Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Developer missing for 8 months found starving on roadside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I haven't read the entire thread, but is there explanation as to why did the partner waited so long to contact the authorities? 3 weeks or more if I recall correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

juan.kerr wrote: »
    I haven't read the entire thread, but is there explanation as to why did the partner waited so long to contact the authorities? 3 weeks or more if I recall correctly.
    He vanished on May 27 last year. The last person to see him was his partner of 10 years, Siobhan O'Callaghan, who lived at the time in Clontarf. She reported him missing at her local garda station on June 22 – the delay in her coming forward was due to his unpredictable travelling habits.

According to sources, Ms O'Callaghan baulked at the idea of gardai going through her partner's bank accounts and she opposed them issuing a public appeal for information.

Also from today's Sindo.
    Chequered past of enigmatic developer adds another layer to kidnap mystery

THE intriguing past of the property developer Kevin McGeever has come back to haunt him as detectives investigate his claim that he was kidnapped and held captive for eight months.

The elusive Mr McGeever has a string of dissatisfied customers, was once pursued by the FBI over an alleged $3m (€2.25m) fraud and he is still wanted by police in Dubai for questioning about a €630,000 fraud. Interpol has twice issued alerts about the developer to international police forces, describing him as a fugitive in both countries.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/chequered-past-of-enigmatic-developer-adds-another-layer-to-kidnap-mystery-29059200.html

invest4deepvalue.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

Sunday World front page referred to him as a "Walter Mitty" character!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I'd say he just felt like a nice relax in the ditch and simply lost track of the time. (and his shoes) You can't do anything these days without being labelled mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    I'd say he just felt like a nice relax in the ditch and simply lost track of the time. (and his shoes) You can't do anything these days without being labelled mad.

...not so mad as to forget to put his 4 wheel drive vehicle in storage just before he was kidnapped. What fortuitous shaggin timin....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Nodin wrote: »
    ...not so mad as to forget to put his 4 wheel drive vehicle in storage just before he was kidnapped. What fortuitous shaggin timin....

Hmmm was the shinners involved I wonders...sounds like their ...uh....style ?

What combination of white spirits and drugs have you been taking to throw that up and post it here?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

What combination of white spirits and drugs have you been taking to throw that up and post it here?

Just arskin a question pal ......you object to that ?

Another question...what really happened to Jean McConville ?

Its not based on any information available, so I'd say its just some stupid attempt to stir the shite. And funny enough...............

Whats the relevance of that to the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Whats the relevance of that to the thread?

Everyone knows there is no relevance, it's just there is a certain type of person who gets a kick out of using certain well known victims of the Troubles no matter what the context of the conversation just so they can feel they have scored a point against Sinn Fein.

As I said in another thread they are at the same level intellectually as a person who brings up the Holocaust any time Germany is being discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

The Dude wrote:
    I dropped off the money exactly as per... look, man, I've got certain information, all right? Certain things have come to light. And, you know, has it ever occurred to you, that, instead of, uh, you know, running around, uh, uh, blaming me, you know, given the nature of all this new shít, you know, I-I-I-I... this could be a-a-a-a lot more, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, complex, I mean, it's not just, it might not be just such a simple... uh, you know?
    What in God's holy name are you blathering about?
    The Dude wrote:
    I'll tell you what I'm blathering about... I've got information man! New shít has come to light! And shít... man, she kidnapped herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

^^^

More proof if needed that The Big Lebowski has all the answers to lifes' mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

I think it's cheap of you to throw Jean McConville out so casually like that. Trolling of the lowest common denominator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I'm calling bullshit on this story. Just my gut instinct. He was a property developer not some guy working in a spar. I reckon he he has some debt to his name.

I'm sure as time goes by we'll hear about how all his money was deducted from his bank account by his "kidnappers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I saw a headline in the shop this morning with a photo of him and "Spoofer" above it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

NIMAN wrote: »
    I saw a headline in the shop this morning with a photo of him and "Spoofer" above it.

Personally I think he is a spoofer :P
    Probably owes a few million. Working the system. I expect him to come out and say he has no money now. All one big con. Albeit a ballzy and blatant con.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Probably because any details he has given smells like the biggest cock and bull story since an unmarried girl in Nazareth struggled to think up a plausible explanation to give to her hubby-to-be as to why she was pregnant.

It was the donkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

So he disappears from Ireland.
    His partner doesn't issue any alert for the best part of a month?
    Texts are sent from the UK and Germany from his phoen saying he is ok?
    He has something carved on his head, that now seems to be written in a marker pen?
    They show him the pictures of other 'victims' and let him live after? (Not the Russian MO at all tbh)
    They drop him out of a van on the roadside and he can't remember anything.
    He has a phone and a torch that they gave him... WHY?
    He remembers huge levels of details now.
    Interpol appear to have a warrant out on him.
    Dubai police and the FBI seem to have warrants out on him.
    He is in massive debts.

