Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Parking Buses at Bus Stops?

• 02-02-2013 1:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭

Is this allowed? Are buses allowed to be parked blocking bus stops in Dublin or anywhere else? The RSA say it is not allowed but is there some law that states that Bus Éireann are allowed to do this outside Busáras or at Connolly Station?
    http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/rules-for-driving/parking/illegal-or-dangerous-parking.html
    Dangerous parking

If you park in a way that is likely to cause danger to other road users, for example, if it forces a pedestrian out onto the roadway, a Garda can decide that this is dangerous parking and prosecute you. If you are convicted of this offence, you will receive five penalty points.
    http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/rules-for-driving/parking/no-parking_disc-parking.html
    No parking & disc parking
    Even if you do not see a particular "no parking" sign or yellow line on the road, you must not stop or park:

within an area marked as a bus stop or taxi rank - white roadway markings line the areas and, in addition show the word "BUS" at a bus stop and "TAXIS" at a taxi rank;

There should not be any bus parked at Connolly station except for those boarding passengers a few minutes prior to departure and this is how it would be if managers and inspectors in Bus Éireann were doing their jobs. There is ample parking on Sheriff St Lwr for all the buses that use the Connolly stops

Also are drivers allowed to just stop in the middle of a traffic lane and hold up all traffic to board their bus with passengers having to walk out between buses onto the street because there are buses parked at the place they should be pulling in to the kerb load and unload their buses?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

foggy_lad wrote: »
    There should not be any bus parked at Connolly station except for those boarding passengers a few minutes prior to departure and this is how it would be if managers and inspectors in Bus Éireann were doing their jobs. There is ample parking on Sheriff St Lwr for all the buses that use the Connolly stops

Sheriff St Lower does not have that much bus parking and Street View shows buses parked mostly on (unsigned) cycle tracks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭doubletrouble?

Also are drivers allowed to just stop in the middle of a traffic lane and hold up all traffic to board their bus with passengers having to walk out between buses onto the street because there are buses parked at the place they should be pulling in to the kerb load and unload their buses?
    just take a look around town on weekend nights to see the real issue foggy.:rolleyes:. the whole enforcement issue is a real joke. in fact you can say our police force are the laughing stock of the world when it comes to traffic enforcement, oops meant to say lack/none off.
    B.T.W.
    waittttt for it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

monument wrote: »
    Sheriff St Lower does not have that much bus parking and Street View shows buses parked mostly on (unsigned) cycle tracks.

There is room for about 20 buses that I can see as the cycle lane is not really needed there, it is just there to add to the governments quota of cycle lane kilometres. Even without parking on Sherrif st they could be parked on a small parcel of the many acres of CIE land in the area!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,498 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

A route like the 46A is scheduled to run on a frequency basis instead of leaving at specific times and since they don't return to the terminus at the same frequency, it means that there has to be space to park the buses that come in early. That means that there is always a few buses for example parked at Dun Laoghaire Dart station and I don't see any problem with that.

The bottom line is there should not be large buses left on streets for any notable length of time. There should be a large bus station for at least intercity and regional bus services.

But I think Amiens Street out in the open is better than Sheriff Street Lower.

There would usually be no problem with buses being parked in specific areas which do not interfere with other buses pulling in and boarding or allowing passengers alight safely especially as with many buses it would use too much diesel and take too long to return to a depot for drivers breaks.

219120D751B84AFB816AE73A8AFE65BF-0000328874-0003152542-00800L-F5B0E6A795A6494F8E62E759D42E5805.jpg

0488C9617ADF4D3AA445869AE0592A36-0000328874-0003152541-00800L-8BDB77C35FED46A0BFA964AC057C4DC3.jpg

In this picture the disruption to other traffic can be seen as all buses coming around to Busáras are blocked, also passengers are forced onto the road to board there bus
    ACF3C6E56B464E89894CAC84F0B3238F-0000328874-0003152540-00800L-2AE178988DE94E48A7391786F433FC06.jpg

A bit if bus congestion at a bus station is better than wall-to-wall buses blocking off a small and fairly enclosed street like Sheriff Street Lower.

There is very little traffic on Sherrif St anyway, that is why it was chosen for parking buses, as for the cycle lanes, there are bus parking bays outside the cycle lanes but to keep the street as clear as possible it appears the buses are parked on the cycle lanes and the few cyclists are then able to use the roadway.

