Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

October 2013 Babies Club

• Registered Users Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭nikpmup

Ohh apparently this just happens some women when the babies head has moved into the right position and there's more pressure on the pelvis...

swear to god I feel like I've been kicked between my legs... several times... who knew babies were so strong

How my mother had 7 kids I'll never know!

I've suddenly started getting this sudden, sharp grinding pain against my hipbone - I wonder is it the baby's head crunching against my pelvis?!

Yep, six weeks in work and just over 9 to d-day!

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭Madisson

nikpmup wrote: »
    I've suddenly started getting this sudden, sharp grinding pain against my hipbone - I wonder is it the baby's head crunching against my pelvis?!

Ive the exact same pain and getting alot of braxton hicks the last few days

8 weeks left till baby comes and 6 left in work! Thinking getting signed off before though cause im exhausted... Being single ajd pregnant is so tiring, having to organise everything myself.. Dunno how im going to cope everyday and night alone when shes born.. Ahhhh

Madisson wrote: »
    Ive the exact same pain and getting alot of braxton hicks the last few days

8 weeks left till baby comes and 6 left in work! Thinking getting signed off before though cause im exhausted... Being single ajd pregnant is so tiring, having to organise everything myself.. Dunno how im going to cope everyday and night alone when shes born.. Ahhhh

I can only imagine.... I'd definitely be getting signed off, use the time to get as much rest as possible. Also to organise friends and family to dig in when baby arrives - even having someone come a couple of times a week to Hoover/fill the dishwasher & washing machine etc will help. My sister is being made redundant in a few weeks; I've already got her signed up for a dig out - nothing like taking advantage of a situation :P

ooh i will be :D my sister is off at the moment getting my hospital bag ready for me so im lucky that my family are being so supportive, id be lost without them.

Only sent my maternity benefit form in today!!! sooo unorganised :S

ooh i will be :D my sister is off at the moment getting my hospital bag ready for me so im lucky that my family are being so supportive, id be lost without them.

Only sent my maternity benefit form in today!!! sooo unorganised :S

The only reason I sent mine in on time is because I was chatting to the wages lady in my job when I was 23 weeks, she printed the forms off there & then for me to fill in!
    I know it seems very daunting facing all of this alone, but you'll come through it, and a lot stronger for it. A few years ago, I was seriously contemplating donor sperm and single parenting - I was widowed, and I wanted children. There was no guarantee I was going to meet someone with whom I could have children so the idea was there as an option if I hit 37/38 and wasn't in a relationship. Fortunately I met a wonderful man and he was on the same page as me. (I know you are subscribed to this thread by the way, Mr Wonderful! :P) But I was still prepared to go it alone if I had to. You'll be fine Madisson.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭lolademmers

My task this week is to fill the freezer with meals for when I come home from the hospital. I won't be cooking for a long time!! Just notice how much activity the October thread has compared to the August or September threads. If its an indication of how many are due in october I think our wards will be busy :-(

The only reason I sent mine in on time is because I was chatting to the wages lady in my job when I was 23 weeks, she printed the forms off there & then for me to fill in!
    I know it seems very daunting facing all of this alone, but you'll come through it, and a lot stronger for it. A few years ago, I was seriously contemplating donor sperm and single parenting - I was widowed, and I wanted children. There was no guarantee I was going to meet someone with whom I could have children so the idea was there as an option if I hit 37/38 and wasn't in a relationship. Fortunately I met a wonderful man and he was on the same page as me. (I know you are subscribed to this thread by the way, Mr Wonderful! :P) But I was still prepared to go it alone if I had to. You'll be fine Madisson.

Thanks a mill nikmup :) need that encouragement sometimes.

So stressful with everything and the wondering wjat my ex is going to be like when shes born. Ive had to block him from everything, the douchebag actually sent me a picture of a girls boobs that he had either taken or had been sent to him, just to make sure I was under no illusions about him moving on. WHO DOES THAT!!!! I can see him being too lazy to care much when shes born and things would be so much better that way. Just nervous he's going to start loads of drama!!

Time for relaxing now and hopefullt when shes born all that mess will just sort itself out :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

It is quite busy in here alright! Will sort my maternity leave forms this week when I go back to work. Do they have to be signed by your doctor? Am quite drained this evening. Found out earlier that my mother was rushed into hospital during the night with a suspected heart attack. Thankfully the tests seem to indicate it wasn't her heart but they don't seem to know what caused it. She tells me she's feeling alright now but I've been really upset about it all day.

