Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for a small genesis atty..

• 03-02-2013 4:39am
    Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭

..with a clear/glass tube.

Something along the lines of the AGA T+, which I am loving at the moment.

Problem is, I want something for carrying around in work. I usually use my twists when working cause they're handy, but the T+ is way too big for it, and the vivi nova and T3's aren't doing it for me anymore. :mad:

I'm in way too deep with other stuff, so would rather not spend over €50 on something. Maybe that's a pipe dream, I dunno.

I'm trawling the classies on a few different sites atm but no luck yet.

Found THIS while researching. Not much info on it though, which could be a sign, but it looks like what I'm after.

arashi_mini-500x500.jpg

I have a VH genesis I could get a clear tube for but I'd have to sand down the threads to get the airhole to line up, and it's chrome plated too. Obviously SS is preferable.

Anyone know of something that might fit the bill? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Maybe this?

Perfectly eGo-sized, Todd gave it a good review, looks reeeeeeally easy to set up.

The Arashi is pretty well-regarded, but I'm not sure about the mini, first I've seen of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭superneat

grindle wrote: »
    Maybe this?

Perfectly eGo-sized, Todd gave it a good review, looks reeeeeeally easy to set up.

The Arashi is pretty well-regarded, but I'm not sure about the mini, first I've seen of it.

Nice one! I had actually seen that video but forgot about it :(

Doesn't look as nice as the arashi mini though, I'm a sucker for aesthetics :rolleyes:

Could be worth a punt though for that price!

Edit, scratch that, just watched the end of the video and saw the whole "leaking issue" Todd had. Maybe that's why I had instantly forgotten that device.

I'd rather spend the €50 on something that's better built. I'll keep looking before I settle on it though. That's the price of 10 T3's after all! But the T3's are shiite :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭was.deevey

Aga-S ?

Same Size as the DID and has a push on cap on the new version so no issues with the Airholes, and its SS

I was dubious about a non-see-through tank before, but you really do get used to sensing when you are running low, I've been thought enough clear tanks that I don't want any cracking or discoloring issues anymore. IF you are going to go clear, go pyrex only IMHO.

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭illicit007

superneat that first yoke you posted looks sexy as fk, but at 50 euro yea it's a bit steep alright!

Let me know what you end up going for and what it looks like. I'm also in your boat so will be following this thread with interested. Keep us updated. Cheers.

illicit007 wrote: »

That's exactly the kinda thing I'm after, but I already have the original one. It's not the stainless steel version, it's chrome plated I believe, which will tarnish and degrade after time.

Also the airhole doesn't line up with the wick placement so it's crazy for the TH but not for vapour.

For the moment, I might get the clear tube for it, sand down the threads so the airhole lines up and see how it goes before I splurge on the Arashi. :rolleyes:

Or if I'm happy with it I might get the SS version afterwards.

Would love the hellfire mini but they're expensive and very very hard to get a hold of!

HellfireMini.jpg

Interesting info regarding the VH Genesis there superneat. I found this video of a guy modifying his one to make more vapour.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TVE72gCL0mg

I prefer more vapour and less TH that's why I'm vaping 8mg lately. Plus I can chain vape without getting too much of a head spin.

The Mini DID actually looks better on the eGo battery because it lines up a bit better (it's thinner over all more closer to the eGo thickness) so perhaps I'll look into getting one of those...

I want something that looks mega flipping sexy and works really well without costing a bomb. Is that too much to ask? :) I would consider the Arashi but like deevy says is it pyrex glass or plastic? i.e. will it hold together for €50 and is the quality of the vape worth it. Is it easy to rebuild, does it leak at all? How well does it line up with the eGo battery, as good as the mini did or better?

I dunno if I could be arsed buying the VH genesis then having to modify it. Any ideas where the mini did sells and how much it goes for? Currently rocking a mini vivi nova on my egos but wouldn't mind getting something better.

Just ordered a AGA T+ yesterday afternoon, should arrive tomorrow. Will be my first genesis atty so looking forward to it.

Interesting info regarding the VH Genesis there superneat. I found this video of a guy modifying his one to make more vapour.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TVE72gCL0mg

I prefer more vapour and less TH that's why I'm vaping 8mg lately. Plus I can chain vape without getting too much of a head spin.

The Mini DID actually looks better on the eGo battery because it lines up a bit better (it's thinner over all more closer to the eGo thickness) so perhaps I'll look into getting one of those...