The main issue though is not this particular street but the regime of parking buses at busy bus stops where it is clearly dangerous or causes inconvenience to other road users and pedestrians and bus passengers waiting at bus stops. one clear example is at Connolly where the Dublin Bus stop No 4415 is usually inaccessible to the 14s, 15s, 27s and 27x that use it(all busy routes). Also at this same stop parked up buses also block most of the Bus Éireann stops for the 126, 115, 130, 124, 123 and the 120. Blocking these bus stops can only cause serious traffic disruption especially at Busáras where the traffic coming from Amiens St is often blocked from turning onto Store street because the street is blocked by a bus boarding or dropping off passengers and luggage, this situation is often overseen by inspectors while there are empty bus bays inside the bus station!

There's more to streets than traffic.

And is appears more to bus stops than safe and sensible parking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,045 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

There would usually be no problem with buses being parked in specific areas which do not interfere with other buses pulling in and boarding or allowing passengers alight safely especially as with many buses it would use too much diesel and take too long to return to a depot for drivers breaks.

219120D751B84AFB816AE73A8AFE65BF-0000328874-0003152542-00800L-F5B0E6A795A6494F8E62E759D42E5805.jpg

0488C9617ADF4D3AA445869AE0592A36-0000328874-0003152541-00800L-8BDB77C35FED46A0BFA964AC057C4DC3.jpg

In this picture the disruption to other traffic can be seen as all buses coming around to Busáras are blocked, also passengers are forced onto the road to board there bus
    ACF3C6E56B464E89894CAC84F0B3238F-0000328874-0003152540-00800L-2AE178988DE94E48A7391786F433FC06.jpg

They had to step off the pavement into the bus stop Foggy and not into the road like you suggest.
    You really hate CIE dont you or was Irish Rail in order this week so you had to find something else to complain about? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    They had to step off the pavement into the bus stop Foggy and not into the road like you suggest.
    You really hate CIE dont you or was Irish Rail in order this week so you had to find something else to complain about? :)

:eek: You're not wrong there Hilly Bill.....venting to atmosphere I'd call it.

The nub of Foggys problem appears to be,as ever....
    this situation is often overseen by inspectors

Phew....I was worried for a moment that we'd get a Foggy post which did'nt seek to apportion blame to a CIE Group Staff Member.

Get a Grip Foggy,try either An Garda Siochana,Dublin City Council,The NTA,The Dept of the Environment and Opus Dei first before throwing your considerable ire at those who have to work within the total unacceptability of the situation.

Right now,Dublins Traffic regulation particularly during the Night and Weekends is effectively controlled by the TaxiDriving fraternity.

The Garda Siochana,The NTA's Taxi Directorate and the other agencies named above have surrendered all responsibility for Safety and Operational management of Traffic in Dublin in order to allow the Taxi fraternity to eke out a living at the expense of civilized folk who do not take taxis (or drive them).

What a pity Foggy,that you couldn't have taken your box-brownie up to The Grafton Street/Nassau St/Suffolk St Pedestrian Crossing,where you could have spent hours recording an Irish Speciality....A Taxi Rank ON a Pedestrian Crossing......well,until the inevitable fatality occurs when you'll be blinded by the burning rubber as the Taxi "Professionals" scatter to avoid responsibility.

Mind you Foggy,the Gardai and DCC both have CCTV Cameras watching this nonsense but the operator either wears an eyepatch OR has recieved instructions from on-high to turn that blind-eye as the people involved might be...erm...."connected"...:eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

They had to step out onto the roadway to board the bus which was prevented from pulling in at the stop.

Not only was the bus not near the kerb but there was a full lane width between bus and kerb. Maybe you should look at the pictures again without the beer goggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭KD345

There does appear to be a relaxed attitude to this. You only have to look at the amount of empty tour buses which park on major streets to sell tickets. Every weekend there is a bus parked on O'Connell Street blocking the view of traffic emerging from Sackville Place and preventing the 11 and 122 from parking safely at their stop. There is also a tour bus parked on Lower Grafton Street, opposite the parked line of taxis waiting to enter their rank, while blocking access to the busy 4 and 7 stop. Another bus is usually parked on College Green blocking the 49 and 65 stop. These are a mixture of Dualway and Dublin Bus vehicles. The fact that this has been allowed to continue just highlights the lack of enforcement in this area.

