Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "what the hell do I call my training log?" training log...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,181 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    Session done in the midst of a biblical downpour (ok I exaggerate slightly but it was piddling it down fairly consistently). Started off with 4k down to the track - average pace 5.05/km, avg HR 132bpm.

Got to the track & did another 1k to settle down before the 4x1200m with 2:15 rest (0:45 walk, 1:30 jog) in between. Had set up the session on my watch to aim for heart rate zone 5 with no target on my rest sections. Started off the first rep a bit fast - should have been aiming for 3:53/km to match my race last week but did the first 1200m @3:30/km. The other 3 reps were progressively slower, though 2nd (3:43/km) & 3rd (3:44/km) were still faster than, and 4th rep matched, the target speed. Garmin data here. Finished out the remainder of 8k @5:21/km, avg hr 132bpm.

Finally did the 4k home (avg pace 5:35/km, avg hr 141bpm).

Great session, especially in this weather. I think Noah is outside building his ark!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Gavlor wrote: »
    Great session, especially in this weather. I think Noah is outside building his ark!!

Some beardy guy was down there herding pairs of animals alright :eek: - wondered what that was about!:D

18km done tonight at a relatively leisurely 5.43/km, avg HR 132. Lovely evening for a run - sunglasses out again. Could get used to this!

On a side note, seeing there are a few dog lovers around here, my Lexi got spring-cleaned today. She's sulking now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

18km done tonight at a relatively leisurely 5.43/km, avg HR 132. Lovely evening for a run - sunglasses out again. Could get used to this!

On a side note, seeing there are a few dog lovers around here, my Lexi got spring-cleaned today. She's sulking now!

Gorgeous dog Dilbert .. but looks like she took a massive dump on your deck :eek: (top left of photo).

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Gorgeous dog Dilbert .. but looks like she took a massive dump on your deck :eek: (top left of photo).

Lol - spilt pot plant - it's about the only place she hasn't tried!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Aw she's gorgeous C, I love when they get all buzz cut, they look like puppies again! Libby has been acting like a pup since her haircut - I think she may be having a mid life crises :)

6.35km done at 5.14/km avg pace, avg HR 142. Awful night out there - driving rain and strong winds. Miserable night for running.

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭upthe19th

6.35km done at 5.14/km avg pace, avg HR 142. Awful night out there - driving rain and strong winds. Miserable night for running.

yep, that's why I'm watching the masters, with a cup of coffee and M&S cookies:)

Joint longest training run of the campaign today 20m was called for, to follow 18km on Friday and 6km yesterday. That 6.35km run looked as follows:
    Km|Pace|Avg HR
    1|5:09|158
    2|5:20|149
    3|4:59|122
    4|5:18|134
    5|5:32|148
    6|5:12|144
    7|4:51|137

Wasn't quite looking forward to the LSR given the soaking I got the night before and the wind & rain that woke me up several times during the night.

Had originally planned to run the same route as my last 32km (Easter Sunday) but it included both hills & riverside roads, so I figured I'd have ended up like Mary Poppins - or blown under a truck - before too long. Similar problem with going the opposite direction along the N25 - very exposed. So I decided to go do some laps of John F Kennedy Park, which is only a few kms out the road. There's a tarmac path which runs around the park and it's about 3.5km around - so it would require just over 9 laps to make the distance. Kept it in my mind that I might give the 10th lap a shot if everything was going well.

Started off in an anti-clockwise direction - the first 1.4km is largely downhill, the remainder is generally uphill, so a real interval route. Was hoping to pace myself naturally, without overly relying on the Garmin. That was a mistake. Turned out my natural pacing is a bit of a disaster (I'd link to my Garmin Connect but it appears that last night's soaking did my watch no good - it's recording data but won't connect to either Training Centre or Connect:mad:).

Mostly the trees sheltered me from the wind, apart from a few gusts that nearly stopped me in my tracks, and coming up the last hill to the start where the wind was against me each time.

Anyway, the lap data looks like follows:
    Km|Pace|Avg HR
    1|4:52|159
    2|4:53|158
    3|4:53|146
    4|4:51|146
    5|4:47|150
    6|4:52|153
    7|4:59|149
    8|4:59|141
    9|4:57|144
    10|4:54|153
    11|4:51|154
    12|4:50|139
    13|5:04|151
    14|4:58|152
    15|4:56|148
    16|5:00|146
    17|4:56|152
    18|5:04|151
    19|4:53|141
    20|5:13|150
    21|4:59|151
    22|4:59|149
    23|5:02|148
    24|5:12|151
    25|5:03|153
    26|4:59|143
    27|5:12|151
    28|5:10|153
    29|5:07|151
    30|5:10|146
    31|5:09|153
    32|5:14|154