I want something that looks mega flipping sexy and works really well without costing a bomb. Is that too much to ask? :) I would consider the Arashi but like deevy says is it pyrex glass or plastic? i.e. will it hold together for €50 and is the quality of the vape worth it. Is it easy to rebuild, does it leak at all? How well does it line up with the eGo battery, as good as the mini did or better?

I dunno if I could be arsed buying the VH genesis then having to modify it. Any ideas where the mini did sells and how much it goes for? Currently rocking a mini vivi nova on my egos but wouldn't mind getting something better.

Just ordered a AGA T+ yesterday afternoon, should arrive tomorrow. Will be my first genesis atty so looking forward to it.

Mini DID HERE on sale at €87

If you like the AGA T then the AGA S looks ok and is cheap, I may get one just to try but I would prefer a clear tube, I want to see my juice levels!

Another few options I looked at are the Genesis PiculiSci HERE €121 delivered

589l.jpg

And the Steam Machine HERE for around €97 delivered.

img_0001.jpg

You're talking high end stuff there, they aren't cheap!

I bought a cheapo carto to try and use for work, looks alright but the it doesn't do it for me, the flavour just isn't there unfortunately. :(

stdc.JPG

I got the eGo-C tank system which looks similar to your last pic of what you have for work. I find the draw is very tight and there's not much vapour. Flavour is okay but not the best, but I haven't used a dripper or genesis or anything before, just kangers and novas etc so I wouldn't be much of an expert on flavour yet.

Unfortunately I just found out yesterday I could be forced to move house. Renting this place for the past three years. Awesome house, location and landlord. Even bought a dog while I was living here (doberman) so me thinks it's going to be even more difficult finding a nice house that's up to my standards that will allow me to have a dog as well :( Feck. So I have this stress now and I can't really spend money on even more vaping gear because I could possibly need all the cash I have for moving to a new place etc. Woe is me :)

Please post what you finally decide on superneat I'd be interested in following your decision making process :) When the time is right, I will have a super sexy mini genesis, oh yes I will

If you compare the cost of the Arashi mini to the others it's not that bad priced and looks the shinest. I also really like things with clear tanks so I can see how much juice I have.

I would be the Arashi (in the future) based on 1) how good does it fit on an eGo 2) how good a quality is it actually 3) what about the 'glass' piece, is it likely to break or discolour?

Know the answer to any of these Q's yet? Which one would you be leaning towards if money wasn't an issue?

I haven't used a dripper or genesis or anything before, just kangers and novas etc so I wouldn't be much of an expert on flavour yet.

That should be your next buy, a dripper. You can get a cheap 510 dripping atty for a few € but I think they're crap. If you have around €20 to spare I would really recommend getting the Igo-L dripper. It's the easiest thing to build, honestly. You don't know what flavour is til you've used one or something similar to it.

DiscountVaperscom_igo-withhorn.jpg

I'm getting another just to have it, if you want to jump on an order of mine let me know, we could share the shipping cost. T'would work out to €17 each delivered, something to think about in the future, I'm not in a rush but will be going for it at some stage.
    illicit007 wrote:
    Unfortunately I just found out yesterday I could be forced to move house.

Sorry to hear of the move, that's unfortunate! Life's a bugger sometimes :mad:
    illicit007 wrote:
    Which one would you be leaning towards if money wasn't an issue?

If I could get my hands on one, it would be the hellfire mini for sure!

P1010724.jpg

I'm constantly checking the classifed ads on ukv, vw and ecf, in the hope of finding one at a reasonable price! :rolleyes:

I will experiment with the VH genesis I have today or tomorrow. I have some wet n dry there and I got some #500 ss mesh, 3mm silica and A1 kanthal delivered this morning, so I'll try a silica wick and a mesh one to compare.

I'll make the airhole a bit bigger, line it up with a new coil and see how she vapes! :)

My next two purchases will be the Piccolo v3 in two tone finish and the Arashi mini. Probably go for the Arashi first, might buy it tomorrow. The Piccolo and the Arashi look savage together and might be small enough to bring to work! :D

SECOND FROM LEFT
    3xpiccolo.jpg

Looks similar to a hellfire + Piccolo setup

eta5ytuz.jpg

Ok, so I played around the the VH a while ago.

Took two minutes using the wet n dry to get the wick hole lined up. Then I made the hole bigger using a corkscrew.

IMG_0265.JPG

Put together a new wick and coil using the #500 ss and .20 kanthal. Worked perfectly first time, I must be the jammiest(?) fecker ever. Came out at 1.4Ω with 4/5 wraps.

The lighting isn't great but the vapor from it is very good.