They had to step out onto the roadway to board the bus which was prevented from pulling in at the stop.

Not only was the bus not near the kerb but there was a full lane width between bus and kerb. Maybe you should look at the pictures again without the beer goggles.

No need for the abuse Foggy. That lane you talk about is the bus stop, nothing would have been able to drive on the inside of the bus that has stopped to pick up passengers which may have been for only a few minutes The few cars and taxis that use that road would have been able to pass the buses without any problems.
    The buses in the pictures have stopped to pick up passengers thats all Foggy. Did you ask them people if you could take their picture and post it on the internet especially the person at the cash machine?

The bus that has stopped to board passengers has blocked Store St to traffic coming around from Amiens St and also bus traffic from Busáras. you only see two buses behind this bus stopped in the traffic lane but there is often a line of traffic blocked on Amiens Street as any bus wanting to pull into Busáras will be unable to turn the corner.

Now as far as passengers being forced onto a bus lane to board their buses whether it is on the Quays, outside Busáras or at Connolly Station it should NEVER happen! Any vehicle parked in such a way as to hinder other traffic or pedestrians can be considered by a Garda to be dangerously parked and can be ticketed and the driver will be receiving 5 penalty points for their "professional" parking.

http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/rules-for-driving/parking/illegal-or-dangerous-parking.html
    Dangerous parking

If you park in a way that is likely to cause danger to other road users, for example, if it forces a pedestrian out onto the roadway, a Garda can decide that this is dangerous parking and prosecute you. If you are convicted of this offence, you will receive five penalty points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,944 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Well there is a Garda station directly opposite. If you feel that strongly about it why did you not go in and report it?

lxflyer wrote: »
    Well there is a Garda station directly opposite. If you feel that strongly about it why did you not go in and report it?
    They can't be any more professional than bus drivers that park dangerously if they cant see what is going on from across the street!

I think Foggy overall is right -- there's way too much leeway given to all on the roads.

If there was enforcement then there'd be a lot more presure to build a decent bus depot which is able to handle the volume of buses on the street.

Same goes for taxis -- the problems would be sorted a long time ago if there was enforcement.

The bus that has stopped to board passengers has blocked Store St to traffic coming around from Amiens St and also bus traffic from Busáras. you only see two buses behind this bus stopped in the traffic lane but there is often a line of traffic blocked on Amiens Street as any bus wanting to pull into Busáras will be unable to turn the corner.

Now as far as passengers being forced onto a bus lane to board their buses whether it is on the Quays, outside Busáras or at Connolly Station it should NEVER happen! Any vehicle parked in such a way as to hinder other traffic or pedestrians can be considered by a Garda to be dangerously parked and can be ticketed and the driver will be receiving 5 penalty points for their "professional" parking.

Ive driven around that area Foggy and its no big deal. I think you are trying to make it out that its worse than it is. In what way has it put you out?

They can't be any more professional than bus drivers that park dangerously if they cant see what is going on from across the street!

Are you a driver Foggy?

I think Foggy overall is right -- there's way too much leeway given to all on the roads.

If there was enforcement then there'd be a lot more presure to build a decent bus depot which is able to handle the volume of buses on the street.

Same goes for taxis -- the problems would be sorted a long time ago if there was enforcement.
    There is supposed to be more enforcement of the rules for Taxis especially aimed at those parked illegally at the end of ranks or the ones that park at the corner of Eden Quay and O'Connell Street blocking many Dublin bus, Bus Éireann and private buses from pulling in at their stops but with the recent closure of 95 stations and further planned reductions in costs in the Gardai it is unlikely to be a priority.

The sad fact is that if they did a little to sort out illegal parking of all vehicles (not just taxis and buses) it would have a much larger effect on the overall traffic flow.

I think he has already has stated his case quite clearly, in that:
    • It's illegal.
    • It's causing (extra) congestion around Beresford Place / Amiens Street.
    • It's putting passengers in possible danger, and, at the least, inconveniencing them.
    Are you a driver Foggy?

