Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SU Elections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭paperpackages

anywhere with proper info on candidates like party views ect

Ban on canvassing until Sunday at 6pm, after that all information will be thrown at you! :P Sin Election Special out on Tuesday also with interviews with all candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

First day went off pretty smoothly for everyone as far as I could see. Some really good posters (Stitt's Pope ones come to mind). Great presence for Kearns in terms of his team postering, same for Kennedy.

Breslin, Kelly, O'Hagan and Stitt had decent sized teams. Didn't see many for McConigley, Nic A Bhaird, McCallion, Higgins, Clancy or Kiely. Nolan had no visible presence at all, no posters up or anything. Not sure if he is really running or not. Rumors suggest he is doing something tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    Breslin, Kelly, O'Hagan and Stitt had decent sized teams. Didn't see many for McConigley, Nic A Bhaird, McCallion, Higgins, Clancy or Kiely. Nolan had no visible presence at all, no posters up or anything. Not sure if he is really running or not. Rumors suggest he is doing something tomorrow.

Well, I definitely saw people for Nic A Bhaird, McCallion and Clancy as well as Stitt and Kelly.
    What might we deduce from our prime time investigation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Ficheall wrote: »
    Well, I definitely saw people for Nic A Bhaird, McCallion and Clancy as well as Stitt and Kelly.
    What might we deduce from our prime time investigation?
    Think I saw like 4 for Clancy, similar for Nic A Bhaird. Was just commenting they were small, which is fine for the Sunday evening. We'll know better today at 12-2 what presence each candidate has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

Passing campus by car today there were people out at the entrance beside Earl's Island. Couldn't make out who they were for. Haven't been to campus yet, not sure if I want to walk down the concourse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 IheartGOW

Was at the hustings for welfare just there. It seems all the candidates are relatively similar in terms of policies etc etc. No real standout candidate to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Manco

Interesting that the Christian Union are more prominent than LifeSoc in opposing the referendum, if posters are anything to go by, and with said posters saying stuff like 'Thou shall not kill' they might do their own 'cause' more harm than good by repelling anyone undecided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭keesa

The whole abortion thing is ridiculous. Ignoring personal views, if the students vote Yes then they've blocked the pro-lifers and are misrepresenting them, and vice versa. If you vote no that doesn't mean they'll go prolife either, just that they wont push prochoice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

My problem with the referendum isn't what it stands for, it's the wording. The SU must do everything in their power to help or something like that. I dont have the exact wording. Does that mean that if a woman comes to them in a desperate financial scenario and asks for help, will the SU fund a trip to England/Belfast?

I think it's a hastily formed "bill" without much consultation with the real world.

That being said, I'll probably vote yes as the lesser of two evils. You can be pro-choice and anti-abortion. I've found more than a few people calling themselves pro-life but then saying that they dont want their opinions forced on anyone. Sorry, but that's a pro-choice stance.

Also I'm ok with ignoring the views of the majority of students (since >60% wont bother to vote anyway, quorum anybody?).

The current stance of the SU is probably the best. It doesn't specifically support anything. When a person comes to the office seeking help in that regard the SU don't give them advice. It gives them information for ALL the options available to them. When a person chooses an option the SU then direct them to someone more qualified to help in whatever choice the person made.

The pro-life group has a large number of Christian and particularly conservative christain people. If one of them were to fall pregnant, how would they feel comfortable talking to an SU that, for all intents and purposes, alienates them in this respect?

The best stance is no stance. The SU is not some moral compass gently schooling us miscreants in the ways of morality and ethics.

I have heard people compare this to infringement on gay rights issues, a comparison I find abhorrent. To suggest that there is some kind of moral conundrum behind treating each human being as an equal is repulsive.

Furthermore it irritates me slightly that some of the same women who tell us men have no right to control their actions are now telling men how to vote.