Having typed that in I'm actually a bit annoyed I didn't go for the extra lap because the data doesn't suggest that I was struggling but, given that it was nearly 11:30 when I started (because I watched the F1 after breakfast), I was running nearly on empty by 2pm, despite having a gel just before 20km (first one since DCM) and a half pack of Rolos as I went around, all washed down by water / High 5 electrolyte. (The watch tells me I burnt more than 2500 calories in the run :eek:). Had food when I got home but I still ended up feeling pretty crap for a good few hours after. Had I paced myself better I'm pretty sure I'd have felt more like going the further distance. I really need to cop on and fix this for my next campaign, wherever it be directed.

Anyway, tis done now. Taper P&D style doesn't seem much of a taper - 13km tomorrow!

Must try book a rub down for next week, just to work out any knots that are there. I've also pretty much decided to do the Butlerstown 10k next Friday (only €5 to enter), so we'll see how that pans out.

MONDAY
    After much procrastinating, I went for my 13k (incl. extras) just after dinner, when the monsoon abated and the hurricane died down slightly. Had 65 mins between getting out and Mrs. D having to go out, so I knew I was under pressure. Decided to do a loop with the wind behind me when I was on higher ground and in my face when I was more sheltered, partly leading to the faster km laps. Considered swapping with my Wednesday night 10k recovery but was going to be passing the track anyway so I figured I'd get the full job done.

Went out and did the first kms in:
    Km|Pace|Avg HR
    1|4:59|148
    2|5:00|142
    3|4:54|136
    4|5:00|133
    5|5:04|134
    6|5:16|128

After that it was onto the track for 6x500m@5k with 50-90% recovery. Had done these sessions at 3:30/km previously but was feeling a bit tired so decided to wind it back and aim for 3:45/km or thereabouts (and anyway my 5k race pace is around 3:53/km) with 1 min between. So that looked like this:
    Distance|Avg Pace|Time|Avg HR
    490m|5:13|2:33|137
    504m|3:50|1:55|152
    198m|5:13|1:02|147
    500m|3:48|1:54|152
    190m|5:20|1:00|151
    506m|3:42|1:52|155
    197m|5:13|1:01|154
    507m|3:46|1:54|158
    202m|5:03|1:01|157
    500m|3:45|1:52|157
    694m*|5:07|3:33|149
    505m^|4:25|2:13|162
    1.00|5:29|5:29|151
    1.00|5:08|5:08|148
    162m|5:04|0:49|137

*I realised I'd got to do my last 500m@5k on the way home or I'd run out of time. So I'd to get clear of any junctions before I hit the gas again.
    ^Then I realised that I was running uphill into a gale force wind. And then it started hammering rain to boot. It was the slowest but definitely the hardest km.

Wednesday
    Meant to do 10k recovery but it was so horribly wet & windy - driving rain coming horizontally - that I just didn't. Next run is Friday night with a 10k tune-up race.

Good luck tonight. Mind the body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

upthe19th wrote: »
    Good luck tonight. Mind the body.
    +1 Don't set the bar too high though ;)

Thanks folks.

Not much danger of that K.

Thanks folks.

Not much danger of that K.

Eh...actually...sorry K...39.40...

Nice one!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

blockic wrote: »
    I'm certain that if you keep the training up and consistant for another 3 months, you'll hit another 2 or 3 of those times and you can come back and tell me that I was right then! :D

*Cough* I said 3 months lad. Not 3 bloody weeks. :pac: Fantastic result! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done D, thats a savage time.

tang1 wrote: »
    Well done D, thats a savage time.
    +1 You FECKER :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

Superb result, you seem to be in excellent form now approaching Limerick :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Wow! That's a savage time, well done!

Mcmillan is predicting a 3:06 marathon for you.......guess you'll be going platinum then ;):D

McMillan has obviously been drinking...

Seriously though that is a mighty 10k time. You must be thrilled :) Pressure is on me now.....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done - superb performance.. :)

Seriously though that is a mighty 10k time. You must be thrilled :) Pressure is on me now.....:)

Pressure is for tyres K.

Really though I am delighted - was going on your gold, silver, bronze scheme but went out a bit fast. Found I was managing ok so said I'd see if it could last.

Race report later, when official results go up.

Sweet Jaysus. Well done man. Savage stuff. Roll on limerick.

I knew i was holding ya back on them runs.

upthe19th wrote: »
    I knew i was holding ya back on them runs.

You weren't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Some running - fair play Dilbert!

You weren't.

Man love is great ;)

Gavlor wrote: »
    Man love is great ;)

I'll take your word for that Gavlor!