Roesy wrote: »
    It is quite busy in here alright! Will sort my maternity leave forms this week when I go back to work. Do they have to be signed by your doctor? Am quite drained this evening. Found out earlier that my mother was rushed into hospital during the night with a suspected heart attack. Thankfully the tests seem to indicate it wasn't her heart but they don't seem to know what caused it. She tells me she's feeling alright now but I've been really upset about it all day.

Jesus Roesy - you poor thing, that's awful. Great that it wasn't her heart, even though they're not sure what it was ruling the heart out is good news. Fingers crossed for a speedy recovery for her. You do have to get mat benefit form signed by the doc, but they can so it there and then.

Madisson - that sounds like the work of a grade A plonker. Ignore, ignore, ignore..... Any reaction on your behalf will fuel his behaviour. You can completely cut him off until the baby is born. After that, minimal contact to sort out anything you need to; you don't need to get embroiled in his game playing.

On a more positive note, I just saw an ad for QI on Dave, which stated that Oct 5th is a baby boom date.... As it is 9 or so months after New Year's Eve :) So how many of ye had a good festive season? :P I know I got pregnant on or around my OH's birthday on the 9th February, as that's when I ovulated. It would explain the busy October wards!!

Edit - just used an online due date calculator, and for a woman to be due on the 5th oct would mean that the first day of her last period would have been around New Years, not her ovulation date, so that theory is out! Maybe the cold, dark January nights are more the reason..... We need something to warm us up ;)

Thanks nikpmup. Got a fright alright. Just have to convince her to take more care of herself. Just waiting to go into Pilates. No mind for it tonight but hoping it'll take my mind off everything. No one else here yet. Hope a few more turn up. Don't fancy being the only one.

Jesus Roesy - you poor thing, that's awful. Great that it wasn't her heart, even though they're not sure what it was ruling the heart out is good news. Fingers crossed for a speedy recovery for her. You do have to get mat benefit form signed by the doc, but they can so it there and then.

Madisson - that sounds like the work of a grade A plonker. Ignore, ignore, ignore..... Any reaction on your behalf will fuel his behaviour. You can completely cut him off until the baby is born. After that, minimal contact to sort out anything you need to; you don't need to get embroiled in his game playing.

On a more positive note, I just saw an ad for QI on Dave, which stated that Oct 5th is a baby boom date.... As it is 9 or so months after New Year's Eve :) So how many of ye had a good festive season? :P I know I got pregnant on or around my OH's birthday on the 9th February, as that's when I ovulated. It would explain the busy October wards!!

Edit - just used an online due date calculator, and for a woman to be due on the 5th oct would mean that the first day of her last period would have been around New Years, not her ovulation date, so that theory is out! Maybe the cold, dark January nights are more the reason..... We need something to warm us up ;)

Rosey hope everything is ok, speaking from experience Ireland really has great heart specialists and she will get great care!! She's in the right place, hopefully she will be feeling much better soon.

Ohhh i know, complete spa haha!! At least with these other women on his mind he doesnt bother me as much as he used to so its good :D

My date was on the day of my dads funeral 26th of Jan, one forgot to take ones pill. One life ends and another one begins and all that :D

Either there are more of us on this thread than the rest....OR.... we're all more moany than the rest of them :/

Think it could be 6 of one and half a dozen of t'other!

Roesy wrote: »
    Thanks nikpmup. Got a fright alright. Just have to convince her to take more care of herself. Just waiting to go into Pilates. No mind for it tonight but hoping it'll take my mind off everything. No one else here yet. Hope a few more turn up. Don't fancy being the only one.

A quiet class could be good too though - peace & calm and all of that - just what you need.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭trinz23

Writing this from a hospital bed :( was very worried all weekend as my movement was significantly reduced so came into admissions Sunday morning and here since. Have been scanned 4 times, on ctg 3 times a day and only today movement is picking up...they aren't telling me a whole lot but think its down to excess fluid surrounding the baby....hate it here... Just want to go home to my own bed :(

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭lolademmers

You poor thing. At least you are in the right place for baby xx

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

trinz23 wrote: »
    Writing this from a hospital bed :( was very worried all weekend as my movement was significantly reduced so came into admissions Sunday morning and here since. Have been scanned 4 times, on ctg 3 times a day and only today movement is picking up...they aren't telling me a whole lot but think its down to excess fluid surrounding the baby....hate it here... Just want to go home to my own bed :(

Oh trinz, :(.

Hopefully all will be well soon. Well done for going in and recognising the reduced movements. I'm not sure I'd notice most of the time.

