturday Dilbert Óg had running so I pulled on the spikes and ran around the pitch that he was training on - just over 8km at an average of 5:47/km, avg HR 133 bpm.

My Sunday run was the Meno plan LSR. Planned to complete the first MP section before the half way point and the second one to leave about 3km c/d before the end. MP for the purposes of training is 4:40/km, easy pace is 5:30 - 5:40/km. Laps were as follows:
    km|avg pace|avg HR
    1|5.21|128
    2|5.19|133
    3|5.24|130
    4|4.58|124
    5|5.22|129
    6|5.40|132
    7|5.23|133
    8|5.32|135
    8.7|5.17|135
    9.7|4.43|145
    10.7|4.34|148
    11.7|4.26|153
    12.7|4.26|161
    13.5|4.17|158
    14.5|5.32|154
    15.5|5.09|151
    16.5|5.02|134
    17.5|5.27|142
    18.5|5.19|137
    19.5|5.26|139
    20.5|5.26|140
    21.2|5.27|138
    22.2|4.40|148
    23.2|4.35|154
    24.2|4.30|159
    25.2|4.31|161
    26|4.39|165
    27|6.31|154
    28|5.42|153
    29|5.42|147
    29.1|6.00|142

Took a wee walk break after the last MP section, just to take the last of my water because I was going uphill and was (to be honest) gasping! Tough enough session though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

How's the calf?

They're actually both as tight as drum skins. Fortunately I've been forced to rest as work is mental and I haven't had time to run. Unfortunately that means I haven't had time for a Physio appointment either. Might try something gentle this evening and see how it goes.

Thanks for asking.

Working till mental o'clock. Came home and had to help Dilbert Og get his bike ready for a race tomorrow, so no running again. :( On the other hand if crisps and red wine are a cure for tight calf muscles then I'll be grand if and when I get to run tomorrow (before or after work, who knows?).