This whole story is a total mess. I can't figure out what the hell is supposed to be going on. EVEN if he was kidnapped why would he be dealing with the IRA and the Russian Mafia? Why would they let him out of this alive... Why let him go now (or at all?)

Hmmmmm, no wonder there is so much suspicion around this. It seems like the ramblings of a mad man.

why would he be dealing with the IRA and the Russian Mafia?
    Money laundering?

invest4deepvalue.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Absolute chancer this guy is far from innocent

Abducted developer leaves no address as he departs hospital

PROPERTY developer Kevin McGeever did not leave any forwarding address for gardai when he was discharged from hospital yesterday.
    One garda officer said last night: "He left the hospital and did not indicate to us where he was going. We will continue with our inquiries but have no idea where he intends to stay in the short term.

"But I am sure we can track him down if we need to talk to him again."
    A former business associate said he believed Mr McGeever would not return to his Galway mansion, which has not been lived in for some time.

"I'd imagine he'll go to Dublin. The house is not even liveable, none of the rooms is finished. But that place will be full of unhappy memories from workers picketing outside demanding they get paid," he said.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/abducted-developer-leaves-no-address-as-he-departs-hospital-29064645.html

invest4deepvalue.com

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Do-more wrote: »
    One garda officer said last night: "He left the hospital and did not indicate to us where he was going. We will continue with our inquiries but have no idea where he intends to stay in the short term.

"But I am sure we can track him down if we need to talk to him again."

Faith in Gardai restored :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

You dont have Interpol and the FBI after you if you have done nothing wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

Is that you Mr Frazer?

I wonder how much of these reports is fact and how much is hearsay. Definitely shaping up to be a shady affair alright.
    I can see him getting a ghostwriter when he goes to prison. Then a movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

Most likely the biggest trip of his life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/mystery-firm-revealed-as-owner-of-abducted-tycoons-mansion-29077052.html
    THE luxury mansion where property tycoon Kevin McGeever lived before he went missing for eight months is owned by a mystery company with no obvious links to the alleged kidnap victim.

Land Registry papers show that the Co Galway property, which he called "Nirvana", is owned by Uni-versal Assets Limited, with an Athlone firm of solicitors named on the documents as a contact. A trawl of company records has revealed that the only firm with that name in Ireland was dissolved 14 years ago.

Mr McGeever's name is not mentioned in any of the paperwork sent by the firm to the Company Records Office.

A director of a British company that is also called Universal Assets Limited has told the Irish Independent that it does not own the Galway mansion and has never had any dealings with Mr McGeever.

The Mayo-born businessman disappeared for eight months before being found wandering barefoot on a road near the Cavan-Leitrim border on January 29.

He was in an emaciated state, disorientated and had a long beard.

His partner, Siobhan O'Callaghan, had reported him missing last June, a month after his disappearance.

When he was found, he was taken to Midlands Regional Hospital in Mullingar, having told gardai and his family that he had been abducted from his home in Galway.

He was unable to supply any details about his captivity, why he was abducted or by whom.

Allegations have emerged since his re-appearance that he fraudulently sold properties in Dubai at addresses that did not exist, and in other cases simultaneously sold the same apartment multiple times to different people.

He has appeared on Interpol wanted lists over the past decade due to suspected fraudulent business dealings in California as well as in the United Arab Emirates.

Mr McGeever left hospital last Monday without giving gardai investigating his alleged abduction a forwarding address.

His current whereabouts are unknown.

When his brother, Brendan, was asked if he could contact Mr McGeever to request an interview in relation to the Galway property, he said: "I can't help you there. I don't know where he is."

The palatial mansion, in Craughwell, Co Galway, where Mr McGeever was living before his disappearance is on two acres and features a fountain, large garage and stables.

It was sold unfinished by the developer who built it, Manus Murray.

Attempts to contact Mr Murray to ask him about the sale were unsuccessful.

Mr McGeever was said to have been living in the garage because the rooms in the main building had not been completed.

The mansion currently appears to be uninhabited.

Ownership papers for the property show it was bought under the company name Universal Assets Limited, with the deal coming into effect on July 28, 2008.

The company's address is listed as c/o Anthony Barry & Co Solicitors, Epworth Hall, Northgate Street, Athlone, Co Westmeath.

Mr Barry told the Irish Independent he sold his practice in 2005, but added that his successors who bought the firm could have dealt with the property sale.

Anthony Barry & Co Solicitors was taken over by another Athlone lawyer, Orla Cummins, who is listed as Mr McGeever's representative in a High Court case dating from 2009.

