Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Witcher 3

• Registered Users Posts: 8,995 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    I'd recommend HoS first as BaW has higher level quests. If you do those first, you will be too overlevelled for HoS and most likely won't receive XP. I'm level 41 and my 1st 2 quests in BaW didn't give any xp.

Yeah was thinking that too, is the rune master worth the effort

• Registered Users Posts: 29,839 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Yeah was thinking that too, is the rune master worth the effort

Is that the guy in the tent who wants 5 grand for the pleasure? If so, I never did it. Will get around to it when I finish BaW and hopefully flush with money just to get the quest out of my log. I don't use runestones much but will give another look when I get the Grandmaster Wolf swords which I'm sure will be my end game weapons.

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭bigphil2

Taylor365 wrote: »
    I'm planning on starting a new playthrough from scratch.

Looks like i'll have to set aside 140 hours.

Be no sleep that week atall!

After seeing the improvements in the new patch,im tempted to start all over again and play the game unbroken from start to finish...

This is what you get from a Developer that cares about product over profit..

I cant wait for Cyberpunk now..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭jones

bigphil2 wrote: »
    After seeing the improvements in the new patch,im tempted to start all over again and play the game unbroken from start to finish...

This is what you get from a Developer that cares about product over profit..

I cant wait for Cyberpunk now..

I'm the exact same I'm half way through the first expansion and have the latest one to complete. (I'm only just back into the game after finishing it months ago)

Part of me would love to start from scratch. I'd need a week uninterrupted though to engorge myself in the world again ha. As someone mentioned earlier my first game back fighting the frog prince and I couldn't remember the controls :confused:

For me the witcher 3 is one of the best open world games I've ever played

• Registered Users Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I haven't picked up Blood and Wine just yet as I'm still a bit strapped for cash lately, but I'm still absolutely loving this game. Just about to finish my 3rd playthrough of the main quest and HoS is still ahead of me.

Checking my screenshot folder it looks like I've taken over 800 screenshots of this game.

I thought about it long and hard and I can 100% say the Witcher 3 is officially my favourite game of all time. For a good 20 years now I've maintained that FF7 was my favourite, but this game just wins out in so many ways. Even the niggling little annoyances mean nothing because everything else is so good.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I love the witcher and all I just wish it had darksoulsborne combat. The DLC so far is a great little adventure I just noticed a shít load of "secondary" quests so im going to dive into those now for the rest of the afternoon. Sure feck the sunny day :D

That
    Gwent
    trophy......looks glorious!

I love the witcher and all I just wish it had darksoulsborne combat. The DLC so far is a great little adventure I just noticed a shít load of "secondary" quests so im going to dive into those now for the rest of the afternoon. Sure feck the sunny day :D

Same. When I 1st started playing it again after long absence the other night I was holding LT before realising I didn't have a shield

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Same. When I 1st started playing it again after long absence the other night I was holding LT before realising I didn't have a shield

Why would a shield matter you scrub? :pac:

I'm quite fond of the combat in TW3, much better than TW2

• Registered Users Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

ooh I knew I would hate those centipede things.

ha ha ha you get an unlimited stamina buff for
    touching the statues balls

• Registered Users Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

ooh I knew I would hate those centipede things.

yeah the Yghern were a pain in the dog's goolies in the first game

I'd usually fast travel when i can but Toussaint is too nice a place. Keep stopping to take screenshots as well. The Skellufe deck is very interesting. Haven't used it yet as still building my deck but nice to see brand new card effects like the mutations.

Wow doing up the house/vineyard makes me wish I had a place like that :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Why would a shield matter you scrub? :pac:

I'm quite fond of the combat in TW3, much better than TW2

TW2 has more focus on preparation. Knowing your enemy completely by asking before quests, reading books etc. That was back with the whole amnesia thing being more of a reason to make it seem like you needed to remind yourself how to fight certain things, too. Even after full research, all potions consumed, oils applied, strategies memories... you could still get turned inside out! It made me as a player feel appreciation for the specialisation of witchers and why they dominated the niche business and why monsters were avoided as much as they were.

TW3 is all about dodge, quen and levelling. Geralt usually knows enough about the enemies before hand and can often make recommendations himself, requiring less research. Things like oils were more min-max level paths rather than balancing the odds.

Personally I think making TW3 with 3rd person combat similar to souls' games is a bad idea. Something like Blade of Darkness would be a better call. More focus on which side of the enemy your attacks should hit, spacing, target prioritisation. Also that kind of combat compliments both hitting and dodging with subtle and accurate mouse gestures. Quite cool, really.