MOD: Focus on the points and not the poster. Play the ball and not the man. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭dowlingm

There is room for about 20 buses that I can see as the cycle lane is not really needed there, it is just there to add to the governments quota of cycle lane kilometres.
    Not Bus Eireann's call to make. If they want to park there they should apply to DCC for the lanes' removal - but then DCC might tell them to find their own place to park, since the private bus companies would be next looking for term parking on busy throughfares, irrespective of the actual merits of the bike lanes as such.

dowlingm wrote: »
    Not Bus Eireann's call to make. If they want to park there they should apply to DCC for the lanes' removal - but then DCC might tell them to find their own place to park, since the private bus companies would be next looking for term parking on busy throughfares, irrespective of the actual merits of the bike lanes as such.
    So is it lazy management that has the situation where it is? It would be up to Bus Éireann Management to arrange parking spaces for their own buses and also ensure that buses were parked properly and not preventing other buses from parking.

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Alias G

There is room for about 20 buses that I can see as the cycle lane is not really needed there, it is just there to add to the governments quota of cycle lane kilometres. Even without parking on Sherrif st they could be parked on a small parcel of the many acres of CIE land in the area!

Sherriff street lower has a cobble-lock surface so the cycle-lane is entirely necessary. You can't expect cyclists to travel on cobble-lock.

Alias G wrote: »
    Sherriff street lower has a cobble-lock surface so the cycle-lane is entirely necessary. You can't expect cyclists to travel on cobble-lock.
    How many cyclists use that street daily? not really enough to warrant the cycle lanes imho, they should be removed and bus parking bays placed along the street. or as stated before there are acres and acres of space in the area owned by CIE which could easily be used as a bus parking area and could even include a small prefab with toilet and tea/coffee facilities for the drivers

How many of those acres does CIE own which are not being used and which are suitable for a bus station or depot?

The cycle tracks were already broken up for bus spaces and this made them almost unusable, but I think they should be restored if the planned off-road cycle tracks along North Strand Road etc gets down as far as Connelly. It would create a good link into the Docklands.

In any case, a fairly enclosed side street is not a good place to have a wall of buses parked there.

How many of those acres does CIE own which are not being used and which are suitable for a bus station or depot?

The cycle tracks were already broken up for bus spaces and this made them almost unusable, but I think they should be restored if the planned off-road cycle tracks along North Strand Road etc gets down as far as Connelly. It would create a good link into the Docklands.

In any case, a fairly enclosed side street is not a good place to have a wall of buses parked there.
    Could the Bus Éireann buses not be parked up in Summerhill bus depot when drivers are on breaks? During the day there are few Dublin Buses in the depot so there should be room for 20 or so Bus Éireann buses. it would be a lot more sensible than having them park wherever they can find an empty bus stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭doubletrouble?

AlekSmart wrote: »

Right now,Dublins Traffic regulation particularly during the Night and Weekends is effectively controlled by the TaxiDriving fraternity.

The Garda Siochana,The NTA's Taxi Directorate and the other agencies named above have surrendered all responsibility for Safety and Operational management of Traffic in Dublin in order to allow the Taxi fraternity to eke out a living at the expense of civilized folk who do not take taxis (or drive them).

What a pity Foggy,that you couldn't have taken your box-brownie up to The Grafton Street/Nassau St/Suffolk St Pedestrian Crossing,where you could have spent hours recording an Irish Speciality....A Taxi Rank ON a Pedestrian Crossing......well,until the inevitable fatality occurs when you'll be blinded by the burning rubber as the Taxi "Professionals" scatter to avoid responsibility.
    ohhhhhhh alek what have you gone and said :eek::eek::eek:. jasus man before you know it there will be certain elements coming on here saying " here we have another taxi bashing thread." screaming for it to be closed.

Dangerous parking

there are far more serious things happening out there every weekend night. and as i said the no wants to know or care, that is until someone gets seriously injured or killed.now foggy i think of a better place for you to take lovely pictures of where thousands of lives are being put at risk every weekend. westmoreland street fri-sun from about 9.30-10pm onwards where these people are being forced to board buses in the middle of this street. there they have to run the gauntlet of cars and unlit cyclists coming up the inside of an illegally parked bus. does anyone actually give a fcuk. No.

nice point monument especially your last point. "IF". problem is it's been allowed to go on for so long that people just take things for granted. like the old drink driving laws.everyone turned a blind eye.
    put it simply.
    bus drivers are fed up and bus managers are fed up complaining to the guards as they're hitting their heads off a brick wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭dowlingm

the issue about how many cyclists use etc. - if cyclists can't access a comprehensive set of paths across the city then they can't get from origin to destination. Toronto has the same thing where they put a cycle line in an area with little connections and then drivers moan about "waste" when hundreds aren't using it on the first morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Alias G

Probably a lot more cyclists than you imagine. I've used it myself heaps of times. Your complete lack of consideration for other users of infrastructure probably sums up your myopia on this issue quite well.