A problem I have with both sides is that they are ripping down each others posters, and covering over them etc. which suggests that each side has such a level of contempt for each other that they are willing to make a mockery of the democratic process they are trying to engage in, and simultaneously disrespecting every potential voter they are trying to influence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Fooker

Who were the people who proposed this in the first place anyway?

Fooker wrote: »
    Who were the people who proposed this in the first place anyway?

The Choice Society and the Feminist Society.

And then there's the fact that the referendum isn't solely on abortion, but on full reproductive rights - anyone have any idea what those are?

And the similarly undefined "every available measure" to enforce these rights on campus.
    This ranges from the pro-yes side are saying this means providing information (which is already done) to the pro-no side suggesting there'll be abortions on campus.

It's all a little too hand-wavy for my liking.

Crutches are the best item for dodging canvassers. Nobody will go near me because of them, I can't take leaflets. Take that, pushy people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭nobbo

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    Crutches are the best item for dodging canvassers. Nobody will go near me because of them, I can't take leaflets. Take that, pushy people!

If that was you who I badgered after ya fell down the stairs, I apologise :o

Would there be "Abortion Tuesdays", like they have "Condom Wednesdays"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

CTYIgirl wrote: »

Ah to be fair to this years canvassers, they're a lot less pushy than that FEE crowd last year!

ciano1 wrote: »
    Ah to be fair to this years canvassers, they're a lot less pushy than that FEE crowd last year!

And crutches don't stop them from pushing one about either!
    Though that may be a little before your time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

A problem I have with both sides is that they are ripping down each others posters, and covering over them etc. which suggests that each side has such a level of contempt for each other that they are willing to make a mockery of the democratic process they are trying to engage in, and simultaneously disrespecting every potential voter they are trying to influence.

Preety much hit the nail on the head. Both sides see the other as demonic abominations.

Yeah, the more I hear about this referendum the more it's coming across as a total debacle.

And I do kind of look at the SU nominations and votes as a particularly pointless and hipstery version of actual politics:P

And crutches don't stop them from pushing one about either!
    Though that may be a little before your time...

Thems were the days. That thread takes me back, and will waste the next 30 mins of my life reading through it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

Thems were the days. That thread takes me back, and will waste the next 30 mins of my life reading through it again.

Wow, nostalgia for an old online message forum.

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    And I do kind of look at the SU nominations and votes as a particularly pointless and hipstery version of actual politics:P
    The fact that the hustings are now being held in the college bar and MC'd by DJ Byrno probably is probably fairly appropriate then.

Wow, nostalgia for an old online message forum.
    Not just any old online message forum - a (the?) precursor to boards.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭isilidur1980

My problem with the referendum isn't what it stands for, it's the wording. The SU must do everything in their power to help or something like that. I dont have the exact wording. Does that mean that if a woman comes to them in a desperate financial scenario and asks for help, will the SU fund a trip to England/Belfast?

I think it's a hastily formed "bill" without much consultation with the real world.

That being said, I'll probably vote yes as the lesser of two evils. You can be pro-choice and anti-abortion. I've found more than a few people calling themselves pro-life but then saying that they dont want their opinions forced on anyone. Sorry, but that's a pro-choice stance.

Also I'm ok with ignoring the views of the majority of students (since >60% wont bother to vote anyway, quorum anybody?).

The wording is quite clearly feminist wording. I have a huge problem with the idea that the student union can be utilised by a movement to further their ideals without consideration for a wide based representation of all students.

'What do students like? Books? No! discussion? No! Actual services and supports? **** NO! It is ALL ABOUT the craic! You need to be running into lectures dressed in a tiger onesie. ' http://studentstandard.ie/bank-holiday-tuesday-how-to-get-elected-to-a-students-union/

Who are all the Fianna Fáilers, Lit N Debbers, Bizsocers? I want to know who to rule out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Fooker wrote: »
    Who are all the Fianna Fáilers, Lit N Debbers, Bizsocers? I want to know who to rule out.

kerns is lit and deb

Your man going about feeling like a father being involved with music soc. last year. [Cringe]

I didn't know they were even still in operation last year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 thechemputer

I think Music soc actually won best event or something last year? maybe rock soc. One of the presidential candidates bottled a question today in the hustings, quite cringe. He saved himself after though fair play

kerns is lit and deb

Breslin is biz soc!