IMG_0280.JPG

I have to say, the #500 wicks like crazy! I dunno what came with the AGA T+ or the VH that I used before, prolly #400 or less, but wow, big difference! :eek:

That maybe a bad thing as the juice will likely disappear :(

All in all it's a grand bit of kit, will I get the clear tube for it? Maybe, maybe not.
    If I go for the Arashi tomorrow I might stick this in the for sale thread for a tenner, with a new wick and coil set up. Maybe someone would like to try a genesis for cheap like I did. ;)

That Piccolo V3 and the Arashi mini look AMAZING together. I'll get that exact same setup once I figure out this moving situation. Thanks for your condolences and all your help and information.

Yes I'd be keen to get one of those Igo-L dripper things right now. Tell me what site to buy it from and I'll get two. You can buy the second one of me whenever you're ready no rush, I'll post it out to you and when you have it you can pay me. I'm easy.

Found it here -> http://www.ivapour-elixir.co.uk/igo-l-atomizer.html <- Now just to source that drip tip!

Also that drip tip that's with it in the picture... I guess I'll have to get one of those two :) Any idea where to get one from? edit: just found the drip tip on one of your earlier posts where I replied back I'd never buy a drip that where shipping cost more than the drip tip. (I think I'm going to humbly eat my words....) http://www.hoosierecig.com/Stainless-Steel-Drip-Tips-From-Smok-Tech_p_114.html

Hopefully I can order both and have them delivered before next weekend... Dublin vape meet is on and a dripper would be a good way to test other people juices right? (and test the untested one's I've bought recently)

I've several juices here I haven't tried yet and it's difficult to keep track of which carto has which juice in it. Usually I end up with half a dozen cartos I'm not sure what's what in them, if they're empty or what. I put them all into a bowl and once in a blue moon I boil them and clean them out. I'm guessing a dripper would solve this situation right? So yes, lets buy them now. Even if it doesn't solve this predicament of mine at least I'll taste flavour :):)

Superneat, Just saw your latest post about fixing up your VH genesis. That's awesome :) Learning so much here. I'm bookmarking this thread for later review.

Would you mind sticking a photo up of what your VH genesis looks like on an eGo battery? If that all works out and if an inexpensive clear tank mod could be sourced for it, could be a cheap way of getting a genesis atty on a eGo in the short term (before the Piccolo V3 and Arashi mmmmmm)

Someone would be lucky to have your improved VH genesis for a tenner!

a dripper would be a good way to test other people juices right? (and test the untested one's I've bought recently)

That's what I do anyway, I just run the Igo under the tap for a second then pat the wick dry with tissue and do a dry burn. Add next juice and there will be little to no remains of the previous flavor.
    Would you mind sticking a photo up of what your VH genesis looks like on an eGo battery?

Here ya go

IMG_0264.JPG

IMG_0266.JPG

Should look a bit better with an ego thread cover like this.

smoktech-dct-ego-thread-cover.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

superneat wrote: »
    Should look a bit better with an ego thread cover like this.

OUR EYES!!!

2lx8fh2.jpg

Tell me what site to buy it from and I'll get two. You can buy the second one of me whenever you're ready no rush, I'll post it out to you and when you have it you can pay me. I'm easy.

Found it here -> http://www.ivapour-elixir.co.uk/igo-l-atomizer.html

I'll defo take one if you're ordering or I don't mind doing the ordering either, whatever you think yourself!

Drop me a pm if you're going ahead with it! :)

Yay, vapemail yesterday! Got the Arashi, finally :rolleyes:

I have to say, money well spent. Feels very solid and has excellent machining.

IMG_0414.JPG

Plenty of options for wicks and coils. You could do a silica wick or straight ss or u-wick, single or dual coil.

IMG_0412.JPG

It comes with an impressive amount of spares, no less than 6 orings, 3 screws, a rubber grommet and 3 center post nuts as well!

photo.JPG

IMG_0420.JPG

Fairly easy to get it going, #500 mesh, .2 kanthal with 4 wraps at 1.4Ω, she hits like a train! Pchela's famous 5 layer never tasted so good :D

IMG_0441.JPG

IMG_0433.JPG

The only negative I can think of is the juice capacity, but that's the trade you make for a teeny tiny genny!.
    The tank is only 1.5ml. Not a big deal for me, I'm not too heavy on the juice, but would be an issue for a 6ml a day vaper!

Awesome superneat. Very sexy. I say you must be happy. Your IGO-L arrived. I've PM'd you, will post it out asap :)

Cool beans! Just sent you a reply. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Mr. Chrome

Vaping porn!