I think he has already has stated his case quite clearly, in that:
    • It's illegal.
    • It's causing (extra) congestion around Beresford Place / Amiens Street.
    • It's putting passengers in possible danger, and, at the least, inconveniencing them.

MOD: Focus on the points and not the poster. Play the ball and not the man. Thank you.

i was. The point being to look at it from the drivers view as to why that bus stopped where it did .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

I agree there is a bit much leeway, but the two big IFs you list are simply that - IFs.

As you say, there simply isn't enough on street parking for either buses or taxis. It's alright sating enforcement will sort it, but it won't really. Enforcing it tomorrow by the Gardai won't build a proper bus terminal the next day.

It's basically a whole bunch of state agencies left in a rather undesirable situation, with no easy solution.

The situation with taxis is a disgrace. Dame St becomes a taxi rank from College Green to city hall every night. They stop anywhere, park in the middle of junctions, block traffic and cause general mayhem with traffic. The Gardai can't solve this alone, though turning a complete blind eye is not on either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭The Idyl Race

ohhhhhhh alek what have you gone and said :eek::eek::eek:. jasus man before you know it there will be certain elements coming on here saying " here we have another taxi bashing thread." screaming for it to be closed.

Vested interests looking to direct conversations on Boards? :eek:

Never!!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Talk to the hand

Vested interests looking to direct conversations on Boards? :eek:

Never!!?

What never? No never.

What never? Well, hardly ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭The Idyl Race

What never? No never.

What never? Well, hardly ever.

So, we'll have three cheers and one cheer more for the hardy captain of the Private Bus Company and the taxi men.. :D

i was. The point being to look at it from the drivers view as to why that bus stopped where it did .

He's not really giving out about a single driver but it happening systematically.

cast_iron wrote: »
    I agree there is a bit much leeway, but the two big IFs you list are simply that - IFs.

As you say, there simply isn't enough on street parking for either buses or taxis. It's alright sating enforcement will sort it, but it won't really. Enforcing it tomorrow by the Gardai won't build a proper bus terminal the next day.

It's basically a whole bunch of state agencies left in a rather undesirable situation, with no easy solution.

The situation with taxis is a disgrace. Dame St becomes a taxi rank from College Green to city hall every night. They stop anywhere, park in the middle of junctions, block traffic and cause general mayhem with traffic. The Gardai can't solve this alone, though turning a complete blind eye is not on either.

No, you're right, it won't build a proper bus terminal the next day. But it will force the bus companies to park out of the way until a central location is made advailable and that in turn would put pressure on finding a decent location as a priority. It's not a priority now because the current situation has been allowed to grow.

With taxis if there had been enforcement in the first place it would be less likely the problem would have grown so large.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

With taxis if there had been enforcement in the first place it would be less likely the problem would have grown so large.

But Monument,there was enforcement in the first place,very substantial and well defined enforcement of all aspects of the Road Traffic Act's and the specifics of the small PSV regulations.

The political decision of Minister Robert Molloy to introduce the deregulation regime,without fully enabling the Garda Carriage Office to continue with it's PSV specific duties,was In My Opinion, a serious lapse of judgement and one which leaves us with a nightly nightmare to deal with.

The current situation is recoverable,but to do so entails the very clear message being sent to the Taxi Fraternity that the Road Traffic Act's and SPSV regulations apply to them all,and will be fully enforced.

This would entail the immediate doubling of Garda Carriage Office resources with further enhancement to follow.

If Minister Shatter and The Garda Commissioner cannot regain control over a supposedly regulated Public Service,then what chance exists for Public Order and Law Enforcement in general ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

He's not really giving out about a single driver but it happening systematically.

No, you're right, it won't build a proper bus terminal the next day. But it will force the bus companies to park out of the way until a central location is made advailable and that in turn would put pressure on finding a decent location as a priority. It's not a priority now because the current situation has been allowed to grow.

you have missed the point. Foggy posted a pic of a bus picking up passengers and gave out without firstly asking himself as to why the bus didnt pull fully in.