IheartGOW wrote: »
    Breslin is biz soc!
    Clancy is Fianna Fáil.

The wording is quite clearly feminist wording. I have a huge problem with the idea that the student union can be utilised by a movement to further their ideals without consideration for a wide based representation of all students.

The wording is ****. I'm come around to the idea of the SU being a tool of social change. They have been in the past re handing out condoms when they were illegal etc. This is just the next logical step.

If the "wide based representation of all students" don't get out and vote then they don't have a voice. Screw them.

kerns is lit and deb

Kearnes hasn't been litndeb in about 2 years. Maybe 3. He set up "best buddies", believe he was involved with Slante soc, and heavily involved with Drama soc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭dropping_bombs

Stitt is in Sinn Fein. Who are worse than everyone bar bizsoc and FEE. Kearnes was vice-auditor last year I'm sure. I don't see the problem with Lit & Deb though?

To be fair though he never tries to highlight that in his job. I think he took a step back this year as he thought it would be inappropriate!

The wording is ****. I'm come around to the idea of the SU being a tool of social change.
    Some tools are more effective than others...
    If the "wide based representation of all students" don't get out and vote then they don't have a voice. Screw them.
    Perhaps some of these people aren't voting because they don't actually know what the referendum is about?

Some tools are more effective than others...

Perhaps some of these people aren't voting because they don't actually know what the referendum is about?

There was a lack of debate about the referendum. It was drafted by a minority and it's not particularly well worded.

Unfortunately that's not good enough reason to vote no in this. I would vote for the equivalent of RON if such a thing existed.

Eh? Surely voting 'No' is voting RON in this instance? :confused:
    ie. Not changing the SU policy?

I'd agree though - if it were properly worded, I'd be a lot more comfortable with the 'Yes' vote being carried.

The campaigns on both sides have disappointed me, to be honest. Saw a 'yes' guy pulling down 'no' posters today, and neither side is being completely honest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

Stitt is in Sinn Fein. Who are worse than everyone bar bizsoc and FEE.

Obvious troll is obvious. Jesus I know people may dislike the fact that we do things well in BizSoc but don't lump us in with FEE or Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Eye2Mind

The Christian Union Society informed Riona that expelled members were putting up posters with the CU logo on them. She informed pro-choice canvassers that they could be removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Stitt is in Sinn Fein. Who are worse than everyone bar bizsoc and FEE.?

logic fail party which opposes rising education costs and cuts is bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭isilidur1980

The wording is ****. I'm come around to the idea of the SU being a tool of social change. They have been in the past re handing out condoms when they were illegal etc. This is just the next logical step.

Many students simply don't want a voice in this nonsense but would like also not to have to subsidise it and have an option just to leave it. The attitude "screw them" is pretty easy to say when the union is guaranteed a set revenue from them each year.

You could spoil your vote?

Is remote vote not working for anyone else? I could vote in the referendum, but it can't find ballot papers for the other elections.

Voted Stitt, McCallion, RON, yes to choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I can't vote but if I could, it'd be for Stitt and either Higgins or Nic A Bhaird. Probably Kennedy for Education as I saw him at Class Rep Council meetings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Thank god its almost over.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Thank god its almost over.

Until next week for the part time elections.

I STILL BELIEVE IN HEBER ROWAN.

Reillyman wrote: »
    Obvious troll is obvious. Jesus I know people may dislike the fact that we do things well in BizSoc but don't lump us in with FEE or Sinn Fein.

Aren't there loads of people who sneak into the Commerce Ball year after year and instances where it nearly had to be shut down?

Not as bad as that Accountancy & Finance crowd though..