Have they given you any steroids? If not I'd say they're probably confident the baby will be staying put.

Feel better missus

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭trinz23

Have had 2 doses of steroids which are not at all pleasant!!! I am just screaming out for sleep now....that is all I want...

trinz23 wrote: »
    Have had 2 doses of steroids which are not at all pleasant!!! I am just screaming out for sleep now....that is all I want...

Is it the bed or the noise?

A good pair of wax earplugs and your own pillows from home could make the difference. If you're having them brought in, make sure they're put in colourful pillowcases so they don't get mixed up with the hospital ones.

At least you know now, if the baby does come early, his or her lungs will be ready.

Take care <3

Oh Trinz, you poor thing. That must be very worrying. I agree with Das Kitty, your own pillows and earplugs will help. You're in the best place for baby though, keep telling yourself that!!

I'm just back from having my first ever Hollywood wax. Holy Jaysus. I'm bald as a badger!

Hope youre ok, its horrible being in hospital when youre pregnant cause the bloody beds are so unconfortable. hopefully you will be out really soon :)
    I'm just back from having my first ever Hollywood wax. Holy Jaysus. I'm bald as a badger!

HAHAHAHAHA.... i was thinking of getting it done myself cause ive seriously let myself go, thought the pain of a wax might send me into early labour though :P

my 3 yo niece commented yesterday that my hair isnt blonde anymore, its blonde and black... time to invest in some beauty treatments me thinks

Hope youre ok, its horrible being in hospital when youre pregnant cause the bloody beds are so unconfortable. hopefully you will be out really soon :)

HAHAHAHAHA.... i was thinking of getting it done myself cause ive seriously let myself go, thought the pain of a wax might send me into early labour though :P

my 3 yo niece commented yesterday that my hair isnt blonde anymore, its blonde and black... time to invest in some beauty treatments me thinks

I want to be plucked and preened for labour, also for the purposes of the post birth recovery, I reckon bald will be more hygienic!

I was considering it this time. But I've dealt with some ingrowing hairs in the past and having to put up with that and not be able to see or reach anything made me say no. :D

I'll go back to the waxing post birth methinks.

(also watch out for the multidirectional pee with the hollywood) :pac:

I want to be plucked and preened for labour, also for the purposes of the post birth recovery, I reckon bald will be more hygienic!

was it really sore?? i think i may go for it... sure it will get me prepared for the contraction pains :P must get roots done too and my fuzzy legs haha

Das Kitty wrote: »
    (also watch out for the multidirectional pee with the hollywood) :pac:

:eek: :eek: :eek:

Madisson - it was pretty sore!!! Esp the bits where she used the hot wax as opposed to the normal, strip wax - picking the first bit off to get a grip hurt like bejaysus, but it's over in a few seconds. I have to give it to her, she was thorough!! I haven't a blade of hair left! :p I kept telling myself to suck it up, if I can't do a bikini wax I can't do labour!!

Trinz, hope you and baby are okay and you get a bit of rest soon.

Missed a call from the nurse at my GP. Voicemail said she wanted to discuss my bloodtest results and to give her a call back. I returned the call when I got the message, about 10 minutes after she rang, but she had left for the day. Now I'm wondering whats wrong seeing as I was given the results over the phone yesterday and told my iron was slightly out, as was my thyroid and told what to do regarding these issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Been signed off work due to exhaustion and low iron count. Too big to do anything but loving day time tv over dealing with customers.

So jealous. Ive been off rhe last 2 weeks anse first day back was today and im wrecked. Seeing my gp tomorrow to beg to be signed off sometime soon!!

Ok nikmup, ill do it haha!! Nit going to go to my regular place though, being pregnant and single doesnt much for a girl, id be mortified if I had to aee this person again hahaha

I'm half considering getting signed off after the day I had. Everything went wrong and everyone was an ass about everything. My car was being repaired and the wrong part was delivered to the garage so now it's in overnight.
    Poor husband had a mare as well today.

And now I have a coldsore.

Uuuuuuggggghhhhh

I'm back tomorrow - Friday after being signed off for the weekend.... I'm knackered thinking about it!

Roesy, try not to worry, whatever it is will keep till tomorrow I'm sure..

I'm, er, very tender in places at the moment!!

Das Kitty wrote: »
    San%20Pellegrino-limonata-500x500.jpg

mmmmmm

Just enjoying a can of this now. So nice!

Feeling all sorts of weepy, easily irritated and generally hormonal this evening. Grr!