But TW3's combat has its own charm. It's easy to digest and the animation work is some of the best in the genre. If they tightnened up the hitboxes and implemented blocking a little more reliably and against more enemy types and directions I think it would've been improved.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭markfla

Anyone have experience in the bank yet. Very amusing

Just went back to white orchard to see a man about a beehive and some gold ;)

There was a some cloud and sun poking out but the lighting was unreal, don't recall it being that dramatic and looking so good last time I was there.

The Cow Gwent card finally has a purpose :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

The Cow Gwent card finally has a purpose :)

at a guess I'm going to say

:pac: that's not actually far off. He still has his zero value but if you play it, as soon as it's removed from the board like when the round ends, it gets replaced an angry cow beast yoke with 8 value. Handy for when your opponent passes and you can play it knowing you'll be starting the next round with a value 8 card ready to go.

Just got the whole skellige deck, off to give the gwent tourney a go.

Made a grandmaster set last night, cost about 50k in gold to buy my way to it. Likely to be a fair bit more if you are missing more than the rarer materials I was.

Ah shyte, I just spent 8k on the 1st renovations of my gaff, only 2k left. Anyone have tips on making money? I have a ton of junk I could sell but most merchants only give you a fraction of what they're worth.

Some cracking quests in this, CDPR definitely know how to keep things fresh and interesting. For the fist fight tourney, beating your man
    in a rap battle
    was just class .

Ah shyte, I just spent 8k on the 1st renovations of my gaff, only 2k left. Anyone have tips on making money? I have a ton of junk I could sell but most merchants only give you a fraction of what they're worth.

Some cracking quests in this, CDPR definitely know how to keep things fresh and interesting. For the fist fight tourney, beating your man
    in a rap battle
    was just class .

I used the beehive exploit in white orchard to make the money I needed, takes about 5 minutes to set up :o

The other trick is to buy the components you need from the grandmasters shop , not from his crafting screen. I found he didn't get many more in stock after travelling away and back after a few days. I found if you bought them from the crafting screen they didn't come back into stock and I ended up having to craft up to them from base components.

I used the beehive exploit in white orchard to make the money I needed, takes about 5 minutes to set up :o

Just looked that up, very tempting altogether. I wonder if CDPR will patch in another tax collector for it :)

Supposedly it's been around for a while, tried it the other night and got it working but went back to previous save as felt it made game too easy. Runemaster now looking for 10,000 coins and nowhere near that so might try it again. It also only works if you have a save file from before the patch, it won't work if you create a new game file.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

How does the beehive thing work.

I have 78K now but cant seem to find any rare materials for crafting. To be fair though I did keep all the suit up to Master level, so that cost a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

in a rap battle
    was just class .

I've just started Blood & Wine myself, have you collected all the Smuggler's Caches in Skellige? Full of coins and weapons and armour for selling

allibastor wrote: »
    How does the beehive thing work.

I have 78K now but cant seem to find any rare materials for crafting. To be fair though I did keep all the suit up to Master level, so that cost a bit.

Just look up PowerPyx on youtube who has video showing how to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GodlessM

in a rap battle
    was just class .

I had no issues with money since the expansion dropped. People in Toussant just throw money at me. Between the fist fights and the Gwent matches I made about 3k. All the sellers have tonnes of gold too and buy the swords you loot for a lot. Also there are a lot of expensive jewellry caches around. I am literally rolling in it.

Also, doing to manses and going back to the Camerlengo gets you decent enough coin.

The vineyard cost 15k to fully upgrade, and only took me a day. The armor is costing more. 9k for just the curiass. Even crafting the mats costs quite a bit. Has a hood on it which is strange on Geralt.

GodlessM wrote: »
    I had no issues with money since the expansion dropped. People in Toussant just throw money at me. Between the fist fights and the Gwent matches I made about 3k. All the sellers have tonnes of gold too and buy the swords you loot for a lot. Also there are a lot of expensive jewellry caches around. I am literally rolling in it.

Also, doing to manses and going back to the Camerlengo gets you decent enough coin.

The vineyard cost 15k to fully upgrade, and only took me a day. The armor is costing more. 9k for just the curiass. Even crafting the mats costs quite a bit. Has a hood on it which is strange on Geralt.

I can see that it has a hood in the inventory but doesn't appear when equipped?