Ms Cummins did not respond to several requests for comment on the ownership of the mansion and answers to questions about Universal Assets Limited and Mr McGeever's connection with it.

On the run again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

On the run again.

This whole thing is terribly shady. Would love to know what's going on-he's in deep with something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭lg123

very very weird.

this story will make a great movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

He must not be wanted by Interpol if he is allowed to head off on his own.

Gardai dont seem too bothered about the whole thing either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The Garda obviously know this guy is a bluffer. They are not too keen on knowing where he is either as he is no longer a missing person and is over 18 years old so free to go and do what he likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Sniper Alert

Its a bit like when Jack goes jumping out through the window in Fr Ted and their reaction is 'No let him off,he'll make his own way back'... I think its the same here except he went out the hospital window with just the white gown and an I.V. drip dangling from his arm. Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

He's not on the Interpol wanted list. Maybe he's just wanted for questioning somewhere or something.

Anyway, the whole thing has "dodgy" written all over it. It looks like he's run his affairs by using all sorts of loopholes and tricks to avoid having his name personally appear on any documents. Even the way his house has supposedly been bought, in the names of companies that no longer exist. He's no doubt been doing that with all his property dealing all over the world.

My guess is that he's been all over the place for the last 8 months, running from police and "clients", and the kidnap is probably quite recent. But he's refusing to say anything about it because that will just open the whole can of worms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sounds like a film in the making alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

mike65 wrote: »
    Sounds like a film in the making alright.

A real Local-Hero of the great Celtic Tiger era....wonder if he'll be played by Kevin Space(r)y......:o

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

AlekSmart wrote: »
    A real Local-Hero of the great Celtic Tiger era....wonder if he'll be played by Kevin Space(r)y......:o

Or Skint Eastwood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

From the Galway Advertiser:
    Galway developer in kidnap saga arrested for wasting garda time, says tomorrow's Irish Independent.

Kind of expected it to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Galway Adveriser showing picture of tomorrows Independent on their Facebook.

He's been arrested for wasting the Gardai's time. In custody as we speak.

Edit: mars bar got there before me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

From tomorrow's Irish Times:

Kevin McGeever, the 69-year-old businessman who claimed he had been in captivity for eight months, was still being held in Gort Garda Station, Co Galway, last night following his arrest earlier in the day.
    It is understood that Mr McGeever was being questioned on suspicion of making a report that wasted Garda time. He was detained under section 4 of the 1984 Criminal Justice Act, which allowed him to be held for up to 24 hours.
    Mr McGeever was found wandering barefoot and wearing a plastic bag on a road between Swanlinbar and Ballinamore, Co Leitrim, on January 29th last. He was reported to have lost several stone in weight and to have been in a dishevelled and disoriented state, with the word “thief” marked in ink on his forehead.
    He claimed to have been kidnapped from his home in Craughwell, east Galway, at gunpoint on May 27th last year and to have been held in a container for eight months and beaten. His partner had reported him missing in the same month.
    He was taken for treatment to the regional hospital in Mullingar but left before giving a full account to gardaí of what had occurred to him.
    His brother Brendan McGeever told RTÉ’s John Murray show last month that the businessman had been held in a dark room, had received threats to his life on several occasions and had been physically abused by his captors.
    He also dismissed as “nonsense” speculation about Russian mafia links to his brother’s reported abduction.
    Thu, Mar 14, 2013, 23:41

Link: http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/businessman-kevin-mcgeever-held-for-questioning-in-co-galway-1.1326569

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭gjc

Well well well completely left side of field...... Not!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

One assumes an application for Free Legal Aid will follow in due course ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

What a div.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

He deserves his day in court before being guilty ....
    BUT

I knew it.
    "Celtic Tiger Self Kidnapping". Would make a great comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

This is from the daily mail, but even if it's only half true it makes interesting reading

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2276316/How-mysterious-McGeever-millions-murky-world-global-property.html

Jaysus this guy takes Walter Mitty to a whole new level.

If only it was an Olympic sport he'd win Gold, Silver and Bronze for Ireland (and then flog his medals 3 times over) :-) .

invest4deepvalue.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Ok so he's obviously a conman and something about this story never added up.
    But, going missing for months, ok, but, on return being in such a state, starved and what not? He hardly did it to himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If these we really serious people he turned over why would they bother keeping him alive for 8 months?

yeah, I agree. And never looked for a ransom! Its all a bit shady!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭G Power

Gee_G wrote: »
    yeah, I agree. And never looked for a ransom! Its all a bit shady!

because there are some levels of satisfaction that money can't buy ;)

G Power wrote: »

because there are some levels of satisfaction that money can't buy ;)
    Ha, true!:)
    After reading the article above from the daily mail(and as the poster said,even if half of it is true ) it gives you a good idea of how many people he screwed over. Maybe they all chipped in together :)