I knew that the bus didn't pull into the kerb because of at least three other buses parked in such a way that they were blocking it, There was ample empty bays inside Busáras at that time to accommodate this bus. If the parking outside in the bus stop area was properly managed by staff there would have been room for the bus to pull in properly to the kerb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Talk to the hand

Perhaps Busaras is no longer fit for purpose as it is clearly beyond capacity? Is there space for a new bus hub in the Docklands with access to the LUAS or suburban rail?

It is only beyond capacity due to poor management of parking and poor use of the bus bays and gate 15 and 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Stonewolf

The specific case of busaras is not helped by the fact that either the street around the back of it goes the wrong direction or the entrance and exit are the wrong way around.

It has to accomodate: some parked buses, buses loading and unloading outside busaras, buses heading into busaras, buses heading out of busaras and taxis bringing people to busaras.

The second and third last should not both be directed down the same narrow stretch of road.

I knew that the bus didn't pull into the kerb because of at least three other buses parked in such a way that they were blocking it, There was ample empty bays inside Busáras at that time to accommodate this bus. If the parking outside in the bus stop area was properly managed by staff there would have been room for the bus to pull in properly to the kerb.

If the bus starts in the airport then that stop is where they pick up from right? so it doesnt make sense for them to park up in the depot when they are just picking up and going. From the pictures Foggy the bus is less than 2 meters from the kerb and hardly blocking any cars that might want to pass.
    Unless you or me are clued up in the depot controller's job then we cant really say anything about it why the spaces are empty inside and a bus is standing outside .

It is only beyond capacity due to poor management of parking and poor use of the bus bays and gate 15 and 16.

No offence Foggy but are you clued up on the running of busaras to make a judgement of poor management.? Would you be able to run the place better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,494 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Maybe you should look at the pictures again without the beer goggles.
    Play nice.

If the bus starts in the airport then that stop is where they pick up from right? so it doesnt make sense for them to park up in the depot when they are just picking up and going. From the pictures Foggy the bus is less than 2 meters from the kerb and hardly blocking any cars that might want to pass.
    Unless you or me are clued up in the depot controller's job then we cant really say anything about it why the spaces are empty inside and a bus is standing outside .

Look at the picture again without the bias maybe.

It is far enough from the kerb to block two buses which came from Amiens street as well as block all traffic exiting the bus station. There is no way any car except maybe noddys would have got past that bus. Also there is another bus parked between that waterford bound bus and the kerb! That stop is the main stop for all those waterford buses as they rarely pick up more than 2 or 3 at the airport. There are often 40+ waiting there to board that bus. You are right about the station controllers job, we cant say why he leaves safe bays empty in the station, but I would say that passengers would be safer boarding inside at one of the purpose built bus bays than outside in the middle of a street full of buses.

Look at the picture again without the bias maybe.

It is far enough from the kerb to block two buses which came from Amiens street as well as block all traffic exiting the bus station. There is no way any car except maybe noddys would have got past that bus. Also there is another bus parked between that waterford bound bus and the kerb! That stop is the main stop for all those waterford buses as they rarely pick up more than 2 or 3 at the airport. There are often 40+ waiting there to board that bus. You are right about the station controllers job, we cant say why he leaves safe bays empty in the station, but I would say that passengers would be safer boarding inside at one of the purpose built bus bays than outside in the middle of a street full of buses.

What bias? Can you not just post without some snide comment added? Foggy, the bus is only just off the kerb and not in the middle of the road. There is plenty of room for the other buses to pass that one and more than enough for cars. Would it be a possibility that the second bus hasnt passed the one at the stop because its waiting to use the same stop?
    You say in the thread title that the buses are parked but wouldnt it be more correct to say that they were stopped at a bus stop to pick up passengers.?
    The passengers dont board in the middle of the road Foggy , you are just trying to make it sound worse than what it is as usual.

You should really consider getting an eyesight test. I certainly wouldnt want you driving any vehicle I was in or going to board, I could be swept off the kerb if that is your perception of distances.

Look clearly at the picture as it clearly shows the position of the bus in relation to the kerb outside busáras and the luas barrier. There is another bus between the waterford bus and the kerb which is hidden by the waterford bus and there is only about 4 feet between the waterford bus and the luas barrier which is certainly not enough room for another bus to pass.

Your repetitive posts are just meaningless at this stage and just because you state the same nonsense over and over wont change the facts.