Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

got t-boned on Friday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

yay mri at last!

wait on results now.

Thanks for all the comments btw.

q for y'all - would you press charges? I may have to remove the thread if I do (I found it handy to keep track of things)

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭nerrad1983

Hope you get well and all is sorted out soon :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

kaimera wrote: »
    yay mri at last!

wait on results now.

Thanks for all the comments btw.

q for y'all - would you press charges? I may have to remove the thread if I do (I found it handy to keep track of things)

Hopefully your mri turns out good and you can go home soon.

In relation to charges, personally I would. I would look for all the out of pocket expense, furthermore you have also lost the job as a result.... And by the sounds of things you will have consequences for the rest of your life...

I am not of the opinion that you should sue for all you can get but I would certainly be looking to get the compensation you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Peanut2011 wrote: »
    I am not of the opinion that you should sue for all you can get but I would certainly be looking to get the compensation you need.

You would need to file a claim through http://www.injuriesboard.ie/eng/

It can take years (3-4) to get it all sorted. It's a slow process.

But, you should definitely go for it, and get what you deserve.

As for filing charges, surely that is up to the Gardai, unless you are filing for civil charges. Your solicitor should be best able to advise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,784 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....been following this, sorry for your trouble.

I'm still disgusted at the job thing though: what kind of job was it that they wouldn't hold it ? Can they even do that ? ( I mean, if you were a.......Gurl.........and were in for maternity, they'd have to hold it for you..............)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

galwaytt wrote: »
    I'm still disgusted at the job thing though: what kind of job was it that they wouldn't hold it ? Can they even do that ? ( I mean, if you were a.......Gurl.........and were in for maternity, they'd have to hold it for you..............)

They'd only have to hold it for you, if you were already an employee. They don't have to hold a job if you haven't started. Totally crappy situation to be in. :(

cheers.

guard called in and took my statement.

and yea, it's up to the guards what charges she faces. I just didn't know like how it worked.

solicitor is doing everything in the background. told me to just get better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,784 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Paulw wrote: »
    They'd only have to hold it for you, if you were already an employee. They don't have to hold a job if you haven't started. Totally crappy situation to be in. :(

Ah yeah, I know that but still, 'tis bad form to kick (sic :p ) a lad when he's (..been knocked...) down..........if you get my drift :D

Would your job have involved activity/walking ? If a desk-job etc, can't see any reason why not hold it tbh.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

re: the job, contacts were signed and all.

wonder if I'd then accepted a different job what they'd say...

loss of earnings anyway... my guy is on the case.

New job was a desk it job, for the most part, wouldn't have been able to physically go to work while in cast, and idk extent of shoulder damage yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Suasdaguna1

I can see huge loss of earnings for you here. As I mentioned in a previous post, her insurance company will be galloping to your door to settle quick. Your solicitor is best to advise. If you can hold out, with the advise from your solicitor you should get a positive settlement. Nothing will cover though the sh!te you have gone through, you are going through and what's ahead to see you back to normal, working away, your head in a good place re bikes and of course back on a decent bike again.

Pressing charges......surely this is a Garda remit on the basis of info taken from the accident, witnesses etc.?

Above all besta luck and I hope you are royally compensated for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭MrScootch

re: the job, contacts were signed and all.

Really? Wonder if they're able to just rescind the offer because they feel like it or if you'd have a case against them for breach of contract?
    Just a thought. Bad form anyway. Sounds like you had a lucky escape, you nearly ended up working for tossers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

my guy is on the case.

Can you remember the type of bus that was in the bus lane before the accident?

All Dublin Buses have great cameras on them and while a few witness statements will help your case, seeing it in motion will do wonders both for criminal and civil proceedings!

If it was a Dublin Bus or even an aircoach this is definitely worth a phone call.

private bus, guard finally got driver and he saw some of it.

Good news everyone!

Crutches! and yes, that is good news. minor tear in shoulder joint, limited movement but pretty good considering so I can manage crutches.

could be home tomorrow.

I r xcite. I miss wifi so bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Good news everyone!

Crutches! and yes, that is good news. minor tear in shoulder joint, limited movement but pretty good considering so I can manage crutches.

could be home tomorrow.

Yeah, we know what you're really saying ;)
    I r xcite. I miss internet porn so bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭positron

For a while I thought you said you miss your wifey so bad, but then I realised wifi is probably more important alright...

Cienciano wrote: »

Yeah, we know what you're really saying ;)

over 11 days... Christ. I think a need a wheelbarrow to carry me out!

11 days? Jasus, at that stage a nurse will lean over to check your blood pressure and you'll need a change of sheets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

Good news everyone!

could be home tomorrow.

Good to hear you're not as bad as you thought and that you're finally getting out!

update again: mri showed bruising in shoulder.

sling time. No crutches. ****.

that's my luck turning into un-luck in a coin flick. sighs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

On the plus side, you still have one good arm for your, ahem, "wifi". :rolleyes:

Home at last.

Bit freaked out. Dog is worrying me around my dodgy shoulder.

still, out of hospital

Home at last.

Bit freaked out. Dog is worrying me around my dodgy shoulder.

still, out of hospital

Nice one. Any pain? Or are you topped up on drugs?

drive home was tough, felt like I could feel everything on the road. stiff when I got out.

pain is ok. See tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Glad to hear your out. Get well soon dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,391 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

This is the Irish health system we're talking about. If you're not screaming in pain, you have adequate analgesia :rolleyes:

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,304 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Good to hear you survived. Knew someone who wasn't so lucky a month back.

There are a lot of companies that will walk the dog for you, for a fee. Something to look into until you can do so yourself, if you can't someone to walk the dog for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

There are a few in Dublin alright. Ollies Petcare is interesting because you get updates and pictures of what your dog is up to on facebook https://www.facebook.com/olliespetcare

"Kaimera's dog chasing motorbike" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭MrScootch

the_syco wrote: »
    There are a lot of companies that will walk the dog for you, for a fee. Something to look into until you can do so yourself, if you can't someone to walk the dog for you.

Jaysus, I totally read that as a euphemism! :P

Bike a cat c.

salvage offer in from a yard which is more than fair imo.

decent valuation of bike too.

just need to find where my top box disappeared to... waiting on recovery yard to ring back.

good to know progress is going on in the background.

Was there much in the top box? If you don't get it back I hope your expensive camera and lens wasn't in there, your laptop, your picasso, your stradivarius, your faberge egg collection.