Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UFC 156: Aldo vs. Edgar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

FB fights on now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭CZ 453

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I've already said in the thread, I think Aldo will win.

However, it's important not to forget that Frankie is a great fighter in his own right. He's a former World Champion of probably the deepest weigh class there is.

IMO he beat Henderson twice. He should still be LHW Champ.

My opinion doesn't matter however

Light heavyweight champion?????? :confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,257 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Great fight and great finish from Rivera.

He wouldn't have been able to throw many more punches mind. Wrecked!

shezer wrote: »
    Light heavyweight champion?????? :confused::D

Sorry, not former, future.

He'll fight Chael Sonnen for the belt late this year :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

What an excellent first fight.

I don't know who to root for between Edgar and Aldo because I like them both. I really hope it's a close fight though, it would be great if a rivalry grew out of this and we get to see several fights between the two. Frankie never seems to fight opponents just once :D

Why does Mike Goldberg insist of calling every Hawaiian fighter "scrappy"?

Jesus lad! Way to throw away a fight!!!!!

Even though Kimura was attacking from the back, there's always that chance that the judges would've been giving Camis both those rounds just from being on top ( :rolleyes: )

Then while on top in the thirs he throws it away.

Delighted for Kimura though. Very impressed by him. Will be looking out for his in the future.

Jesus lad! Way to throw away a fight!!!!!

Even though Kimura was attacking from the back, there's always that chance that the judges would've been giving Camis both those rounds just from being on top ( :rolleyes: )

Then while on top in the thirs he throws it away.

Delighted for Kimura though. Very impressed by him. Will be looking out for his in the future.

Gonna have to improve his stand up though

scudzilla wrote: »
    Gonna have to improve his stand up though

Indeed but he's young and has 11 fights, plenty of time to get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Yves Edwards has always been a guy I hoped would do well in the UFC, but he always stumbles at an early hurdle. He's only ever a gate-keeper and when he does well for a couple of fights, he loses one and gets set back a few steps.

Also, didn't El Guapo himself get Yves his first MMA fight?

If I remember the story correctly, Yves had been training for 12 months or so and was at a local show. As was Bas Rutten. Yves finds Bas and tells him he's a huge fan.

In the mean time one of the fighters pulls out and Yves throws his hat in the ring, despite being at a huge weight disadvantage.

They give him the fight, and Bas admires his guts and corners him.

Yves then wins in the 1st round.

I've never actually heard that story!
    Pretty cool if its true.
    Yves just never seemed to have enough talent to be a top contender. A pity really, I always liked him.

El Guapo! wrote: »
    I've never actually heard that story!
    Pretty cool if its true.
    Yves just never seemed to have enough talent to be a top contender.

Yeah it's true, I know the story because Bas told it on Inside MMA a couple of years ago.

Tough loss for him there but he can't be expeting to turn up in a condition whereby he's totally f*cked in the 3rd round and to win fights like that, no matter how close they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Looking at the weight in, Edgar looks in great shape

Yves must be close to being cut now. He's lost 3 of his last 5 and, lets be honest, he's going nowhere in the division.

Feelin a bit too tipsy here and fallin asleep!
    Think ill hit record and head to the nest!
    Ill watch Frankie get a new belt in the morning! :D
    Enjoy the scraps lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

What an entrance :p

T.N.T. , 'tuuuune'

What fight are we looking forward to most?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Kim Winslow is a disgrace. Nevada your a disgusting for letting her ref and not allowing Big Jon to.

I say it every time, Kim Winslow is a terrible ref.
    She has no business being in a cage.

F*cking Kim Winslow, she's a liability.

Bobby Green is sitting in Half-Guard putting in some GnP and she stands them up?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

is THE MAIN CARD 2AM OR 3 LOCAL TIME?

edit: sorry for shouting.

jayteecork wrote: »

3am

jayteecork wrote: »

Depends where you consider local :P
    3am

IT'S ON AT 3AM!!!

My Fantasy picks have gone to shite so far

0/4 and 2 boosts down :mad:

YES!!!

Get in there! Delighted for Green.

bloody hell that was an impressive performance by Bobby Green.

Awesome win by Green.
    Nice win for your debut.

He deserved that after winslows carry on

Did Bobby Green just go HHH on us?

shezer wrote: »
    He deserved that after winslows carry on

She's a fcukin liability

I wonder is Winslow reffing the Silva / Overeem fight

scudzilla wrote: »
    She's a fcukin liability

Yeah but.......

you would though wouldn't ya?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Yeah but.......

No way she isn't a carpet muncher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Awesome win by Green.
    Nice win for your debut.

Shouldnt you be in bed? :pac:

unknown13 wrote: »
    I wonder is Winslow reffing the Silva / Overeem fight

If so they'll probably do a reverse stand up.

Overeem will be throwing punches whilst standing, but she'll insist he get down into his guard with Bigfoot on top.

Yeah but.......

Id genuinely rather shoot myself in the face

Yeah but.......

Jaysus I'll have some of whatever you're drinking.

WOW!!

Fcuking hell woodley :eek:

Fvcking hell!

He just did to Hieron what was done to him by Nate the Great! Super stuff!

Yeah but.......

DUUUUUUUUUUUURRRRRRRRRRRRTTTTTTTYYYYYYYYYY

Yeah but.......

I wonder does she stand her husband up when he's active in full guard ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Yeah but.......

She'd be terrible in the sack. You'd be getting into your groove and she'd randomly insist you stand up for no good reason.

Her husband must be the victim of some vicious eyepokes. Maybe that's what motivated her to become a ref.

leggo wrote: »
    She'd be terrible in the sack. You'd be getting into your groove and she'd randomly insist you stand up for no good reason.

There wouldn't be enough little blue pills in the world in order for her to make a man..... stand up

Tibau isn't even 30, Jaysus!

Dunham takes this by UD for me.

What was Gleisons walk in song? Blanking here.